10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,428 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Patriot electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Patriot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Patriot Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Jan 072017

Patriot

  • 6,986 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. The contact stated that the front driver side seat belt failed to latch and the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V668000 (seat belts, air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,986. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Punxsutawney, PA, USA

problem #25

Jan 032017

Patriot

  • 87,000 miles
I've complained here 2 weeks ago but now an update -- today was the second time which was more serious as not only the etc light came on, but the mil light and then the eac light. After stalling and restarting and plugging my way home -- while at a stop light, foot on brake on a hill, the car seemed to RPM very highly and seemed to want to accelerate (while a pedestrian crossed in front of me at the light). At that time -- or around that time -- all the idiot lights came on -- on the instrument panel. The car was stationary, but appeared to swoop into high gear while sitting with brake on pedal. It then dwindled down to the previous 3 lights. Later when I made it home after several stalls, I went out to start it. The mil light lights first, and although it's suppose to warn me about seat-belts that has stopped. Then the etc light comes on after about 1 minute or so, and the eac which stays on.I've never had a car do this ever! so dangerous! the seatbelt light? this has got to be electrical. Chrysler has never fixed their Jeep problems -- this is a repeated issue with all of their Jeep. I was in downtown duluth going only 30 mph but wouldn't have been able to go past that speed as it kept attempting to stall out. I'm sorry I couldn't take pictures while in the midst of a panic.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #24

Dec 122016

Patriot

  • 103,000 miles
In August 2016 driving along and the car stalled and teh engine light and electrical light and my 4 wheel drive light came on.the four wheel drive stayed on as well and teh car sputtered then stopped.would not go.had it towed to a mechanic and he said the electronic body throttle needed replaced.ridiculous, I contacted the dealership but didnt hear back so I had it fixed and replaced.Monday decemeber 12th while driving home from work at 45 miles an hour my Jeep stalled and then completely died on teh road.I managed to get it off the road at a coast.had it towed again and the mechanic said I need a new engine. This is what happened the mechanic said "due to abrasive debris in the balance shaft bearings, these engines may have a loss of engine oil pressure, possibly resulting in an engine stall or engine failure, " said NHTSA in its summary of the problem. "if the engine stalls while driving, it may increase the risk of a crash." The same as teh recall, I called the dealership and they said my warranty expired and my Jeep was not on teh recall.just because it wasnt on teh list does not mean there could not be the same problem.my Jeep did teh same thing twice while driving, stalled and then died.

- Waldoboro, ME, USA

problem #23

Nov 152016

Patriot

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband and I purchased a 2014 Jeep Patriot at the end of 2013. I use the vehicle to drive from home to work and back. Currently it has 21458 miles. From the start the clock has been dropping time. I have taken it back to the dealer to get the clock fixed. After being fixed it still continued to drop time but before I could return it to the dealer another problem arose. On 9/28/2016 the engine would cut out each time it was started. It had to be towed to the dealer for repair. They said the wcm was bad, this not only caused the engine to cut out but also cause the clock to lose time. Now here we are again with the same problem. 11/15/2016 - when started the engine cuts out but within a few hours or the next day I can start it up but this time did not cut out. This problem has made me very uneasy. I am taking a chance when I leave home. It just so happened when both incidents occurred I have been lucky enough to be at home.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #22

Nov 152016

Patriot

  • 21,000 miles
My husband and I purchased a 2014 Jeep Patriot at the end of 2013. I use the vehicle to drive from home to work and back. Currently it has 21458 miles. From the start the clock has been dropping time. I have taken it back to the dealer to get the clock fixed. After being fixed it still continued to drop time but before I could return it to the dealer another problem arose. On 9/28/2016 the engine would cut out each time it was started. It had to be towed to the dealer for repair. They said the wcm was bad, this not only caused the engine to cut out but also cause the clock to lose time. Now here we are again with the same problem. 11/15/2016 - when started the engine cuts out but within a few hours or the next day I can start it up but this time did not cut out. This problem has made me very uneasy. I am taking a chance when I leave home. It just so happened when both incidents occurred I have been lucky enough to be at home.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #21

Aug 182016

Patriot

  • 89,000 miles
My engine light has been popping on and off for the last 6 weeks. Could not find the issue that was causing it.now the last 2 weeks my dash light that signals a electrical throttle issue.it was having issues of gaining speed and decelerating.yesterday August 18th it put my Jeep into 4 wheel drive and my engine light plus the throttle light came on.I could not move my Jeep I was fortunate that I was sitting still in a parking lot.I had only returned to my car after work and turned it on and this is what it did.it is at the repair shop now waiting on what the issue is and how it cam about..

- Waldoboro, ME, USA

problem #20

May 012014

Patriot

  • 12 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I really hate that I have so many issues with the console electrical in my car. Mostly radio/aux/charger/starter. Since about a week after I got the car, and of corse after 3 days its not returnable. I messed up buying it brand-new, but I was excited since my car before that was my first car that I had bought in high school. I had to have the charger unit replaced so I could charge my phone. At the time I was stationed 3 hours from home, so I frequently made the trip and needed my phone charged for the gps. It's not that it wouldn't charge, but the charger had to be "turned" a specific way. It wasn't the charger.. I tried countless. Recently, within the last year, I noticed that the aux is doing the exact same thing. And yes, I've tried multiple phones and aux cords, but the cord has to be turned a "certain way" in the hole to work. It pissed me off because I had to pay to have my charger replaced, and I'm sure I'll have to pay to have this replaced too. Oh, and the starter. (or I think its the starter) about a year ago, I have to turn the key and hold it for a second to get my car to start sometimes.. its so irritating.. I learned my lesson with buying new cars. The warranties cover nothing and they have more issues then the old camaro I bought for my first car :/

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #19

May 212016

Patriot

  • 37,000 miles
Since day one of purchasing the Patriot my vehicle has had non-stop issues, more recently almost resulting in the driver and passenger being involved in an accident with an 18 wheeler after the vehicle went from 80mph to 40mph in less than 5 minutes, transmission fluid light came on and rpms stayed at 4200. The car made a ridiculous screaming noise and this was after the dealership had my vehicle for 2 weeks (third time bringing it in for the above problem) and now it is at the dealership again where I am being told there isn't anything they can do. The vehicle has had new struts (complained about a clunking noise when turning left and shockingly they couldn't replicate the problem until the third time bringing it in), new brake sensor switch after they also found the master was leaking into the booster and then they found the sensor switch bad -that was October of 2015, April 23rd 2016 they said that had to be replaced and that was what was causing the transmission issue - I may be a girl but I"M not stupid (that was the second time I brought it in for the trans. Issue). It's had a new radio and telematic modules 5 times, new antenna, new tire sensors, molding, door panel, etc. This car was too expensive to have these issues and Jeep/Chrysler group are telling me that the transmission is obviously over heating going into "limp" mode resulting in the vehicle staying in 4th gear and loosing speed - this vehicle is a coffin on wheels and I was told this was reliable. We have everything on video that happened after picking up the car from the dealership on May 21, 2016 and after taking it for a drive to assure the problem was gone (again third time it was brought in). The service manager told me that the computer resets like a laptop which is why the error codes go away and is continuing to feed us lies even with evidence in hand. My vehicle terrifies me now.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #18

Apr 272016

Patriot

  • 70,000 miles
I've had my vehicle since new in 2014 and for the first year of having the vehicle I traveled 50 miles one way to work every day, so I put a lot of miles on the vehicle but mainly highway miles. I've never had an issue with the vehicle until a month ago. I went to go to work and the electronic throttle control light, check engine light, an traction control lights came on. The vehicle would not accelerate because of the etc light. The engine pulsated and revved steady at 4,000 rpms until I shut the vehicle off. I took it to a Chrysler dealer and they replaced the PCM. I got my vehicle back and it worked fine for about 2 weeks. Upon getting gas the vehicle would not start. All the lights and the radio worked but it would not click, crank, or turn over. I finally was able to start the vehicle and it ran fine for 3 days and the same thing happened in a parking lot. I took it to another Chrysler dealer and had yet another PCM put in it. The vehicle is still at the Chrysler dealer and I've been without it and driving a rental for almost a week now. I've contacted Chrysler and upon asking them what is going to happen if the issue persists, they could only say they'll continue to diagnose it and fix it. I have a 2 year old and I can't afford to be driving an let sit along the side of the road if I decide to take him somewhere farther away.

- Mifflintown, PA, USA

problem #17

Apr 042016

Patriot

  • 53,000 miles
My transmission is losing power and slipping. Was told by dealer that the warranty won't cover the problem. Also was told if problem is not fixed the vehicle will end up shutting off on its own while driving down the road. Thus creating a huge safety issue as it could cause an accident.

- Senath, MO, USA

problem #16

Jan 142016

Patriot

  • 20,673 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car would not start, there was still power to the lights and radio. My Jeep has only 20,673 miles on it. I bought it brand new in December 2013. It is still under manufacturer warranty. I had it towed to the closest Chrysler dealer. San leandro Chrysler is where I bought it and have it serviced regularly. I purchased the service contract from the dealer. They took 5 business days to look at it. I had to pay for a rental car out of my own pocket. The service tech determined it was the wcm was non responsive. They said since I had an aftermarket alarm the warranty was void. I had the alarm installed by an alarm specialist. They charged me $185 for the diagnostic, and my car still did not work. I did a google search for wcm. It turns out this problem goes back to 2008 in Jeep, Chrysler and Dodge vehicles. One of the forums recommended I disconnect the battery or a certain fuse. I did that, the car started right up ! I told the service manager and he said that he was not going to refund my money. This wcm can only be installed by a dealer because it has to match the VIN #. this part should be recalled ! your vehicle could just turn off while you are driving it !

- Alameda, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 142014

Patriot

  • 25,069 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While idling at a stop light, the vehicle jerked forward and in reverse. In addition, the vehicle had steam coming from the hood, there was an abnormal odor, and the tire pressure warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure had occurred approximately three times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 25,069.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #14

Mar 152015

Patriot

  • 9,900 miles
Since March of 2015 the car has experienced 43 non-starts. When you insert the key and turn it to start the only thing that happens is the dash lights come on. The car has been in the shop 4 times and each time the dealer cant find a problem. The last time the car was in the dealership admitted the car has a problem as stated in in star report. Chrysler does not have a fix and wont until the earliest of 1st qtr of 2016. The condition is called a skim out and if it doesnt start after 6 tries it will not start for 12-24 hours leaving the driver stranded

- Hendrson, NV, USA

problem #13

Jun 122014

Patriot

  • 2,900 miles
When making a turn at a stop light or merging into traffic at a low speed, engine dies but will restart after it's put back into park & restarted. This has happened seven times & one time when not turning & usually when you are turning into oncoming traffic and has been in for repairs each time. Service can't diagnose the issue. Vehicle does not give any indication that engine will die. Traction control light comes on if it dies while turning but if not turning, vehicle engine simply shuts off, as if ignition has been turned off but vehicle has to be in park as opposed to being in drive when engine dies. The engine is quiet & you can't tell it's died & you have no steering control. I've almost been in three accidents, one with a truck-trailer waiting to turn but stopping about a foot away from behind me. My mom was in a high school parking lot after a game & almost rolled into some high school kids & their parents B/C she didn't realize she was rolling backwards until my brother pulled the E-brake. The dealership I purchase from told me that Chrysler deems it a lemon. I opened a case with Chrysler, they wasted my time & finally told me that ncdsusa.org deems it a lemon. I waste more time to open a case with ncdsusa.org & send them my repair orders & they go through the trial & tell me that they do not deem it a lemon but that since the dealership has said it's in working order that my case is declined. This vehicle is a death trap & Chrysler doesn't care that an unsafe vehicle is on the road, that I've almost been in three accidents & could have died when the truck and trailer almost rear-ended me and that it's not just my family or myself (if I survive) that will be filing a lawsuit but any other parties involved because I will tell the other party and they could be sued by them as well. I've given dealerships chances to get this off the road but they refuse to help.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #12

Jun 062015

Patriot

  • 19,450 miles
Our seat belt light started to mess up in June 2015, we took it to the service department and after they tried two switches I was told that it could not be fixed and that all 2014 Jeep Patriots do this! if you pull the seat belt out an inch from home position the light goes off, when you actually have it clicked it will still beep at you telling you that your not wearing your seat belt! we have only had this Jeep since Feb. 2014 and purchased it brand new! it will not pass inspection on base, so technically we are not even suppose to be driving this unsafe Jeep that can't be fixed! all 2014 Jeep Patriots do not do this, I know a couple of people who purchased a Jeep Patriot within a month or two from my purchase. Now the seat belt light will stay off even without me wearing my seat belt! I have tried contacting isg, NHTSA, Chrysler service and cannot reach anyone about my safety issue!

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #11

Jul 182015

Patriot

  • 29,000 miles
For the fourth time, when driving the vehicle on hway at 65 to 70 miles per hour, overheat lamp goes on even though gage does not rise and car starts to slow down to approximately 40 miles per hour. When acceleration is attempted the vehicle makes a loud winding sound and slows down to less than 20 mph. Eventually acceleration does not matter as vehicle moves no more than 20 mph and we have to pull over and turn off the vehicle for 30 or more minutes. When we start the vehicle again, the vehicle starts again without issue. We also have the low tire signal go on regardless of whether tires are inflated.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #10

Jun 152015

Patriot

  • 14,500 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle caught fire. The fire department was notified and the fire marshall stated that the fire was due to faulty wiring. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 14,500.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #9

Sep 152013

Patriot

  • 600 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician informed that the failure could not be diagnosed. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 600. The VIN was not available.

- Alameda, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 012013

Patriot

  • 300 miles
Dealer installed O.E.M. blue tooth microphone and electric wire harness over left side curtain air bags. Dealer will not correct issue.

- Hill City, SD, USA

problem #7

Mar 132015

Patriot 4-cyl

  • 18,631 miles
I had just exited the highway when I saw sparks from the tail end of my Jeep. I thought someone had thrown out a cigarette, but then I saw more sparks fly. I pulled over immediately into a gas station. I turned off the car, which had started to smoke from under the hood. Within a few minutes the whole hood was engulfed in smoke and it was coming in to the inside of the Jeep through the air vents. I called my brother for help. When he got there was still smoke, but he looked through the grill of the Jeep and that's when he saw flames. I immediately called 911 and within minutes the firefighters were there and hosed down under the hood. I have had the Jeep sitting in a shop lot waiting for Chrysler to help me, but it has been 2 weeks and I am still without a car and no answers.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?