Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: On August 16th, 2012 Jeep stopped production of the the Jeep Liberty, marking the end of a troublesome journey for the SUV.

All in all, the 2012 Liberty actually excels off-road, but since 99% of drivers never take this thing off pavement, that becomes somewhat of a moot point. The Liberty suffers from the worst fuel economy in its class (16/22 MPG) and offers an uncomfortable ride with suspect braking ability.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
144,029 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Liberty electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jul 142014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was coming home from work, as I turned onto my exit there was a pop sound and then it started hissing and smoking. I slowed down and pulled over and got out of the vehicle. It started to smoke, caught on fire and burned totally up before my eyes. I have only had this vehicle for six (6) months.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #16

Oct 012013

Liberty

  • 29,000 miles
October 2013 ceiling lights came on and would not go out. Headliner got hot enough that I thought it might catch on fire. In March of 2014 electrical problem. Headlights went out with only a reddish cast for lights. No heater fan, no radio no light inside doors lock on their own without car running (good way to lock keys in) after a couple of days everything went back to normal. Its like there is a dead short somewhere. And the eco system I don't believe is working. Gas mileage is atrocious.

- New Salem, PA, USA

problem #15

Feb 072014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
It happened a few times but the last time she was turning at a light and when keys swung the ignition shut off causing her to lose power steering and she hit another vehicle. The ignition is very touchy - just by barely touching the keys it shuts off. I am afraid for my daughter's safety driving this vehicle.

- Deer Park, TX, USA

problem #14

Apr 072014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I began driving today I noticed that the airbag warning light was illuminated on the drivers side in the electronics cluster. There has been no damage to the vehicle and the light just randomly came on and has remained on.

- Levittwon, PA, USA

problem #13

Apr 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to air bag alert light malfunction and active head restraints recall notice. The consumer stated the air bad light recently illuminated. When she went to the dealer, she was informed the recall did not apply to her vehicle. However the vehicle did need an occupant restraint control module, which was not covered under the recall.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #12

Nov 192013

Liberty

  • miles
Back in November I received safety recall N38. To date there has been no remedy for this problem. I am concerned with the amount of time that is lapsing without a resolution to this problem.

- Rock Hill, NY, USA

problem #11

Mar 052014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/28/14

- Susquehanna, PA, USA

problem #10

Feb 202014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 13,600 miles
There was an electrical fire that appeared to originate in the driver's side rear tail light and migrated to the bumper and wiring inside the bumper.

- Selden, NY, USA

problem #9

Oct 152013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Liberty. Attorney representing consumer writes in regards to active head restraints recall notice. The lawyer stated, his client took the vehicle to the dealer to be serviced for an air bag warning light. Unfortunately, the service department was unable to fix the problem and had to replace the required orc module. Chrysler refused to reimburse the consumer, because there was not a sufficient repair for the problem.

- Burlington, WI, USA

problem #8

Dec 182009

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
It starts with locking the doors and the horn sounds off and the lights stay on inside the car and the rear gate lite comes up on the dash, it also has a remote stater put in the car by them, that does not work at times, they replace the switch 2 plus change the wiring that leads there.ps its been in the shop a view times already.

- Cortlandt Manor, NY, USA

problem #7

Oct 312013

Liberty

  • 16,999 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while starting the vehicle, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The contact received a NHTSA recall campaign id number 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the remedy part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but could not provide an expected date for the part to be available. The approximate failure mileage was 16,999.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #6

Oct 232013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 21,700 miles
Last week the airbag warning light stayed on. I called the dealership and made an appointment. On 28 Oct, the dealer stated that there was a recall to fix the occupant restraint module; however, there was no part available to fix it. I went online and researched N38 recall. It seems that this was released on July 2nd (bought the car July 5), and according to Chrysler recall would start in August. I never receive any notification about this recall. It is now Oct and so far there are no parts to fix this issue. I can be rear ended and airbag would not deploy due to this issue!

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #5

Mar 292013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 11,250 miles
On 3/29/13 the airbag light came on the dashboard and I took it to the dealership received a loner and they called me the next day saying the car was fixed. They conducted: 1) multi-point inspection, 2) replaced the orc module, stated 3) that there was in fact an electrical issue which was an internal failure in the vehicle. NHTSA has now forced the manufacturer to issue a recall and in the notice, all the notice states as a remedy is repetitive of the work the work done on the vehicle in March. In addition, if the manufacturer does not have the parts as stated in the notice, how could they have fixed the problem in March then? my vehicle is defective and no one has come forward to reassure me that upon collision the airbags will deploy and there won't be any such mechanical failure as stated in the recall.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #4

Oct 192013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the dealer advised that the remedy part would not be available for three to four months. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Castle Rock, WA, USA

problem #3

Mar 252013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Passenger air bag light wont turn off from dash board and light from under the radio. No issues as far as airbags deploying.

- Lincolnwood, IL, USA

problem #2

Feb 252013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 15,600 miles
Februray 26, 2012 8;30 am.I had been driving Jeep Liberty for about 2 hours, parked in parking lot, went shopping, started up, and was driving my Jeep Liberty and notice smoke in the vehicle then I noticed a burning yellow smoke and flames coming from my drivers side door control panel, as quickly as I could I stopped Jeep into parking lot, at that time my windows where malfunctioning and the vehicle was fully engulfed with yellow smoke, turned vehicle off could not get seat belt unhooked, turned switch on put in park and then got seat belt unhook pulled keys out of ignition climb over to passenger side door to open door and then opened driver side door and threw snow and water on door to put fire out... stood there in shock for a moment, second time I drove wifes vehicle and it caught on fire 5 months old!!! noticed that the smoke in the vehicle was starting to dispensed and clearing out. Noticed window switches had melted and sank into door, burned fingers openening driver side door. Reached in and turned key back on, at that point the vehicle started to smoke again, threw the window and speaker of drivers side door, turned key off threw more water in door panel and again smoke slowly dispensed. I was moments from entering a interstate and the thought of what would have happened to myself if I would have not been able to get off the road in time !! I have been a master mechanic for 30 years and have never seen such a thing happen in any type of vehicle before.I took vehichle to dealer, Jeep Chrysler was contacted, dealership monkeys acussed me of jamming some thing in switch, what a bunch of crap.. Jeep said they could not do anything to claim it on my insurance !!!!!! dealer ship is trying to force Jeep too look at problem this vehicle is only 5 mos old and this should have never happened. I'm glad to see this problem regesterd with you... updated 08-20-14 updated 08/21/2014

- Montreal , MO, USA

problem #1

May 112012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 10,200 miles
On fri May 11, 2012 8;30 am.I was driving my Jeep Liberty and notice a strong odor in the vehicle then I noticed a burning black smoke coming from my drivers side door control panel, as quickly as I could I pulled off the road into a parking lot, at that time my windows where malfunctioning and the vehicle was fully engulfed with black smoke turned vehicle off and took keys out of ignition climb over to passenger side door to exit vehicle and got two children out from the back of the vehicle. Stood there in shock for a moment, and noticed that the smoke in the vehicle was starting to dispensed and clearing out. At this point I called the dealership service and told them what happened and needed emergency tow. When the tow truckdriver got to the location, he the stated he needed to put the keys in the ignition in order to put the vehicle into (N) in order to tow. Noticed window switches had melted and sank into door, at that point the vehicle started to smoke again but increased threw the window and speaker of drivers side door, tow driver pulled keys out of ignition and again smoke slowly dispensed. Tow dragged vehicle onto tow truck instead. 20 min later dealership called stated that my vehicle went on fire at their location and needed to be put out with two fire extinguishers. "? I was moments from entering a parkway and the thought of what would have happened to myself and family if I would have not been able to get off the road in time !! its been 9 days and at this time Jeep Chrysler was contacted but still has not respond to this situation" or has contacted me, my personal insurance as given me a claim number, this vehicle is only 6 mos old and this should have never happened...updated 09-09-14 updated 09/10/2014

- Huntington, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?