Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,982 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Mar 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V252000(fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was made aware that the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs to be completed. The contact had not experienced the failure. Updated 06/30/14 MA updated 07/1/2014

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #45

May 052014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
We had a recall over year ago, we have called gladstone Dodge 5610 N oak, Kansas City mo. 816-455-3500. They tell us Chrysler has not sent them the parts. Would like to know when we can get fueltank fixed. There is no incident, this is a recall.

- North Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #44

Feb 032014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received safety recall from Chrysler stating the fuel tank has a small chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain types of rear end collision. It may cause a fire. I reported the problem to my Jeep dealer here in saint petersburg, with no results. They said the manufacturer has to send the part, which is trailer hitch to be installed at no cost to me. So far, nothing is happening. According to the dealer, it must be original equipment supply by them. Can you help me, please? thanks for your time.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #43

Mar 122012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gas overflows constantly when filling up gas tank. I have to keep a close eye on the gas meter to check when it's on the F. gas spews out everywhere.

- Buffalo, MN, USA

problem #42

Apr 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to oem trailer hitch installation issues. The consumer stated the trailer hitch has not been installed on the vehicle, and there has been no response to his many calls/requests to the dealer.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #41

Dec 202013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure) but was informed by the dealer that the part needed to complete the repair was not available. The contact received the notice months ago. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide a reasonable time frame for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 06/17/14

- Houghton Lake, MI, USA

problem #40

Oct 092013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V252000. The contact was made aware that parts were not available and as a result, the repairs were unable to be performed for the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/28/14

- Cherry Hill , NJ, USA

problem #39

Jan 162014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) January 2014. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired but the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/19/14

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #38

Mar 262014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
We are still waiting to repair the fuel they told us we were going to wait for month but we have been waiting for over like 3 months pleaseeeeeee we need the new part.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #37

Dec 102013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable estimated date for when the vehicle could be serviced under the recall campaign. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kalona, IA, USA

problem #36

Mar 052014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Re:recall N46 have talked to Jeep numerous times. The fix appears to be installing a trailer hitch, which Jeep indicates they have to make manufacture. I talked to several Jeep dealers in my area, they all have said they can have me to the parts in 1 day. Unless the trailer hitch is something different, it appears it should not take over a year to get this safety issue fixed. If the parts department at the Jeep dealers can get the parts in 1 day what is the problem with getting the recall fixed.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #35

Feb 132014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was advised that the vehicle did not need the recall repair performed. The contact stated that the dealer failed to comply with the recall instructions. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #34

Dec 042013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 100,454 miles
Purchased 2007 Jeep Liberty and fuel is expelled from fuel fill line upon filling tank. I am amazed that based on all the online incidents reported this is not a safety recall.

- Northport, NY, USA

problem #33

Nov 122013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The manufacturer and dealer were contacted and stated that the part needed to complete the recall service was not available for the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 40,000. Updated 12/17/13 the consumer was informed his vehicle was not included in the recall. Updated 12/18/13

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #32

Jul 082013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
When filling gas, the gas splashes back on the pumpers hand and fender.

- Arlington, MA, USA

problem #31

Aug 242013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 148,482 miles
I was driving back to salisbury, md from Washington DC when I heard wind coming into my Jeep. I checked all my windows in be sure they were up but the noise continued. When I visually checked the windows I found the driver side rear window all the way down. I pulled over to check it and found that the window would not roll back up electrically. I had to drive 3 hours with the back driver's side window down. I had this window repaired for the same thing 2 years ago and now again. Just this year in April I had to spend money to fix the driver side window due to the same problems. And each time it was the regulator and only once did Jeep refund me my money. The other problems is the gas. When the Jeep is full it doesn't cut off, the gas spills all down the side of the car regardless.

- Salisbury, MH, USA

problem #30

Jan 302013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I bought the Jeep from a friend last fall and this problem didn't exist until about 4 months after I had it. I always fill my tank when I stop for fuel and the first time this happened, while the tank was filling, I washed the windows. When it was almost full (I could tell by the amount on the pump), I grabbed the nozzle and got ready to squeeze the last bit in by hand after it shut off. Well, it didn't shut off and gas came pouring out, all over the vehicle, splashing my clothes and shoes! I thought it was an issue with the pump, so I brought it to the attendants attention & washed the side of the Jeep off. Next time I went to a different station & the same thing happened, so I didn't 'set' the pump handle anymore....I held it myself and put my ear close so I could hear when it was almost full. Most of the time it worked, but it still came spewing out other times. The other night while having dinner with friends, one of the gals that works at dmv, who also has a Liberty, told me about the recalls on my model Jeep. I called my local dealership and he proceeded to tell me that the one had already been taken care of the month before I picked it up and the gas tank issue didn't apply to my model! are you kidding me"??" I just finished telling him that it spews gas out every time I fill up if I'm not extremely careful with how full it gets! I can't tell you how much money I've lost from this issue 'that doesn't apply to my model'!!! not to mention the damage I'm sure it's doing to the finish (even though I try to get it all off)! not a happy camper and don't know that I'll ever buy another Jeep if this is the way they handle dangerous issues!

- Whispering Pines, NC, USA

problem #29

Jul 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that when refueling, the fuel pump nozzle would not remain in the auto fuel position. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

problem #28

Feb 152013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
This is common problem with the Liberty, basically the fuel overflows from the tank neck when filling it at the gas station. Visit www.jeepforum.com to see other users with the same problem.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #27

Apr 062011

Liberty

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while he was refueling, all the fuel spewed out from the filler neck and became uncontrollable. The vehicle was not diagnosed by the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact that there were no recalls for the vehicle. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 35,000.

- Arlington , IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?