Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,807 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Liberty electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Oct 092012


  • 59,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that when he started the vehicle, an error message displayed on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer however, they were unable to locate the problem. In addition, the odometer gauge would not display a mileage reading. The driver's side power window also became inoperable. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #18

Sep 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
When vehicle is or is not in motion the vehicles lights, horn, turn signals, instrument gauges, and windshield wiper begin to malfunction and operate on its own squirting all the windshield wiper fluids, headlights flickering, horn honking on it's own and instrument panel gauges flicker and flashing, until either battery dies or battery becomes disconnected.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #17

Mar 202012


  • 60,000 miles
The sunroof leaks into the headliner causing mold and also affecting the electrical wires in the headliner. We have a 3 year old son and I believe that this could cause a threat to him as well as my wife who's drives the car. It has been brought to my attention that Jeep is aware of the problem with this model as well as other models that have the same problem, I am a ware that it is a used car but with the research that I have done its not the fact that it is used, it was a problem that was wrong when this 2008 Jeep had when it rolled off the line, and I'm conserened for my wife and sons safety as well as so many other dealing with this same problem!!!!

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #16

Nov 072011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


While driving my Jeep Liberty, the wipers and horn came on suddenly and the entire electrical panel lit up. After taking it to the dealer several times, they finally determined it was the tipm module that needed to be replaced. The part was backordered. I have since found there is a national backorder (since 2010) with over 270+ in my area alone. The issue became progressively worse as I would get in my car and it would not start. Unlocking the vehicle appears to cause the automobile to engage something electrical (though I only open it manually - not with the keyless entry) which results in the vehicle acting as though it is already on. Most recently, while driving on the freeway at 70mph, I had a jolt before the wipers/horn went off and the emergency brake light was on. I believe the system is now engaging the emergency brake. I have discontinued driving the vehicle as a result. I believe this vehicle is a lemon. There are multiple complaints online with many other Jeep owners experiencing the same issues.

- Clinton, MS, USA

problem #15

May 152012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 40,350 miles
Sky slider roof assembly partially opened and will not close.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #14

Aug 182011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact was driving 65 mph when the front end started to shake abnormally. In addition, the vehicle stalled several times and sporadically, would fail to start. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where the dealer replaced the electrical wiring harness. The repair did not remedy the stalling or shaking failure. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Patchogue, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 032012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact was driving 30 mph when the electrical components of the vehicle malfunctioned as the vehicle stalled. The contact had the vehicle towed to the dealer where the dealer advised the contact that the computer and fuse box malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired due to a back order of the parts needed for repairs. The failure mileage was 81,000. Updated 02/15/12 the consumer stated the engine shut down and all the lights started flashing. The horn started honking, the windshield wipers activated and there was no power to the vehicle. The vehicle was towed and eventually repaired. Updated 02/17/12

- Pullman, MI, USA

problem #12

Dec 222008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 23,042 miles
History purchased dealership now closed phone 570-888-5555 simmons rockwell dealer#47152 1538 North elmirast. Sayre, pa 18840 service 570-888-2367 E-mail scoville-meno-Dodge-chrylser-Jeep po box 249 102 spring St. Sayre, pa 18840 problem history: 12/22/20008 mileage 23,042 unable to shift, car stalled out, no start, electrical problems (replaced shifter & cable to transmission) 07/1/2009 mileage 34,976 electrical problem with door locks, radio not working, 07/20/2009 mileage 36,063 electrical problems & radio works intermittent, lights keeping fluttering, battery keeps going dead & a new battery was put in already. (draw test indicate power draw, radio not going to sleep replaced radio). Dealership has been servicing vehicle on regular basis,2010 electrical problems still happen and even more when weather is cold. We keep replacing the battery...but why should I need to put a new battery in every year, ?Jeep has had intermittent electrical problems since day one, lights, radio, no start, problems my research I have found other customer complaints with this problem....and I found service bulletins that claimed they should have replaced the control module, wiper motor, tcm, PCM. This is just plain wrong, cold... put in another new battery.still having the same problems as day one.....this makes me mad. Problem still exist and now it is out of extended warranty. Current mileage 74,623 and putting in another new battery 2011 Jeep should fix this problem....dealers know about it and claim its a intermittent problem with Liberty' about a fixing it....

- Athens, PA, USA

problem #11

Nov 012010


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that when she attempted to make a left turn, the lights on the instrument panel blinked on and off intermittently. The failure began approximately one year ago. In addition, the interior lights blinked on and off when she accelerated in any direction and at any speed. She was also unable to lock the vehicle once she exited because the locking mechanism was inoperable. As a result, the vehicle was left unattended and unlocked. The dealer had not been notified. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure however, they did not offer any assistance. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 60,000 and the approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Queen Creek, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jun 102011


  • 32,000 miles
Power windows fail to open, or fail to close if ever opened.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #9

May 022011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


I have had a ding for no reason that occurs all the time sometimes once a day some times every few mins. Then while towing a trailer, which is only 6 X 12 and well under max tow limits esp not working light will come on and go off at very annoying intervals, once this starts 4X4 light comes on, then service 4wheel drive comes on. Have taken vehicle in numerous times and been charged close to 1000. Dollars and no fix. They keep telling me it's a sensor but they replace and no good. The vehicle seems to be driving perfectly well but on my last trip the transmission light came on and vehicle wouldn't drive right. I have the trans cooler on and fluid levels where good and after a few minutes light went out and I drove 400 more miles no!

- Jefferson Hills, PA, USA

problem #8

Aug 192011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
While driving to work the car alarm, front and back windshield wipers, and the windshield wiper fluid activated. After a single incident the Jeep Liberty was taken in and had the multifunction switch replaced. The following week the problem happened again, going on and off for 10-15 minutes. The dealership indicated that it was the total integrated power module.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #7

Sep 012010


  • 26,000 miles
I have a warning ding that keeps recurring in my 2008 Jeep Liberty limited. It is a safety issue because it happens at completely random times, and causes the driver to look down in search of what the warning is in regard to, but there is not a corresponding light. The random warning ding happens on a regular basis, anywhere from at least once every 3 days up to 3 times in one day. There are other minor issues happening with the electrical, and the tire pressure monitor has been affected as well, but seems to be ok right now. However, I feel as if this issue is a warning sign for a bigger electrical issue that has yet to be resolved. I do not wish to be the case for which everyone else basis their examples on. I cannot seem to get Chrysler/Jeep to feel the urgency to look into this defect, however based on the random behavior and no success in finding the cause, it seems that this should be one of those circumstances where it's better to be safe than sorry.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #6

Feb 012011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes regarding electrical/ computer problems the consumer stated from the beginning he had intermittent electrical problems. The alarm would go off, the lights would come on and go off, the windshield wipers and washers would not activate. The dealer kept the vehicle for several days, but were unable to isolate the problem.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #5

May 012010


  • 27,000 miles
Electrical system- electrical mirrors stopped working. The power mirrors worked intermittent, then completely stopped working. Dealership replaced 2 total integrated power modules and rewired harness. Mirrors worked for 24 hours and ceased working. Airbag light will come on if air/ heat is turned to 3.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #4

Aug 112010


  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. While the contact was driving at night approximately 55 mph; the horn sounded, front and rear windshield wipers engaged, and the rear window washer pump activated dispensing washer fluid. The unexpected failures occurred voluntarily. When the speed rate was reduced the failures no longer persisted. The vehicle continued traveling and fifteen minutes later, the accelerator pedal was engaged, followed by no engine power. Suddenly, the entire instrument panel warning light indicators illuminated. While the vehicle was in operation the failures reset independently. In addition, on two separate occasions the failures involving the horn, windshield wipers and wiper washer fluid activation occurred when accessing the vehicle with the remote key entry. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 38,000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #3

Jun 152010


  • 39,000 miles
My brake light is not functioning. I went to dealership to have them replace bulb, but the dealership checked bulbs and bulbs were good. The dealership has notified me that there is a wiring issue with the brake lights. This is definitely a safety issue. If my brake lights fail during the day or night this could be a huge liability to Chrysler. I have to go back to dealer when I have more time. They said that they did not have time to fix it today. I hope that this is taken care of asap. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dayton , OH, USA

problem #2

May 222009


  • 40,000 miles
Reference NHTSA item # 10023638.

- Prairie City, IA, USA

problem #1

Nov 172007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty 4X4. Immediately after purchasing the vehicle in October of 2007, the gears failed to shift once placed into park. The vehicle was driven to the dealer and they stated that the failure was due to an electrical spike. The contact was also informed to unhook the battery, leave it off for five minutes, and the gears would shift properly. The failure has occurred four times since taking the vehicle to the dealer. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer have been notified. The current mileage was 17,194 and failure mileage was 3,000. Updated 11/07/08. The consumer stated the dashboard lights and cruise control did not work. The consumer disconnected the battery and re-connected it and everything is working fine. Updated 11/07/08.

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?