Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,473 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Patriot drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Patriot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Patriot Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Sep 042016


  • 30,000 miles


I was driving down the interstate and my transmission overheat light came on, without warning, the Jeep slowed to 40. Very dangerous on the interstate where the speed limit is 75. Luckily I was in the right lane and pulled over. I could have been rear ended and killed. This is very dangerous!!! dealer said since there were not any codes showing, they could not fix it.

- Del Rio, TX, USA

problem #26

Aug 242016


  • 80,000 miles
I have had this vehicle for 2 1/2 years. In those initial 2 years, I worked for a Chrysler dealer but had to travel 50 miles one way to work, so I put 100 miles a day on my vehicle just to work and back. Recently I had the PCM replaced twice which never fixed the issue, only to need a new ground wire. The vehicle has worked fine for a month, until now. Now, I have a cracked manifold. The dealer is unable to do anything to help take care of this issue and when I spoke with Chrysler they informed me that they can not take care of it either. They're reason is that the manifold cracked because of the mileage on the vehicle. The mileage is high because I worked for a Chrysler dealer which was 50 miles away!!!! I am appalled at the fact that no one wants to take care of an issue that a 2 year old vehicle should not have. I will never buy from Chrysler again and I would not recommend them to anyone!!

- Mcalisterville, PA, USA

problem #25

Aug 112016


  • 79,236 miles
I went to get gas one morning, after filling up, I tried to start my Jeep again. The entire electrical system went haywire, lights, radio and the wipers came on and off. The fuel gauge and thermostat jumped up and down, and the car would not start. The dealership says it is a bad tipm and will cost me $1,100 to replace. I've read numerous other complaints, yet Chrysler says there is no recall.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #24

Jul 312016


  • 53,000 miles


While driving on highways any time over 60 mph, the Jeep loses power and the transmission overheating light comes on. I have to pull over, wait for it to cool, before I can drive again. It happened again yesterday. I was driving at 65 mph on route 95. The transmission light came on and the car dropped to 30 mph. I had my wife, my dog and my baby in the car and it was not overloaded. I was not towing anything. In the past, I reported it to my dealer and they said there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. This is extremely dangerous. I am afraid to attempt travel with my family in the car. I just got transferred to camp lejeune and need to find a reputable dealer where this issue can be addressed. I only have 53,000 miles on this car and it has had more problems than you could imagine. Lemon

- Sneads Ferry, NC, USA

problem #23

Jul 042016


  • 43,000 miles
This vehicle is not on the recall from December 2014, however is presenting with the same as listed problems. It stalls when driving over 65 miles an hour a light comes on and then after car sits 20 min it will start up again. I drive a lot and have a famil.. this is terribly dangerous. It has happened 2 to 3 times in the past couple of weeks

- Hope, KY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Jun 152016


  • 22,000 miles
Cvt transmission overheats causing car to lose power. Very dangerous when driving at highway speeds

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #21

May 212016


  • 37,000 miles


Since day one of purchasing the Patriot my vehicle has had non-stop issues, more recently almost resulting in the driver and passenger being involved in an accident with an 18 wheeler after the vehicle went from 80mph to 40mph in less than 5 minutes, transmission fluid light came on and rpms stayed at 4200. The car made a ridiculous screaming noise and this was after the dealership had my vehicle for 2 weeks (third time bringing it in for the above problem) and now it is at the dealership again where I am being told there isn't anything they can do. The vehicle has had new struts (complained about a clunking noise when turning left and shockingly they couldn't replicate the problem until the third time bringing it in), new brake sensor switch after they also found the master was leaking into the booster and then they found the sensor switch bad -that was October of 2015, April 23rd 2016 they said that had to be replaced and that was what was causing the transmission issue - I may be a girl but I"M not stupid (that was the second time I brought it in for the trans. Issue). It's had a new radio and telematic modules 5 times, new antenna, new tire sensors, molding, door panel, etc. This car was too expensive to have these issues and Jeep/Chrysler group are telling me that the transmission is obviously over heating going into "limp" mode resulting in the vehicle staying in 4th gear and loosing speed - this vehicle is a coffin on wheels and I was told this was reliable. We have everything on video that happened after picking up the car from the dealership on May 21, 2016 and after taking it for a drive to assure the problem was gone (again third time it was brought in). The service manager told me that the computer resets like a laptop which is why the error codes go away and is continuing to feed us lies even with evidence in hand. My vehicle terrifies me now.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #20

May 132016


  • 54,144 miles
This is the 4th time that my Jeep that was purchased in January 2015 has been in the shop replacing the transmission. My transmission is losing power and slipping. A very loud grinding noise started and every mile that I drove it gradually got worse causing it to lose power. I was told if problem is not fixed the vehicle will end up shutting off on its own while driving down the road. Thus creating a huge safety issue as it could cause an accident. When is a vehicle considered a lemon? I don't want to wait until something life threatening happens with my family, friends, or customers are in my vehicle. This is the 4th time that I have lost money from it being in the shop.

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #19

Apr 042016


  • 53,000 miles
My transmission is losing power and slipping. Was told by dealer that the warranty won't cover the problem. Also was told if problem is not fixed the vehicle will end up shutting off on its own while driving down the road. Thus creating a huge safety issue as it could cause an accident.

- Senath, MO, USA

problem #18

Mar 262016


  • 19,500 miles
Driving on dirt road at appx 7,000 ft, temp appx 58deg, slightly hilly. Accelerator cut out and tach went to 3,000, speed remained constant at around 30 mph, floored pedal and then put toe under it and pulled back both with no effect. Tranny gear indicator said 6, hit brake and slowed down but no effect on RPM, shifted gear shift left three times and RPM dropped to 800, used manual shifting about next three miles. Pulled off to side and turned off engine. Restarted and every thing was normal. Second occurance of same problem.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #17

Oct 282015


  • 30,000 miles


First day, I drove out of dealer, with my new Jeep Patriot, a rolling noise was coming from my wheels, never in other autos I herd, such a loud bearing noise, as I drive. I thought it was normal, but I had to close my windows, thinking that it will help. As time goes, with 30,000 miles is getting worse!,it sounds like a thous old metal skate boards, with metal rolling wheel bearings. I turned off my engine, I put car in neutral, coast down in a down sloped street, and the laud bearing noise is there. I jack my car up, with my floor jack, put stands, turned wheels by hand, no bearing noise!.start engine, while in jacks, put in drive, noise and jerk at 25 mph.

- 2639 1/4 Huron St., CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 242015


  • 23,107 miles
I was on a 300 mile road trip. I was on the highway with cruise control on around 70-73 mph and driving on fairly level road (no hills). The transmission downshifted and the engine RPM went up between 4500-5000. The transmission would not down shift automatically. I had to turn off the cruise control and slow down for it to shift. This happened 3 times on the trip. There is less than 25000 miles on the vehicle. Thinking seriously about getting rid of this vehicle before I get stuck with it.

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #15

Jul 182015


  • 32,000 miles
While I was driving home through pa, my car's transmission warning light came on. I lost speed, horsepower, and torque; I struggled to make it up hill (didn't go pass 40 mph), was almost rear-ended by cars behind me. I pulled over and let my car rest for 30 minutes and made it home at 65 mph. I normally travel anywhere between 70 & 75 mph on the freeway. I took it to my local Jeep dealership in wheeling, wv the following Monday. The service dept. Told me there were no recorded messages (codes) in the computer system and, therefore, no service was completed on the vehicle. The tech even informed me that this was a common problem he sees, but Chrysler hasn't fixed it and hopes there's a recall. Fast-forward to August 31st, 2015, I encountered the same problem twice while driving home through oh. I had autozone run a diagnostic and again, no recorded codes in the system. I see a mechanic tomorrow (Friday, Sept. 4th) and Jeep on August 10th. I've been reading about this issue on various forums and youtube ("V=vnkezt0mr-4;"V=3-4stctcgkw). After further research, this problem has been reoccurring issue with Jeep, Dodge, and Chrysler for a long time. People have been reporting this issue and taking it to their local dealership with no service. There's a problem here and Chrysler has known this for several years.

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #14

Mar 232015


  • 62,000 miles
In March, transmission overheated while on highway, lost speed very quickly. Took vehicle in, transmission fill tube was missing and then replaced. Over the next few months, I noticed extremely loud whining noises coming from vehicle while driving. Fuel mileage is extremely low. In July, the transmission overheated again, took it in to dealership with no diagnosis, opened up a star case with Fiat-Chrysler, after 2 weeks, no diagnosis, picked up the vehicle, drove it for 1 week and transmission overheated with a crack in transmission fill tube again. The transmission overheats and does not report a repair code to the main computer in the vehicle and the manufacturer will not repair it without. Vehicle has broken down multiple times on highway due to transmission overheating.

- Hutchinson, KS, USA

problem #13

May 222015


  • 10,211 miles
Driving down the highway around 70 mph with the cruise control on, vehicle stopped pulling and engine RPM shot up over 6 on the needle. It has happened twice in 4 months.

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #12

Dec 172014


  • 22,149 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While driving 35 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck and shoulder injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated that the gear shifter failed to shift into drive or reverse. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,149.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #11

Oct 272014


  • 34 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While driving at approximately 20 mph, the RPM needle fluctuated between six and seven. The vehicle made a loud sound and the gear would not work properly. The failure occurred four or five times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing, but was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 34.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #10

Mar 162015

Patriot 4WD 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2014 Jeep Patriot that I purchased in Dec 2013. I keep experiencing the transmission overheating that lots of other people are complaining about. It happened last year a couple times where the light came on and I had to pull over to the side of the road and let it cool down. It lost all power and I couldn't do anything. I took it to the dealer and they said everything was fine, not to worry about it. It was around 100 degrees and I had been driving to the beach(4hr drive or so) so I took it as that, maybe it did just get to hot. It never happened after that last year, but I never really went on any more trips. Yesterday, on the way home from work, going to down a major interstate during rush hour traffic, my "transmission temp light" came on and I lost all power pretty much and had to get to the side of the road before I impaired traffic. It wasn't even 80 degrees outside and this happened already. This needs to be addressed asap as this could be extremely dangerous.

- Liberty, SC, USA

problem #9

Nov 282014

Patriot 4-cyl

  • 214 miles
I bought the vehicle new from a dealership on 11/01/14. On 11/28/14 I wanted to drive it but it would not shift out of park into any gear. I called roadside assistance and they towed it back to the dealership. The dealership said they checked the gearshift and it shifted every time for them. They told me to pick up the vehicle, which I did. The same problem happened a second time on 01/02/15. It was again towed back to the dealership. This time the dealership technicians also could not shift the vehicle out of park. They serviced the vehicle for seven days. They called me and said they replaced a so-called interlock cable and the transmission shifter because the cable had a 'kink' and it was causing "binding". they said the vehicle was fixed and for me to pick it up, which I did. The "mileage out" was 231. Since then and up until today, 02/27/15, I have only driven it an additional 57 miles and that includes the 15 miles driven back from the dealership. I only drive it very short distances and park it in an open space that is easily accessible to a tow truck in case the problem happens again. My wife is reluctant to drive it and I don't blame her. I am concerned that the 'kinked' cable was not a random 'fluke' but, rather, that it may have been caused by the towing process with the transmission locked in park and the wheels being dragged along the ground and onto the flatbed tow truck body. I fear that the root cause of the problem remains with the automatic transmission.

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #8

Dec 042014

Patriot 4-cyl

  • 24,100 miles
Upon backing out of my driveway, I noticed a vibration and related noise coming from behind the firewall of my Jeep; however, after placing the vehicle in neutral while shifting from reverse to drive the noise went away. Upon placing the vehicle in drive and accelerating to 5-10 miles an hour the vibration and noise, which I can only describe as a idling motorcycle returns. If the Jeep is traveling at a speed under 20 mph or sitting in drive at a stop light or stop sign this issue is present. Within about a week of this happening, the Jeep had issues starting. Once the key was placed in the ignition and an attempt to start the care was made, the engine had difficulty starting. It would engine would turnover several times before it would finally start. I can only describe it as the same experience an individual would experience when starting a car after replacing the carburetor. When this occurs the Jeep will stall without aby explanation. Of course, when it has been taken to the dealership, they are unable to recreate the problem and explain that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?