Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,268 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Jeep Wrangler electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Mar 102015

Wrangler

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been getting radom warning chimed and an air bag warning light when turning the steering wheel while cornering. Now it is almost always on and needs to be fixed before next inspection is due. Its a clockspring failure in the steering column, a problem common to the current Wrangler from 07-2014. There has already been a recall for the RHD models for the same thing but not lhd Jeep. This is my second failure, my 2007 had the same problems as my 2010. Its time for Jeep to offer a recall and replace this part of the airbag system.

- Wingina, VA, USA

problem #24

Jun 022015

Wrangler

  • 62,715 miles
While the vehicle was driven about 20mph, first on line to a traffic light and on about 20 T0 25 feet before the intersection and light was red, and when the brake was applied it did not stop and the vehicle kept moving and it was stopped by the emergency brake. A burning smell got inside the vehicle and people stopped yelling that the vehicle was on fire. When the hood was opened and the fire put out we notices that the fire started at the brakes pump sensor. It burned all the wiring around there to include plastic cover of left hand side wheel, the steering column rubber joint, sensors, the hood and other parts in that side.

- Vega Baja, PR, USA

problem #23

Jan 112015

Wrangler

  • 42,500 miles
Vehicle headlights failed to illuminate on activation of the headlight circuit via control stalk. Lights would flicker in a specific pattern then go dark. Activating high beam circuit repeated the cycle with high beam illumination. Complete reset of electrical system (battery disconnected for hour +) would clear up the issue for ~2-3 hours of operation before problem resumed. Required dealer replacement of tipm as headlight control circuit is a part of that module. Tipm was on backorder when problem first surfaced, leading me to believe that this model of tipm may be the source of the issue. Vehicle was undrivable for commute during early morning/evening hours due to lack of forward illumination. All other vehicle lighting and accessories functioned correctly.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #22

Apr 152015

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 582,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem light for the suspension disconnect came on. Dealership had to replace the actuator because it was full of water and shorted out. Couple of weeks after problem with suspension, the tipm module had to be replaced. At time all problem lights on dash board lit up like a christmas tree and vehicle could not be started. Had to be towed.

- La Pine, OR, USA

problem #21

Feb 012015

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 35,250 miles
While driving the Jeep the airbag warning light came on with the warning chime. The light continued to go on and off intermittently and the chime sounded. I took the Jeep to the local dealer who I bought it from and they determined it was a faulty clock spring in the steering column. I researched this issue on line and learned that this is a common problem on this model of Jeep. Right hand drive models have been recalled for this issue and the clock springs replaced, but there is no such recall for the left hand drive vehicles. The on line information indicated that this issue could cause the airbag to not deploy in an accident, so I had it replaced by the dealer at my expense. This issue should be addressed by Chrysler and owners who've had their clock springs replaced for this issue should be reimbursed for their expense.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #20

May 052014

Wrangler

  • 72,000 miles
I have a lhd Jeep Wrangler unlimited sport. It is a 2010 and the issue that is occurring is the clockspring has gone bad. The light came on for the air bag in about may and once I saw how much it was to fix it I just decided to deal with the annoying beep. After researching Jeep forums, I've seen that Chrysler Corp has been pretty negligent in addressing the issue by saying the recall only applies for RHD vehicles. If you're having numerous reports of a problem but in a lhd vehicle why wouldn't you own up to it? I'm not sure if people need to die in an accident before they own up to it or what but its pretty ridiculous.

- Winterville, GA, USA

problem #19

Jan 102014

Wrangler

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The problem happened 3 times. Two at very low speeds during the day, and once at night at high speed. The first time it happened, I was driving the Jeep and the engine stalled. It was hard to steer, but I was moving slow. I thought it was a weird fluke. I put the car in park and restarted it with no problem. The second time it my husband was driving, we had just pulled out of our neighborhood and the Jeep stalled. The breaks don't work well, and the steering is difficult. He put the Jeep in neutral and restarted it with no problem. The third time it happened, was on January 10, 2015. I was driving at night with my child on a long trip. I had been driving the Jeep for several hours on the interstate. It happened at around 10:00 pm - it was very dark. I was in the passing lane going about 65 mph when the engine stalled, the headlights went out, all the interior lights went out, dashboard went dark, and I knew from the previous two times, that if I applied the breaks or tried to steer, it would be very difficult. I decided that I didn't want to look down and try to find neutral and accidentally put it in a low gear. So I turned the ignition switch and everything came back on (engine, light inside and out, power steering, and power breaks) while the Jeep was in drive traveling at 65 mph. I took it to the Jeep dealer to have it repaired. They told me that the trans range sensor went bad. My main concern is - why is the engine stalling and Jeep losing all power while moving when the sensor goes bad" there was no warning light to let me know a sensor was bad. Are all Jeep designed with this sensor, and will all Jeep experience the same thing if their trans range sensor goes bad, or was it just something that happened with my specific vehicle"

- Morgantwon, WV, USA

problem #18

Nov 212014

Wrangler

  • 59,000 miles
The air bag warning light came on. After taking to dealership was informed that the clockspring needed to be replaced for $550. This item will not allow deployment of the drivers airbag when not working and should be recalled.

- Iowa Park, TX, USA

problem #17

Dec 202014

Wrangler

  • 153,000 miles
Power window went down wouldn't go up..took to dealer when hooked to computer it says the control module is faulty. As a mail carrier this is a detriment to ability to do the job the vehicle was bought for. The dealer also stated that this is a known issue but there are no parts available to replace it.

- Excelsior Springs, MO, USA

problem #16

Jan 202014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 58,485 miles
My headlights constantly fail and will start to blink on and off and stay off!! this is a common problem with this model and Chrysler can't seem to fix the issue. The safety of driving down the road and having your headlights turn off and not come back is a huge issue and should be addressed immediately. I would hope to think that someone would take the responsibility to rectify this problem before someone gets seriously injured!!!

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #15

Sep 122014

Wrangler

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at highway speeds, the vehicle headlamps blinked on and off twice then went out. I tried cycling the switch on and off but they would not turn on. Shortly after switching to high beams, these too turned off. This has happened numerous times since 9/12/14.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #14

Sep 262011

Wrangler

  • 32,975 miles
9/26/2011 (32975 miles): Air bag warning light on dash illuminated and chime alarm sounded every few minutes while driving. Defective clock spring replaced under warranty. 10/31/2011 (35283 miles): Horn would not sound when button pushed on steering wheel. Defective clock spring replaced under warranty. 7/29/2014 (63000 miles) air bag warning light on dash illuminated and chime alarm sounded every few minutes while driving. Defective clock spring diagnosed.

- Rosamond, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 062014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
After backing out of parking space, stopping and placing Jeep in drive, vehicle continued to move in reverse. Dash display continued to indicate car was in reverse. Vehicle was placed in park and the ignition turned off. Vehicle would not restart. Tried disconnecting battery but did not reset. Also tried the manual override, which did allow shifting to neutral, however vehicle would still not start. Display continued to show vehicle in reverse regardless of shifting to different gears. This could have been a dangerous situation, with potential for injuries to those in the parking lot. Also, could have resulted in an accident had it occurred at an intersection or other location. Why is this not a recall? this seems to be occurring in many Jeep/Chrysler products based on vehicle forums.

- Moore, SC, USA

problem #12

Jul 162014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 64,318 miles
While driving my air bag light came on. When I turn right it goes out. As I straighten out it comes back on. Research says it's a clock spring sensor or module based on how it goes on and off when the wheel is turned. Contacted my local dealership and was told that this is not a warranty issue and that it would cost around $400 for the part and labor. This is a device that has been recalled on many other jk Jeep, yet there is no recall on the 2010. Additionally I have a certified pre-owned warranty and they said it isn't covered under that warranty either. This is crazy.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #11

May 012014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
I have a 2010 Jeep Wrangler with 16,000 miles that the airbag light has come on. Have taken to certified dealer who diagnosed as faulty module and not covered under warranty, including extended warranty. Reading online comments discovering Jeep did a recall for this issue up to model year 2008 and also recalled right hand drive models beyond 2008 for this issue. In my opinion the only reason they are not recalling this for post 2008 Jeep is there are too many on the road, over 300,000. I also have issue with the dealer (stetler york, pa) diagnosing at $95 then stating they do not have the part and need to order it, it has been 3 weeks now. Additionally, they, dealer could not tell us if the airbag would operate correctly in the event of an accident. One final note, the dealer stated this is common from Jeep rough ride. Excuse me, they proclaim/advertise rugged readiness. I have never off road-ed this vehicle. I am completely frustrated with this condition. I think Jeep should stand behind their products. Regards, [xxx] [xxx] york, pa. [xxx] ph. [xxx] sent from my ipad information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- York, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 202014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the horn was not working. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the horn clock spring had needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired and the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the horn switch harness needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Deptsord, NJ, USA

problem #9

Mar 072014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that when the engine was started, the horn and the windshield wiper fluid activated independently as smoke and flames emitted from under the hood. The contact was able to extinguish the fire and disconnected the battery to avoid further fire damage. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 86,000.

- Bloomfield Township , MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 022012

Wrangler

  • 52,000 miles
On the 2010 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) dashboard, the airbag warning light flashes on every other minute with a chime, an indication that there is something malfunctioning or interfering with the vehicle's airbags. This has been a recurring issue and concern for many 2008, 2009 and 2010 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) owners, including myself, and has been shown time and time again to be caused by a faulty clockspring within the vehicle's steering wheel. This faulty clockspring is the culprit for potential airbag failure in the 2008, 2009 and 2010 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) during an accident or premature deployment when simply driving around. Daimler Chrysler has refused to address the safety concern of their faulty clockspring that can cause failure of the vehicle's airbags from properly deploying.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #7

Apr 192013

Wrangler

  • 85,000 miles
I brought my 2010 Jeep Wrangler to armory garage because my airbag light was coming on. Armory garage told me that "I had a broken electrical circuit int he airbag clockspring wiring assembly". the recall is for right hand drive - I have a left hand drive Jeep. I hope I get refunded the $600 in repairs. [xxx] this is what I read on your website: Report receipt date: Nov 02, 2011 NHTSA campaign number: 11V528000 component(s): Air bags all products associated with this recall details 10 associated documents manufacturer: Chrysler group llc summary: Chrysler is recalling certain model year 2008-2012 right hand drive (RHD) Jeep Wrangler vehicles manufactured from February 1, 2007, through October 10, 2011. Some vehicles may be equipped with driver's airbag clockspring assemblies that could experience a compromised airbag circuit resulting in an airbag lamp illumination, which indicates that the airbag may not deploy. Consequence: A broken electrical circuit in the airbag clockspring wiring assembly can lead to non-deployment of the driver frontal airbag and will not be able to properly protect the driver in the event of a crash, increasing the risk of injuries. Remedy: Chrysler will notify owners and remedy the vehicles as necessary free of charge. Chrysler will mail to owners an interim notification during March 2012. Owners may contact Chrysler at 1-800-853-1403. Notes: Chrysler's recall number is L37. Owners may also contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to www.safercar.gov.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #6

Mar 192013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 32,500 miles
When performing a left hand turn while accelerating away from a stop my air bag warning light and associated chime came on. While driving in a straight line with the wheel centered the light stayed locked in, during a sweeping right hand turn the air bag warning light extinguished. This pattern continued until I returned home and checked that the steering wheel position was in fact the cause of the air bag warning light and associated chime. Any steering wheel position left of center would immediately cause the light and chime and any position right of center of would extinguish the light within 10 seconds. I knew at this point that the steering wheel clock spring wiring assembly was faulty and scheduled a dealership appointment for verification and repair. Dealership performed a troublecode check and received dtc: B1B02-driver airbag squib 1 circuit open. Dealership further confirmed by cycling the steering wheel and code went from active to stored. The clock spring was replaced and retested similarly to my above steering wheel position check and no more lights, chimes, or trouble codes were expressed. Faulty clockspring ribbon wire assemblies are a recurring quality and safety issue with Chrysler vehicles and Jeep Wrangler jk's specifically. Per this website, actions have been taken to recall 2008-2012 RHD jk's and a customer satisfaction warranty extension has been issued for 2007 lhd jk's of 10 years, 150000 miles. This is most certainly a safety issue as a faulty clock spring can result in the driver side airbag not deploying in an accident if the proper conditions are met, and depending upon the nature of the fault in the clockspring the ESC system can also malfunction due to the lack of steering input signal to the system. Further investigation for all affected makes, models, and model years, must be completed in the interest of public safety.

- Snohomish, WA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?