Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,302 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Liberty electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #82

Oct 192016

Liberty

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Amongst other issues: Vehicle fails to start occasionally, from both cold and warm states. From completely off, turning the key begins ignition but often does not start the vehicle. Engine sputters but does not complete the start. On some occasions, depressing the gas pedal while trying to start the vehicle works, leading me to believe this is one of the widely reported tipm issues plaguing Jeep from 2007-2014. I conclude the fuel pump fails to receive a signal to start from the tipm which causes the ignition failure. In addition, I have had multiple electrical issues including doors locking and unlocking when the opposite corresponding buttons are pressed, windshield wipers turning on when the turn signal is used, warning lights on the dashboard reporting non-issues, failure of power steering, and failure to accelerate when the gas pedal is depressed. Please address this issue as soon as possible.

- Clinton, TN, USA

problem #81

Oct 052016

Liberty

  • 93,000 miles
My car has been honking and all the window wipers go off sporadically when driving. This has happened on the highway, in standstill traffic and stopped at a red light. It has happened about 4 times in the last 2 months. It is not only embarrassing but it makes us nervous that the issue could get worse and lead to an accident in the future. We took it to pep boys and were told they can't diagnose it. I then contacted crysler and they just told me to take it to a dealership. I did and the dealership didn't know how to fix it but sent us a quote for $3500 worth of other stuff we don't need fixed! my husband just picked up the car and it honked/window wipered 3 times in a 15 minute ride home. We are expecting our first baby any day now and are very nervous about the safety of the car. No one is willing to help at this point.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #80

Sep 052016

Liberty

  • 90,000 miles
This has happened multiple times, most recently on Sept. 5, 2016. The car honks multiple times and all the window wipers start going. This has occured while in stand still traffic on the highway, on city streets and when stopped at a red light.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #79

Sep 222016

Liberty

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent problem. When starting car, wipers come on and turn signals fail to work. The only way to get wipers to stop is to pull the fuse. Turn signals remain inoperable. This problem has been ongoing for over 2 years. Have taken vehicle to dealer multiple times. Dealer claims they cannot locate a problem; however, there clearly is a problem. Do not feel safe driving car with wipers going and no turn signals. We have also had issues with interior lights remaining on. Very distracting to driver at night. Again, took vehicle to dealer and they cannot find a problem. Please help issue occurs while vehicle is stationary and in motion. We drive city and highway streets.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #78

Dec 072015

Liberty

  • 138,500 miles
First off, this issue is extremely dangerous! it's already been to the dealership and all they want to do is beat around the bush and will not replace the tipm! the dealership claims to not have a device to properly test the tipm, and says its other parts causing the issue. My Jeep's lights won't work correctly, my horn constantly blares, I've spent almost a hundred dollars on windshield washer fluid because those constantly spray, and it's beginning to ruin parts inside of my vehicle! today the fuze box was so hot it could have been on fire! why is this not recalled?! so many people are having this issue, and the dealership refuses to replace the part in fear of having the record of it being replaced! we have spoke to cooperate as well and nothing is being done. All it takes is the tipm freaking out causing a fire, or headlights to fail and causing an accident or death. This needs to be taken seriously! I love my Jeep to death, but to take my Jeep to the dealership to "fix" this issue, spend over 600 dollars to replace a melted cord and a burned out fan motor for ac/heat that could be causing these issues is a freaking joke, when the faulty tipm caused the wire to melt!!

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #77

Jun 302016

Liberty

  • miles
While driving on June 30, 2016; the Jeep goes into panic mode, lights flashing, windshield wipers working, door locks locking and unlocking, and horn sounding automatically. Vehicle is not disarming. This is the second time since Feb 2015. Problem was told to be car battery. Battery replaced. Remote battery works fine, this is dangerous and the problem keeps getting reported with no action taken by Jeep-Chrysler for recall.

- West Orange, NJ, USA

problem #76

Apr 012015

Liberty

  • 84,656 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. While operating the vehicle, the doors would randomly lock and unlock, the windshield wipers and washer fluid would erroneously activate, and the horn and alarm would randomly sound. The contact also indicated that the fuel pump was faulty. The cause of the failures was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 84,656....updated 06/30/16

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #75

Apr 172016

Liberty

  • 106,000 miles
It started with my power door locks 2 years ago. They quit working but the power windows worked fine. When you tried to change the fuse it would pop and burn out right away. We assumed it was a short somewhere. Then my rear outlet quit working, my windshield wiper fluid stopped working, air bag light goes on and off among other issues. Now nothing works. The battery was disconnected so we could try to reset the systems and now the horn sirens continuously, light flash, windshield wipers and fluid are flying, door locks that would not work are moving up and down. It looks like my Jeep Liberty is possessed! why is this not recalled"??" this is a huge safety hazard. I have read that it may start working again but it will malfunction... you just don't know when.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #74

Mar 202016

Liberty

  • 157,000 miles
Driving on city street when horn began intermittently beeping and wipers and washers front and back activated. Pulled off to side of road, removed key, engine continued to run, along with horn, wipers, washers and locks continued to intermittently activate. Lasted 15 minutes and this is the 5th time happening. After certain amount of time car functions normally. One instance occurred at night and lights turned off.

- Nekoosa, WI, USA

problem #73

Nov 252015

Liberty

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. Without warning, the temperature gauge, water pump, and various other warning lights randomly flickered and the vehicle stalled. The dealer was notified of the failures and provided no specific diagnosis. The contact had the vehicle inspected by an independent mechanic who replaced the water pump, belt, and thermostat. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Rosebush, MI, USA

problem #72

Jan 012015

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the adhesive would not hold the rear window in place and water leaked through the window. In addition, the odometer displayed an error message. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Graham, WA, USA

problem #71

Dec 182015

Liberty

  • 83,000 miles
I am the original owner of my 08 Liberty. I have been using the dealership for all maintenance. I've had issues with my skyslider roof in the past which, after 5 years of haggling, has been fixed. The problem I am haveing now is with a dying battery. Replaced the battery only to find out that the battery was still good. New battery doesn't last overnight. Found that there could be 3 issues causing it. Radio, fuel pump or tipm. Cd player began to constantly eject a cd when no cd was present, so I pulled the radio fuse to stop the drain on the battery. No good! next day, dead battery. Listened to any sound that the fuel pump was running while engine was off. Did not appear to be running. Checked with the Jeep forum, wow was I shocked! Liberty have nothing but electrical problems with the tipm. Chrysler/Jeep/Fiat have been aware of the issue but have not done a recall, causing all it's customers hundreds of dollars T repair a known issue. Class action suit only pushed them to repair tipm's from 2010 and up vehicles leaving everyone else high and dry. I now need to disconnect the battery cable every night so the care starts in the morning. Dealer will diagnose the problem, at cost and then fix the problem, at cost, plus labor. All on a vehicle with 83,000 miles. In the last year, I have replaced the PCM, ECM, 4 O2 sensors and catalytic converters. Thanks to the governments emission control warranty of 8/80,000, they were covered. The tipm is not! when issue is confirmed by the dealer, I'll be calling detriot!!!!!!!!

- Hazlet, NJ, USA

problem #70

Jun 172014

Liberty

  • 145,000 miles
Purchased vehicle used in 2013 11/17/2015 1. engine continues to run when key is removed from ignition switch. While parked. First noticed last week 11/08/2015 (only as long as the preset time on the radio shut off or the door is opened) 2. with cruise control set and going up hill, transmission down shifts to maintain speed. While trying to keep speed up and then break applied, excessive force is required to dis-engage cruise control. While driving at normal speeds. For as long as I can remember. (break switch has been changed twice) 3. while filling fuel tank at gas station, paying close attention to the pump, fuel will pour out from the filler neck after the pump has shut off. For as long as I can remember. (many occasions) 4. check engine light continuously on. Possible damage to hoses on emissions canister in left rear wheel well due to gas spillage? (as long as I can remember) 5. gas cap indicator comes on at start. Possible damage to hoses on emissions canister in left rear wheel well due to gas spillage? (need to manually turn off, changed gas cap twice) 6. it seems that all things electrical have a delay to their function, flashing high beams, honking horn... while parked or driving. For as long as I can remember. (all of the time)

- Colville, WA, USA

problem #69

Mar 122009

Liberty

  • 99,400 miles
Electrical harness.

- Greeley, CO, USA

problem #68

Jul 012015

Liberty

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. While driving 60 mph, the sky slider sunroof slid off the track and independently opened halfway. The sky slider sunroof also failed to function when activated. In addition, the window controls on the front driver side failed to function. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the sky slider sunroof needed to be put back on track. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #67

Sep 092015

Liberty

  • 91,141 miles
Jeep stationary in driveway overnite started burning all wiring harneses until battery died, interior saturated with burned wire smell, electronic dashboard said no-bus, towed it to Jeep-Chrysler dealership had to replace all harnesses, fuse relays, modules, harness grounded out to metal bad factory installation, cost 4,400!

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #66

Aug 202015

Liberty

  • 80,000 miles
This vehicle has had the sunroof leak, the heat shield bracket rusted/broke and came loose from the auto and hit the drive shaft, and the air conditioner does not blow out on the correct vents, the air bag light comes on and off,

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #65

Mar 082014

Liberty

  • 98,000 miles
I bought the Jeep March of 2014. Upon purchase there seemed to be an odd noise coming from the front end. I was assured that it was caused by oversized tires. The tires were different from the standard factory but nothing that should cause that noise while driving. I asked if I could have my mechanic look at and call them for the repair. They agreed. I called a few days later after finding that the front end had some issues as well as the horn and other electrical things didn't work. I was concerned because of the safety violation. They fixed it all at no cost to me. One year later the horn and buttons stopped working again. I went in and told them what was going on and asked for the write up from last time. The write up stated that they repaired the tipm module well enough to get it to function but it would need to be replaced. I was never told this. I asked them what could be done since they didn't really fix it the first time. We came to the agreement that I would pay for labor and they would pay for the part. September 2015, while driving down the freeway I went to honk my horn only to find it wasn't working. It worked just a few hours prior. I called the dealership and spoke to the service manager and explained what was going on. He told me that it sounded like the tipm module again, and that they would warranty the part and fix it. I took it in and was then told that they would need to diagnose and make sure that it was the tipm module. I would need to pay a diagnostic fee and then pay for the fix if it wasn't that part. It ended up not being the tipm module and I was told that it was going to be a minimum of 300 dollars in labor, plus the 100 diagnostic fee for today, and whatever part needed to be replaced. I told them that I was told it was the tipm module and that I wasn't able to pay that much and felt completely ripped off.

- Tooele, UT, USA

problem #64

Apr 152015

Liberty

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted after the contact disconnected and reconnected the battery cable. On one other occasion, while driving approximately 55 mph, the front headlights independently powered off without warning. The headlights illuminated again when the vehicle was turned off and restarted. On another occasion, while the vehicle was parked, the contact depressed the unlock button on the fobik and the horn consistently sounded and the headlights flashed. The contact detached and reattached the battery cable and the lights powered off and the horn no longer sounded. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Booneville, MS, USA

problem #63

Aug 242015

Liberty

  • 68,000 miles
While pulling into parking space, horn suddenly blows, wipers and washers come on, lights come oncar bucks. Brought to dealer kept for 3 days, no answer. 3 days later car parked horn blows wipers on, doors lock. 2 days after car parked same thing. Dealer can find no codes. Repeat of same incidents from 8/20/14, same response from dealer.

- Danbury, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?