Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,579 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Jeep Wrangler fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Dec 012011

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Jeep Wrangler rubicon unlimited: I recently took my Jeep to the dealership to attend to another recall and check out some problems - overflowing gas tank, squealing brakes, rough idle in traffic, increasingly rough and loud ride. I purchased my Jeep new 18 months ago and it now has approximately 22K miles. They replaced the gas tank which I now understand is a common issue on the 2010 rubicons. They told me I needed to replace both rotors which are no longer covered under warranty due to debris getting caught between the brake pad and rotor on both rear brakes. And, they explained the loud/rough ride was from the uneven wear on my front tires. The tread on my front tires showed severe cupping. The tech said it was from not rotating my tires often enough and this is a common problem on Jeep since the front has more "play" and the rear is more "solid". he said there was nothing wrong with my Jeep. I questioned whether the significant uneven wear was acceptable after only 22K miles. He offered no other solution other than rotating the damaged tires to the back and wait for them to wear evenly. My concern was rotating the tires would just create issue with my other two tires as well. He said it's just normal and I'd need to replace all of my tires soon anyway. With the age of the vehicle being only 18 months with 22K miles, I question if this issue is not related to my suspension.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #27

Jan 052012

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
2010 Jeep Wrangler rubicon unlimited: While refueling my vehicle I engaged the handle to continue fueling while I went inside the gas station. When I returned, the pump had disengaged, but there was fuel all over the side of my Jeep and on the ground. My fuel gauge registered full and this had never happened so I thought the fuel pump may have been faulty. My next trip to the gas station, I monitored it more closely and was able to refuel as normal confirming my original thought that the pump had malfunctioned. During my next attempt to refuel I had again engaged the handle to continue fueling as I sat inside the vehicle. I heard the thunk of the automatic shut off and saw again the gas had sprayed all over the side of my Jeep and on the ground. This was not the same gas station as the original occurrence so I believed the problem was actually my gas tank. I took my Jeep to the dealership where they replaced my gas tank without explanation. At this point I had approximately 22K miles on my Jeep. I purchased my Jeep new in August 2010 with 154 miles on it. I have owned it for 18 months and it has approximately 22K miles on it.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #26

Dec 222011

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 14,800 miles
Gas tank overfill issue. During fill ups the pump will shut off automatically as intended. Within seconds a quantity of gas will surge from the filler neck and leak down the side. The quantity is a significant amount. Per my records from previous fill ups (where this is not an issue) no significant change in quantity of gas or mileage driven has occurred. Attempts to limit the problem by filling up at 1/2 tank did not help. Slowing the fill rate does not help most of the time.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #25

Aug 232011

Wrangler

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler unlimited. The contact stated that when refilling the fuel tank, gasoline would overflow and approximately one quart of fuel would spill. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised the contact that he needed a new fuel system. The fuel system was replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Rockaway, NJ, USA

problem #24

Aug 302010

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 15 miles
Tank overflows on gas fill up.

- Newark, DE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Jun 162011

Wrangler

  • 8,105 miles
Was 4 wheeling and smell fuel out of the right side rear. Dealer installed O ring: Fuel pump and level. Installed new fuel tank. 07/01/2011 smelled fuel coming from right rear. Dealer did smoke test and found leak at the evap canister installed new vent canister. 08/04/2011. Still smell fuel from right rear, dealer did smoke test found no leaks, but could smell fuel vapor in right rear. Stated that when off rode fuel moves more in the tank and that the Jeep is safe, and no fix at this time. How can this be true??. if I would strike a match it would explode and life could be lost.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #22

Jun 162011

Wrangler

  • 8,105 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was 4 wheeling and smell fuel out of the right side rear. Dealer installed O ring: Fuel pump and level. Installed new fuel tank. 07/01/2011 smelled fuel coming from right rear. Dealer did smoke test and found leak at the evap canister installed new vent canister. 08/04/2011. Still smell fuel from right rear, dealer did smoke test found no leaks, but could smell fuel vapor in right rear. Stated that when off rode fuel moves more in the tank and that the Jeep is safe, and no fix at this time. How can this be true??. if I would strike a match it would explode and life could be lost.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #21

Jun 162011

Wrangler

  • 8,105 miles
Was 4 wheeling and smell fuel out of the right side rear. Dealer installed O ring: Fuel pump and level. Installed new fuel tank. 07/01/2011 smelled fuel coming from right rear. Dealer did smoke test and found leak at the evap canister installed new vent canister. 08/04/2011. Still smell fuel from right rear, dealer did smoke test found no leaks, but could smell fuel vapor in right rear. Stated that when off rode fuel moves more in the tank and that the Jeep is safe, and no fix at this time. How can this be true??. if I would strike a match it would explode and life could be lost.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #20

Jun 032011

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
When filling up with gas, it does not shut off when full. It shoots fuel up and out of the filler tube soaking the side of the Jeep, the bumper, the fuel filler wand, and anyone standing close. This is a serious issue. It happens every time filling to full.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #19

May 272011

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 19,051 miles
The fuel tank overflows when doing fill up every time. It happens at all gas stations and I never try to "top off" the tank. I do not want a fire, so my concern is for more than my ruined shoes and deteriorating paint near the tank. I have read of many others who have had this issue and is yet unresolved.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #18

Nov 012010

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel spills out of the filler port during the refueling process. This condition generally occurs when the fuel tank is filled to the full or nearly full level and the gas pump automatically shuts or clicks off. The fuel splashes on the person fueling the car, the car itself, and onto the ground. This happens repeatedly, not just a single occurrence.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #17

Feb 162011

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 153 miles
On the first day Jeep gave me my new truck I took the Jeep to the nearest gas station to fill up the tank for the first time. When the tank filled up, it spilled fuel all over the ground, truck and gas station personnel who was refueling the truck ( there is personnel in charge of refueling in gas stations in my country : peru southamerica ) my 2010 Jeep Wrangler rubicon unlimited 4 dr was bought on this February of 2011, and keeps having the same problem. My concern is that since my truck is not on the U.S territory ( but manufactured on the U.S ) Jeep on my country will try to avoid taking care of many of the recalls been made already to the braking system, which I have read after I bought the truck. Is every Jeep dealer ( even outside U.S ) obligated to call his Jeep Wrangler customers for recalls "?"..... cause they have not told me anything yet about everything written on the web.

- Lima Peru, 00, USA

problem #16

Dec 312010

Wrangler

  • 10,000 miles
My 2010 Jeep Wrangler unlimited rubicon stock gas tank overfills at the pump! you set the pump handle to stay until it is switched off, and when it switches off a good amount of gas pours out of the cap.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #15

Nov 262010

Wrangler

  • 1,864 miles
Gasoline overflows while refueling the vehicle. It happens about 50% of the time.

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #14

Nov 292010

Wrangler

  • 43,610 miles
Was refueling 2008 Jeep Wrangler unlimited at a local hess station and just as the tank was reaching capacity and the automatic shutoff on the nozzle engaged, fuel sprayed out of the tank. Gasoline sprayed on myself, the car and the ground. About 500 ml of gasoline was spilled. This was the first time I have refueled the vehicle since purchasing it.

- Sayville, NY, USA

problem #13

Oct 102010

Wrangler

  • 3,000 miles
Overflowing gas tank on 2010 Jeep Wrangler, when filling tank it overflows and spills to ground and person filling tank and onto Jeep.

- Chickamauga, GA, USA

problem #12

Sep 052010

Wrangler

  • 15,000 miles
I keep getting splashed with fuel when I fill up my gas tank. It's like there is nothing to prevent overspill when the tank is full or near full.

- St-Bruno, 00, USA

problem #11

Jul 212010

Wrangler

  • miles
When I am filling up my gas tank on my 2010 Jeep Wrangler unlimited, the gas will sometimes overflow when the tank is half full or more. This has happened on 8 different occasions with various levels of fuel in the tank.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #10

Jul 042010

Wrangler

  • 274 miles
Fuel spilled out of the filler port during the refueling process when the fuel tank was filled to the full or nearly full level and the gas pump automatically shut off. Spilled fuel splashed on the person fueling the vehicle, and on the side of the vehicle and the ground.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 082010

Wrangler

  • miles
I have a 2010 Jeep Wrangler rubicon two door, and each time I fill it up with gas, it overflows down the side of the Jeep. This happens each time I re-fill.

- Grahamsville, NY, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?