Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,292 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Wrangler electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Oct 012014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my Jeep Wrangler on a public road, the entire electrical system shutdown. This shutdown caused the power steering, brakes and electrical aspects of the vehicle to stop functioning. This is now the second time that this has happened to my vehicle. Once the vehicle was put into "park", I tried to restart the vehicle with no success. The second time the vehicle started back up with no incident. There are many dangers involved with a vehicle suddenly "shutting down". my research has shown that there are many other Jeep vehicle owners that are experiencing similar experiences.

- Arlinngto, VA, USA

problem #30

Aug 012013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
I have had 4 electrical/engine events with the most recent occurring in July, 2014 after picking up my kids from camp. As I slowed down for a light, all dash board lights came on, the radio went dead and the engine cut out. Luckily I was coming to a stop at the light, and as I was looking at the dash trying to figure out what happened, the Jeep then turned back on.please help.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #29

Feb 272014

Wrangler

  • 98,000 miles
Horn stopped working completely, checked all the fuses and everything looks fine. I've traced it to a faulty clock spring in the steering column. Not safe and will not pass inspection!

- Eastover, NC, USA

problem #28

Jun 172014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving at a speed of 40 mph the Jeep's dash lights came on, the horn started blowing, the windshield wipers came on, the locks went on and off and the car stalled. This has happened numerous times over the past year and a half at different speeds, while idling, and different weather conditions.

- Meriden, CT, USA

problem #27

Jun 062014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
On 6 June, I noticed my Jeep jk air bag indicator illuminated and then disappears within a minute. Later on it started again and has now frequently turns on and off approximately one minute or more but less than two minutes regardless of the speed of driving. I've researched about this issue and several other owners had the same issue (2007-08 models). Chrysler co said it is not a recall, but according to several website says it is and is covered on an extended warranty or 150,000 miles.

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #26

Feb 042014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I started the vehicle and put the windshield wipers on due to the weather and smoke started coming out from the right side of vehicle caught it on time and it was the power module fuse box. Someone is going to get hurt if Jeep don't fix this problem.

- Rutherford, NJ, USA

problem #25

Dec 062012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 40,292 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First occurrence Dec 6th 2012, backing out of an inclined driveway. Vehicle seemed as if it had no power, stalled, spitting and sputtering like it was starving for gas. Finally got it out of the driveway and was about 15 miles from closest Jeep dealership in ocala fl, and nursed it there, spitting and sputtering and stalling the whole trip. Left it overnight and got a call the next day where they had found the problem and a couple of other things wrong (unrelated to the problem) I approved the fixes and after $677 later drove off the lot. The only thing I can see on the invoice that would have caused the original problem is a line that reads "cleaner-fuelsystem" and has a $59 part and a $106 labor charge. On January 13th 2013 it starts acting up again. I take it back to same dealership the next day and complain that I'm not going to come in every month and pay a $90 diagnostics fee for something they said was fixed. So they plug it in and the code tells them I was running "lean" however they have no idea this time what's wrong. And of course it's not doing it so they "can't fix what's not broke". between Jan and July it has done this many times, in the beginning it was once or twice a month but now will do it almost every trip. When it stalls completely I loose ps & pb, very dangerous. It now stalls at speeds of around 50 mph and I just have to pull onto shoulder to restart. Sometimes it restarts right away and other times I have to sit a short bit. It seems to be related to longer trips, 1-2 hours. But sometimes will happen after being on the road for 15 minutes. The stalling at 50 mph and loosing ps & pb is the most concerning in traffic.

- Summerfield, FL, USA

problem #24

Jun 222013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 67,632 miles
Jeep died completely - lost power and electrical while driving 60 mph on a hwy. This is the 4th time this has occurred - each time under different driving conditions. There is a recall for this issue with Jeep upto January 22, 2007 models. My Jeep is a February 2007 model so they are saying my Jeep is not covered under this recall.

- Spring Creek, NV, USA

problem #23

May 032013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 74,800 miles
I took my wife's 2007 Jeep Wrangler jk (4 door automatic) to courthouse shell here locally to get the state inspection done (my first time for this since purchasing it on July 1st 2012 from checkered flag Toyota in greenbrier). I received a call saying that the horn did not work, what did I want to do? my wife had said that it had been working the previous week. Well, I said that I want it fixed. The mechanic showed me that the fuse in the fuse-box was not getting any power and they needed more time to troubleshoot it, so they kept it overnight, they then incorrectly said it was a simple relay which they would order and receive later that second day, and they finally figured out that the air bag and the horn were incapacitated due to a faulty $269 airbag clockspring assembly which had to be special ordered from a dealership, so they ended keeping it over the weekend, the steering wheel had been disassembled and would cost more in labor to reassemble. Another option given that he explained to me that he could run a jumper wire to a pushbutton switch to make the horn work but the airbag would not be guaranteed to function as needed in an accident. I made the safe decision to have them replace the entire assembly. I was quite upset though to have to dish out $389.75 total for parts and labor. I have the receipt to show it in the event that Jeep ever decides to recall that flimsy and unsafe assembly. There seems to be many complaints lodged regarding this same issue online. Considering that this issue not only affects the horn but also the airbag system which was unknowingly disabled for a week or so, the safety of the driver should always be paramount. Thank god that my wife did not have an accident, the airbag would most likely not have deployed. I will be taking this up with Jeep.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #22

Jan 152013

Wrangler

  • 63,400 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the instrument panel warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel and the speedometer seized. The vehicle then stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who stated that the alternator would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure persisted. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 07V291000 (electrical system) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 63,400.

- Pace, FL, USA

problem #21

Dec 292012

Wrangler

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, he began to smell plastic burning. The vehicle was stopped and upon further inspection, he saw that the fuse box was on fire. The fire was extinguished and the vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the contact was awaiting diagnosis of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 68,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #20

Sep 152010

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
While sitting in the driveway, the horn began beeping on its own for a few seconds at a time and then stop. I eventually disconnected the horn completely. A few days later, the airbag light came on a blinked intermittently. It still does it to this day. Jeep only has 50,000 miles on it. I took it to the dealership and was told it was a bad clock spring. I also heard of other Jeep having the same problem.

- Moncks Corner, SC, USA

problem #19

Jul 112012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
Vehicle would not start. Has done this on multiple occasions. Made a click and started to start but then nothing. Battery is brand new. Further researching online there is numerous automatic Jeep jk's with this issue. Apparently an improper ground is the culprit- seems there is enough people having this problem to warrant a recall?? [xxx]

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #18

Apr 102012

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, she turned and the vehicle performed as if it were going to stall. The contact jerked at the steering wheel and the failure ceased. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The dealer stated that they had to reset the totally integrated power module. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 07V291000 (electrical system). The failure and current mileages were not available. The VIN was not available.

- Newport , TN, USA

problem #17

Feb 122012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
Windshield wipers and lights failed to work during icy rain/snowy conditions. Road visibility was significantly impaired and I couldn't see my instrument panel. I had no option but to continue home at very slow speeds to avoid an accident. After approximately 20 minutes of driving without wipers, the wipers suddenly turned on by themselves, moving very fast. I could not adjust the wiper speed at all. When I arrived home and turned the Jeep off and removed the keys, wipers still would not turn off. I had to disconnect the battery to stop the wipers. Dealer claims it was a faulty wiper motor. I advised them I think it's a faulty tipm based on what I researched/read online. They assured me the tipm was working fine. When they ordered and installed the new wiper motor, it didn't fix the problem. They then admitted they were wrong with the diagnostic and the tipm was faulty. They advised me that I need a new tipm and that all tipms are on nationwide back order. Seems tipm failure is a recurring theme amongst certain Jeep Wrangler models. If your lights and wipers can go out while operating the vehicle, this is a huge safety hazard. I called Chrysler to complain and have yet to hear back from them.

- Mount Laurel, NJ, USA

problem #16

Aug 132009

Wrangler

  • 51,144 miles
This is the first of three similar incidents concerning two different Jeep and clockspring failure. In this incident they advised that it was caused from a big jarring. In the second incident they said dust. The third one, in a separate 2008 wranger I replaced myself. They charge approximately $150 for less then a minute of diagnostic and approximately $250 for a part that costs less then $180. I believe this is a fleecing of the public and needs the attention of your Agency. There is a way to disable the the airbag sound and because of these costs it could/will lead to a death from failure.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #15

Apr 042011

Wrangler

  • 62,773 miles
While driving down a 7% grade hill, the brake pedal went to the floor, warning lights on the dash lit up and the engine raced. Followed by ineffective brake modulation, more lights, increased speed, and panic of wife (driver), children in car seats 2), and dogs (3). Wife was able to use emergency brake to slow far enough to shift automatic transmission to 2nd, followed by 1st, pull off to the side of the road and jam it into park. She drove to the bottom of the hill and into a parking area in 4WD low. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they found nothing concrete to blame. They speculated that a corroded battery cable caused a voltage spike(s) which the computer interpreted as the vehicle being in a skid and the computer took away all driver control of braking. Luckily, they all survived.

- Garden Valley, ID, USA

problem #14

Apr 272010

(reported on)

Wrangler

  • miles
2007 Jeep Wrangler suddenly exploded and caught on fire.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #13

Nov 152006

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Wrangler. While driving the vehicle would stall without any prior warnings. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The technician could not locate any diagnostic error codes therefore no repairs were made. The failure mileage was 20. The current mileage was 44000. Updated 11/04/09. The consumer stated the dealer performed the repair per the recall, however the remedy only lasted 18 months and then the stalling resumed and continued to be a constant problem. Updated 11/05/09.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #12

Mar 082007

Wrangler

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Wrangler. While driving between 55-60 mph, the electrical system failed and the vehicle lost power. The engine stalled without warning. After five seconds, the vehicle resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing, but they could not duplicate the failure. The failures recurred on three separate occasions. The authorized dealer was notified twice, but there were no resolutions. The vehicle is in the process of being towed. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 30,000 and current mileage was 90,000.

- North Reading, MA, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?