Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,111 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Liberty miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Aug 022016

Liberty

  • 96,935 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Window falling down inside of door panel, this would be the 5th time it's happened.

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #20

Jul 212014

Liberty

  • 78,025 miles
Window falling down inside of door panel, I don't remember if I was moving or stationary at the time. It has happened in both instances.

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #19

Aug 162010

Liberty

  • 39,443 miles
Windows keep falliing off of tracks down inside of door panel, this would be the 3rd time.

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #18

Aug 072007

Liberty

  • 10,172 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Windows keep falling off of tracks and fall down inside of door.

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #17

Jul 312007

Liberty

  • 9,879 miles
Windows falling down off of tracks 6 different times. The only window that has yet to fall is the front passenger side window. ( the 6th time just happened and I will be taking the car in on 10/25/16

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Sep 282016

Liberty

  • 199,000 miles
Since I'm limited to word use I'll try to keep it short loss of power to turns off and doesn't want to restart, cruise control, mirrors, half of fuse box, windows off and on, ignition starts on it's own when in the start position, traction light now comes on, electronic throttle control light has come on, part time light stays on when in 2 wd. I can feel how it's trying to switch back and forth. This vehicle is becoming a lemon. I've changed the fuel pump, crank and cam sensors and also changed switches in the steering column. In which none of fixed the problems. After talking to the dealership I was told the wiring harness needs to be changed but that part is discontinued.... the vehicle isn't 10 years or older and after researching these issues there are many many Liberty owners with these same issues. How can we fix our vehicles if this part isn't available to us or the dealership"?" Jeep has known about this problem all alone but doesn't want to have to do a recall on every since Jeep to fix this issue but I will not buy another Jeep unless they fix the issue.. I love the vehicle other than the problems I'm having. This happens at any given time without notice and is becoming worst. If I lose power and I'm driving this could cause an accident with lots of injuries if not death. Please make Jeep fix our vehicles. I can't afford to buy a new vehicle. This body is in great shape

- Beaumont, MS, USA

problem #15

Feb 202014

Liberty

  • 51,697 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Windows fall into door while driving. Veh is over 7 yrs. Therefore Jeep will not over the cost to replace faulty part.

- Westwood, CA, USA

problem #14

Jul 062016

Liberty

  • 100,000 miles
Left rear window falls into door on highway I-95 on the way back home from office

- Plainville, MA, USA

problem #13

Feb 202016

Liberty

  • miles
All 4 windows on my car have failed widow regulators, so none of my windows stay up. I have 2 other friends with the same make and model that have the same problem.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #12

Feb 192016

Liberty

  • 55,000 miles
I drive a stick.emergency brake was engaged and in 2nd gear. Parked on a slight decline. After a hour of being parked car rolled into a pizza hut. Police reports and insurance claim made. My car was in a parking lot parked.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #11

Dec 152015

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep is refusing to provide or manufacture the trailer hitch required to protect the fuel tank!

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #10

Jun 272008

Liberty

  • 8,831 miles
Power windows don't roll up straight, window lift plate breaks, causing window to drop down inside door.this is a constant problem with 2007 Liberty.occurs when standing still, or in motion.this has occurred 4 times, between 6-27-2008 and 10-7-2015.

- Newbury Park, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 202015

Liberty

  • 109,000 miles
Front passenger window glass has dropped down into the door. The motor still makes sound as though it is working but the glass does not move.

- Rosharon, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 012014

Liberty

  • miles
I received the first recall August, 2014. I received many others since then. Called the local Jeep dealer and was told I was on a waiting list. I called Feb., 2015- was told 3-4 weeks. Received safety recall from Chrysler recently indicating if I was having problems getting the vehicle in to be fixed and that I may qualify for $100 visa prepaid card, due to the wait time. I am still not scheduled to have fuel tank fixed.

- Bellefonte, PA, USA

problem #7

Jul 052011

Liberty

  • 20,000 miles
The windows in my Jeep are falling down. In 2011, each window fell down. I would park my Jeep and the next morning the window was down. I took it to the dealer and they repaired the first window. Then the next window fell down and again they repaired that one. They made me wait for the next to windows to fall down one at a time and repaired them. Now my windows are falling down again. On 9/6/2015 my window fell down during the night. I just had it repaired on 9/10/2015. I notified daimler Chrysler corporation. They responded, that unfortunately it was my problem and there was nothing they could do. It will cost me $174.43 for each window regulator lift plate to be fixed. I must have my windows fixed. I can not park my Jeep somewhere and have the windows fall down. This is a safety issue, I feel it needs to be addressed.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #6

Aug 142015

Liberty

  • 96,233 miles
The ac began blowing hot assuming it just needed service took to my mechanic, he said the ac light on the button on the dash was also not working but freon pressure was fine, take it to dealership. Took into dealership informed me that it needs HVAC control that it had gone out caused clutch to seize and then caused compressor to have a small fire. They are recommending replacement of both at 463 for HVAC control head and ac compressor at 738 for a grand total of approx. 1200 for repairs. This HVAC system has been known to catch fire in the passenger area and has been recalled but they keep telling me that my vehicle VIN does not match the ones that have been recalled. This could have resulted in a dangerous vehicle fire and this is my family vehicle that my 20yr old and 10 year old son often ride in.

- Kempner, TX, USA

problem #5

Jun 122015

Liberty

  • miles
I purchased a car from U.S. auto sales in columbia, South Carolina on June 12th 2015. The evening I took the car home the gas gauge was not at the empty mark and the car shut off and the check engine light came on. I took it back to the dealership and informed them of this and they proceeded to tell me that it is an ongoing Chrysler issue and to not let the gas tank to get below a quarter tank. They proceeded to reset the check engine light. 2 weeks later the check engine light came on again. So I took to a local auto store to have a diagnostics run and was informed that a wheel bearing was needed, a catalytic converter and a fuel line because at a certain level the gas will not reach the engine. Today in South Carolina the temperature is well over 100 degrees and while I was driving my air conditioner stopped working. I have had more issues out of this car within the 30 days I have had it. I did purchase a warranty only to be told that I would have to bear some of the cost to fix a vehicle I just purchased. I am now waiting on a call from their mechanic once he gets the parts in to do the repairs. I believe I was knowingly sold a lemon. I was also told that if I had any issues with the car to bring it in and I will be given a loaner car. Well when I did bring it in I was basically told to get in line and wait because they had no loaner vehicles. Now I am basically stuck with a vehicle with no air and if the gas get past a half tank the car will shut off and if not repaired soon could potentially blow up with me and my children in it. Yes I have called the dealer to request another vehicle and was basically brushed off and told no.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #4

Sep 242014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 94,627 miles
I just went into the dealer for recall N46. (install trailer hitch due to possible gas tank fire) in the recall letter Chrysler calls it an oem trailer hitch. After the work is done I try to find out the rating class of the hitch, but no one knows. I call Chrysler recall assistance center and I am told that it is a frame reinforcement and not a trailer hitch. It can not be used for towing anything. Although it has the look of a trailer hitch. Because it is being called a trailer hitch and it looks like one I am concerned for the following: *neither Chrysler nor the dealer are informing the customer, what about the customer that just runs out and buys a tongue and ball and starts using it to tow? *recall states that if you have a non oem hitch it will be inspected and if it has punctures or sharp edges it will be replaced with the new oem hitch. Now you have a person who had a functional trailer hitch for years and replacing it with a non functioning "trailer hitch" and not telling them. If I had a working trailer hitch for years that I use regularly and you replaced it with a non functioning one I would be really ticked off. Because of the examples listed above (and there are others) I believe this recall could cause more problems, damages, etc than the problem with the gas tanks to begin with. *they need to stop calling it a trailer hitch. *every customer having to have this done needs to be informed that it is not a real trailer hitch and they can not tow with it. Chrysler recall notice also states "Chrysler recommends you remove the ball and ball mount whenever your vehicle is not actually in use of towing". that is also misleading (giving impression that it is a trailer hitch) and why is it even in there at all.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #3

Jun 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 72,400 miles
2007 Jeep Liberty - power window regulator failure: June 3 - 2014 - the right front power window regulator failed and became inoperable. On July 10, 2014, the right rear power window regulator failed, and the window rolled down on its own while my daughter was operating the vehicle at highway speed. The window became inoperable and could not be rolled back up. In the service tech's report, the window regulator "came apart." Chrysler-Jeep had extended the warranty on this part to seven years from service date through March 7, 2014 or one million miles, whichever came first. Therefore they refuse to cover the repair cost under warranty. I am sending this report because I believe these two incidents have identified an important safety issue. Because the failure causes the window to roll down on its own and become inoperable, if it does so at highway speed or in inclement conditions this could present a safety hazard. Also the fact that two different window regulators on the same vehicle failed in consecutive months roughly one month apart indicates to me that there may be a systemic problem with this part, and all such parts should be investigated.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #2

Apr 172014

Liberty

  • 0 miles
Was a recall notice issued for Jeep 2007 Liberty? no one at the dealers knows anything about it.

- Clovis, CA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?