Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,636 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #109

Oct 052010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles


Normal use of electric windows. We have had our windows repaired 4 times under warranty. The regulator breaks and the window falls. Lucky mine has never broken. I bought the vehicle new and now have 44,000 miles. Still like new except the windows. Chrysler has don nothing to repair this issue they put a new one in again and again. Then your out of warranty and guess what they will continue to service you for around $300 per event and so far in 3 and 1/2 years 4 times. Wow! this vehicle is a 2007 Jeep Liberty I challenge whoever reads this google the internet and check out the complaints. There is plenty of them out there. Please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Copperas Cove, TX, USA

problem #108

Sep 102010


  • 55,000 miles
Replaced the windows on my 2007 Jeep Liberty 6 times. They break without even being used. I went out to my car one morning and one was completely down and would not roll up. The windows have been replaced/repaired each time. Never a warning - just a pop and the window comes down.

- Gardendale, AL, USA

problem #107

Sep 182010


  • miles
I had my front driver's side window replaced and my back driver's side window on my 2007 Jeep Liberty. Now my back driver's side window is falling down again and since it's been over a year since it was replaced, I am responsible for paying the $100 deductible to have it fixed again, if the extended warranty will even cover it.

- Columbia, TN, USA

problem #106

Oct 032010


  • 35,055 miles


07 Jeep Liberty sport with 35K miles on it, rear driver side window fails to work, called Chrysler dealership in my area(heath, oh), vehicle out of warranty, they want $450 to replace the motor, regulator and glass which leads me to believe this is a problem with this vehicle. Definite safety issue.

- Hebron, OH, USA

problem #105

Sep 302010


  • 38,000 miles
Power windows will start to have more difficulty working. Then, when trying to use the windows they will make a loud noise and the window will cease to work. The window may even fall into the door and out of reach. The regulator and possibly even the window glass will need to be replaced. This has happened to 2 of my windows in less than a year. It is faulty and dangerous. There needs to be a recall.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #104

Oct 022010


  • 31,970 miles
I have a 2007 Jeep Liberty with just over 31,000 miles that has encountered 5 window regulator failures. Four of the 5 were covered by the factory warranty. Since I am no longer in warranty as of June 2010, today's passenger side rear window failure will not be covered by warranty. The other failures include: 05/16/08 driver's window, 08/03/09 driver's rear window, 08/06/09 passenger rear window and 06/19/10 driver's rear window. As you can see 2 of the same window regulators have failed twice. Living in Arizona, having a window that will not stay up in 105+ temps is not tolerable. Taping the window only offers temporary relief due to gravity. Also, working full time and having to take my vehicle in for repairs is always challenging and inconvenient. I am wondering why this is not a Chrysler recall?

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #103

Sep 142010


  • 49,800 miles


Right passenger window made a horrible noise, and started to slide into the door. Jeep dealer fixed but charged me $100 for my extended warranty deductible. A few weeks later the driver side passenger window did the same thing. I have not taken it in for repair yet.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #102

Sep 232008


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. All the windows in the vehicle kept falling within the door frame. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer several times to replace broken regulator cables at the contact's expense. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that there were no related recalls. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Mountain Center, CA, USA

problem #101

Sep 262010


  • 34,012 miles
2007 Jeep Liberty limited 4X4 - failure of window regulators I have had multiple failures of the window regulators that are internal to the doors and regulate the operation of the electric windows up or down. Upon failure, the windows fall into the door frame. Right rear window was repaired in Oct 2008. Left rear window was replaced in Dec 2008. Both front windows were repaired in May 2010. Right rear window failed again in Sep 2010. This may happen at anytime and may not occur during normal operation of the windows. Chrysler is aware of this design flaw in their vehicles (2002 - 2007) but has refused to do a recall (they currently have tsb #2303807) issued. This is associated with NHTSA item number: 10022629.

- Cibolo, TX, USA

problem #100

Aug 202010


  • 34,000 miles
Rear window of Jeep 2007 Liberty comes down on its own (every time we drive the car and even when it is in park). The problem was repaired at a Jeep dealer once while under 3 year/36,000 mile warranty. However, the problem has occurred again (same window) only 1.5 years after the fix, yet the dealer says it's no longer underwarranty. Clearly this is a defect with the car and the original fix should have been more permanent than 1.5 years. It happened during a heavy downpour/rain storm and resulted damage to items in the back seat. We have an 11 month old in a car seat in the back and can no longer ride in inclement weather with the baby in the backseat until we get it fixed again. My fear is this will simply continue to happen since we already tried to have this fixed by a 5 star Chrysler/Jeep dealer.

- Little Silver, NJ, USA

problem #99

Sep 232010


  • 41,000 miles


The power windows on all four doors have failed at different times on my 2007 Jeep Liberty since I bought the car in July 2007. The window regulator is the part that had to be replaced each time. The power window on the right rear door was repaired on March 20, 2009. The window failed working again on September 23, 2010. The window regulator will have to be replaced again.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #98

May 142010


  • 130,000 miles
In may of 2010 the front passenger window regulator failed, window fell to bottom of door. About a month later the front drivers regulator fell, then a week later the rear driver side failed on a 2007 Jeep Liberty. Have called and left messages for the area service rep and have never been called back.

- Onalaska, TX, USA

problem #97

Sep 012010


  • 34,000 miles
Windows fall in. At different times, I have had both drivers side windows & the rear passenger window fall into the door. This is an ongoing problem with this year & model car. There should be a recall.

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #96

Jul 042010


  • 48,000 miles
In 4/2010 I bought 2007 Jeep Liberty (less than six months ago) - within two weeks after purchase rear driver side window just fell down into the door while in motion - was prob doing 65 the first time - I brought to dealership and they fixed it free - the second time (approx 3 months later) on fourth of July weekend, I am visiting my son six hours away and I'm driving and arrive at my son's house and the rear passenger side just falls - I had to drive six hours back home with storms and a window that wouldn't stay up -- I have tried stuffing cardboard in the window but it falls out now because I is all stretched out - I have to stop and get out on the interstate to try and pry stuff in to keep the window up - any storms and I am in big trouble - I currently have been waiting one week just for the dealer to fix it - they have to order a complete assembly unit each time and this time they will charge me $100 deductible - as explained to me the unit that holds the window in is very fragile and made of unsturdy, cheap plastic...due to their service hours I have to take time off from work and I have children that ride with me and I am concerned about this window falling while I have them in the vehicle and its very dangerous during bad weather and expensive to fix each time as well. 1st incident happened around 4/15/10 and second incident occurred on 7/4/10 weekend.

- Rising Fawn, GA, USA

problem #95

Sep 182010


  • 58,530 miles
While closing our Jeep Liberty this morning my wife pushed the button for the left rear window and it made a grinding noise and the window was not moving. When we got home I was able to move the window to the closed position with my hands. The window is not being held in place or moved by the regulator.

- Emporia, VA, USA

problem #94

Sep 142010


  • 40,000 miles
2007 Jeep Liberty drivers rear window fell down while driving vehicle. No one in rear set at time but kids ride there often.

- Berry`, KY, USA

problem #93

Sep 152010


  • 41,000 miles
Jeep Liberty 2007 electric window failed leaving the window stuck open.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #92

Sep 132010


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 70 mph the front and rear driver's side windows fell down into their door panels. The vehicle had not been taken to have the failure diagnosed and had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 80,000.

- Smyrna, TN, USA

problem #91

Sep 042007


  • 110,000 miles
Window regulators breaking on my 2007 Jeep Liberty.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #90

Sep 122010


  • 50,000 miles
I have Jeep Liberty 2007. The back window of my car stopped working (makes weird sound while trying to move up). I got the same problem approximately two years ago on the same window and had dealer fixed them. Here I got it again. I think Jeep Liberty 2007 has some problem with the window regulation.

- Sun Prairie, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?