Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,085 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Patriot electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Patriot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Patriot Owner Comments

problem #16

Aug 012016


  • 65,200 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Patriot. After refueling the vehicle, it randomly stalled. The vehicle was to be inspected and diagnosed by a dealer. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V120000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,200.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #15

Jan 232016


  • miles
On 12/28/2016, the front passenger window motor and master switch were replaced by South point Chrysler (sp). They had the car for 9 days since they encountered an electrical problem. Coincidence? provided a rental car thru due to extended warranty. From 1/23/2016 3 alternators have been replaced and 2 batteries by precision tune (pt). The car has the symptoms of stalling/ding and a few minutes/hours later it starts. Since 3/12/2016 I have taken the car to the dealership since electrical components are under extended warranty and secure net warranty only paid a portion of the alternator repair. 3/12-3/16 sp had the car and were unable to reproduce the symptoms, at this point the battery was replaced brought over by pt. On 3/20 after being on the highway and now on a city street the car dies again in the middle of the drive. No response, dead! I was able to pull to the side, get out of traffic lanes and clear the railroad tracks. I walk to make a phone call takes me about 15 min. To return and the car starts again. Now at home, the car does not start back through the evening nor in the morning before I take a ride to work, so it is towed to pt 3/21, and are able to start it without problems, alternator and battery readings, perfect. I take it to sp on 3/22-3/26 and they are unable to reproduce symptoms. On 3/28 car back to sp since I need this problem taken care of because of the dangerous potential it poses. On 3/28 I call chrys, they claim will be sending a star engineer to look into this matter. On 3/31 sp want to return the car, unable to reproduce problem and I find out that they were not informed that an engineer would be looking into the car. On 3/31 after 2 calls to chrys. Informed me that the dealership is the one that makes the request to have a engineer come and inspect the car. I need the car fixed since it poses a danger to me and others, refunds

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #14

Jan 232016


  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Patriot. The contact stated that the vehicle had experienced a complete loss of power. The alternator warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the independent mechanic where they diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the independent mechanic where the alternator was replaced again however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the independent mechanic where the alternator was replaced a third time however the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed a new battery. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. Prior to this failure, the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the motor and the window were replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 84,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #13

Dec 072015


  • 51,000 miles


At idle and while driving, the electronic throttle control (etc) light blinks intermittently and I lose power. After about 4 days of this happening, not only did the etc light come on, but the electronic stability control (ESC) light came on. Then the 4X4 light, airbag lights, and engine light came on. The Jeep ran really rough at idle. I took it to a certified Jeep dealer to be told that I need the throttle body replaced for $591. The mileage on my Jeep is approximately 51,000.

- Hazel Park, MI, USA

problem #12

Oct 232015


  • 36,904 miles
I was driving and I was coming to a stop when my serious xm radio cut out, the next thing that went out was my dash light and my car surged and shut off. Nothing was working after that my four ways didnt work and my car wouldnt turn over or start my gear shifter wasnt responding to any shifts and my gas wouldnt work either so I was rolling backward. After about 10 I unlocked my doors and everything clicked back on and started to work again.

- Langhorne , PA, USA

problem #11

Sep 222015


  • 40,402 miles
I'm lucky I wasn't driving down the highway or a fast road as my Jeep just decided to stop responding to the gas pedal due to a faulty tipm and slowed down to a crawl. The flatbed operator was unable to get the vehicle to drive.

- Moodus, CT, USA

problem #10

Jun 012015


  • 89,000 miles


My vehicle is having troubles starting. The vehicle does not want to even turn over. The horn goes off at random times. The moon roof opens and closes at random times. The brake lights do not work(even after new bulbs are put in). The turn signals do not always work.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #9

Jun 152014

Patriot 4WD 4-cyl

  • 12,986 miles
My wife was driving her car on a day after it had rained. As she started to take off, water started pouring out of the overhead interior light and also the front interior light. This continues to happen after a rain. The rains comes down from the sunroof somehow and settles in the upper interior lighting system. It is enough water to soak any person(s) in the front seat(s) or completely soak a small towel.

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #8

Nov 282013


  • 38,000 miles
A year ago, I brought my 2011 Jeep Patriot to a car wash. The sunroof was closed, however while going through the car wash, water started pouring through the sunroof and the light fixtures, instantly causing an electrical short and damaging the roof liner and the car stereo. I immediately brought the vehicle to the local Jeep dealership. They kept my car for two days and called me to explain that "the car had dried out so you can come pick it up." I told them that I was hesitant to pick the car up because there would surely be additional damage that would need to be investigated I picked up my car the stereo and lights still did not work. Frustrated, I called the Jeep corporate customer service line. The representative explained to me that Jeep were not meant to be taken into car washes. I asked her how Jeep can manufacture off-road vehicles that cannot be washed. She replied that I could get a bucket and hand wash my vehicle.I decided to take my car to an out-of-state dealership.they had it for several days and called to tell me there was nothing wrong with it and I could pick it up. Once again, I picked up the vehicle and the lights and stereo still did not work. Out of frustration, I gave up on the issue for awhile until I was driving down the highway and water started pouring through the sunroof and fixtures once again- distracting my driving because water is pouring everywhere. I promptly brought my vehicle back in to the local dealership. They called and told me they found a piece of painter's tape in the sunroof from some recent painting to my car I had done. I approached the paint shop with no reply. Today, the car started leaking through the sunroof and fixtures causing water to stream down the inside of the windshield, limiting my vision while driving. My car is still not fixed because Jeep is unwilling to acknowledge that there is a problem.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #7

Mar 122014

Patriot 4-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2011 Jeep Patriot 4X4 with the 2.4 liter and for the last month my wife and I are having trouble with the engine just shutting off and not wanting to start.only had 2 times when the engine would just shut off while stopped(thank god)and have has numerous times when the engine just will not start..sometimes you have to mess with the gear shift but most times you have to turn the key really hard to start or just keep trying until it decides to main concern is that it will just shut off while running down the interstate.I called Chrysler and they said they had no recalls and I ask them to make not of my problem and they said they would..the gentleman said they were no recalls for my Jeep.

- Canal Winchester, OH, USA

problem #6

May 032014


  • 45,000 miles


Driver's power door lock stopped functioning. It is solely the driver's door. All other power door locks function appropriately. The driver's door lock does not automatically lock when the minimum threshold speed is reached. It also does not automatically lock/unlock with a key fob. Power door locks were created to enhance driver safety, so the fact that this stopped functioning on a vehicle less than 3 years old is particularly concerning. A search of web sites suggests this is a known issue with these Jeep, but the dealer reports no recalls nor service bulletins.

- Derry, NH, USA

problem #5

Dec 052013

Patriot 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
While driving to work on 12/03/13 I was at an intersections attempting to accelerate and turn in to traffic on a busy highway when my car would not accelerate, almost got hit. Car continued to hesitate as I pressed the gas pedal down. Car slowly accelerated but would not go more than 40 mphs. Car continued to pull and hesitated as I was attempting to get it the shop. Major safety concern and almost get in a major accident attempting to turn into traffic.

- Farmville, NC, USA

problem #4

Apr 122012

Patriot 4-cyl

  • 376 miles
I purchased my 2011 Jeep Patriot in March 2011 and one day it suddenly stalled while traveling 50-55 mph on the interstate. The car had been traveling on the road for only 5 minutes prior to the incident, with no stops or problems. I was meeting my husband for lunch and the car just stalled and I pulled over on the side. I was in shock because the were cars behind me and I immediately put my emergency lights on. I called my husband and told him what happened and he asked me did I hit a bump wrong that may have caused this issue and I said no. I immediately called my dealer and left a message. The service center called back and I gave them details. They told me to bring the car for a few days and allow them to drive it, but I wouldn't have a replacement vehicle. So they told me that if it gave me any other issues to give them a call. A few months later it did the same thing, again when I first took off leaving my home. At this point I was assuming it was something I was doing or hitting a bump wrong. So I called them and gave another notice to the dealer. Same day the windows started to go down by themselves. Again, I thought I touched the switch wrong and cause the window to roll all the way down but it not only did it to my window the passenger window did the same. So during the first oil change at the dealership, I told them to check everything out because the vehicle was doing weird stuff. Never saw any warning lights on the dashboard. No putting occurred when the car shut down. It's been over a year now and we have only dealt with the windows going down by themselves, but the car isn't turning off..thank god! my father in law brought the recall issue to our attention and wanted us to contact the dealer because we have two young kids. We travel alot and would like this matter taken care of before we decide to travel for the holidays.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #3

Oct 162012


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Patriot. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph the vehicle stalled. The contact merged to the shoulder of the road and shut the vehicle off. Immediatellt after restarting the vehicle it stalled.the vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #2

Nov 172011

Patriot 4-cyl

  • 6,987 miles
While driving to work this morning my radio went off and on and screen turned black. I drove a little further to find a place to pull off when my dash board lite up with everything malfunctioning light and then went black. I pulled over and turned the car off. When I turned the car back on everything appeared to be alright. As I continued on to work the radio started going on and off again. I have had the problem with the water leak and it has not been fixed as of yet. I am thinking that maybe due to the water leak from the dome lights and fire wall may have gotten into the electrical area. Please you really need to look into this before someone is seriously hurt or worse. I have my family in this vehicle regularly including my 2 year old grandson and 10 month old granddaughter. They are my life and I do not want anything to happen to them.

- Rifton, NY, USA

problem #1

Jun 272011


  • 500 miles
1complaint number: 10412080incident date: June 18, 2011date added to file: July 12, 2011 description of the complaint: While traveling on a freeway with cruise control activated, my instrument panel lit up and my car lost all power. I was able to coast to the shoulder. When I looked up the panel light meanings in the manual, I determined it was safe to attempt to restart the car. The car would not start. After waiting for a few minutes, I was able to start the car and take it in to the dealer. The service department acknowledged the car problem but was unable to duplicate it. At the time, I had 7500 miles on my car. I had the same problem this week. My car stalled in the middle of an intersection and would not restart. Again, service department is unable to duplicate this issue. 2complaint number: 10410937incident date: July 6, 2011date added to file: July 7, 2011 description of the complaint: The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Patriot. The contact stated while driving approximately 75 mph, with the cruise control activated the vehicle suddenly stalled. After coasting the vehicle to the side of the road he attempted to restart it and it failed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who advised him that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure and current miles were approximately 3,500. Details discuss this consumer complaint at forum 3complaint number: 10410109incident date: June 27, 2011date added to file: June 30, 2011 description of the complaint: The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Patriot. The contact stated the lights on the instrumental panel illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to coast the vehicle onto the shoulder. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic but was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 137. Have you looked into this?

- Malibu, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?