Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,725 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Patriot engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Patriot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Patriot Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Aug 182016


  • 89,000 miles


My engine light has been popping on and off for the last 6 weeks. Could not find the issue that was causing the last 2 weeks my dash light that signals a electrical throttle was having issues of gaining speed and decelerating.yesterday August 18th it put my Jeep into 4 wheel drive and my engine light plus the throttle light came on.I could not move my Jeep I was fortunate that I was sitting still in a parking lot.I had only returned to my car after work and turned it on and this is what it is at the repair shop now waiting on what the issue is and how it cam about..

- Waldoboro, ME, USA

problem #29

Aug 112016


  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While depressing the accelerator pedal at 55 mph, the vehicle began to independently decelerate. The check engine, change oil error message, and an abnormal warning light displayed on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body control failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 63,000.

- Westminister, SC, USA

problem #28

Jul 042016


  • 43,000 miles
This vehicle is not on the recall from December 2014, however is presenting with the same as listed problems. It stalls when driving over 65 miles an hour a light comes on and then after car sits 20 min it will start up again. I drive a lot and have a famil.. this is terribly dangerous. It has happened 2 to 3 times in the past couple of weeks

- Hope, KY, USA

problem #27

Aug 202015


  • 31,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While driving various highway speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The contact stated that the failure was directly related to NHTSA campaign number: 13V552000 (engine); however, the vehicle was not included in the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 31,000. Updated 06/29/16

- Mims, FL, USA

problem #26

Apr 242016


  • 58,000 miles
2014 Jeep Patriot 6 months ago driving on interstate the acceleration speed went from 70 mps to 25 mps almost hit by 18 wheeler truck took into dealership stated the speed SE sor was defected and repaired. On April 25 car acceleration wslowed down and car was throttling. Dealership stated codes were transmission issues, cvt shiffted out of transmission. Unhappy only had car 2 years seeking legal advice immediately! car is very unsafe on interstate.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #25

Feb 192016


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While driving 50 mph, the etc warning light illuminated and the vehicle lost power. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Fort Payne, AL, USA

problem #24

Oct 142014


  • 25,069 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While idling at a stop light, the vehicle jerked forward and in reverse. In addition, the vehicle had steam coming from the hood, there was an abnormal odor, and the tire pressure warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure had occurred approximately three times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 25,069.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #23

Sep 212015


  • 21,651 miles
My car has stalled completely over a dozen times while driving or even just from being parked and trying to move forward or backward. The first time I took it to the dealer was after I was driving on the freeway and the car completely shut off. I turned on my emergency lights and moved to the left shoulder. Thankfully other vehicles realized something was wrong and let me move out of the way. I could've hurt some one else or myself. I was parked for 5 minutes when I tried to start it again but the car was hesitant. I tried again and was able to get out of the freeway safely and it shut off again a few miles from there. I then had it towed to the dealer. They stated that there were no error codes and that the car was okay. Now again on Oct 8th 2015 it did it again will driving on a city street. After letting it sit I was able to get home and after 20 minutes I drove it to the dealer and it stalled again down the street from the dealer. I had to get it towed in case there were error codes on the software. They've had my car for 4 days and they have already called that there are no error codes. They have had technicians try to duplicate the problem both times but no luck. I refuse to drive the car. I will not put my life or any one else in danger.

- San Martin, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 242015


  • 23,107 miles
I was on a 300 mile road trip. I was on the highway with cruise control on around 70-73 mph and driving on fairly level road (no hills). The transmission downshifted and the engine RPM went up between 4500-5000. The transmission would not down shift automatically. I had to turn off the cruise control and slow down for it to shift. This happened 3 times on the trip. There is less than 25000 miles on the vehicle. Thinking seriously about getting rid of this vehicle before I get stuck with it.

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #21

Jun 122014


  • 2,900 miles
When making a turn at a stop light or merging into traffic at a low speed, engine dies but will restart after it's put back into park & restarted. This has happened seven times & one time when not turning & usually when you are turning into oncoming traffic and has been in for repairs each time. Service can't diagnose the issue. Vehicle does not give any indication that engine will die. Traction control light comes on if it dies while turning but if not turning, vehicle engine simply shuts off, as if ignition has been turned off but vehicle has to be in park as opposed to being in drive when engine dies. The engine is quiet & you can't tell it's died & you have no steering control. I've almost been in three accidents, one with a truck-trailer waiting to turn but stopping about a foot away from behind me. My mom was in a high school parking lot after a game & almost rolled into some high school kids & their parents B/C she didn't realize she was rolling backwards until my brother pulled the E-brake. The dealership I purchase from told me that Chrysler deems it a lemon. I opened a case with Chrysler, they wasted my time & finally told me that deems it a lemon. I waste more time to open a case with & send them my repair orders & they go through the trial & tell me that they do not deem it a lemon but that since the dealership has said it's in working order that my case is declined. This vehicle is a death trap & Chrysler doesn't care that an unsafe vehicle is on the road, that I've almost been in three accidents & could have died when the truck and trailer almost rear-ended me and that it's not just my family or myself (if I survive) that will be filing a lawsuit but any other parties involved because I will tell the other party and they could be sued by them as well. I've given dealerships chances to get this off the road but they refuse to help.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #20

Sep 132014


  • 49,000 miles


Purchased a 2014 Jeep Patriot (used) on 03/15/2014 was going to work at 5am. All of a sudden was in 2 lane Jeep started loosing power, skipping bad, it did not wont to run!!! finally got it out of the road. This was in August of 2015. Called my husband he came we got it back home. Police stopped to see if I was ok now I called the Jeep recall place and gave them my VIN number said no recalls. So now the Jeep will not start when I turn the ignition on! have to do it several times to get it to crank!!! we live up on mountain now it started again the same thing!!!! hesitates going up the mountain and also on straight flat road!!! so what am I suppose to do"??" it scares me thinking I am going to get stranded on side of road anytime, especially at 5 in the mornings!!!! still doing the same thing!!! I just feel like I aint the only one this has happen to with the Jeep.

- Fort Payne, AL, USA

problem #19

Jul 182015


  • 32,000 miles
While I was driving home through pa, my car's transmission warning light came on. I lost speed, horsepower, and torque; I struggled to make it up hill (didn't go pass 40 mph), was almost rear-ended by cars behind me. I pulled over and let my car rest for 30 minutes and made it home at 65 mph. I normally travel anywhere between 70 & 75 mph on the freeway. I took it to my local Jeep dealership in wheeling, wv the following Monday. The service dept. Told me there were no recorded messages (codes) in the computer system and, therefore, no service was completed on the vehicle. The tech even informed me that this was a common problem he sees, but Chrysler hasn't fixed it and hopes there's a recall. Fast-forward to August 31st, 2015, I encountered the same problem twice while driving home through oh. I had autozone run a diagnostic and again, no recorded codes in the system. I see a mechanic tomorrow (Friday, Sept. 4th) and Jeep on August 10th. I've been reading about this issue on various forums and youtube ("V=vnkezt0mr-4;"V=3-4stctcgkw). After further research, this problem has been reoccurring issue with Jeep, Dodge, and Chrysler for a long time. People have been reporting this issue and taking it to their local dealership with no service. There's a problem here and Chrysler has known this for several years.

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #18

May 222015


  • 10,211 miles
Driving down the highway around 70 mph with the cruise control on, vehicle stopped pulling and engine RPM shot up over 6 on the needle. It has happened twice in 4 months.

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #17

Jul 182015


  • 29,000 miles
For the fourth time, when driving the vehicle on hway at 65 to 70 miles per hour, overheat lamp goes on even though gage does not rise and car starts to slow down to approximately 40 miles per hour. When acceleration is attempted the vehicle makes a loud winding sound and slows down to less than 20 mph. Eventually acceleration does not matter as vehicle moves no more than 20 mph and we have to pull over and turn off the vehicle for 30 or more minutes. When we start the vehicle again, the vehicle starts again without issue. We also have the low tire signal go on regardless of whether tires are inflated.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #16

Oct 272014


  • 34 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While driving at approximately 20 mph, the RPM needle fluctuated between six and seven. The vehicle made a loud sound and the gear would not work properly. The failure occurred four or five times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing, but was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 34.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #15

May 192015


  • 12,000 miles
On several occasions I notice that when I go start my Jeep it the engine has a bit of hesitation starting, when it starts it like thump. Also while drive my vehicle seem to increase an at time decrease on its own. Today I did a search on recalls and found one safety recall N52. I contacted Chrysler to inquire about the recall and was told there were no recalls for my Jeep. I explained that NHTSA had the recall information on their web site, and was informed that it is not the NHTSA who puts recalls. Recalls are VIN specific. I'm a little baffle by the woman at Chrysler's comment, due to the fact that she has no idea of what is happening with my vehicle. I thank the woman and stated that I honestly hope the information given is correct and that I am safe on the roads. Personally I don't trust the manufactures due to having past recalls on vehicles and recieving no notification. My question to NHTSA is regarding recall N52 is this a VIN specific recall or is this a recall for 2014 Jeep Patriot owners. I also notice the issue another person had with the rear brake squealing.

- Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #14

May 112015


  • 5,400 miles
I work for the federal government and this incident occurred with one of our shared fleet vehicles. On 5/11/15, I was driving a 2014 Jeep Patriot from pittsburgh, pa to erie, pa on interstate 79 North. Approximately 1 1/2 hours into the trip, I was traveling at approximately 65 mph in the left lane and attempting to pass another car. I noticed that my vehicle was quickly losing power. I was unable to pull off the road on the left due to an embankment. After several cars and tractor trailers had to brake and swerve to pass me on the right, I was able to steer the car into the right lane and off the side of the road just before it stopped completely. I was not able to restart the vehicle and called for a tow.

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #13

May 032015


  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Patriot. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle's speed decreased after an unknown warning indicator illuminated. The vehicles speed eventually increased after depressing the accelerator pedal however, the failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #12

Dec 042014

Patriot 4-cyl

  • 24,100 miles
Upon backing out of my driveway, I noticed a vibration and related noise coming from behind the firewall of my Jeep; however, after placing the vehicle in neutral while shifting from reverse to drive the noise went away. Upon placing the vehicle in drive and accelerating to 5-10 miles an hour the vibration and noise, which I can only describe as a idling motorcycle returns. If the Jeep is traveling at a speed under 20 mph or sitting in drive at a stop light or stop sign this issue is present. Within about a week of this happening, the Jeep had issues starting. Once the key was placed in the ignition and an attempt to start the care was made, the engine had difficulty starting. It would engine would turnover several times before it would finally start. I can only describe it as the same experience an individual would experience when starting a car after replacing the carburetor. When this occurs the Jeep will stall without aby explanation. Of course, when it has been taken to the dealership, they are unable to recreate the problem and explain that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #11

Jan 122015


  • 18,800 miles
Purchased vehicle, drove home and noticed that when I disengage the clutch a loud whining noise appears and I made an appointment at the dealership for a week out and it has gradually gotten worse while driving.

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?