CarComplaints.com Notes: On August 16th, 2012 Jeep stopped production of the the Jeep Liberty, marking the end of a troublesome journey for the SUV.

All in all, the 2012 Liberty actually excels off-road, but since 99% of drivers never take this thing off pavement, that becomes somewhat of a moot point. The Liberty suffers from the worst fuel economy in its class (16/22 MPG) and offers an uncomfortable ride with suspect braking ability.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,433 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Feb 072014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It happened a few times but the last time she was turning at a light and when keys swung the ignition shut off causing her to lose power steering and she hit another vehicle. The ignition is very touchy - just by barely touching the keys it shuts off. I am afraid for my daughter's safety driving this vehicle.

- Deer Park, TX, USA

problem #23

Apr 072014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
When I began driving today I noticed that the airbag warning light was illuminated on the drivers side in the electronics cluster. There has been no damage to the vehicle and the light just randomly came on and has remained on.

- Levittwon, PA, USA

problem #22

Apr 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to air bag alert light malfunction and active head restraints recall notice. The consumer stated the air bad light recently illuminated. When she went to the dealer, she was informed the recall did not apply to her vehicle. However the vehicle did need an occupant restraint control module, which was not covered under the recall.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #21

Jun 122013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 3/25/14 I took my 2012 Jeep Liberty to my dealer planet Dodge located at 9975 nw. 12th ave. Miami, fl 33172 to fix the recall N38 (air bag). I was informed by letter that the active head restrains (ahr) on my 2012 Jeep Liberty may not deploy during a rear end collision. As a result, these vehicles fail to conform to the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard. The only feasible solution for this problem is to replace the module that controls the air bags. Unfortunately Chrysler group llc is only replacing the module to the 2011 Jeep Liberty free of charge unlike the 2012 Jeep Liberty, which the costumer has to pay for the same labor. The only authorize procedure to "fix" the problem is to "reprogram" the module, not replace it, which didn't fix the problem because the air bag light is still on. I'm extremely upset with this situation because Chrysler group llc is not complying with the requirements of the national traffic and motor vehicle Safety Act, putting at risk the safety of my family.

- Cutler Bay, FL, USA

problem #20

Nov 192013

Liberty

  • miles
Back in November I received safety recall N38. To date there has been no remedy for this problem. I am concerned with the amount of time that is lapsing without a resolution to this problem.

- Rock Hill, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Mar 052014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/28/14

- Susquehanna, PA, USA

problem #18

Feb 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light is on constantly. Dealer claims that the orc module is bad, but it is not covered by the recall (N38) that states that "Jeep will... replace the orc module free of charge". the vehicle is less than 2 years old and has not been subjected to any abuse or damage.

- Pace, FL, USA

problem #17

Oct 152013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Liberty. Attorney representing consumer writes in regards to active head restraints recall notice. The lawyer stated, his client took the vehicle to the dealer to be serviced for an air bag warning light. Unfortunately, the service department was unable to fix the problem and had to replace the required orc module. Chrysler refused to reimburse the consumer, because there was not a sufficient repair for the problem.

- Burlington, WI, USA

problem #16

Sep 032013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
While I was driving on I-70 E, I noticed that the vehicle approaching me from behind, was traveling at a high rate of speed so I swerved to the right shoulder and the other vehicle swerved to the left lane and then back across the right lane over to the shoulder and struck my 2012 Jeep Liberty on the drivers side from the front to the rear probably at a speed between 60 - 75. With that impact I received whiplash & injury to my left arm, left hand, neck & shoulder. I did not received a recall notice N38 until late December 2013 and the accident occurred on September 3, 2013, so I called Chrysler and told them about the accident and asked if this recall could effect the air bag from not deploying, the lady didn't know and said she would file a report. I received a letter stating, "while the purpose of the air bag is to deploy when the major direction of the impact is from the front of the vehicle towards the back of the vehicle" & "the vehicle damage may lead you to believe that the air bag should have deployed, how ever, this can be deceiving." It also stated that large amounts of fender or sheet metal damage indicate that the crumple zone in the front of the vehicle did their job and as a result the air bags were not needed. So I placed two different calls to Chrysler dealers and also went in person to one and ask them "if I didn't get this recall fixed, (which the recall notice had not been sent out when the accident happened) if it could cause the air bag not to deploy, " and all three of the men told me yes it could cause the air bags not to deploy or something even worst, which the one man stated "it could even kill you." I believe as hard as I was hit, and with the injuries I received, that the air bags should of deployed and maybe I wouldn't have been injured as much. It has been over 4 months since the accident and my injuries are still present. Sincerely

- Grain Valley, MO, USA

problem #15

Dec 092013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Air bag light stays on. Dealer says it is not part of the N28 recall.

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #14

Oct 312013

Liberty

  • 16,999 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while starting the vehicle, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The contact received a NHTSA recall campaign id number 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the remedy part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but could not provide an expected date for the part to be available. The approximate failure mileage was 16,999.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #13

Oct 232013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 21,700 miles
Last week the airbag warning light stayed on. I called the dealership and made an appointment. On 28 Oct, the dealer stated that there was a recall to fix the occupant restraint module; however, there was no part available to fix it. I went online and researched N38 recall. It seems that this was released on July 2nd (bought the car July 5), and according to Chrysler recall would start in August. I never receive any notification about this recall. It is now Oct and so far there are no parts to fix this issue. I can be rear ended and airbag would not deploy due to this issue!

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #12

Mar 292013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 11,250 miles
On 3/29/13 the airbag light came on the dashboard and I took it to the dealership received a loner and they called me the next day saying the car was fixed. They conducted: 1) multi-point inspection, 2) replaced the orc module, stated 3) that there was in fact an electrical issue which was an internal failure in the vehicle. NHTSA has now forced the manufacturer to issue a recall and in the notice, all the notice states as a remedy is repetitive of the work the work done on the vehicle in March. In addition, if the manufacturer does not have the parts as stated in the notice, how could they have fixed the problem in March then? my vehicle is defective and no one has come forward to reassure me that upon collision the airbags will deploy and there won't be any such mechanical failure as stated in the recall.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #11

Oct 192013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the dealer advised that the remedy part would not be available for three to four months. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Castle Rock, WA, USA

problem #10

Sep 092013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
I started my 2012 Jeep Liberty 4 days ago and the airbag light stayed on. Why would a 2012 Jeep have this problem, I purchased this vehicle when it had 29,538 miles on it. It now has 39,300 miles on it, so it is out of warranty and my extended warranty does not cover this issue with the airbag. I don't have the $95 to diagnosis this issue, the $95 is only for diagnosis. I hope there will be a recall or something for this issue soon. As of right now, I have no airbag system.

- Chillicothe, IL, USA

problem #9

Aug 092013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 39,479 miles
While driving car, the airbag light came on. Instructions in owner's manual states to take to dealer immediately for repair. Called dealer and have appointment on August 12.

- Gold River, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 312013

Liberty

  • 23,000 miles
After starting my vehicle and putting it into reverse, my airbag light came on. It is now staying on solid and is not blinking. I called the dealership where I purchased my Jeep, and they told me to schedule an appointment and they could get me in to make sure it is not an issue of a rabbit or a rodent chewing up the wires, and then they will decide if its a safety issue. But in the meantime all in one breath, they told me my vehicle is safe to drive. There was not, and has not been anything in my passenger seat since almost 24 hours ago.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #7

Jun 212013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Turned the car on and the airbag light came on. Stayed on the entire time I was driving.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #6

Mar 252013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Passenger air bag light wont turn off from dash board and light from under the radio. No issues as far as airbags deploying.

- Lincolnwood, IL, USA

problem #5

Feb 132013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 9,300 miles
I've been driving my Jeep around to work and home everyday and I notice the passenger air bag light flashes where it says it's off. Today 2/17/2013 I drove 100 miles from a small trip and the light was on the entire time I was driving. I haven't had any accidents.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?