Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,355 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Jeep Wrangler seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 6 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Feb 122014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 36,740 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Clock spring in steering column failed, resulting in air bag light on dash, thus making the air bag inoperable.

- Yucaipa, CA, USA

problem #19

Feb 192014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 64,251 miles
During the month of 2/2014, the air bag warning chime and light began to go off intermittently. Due to the safety concerns, we took our vehicle in and learned that it was a bad clock spring. We paid to have it fixed, but upon research learned that the same exact part had been recalled in RHD vehicles (for our vehicle year) only. Would like information as to why lhd vehicles are not part of the recall when so many people are obviously experiencing a safety issue also.

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #18

Feb 162014

Wrangler

  • 55,473 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he started the vehicle and the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who advised that the clock spring be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired by the dealer. The approximate failure mileage was 55,473. Updated 04/15/14

- Edwardsville, PA, USA

problem #17

Jan 052014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 57,940 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light is intermittently lit. Multiple sources and troubleshooting have led to the airbag clockspring assembly. Chrysler has a recall for this (13V176000), but it only applies to right hand drive vehicles. There are numerous left hand drive vehicles that have had this failure. In searching for this part online, I found that there is no part number difference between right or left hand drive. This is a safety issue per NHTSA standards.

- The Plains, VA, USA

problem #16

Jun 032013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
On my 2010 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) dashboard, the airbag warning light flashes constantly with a chime, an indication that there is something malfunctioning or interfering with the vehicle's airbags. I took my Jeep Wrangler to the dealer which diagnosed the problem as a faulty clockspring. This has been a recurring issue and concern for many Jeep Wrangler (lhd) owners, including myself, and has been shown time and time again to be caused by a faulty clockspring within the vehicle's steering wheel. This faulty clockspring is the culprit for potential airbag failure in the Jeep Wrangler (lhd) during an accident or premature deployment when simply driving around. Daimler Chrysler has refused to address the safety concern of their faulty clockspring that can cause failure of the vehicle's airbags from properly deploying.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Nov 272013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
2010 Jeep Wrangler air bag light came on also horn and cruise control is not functioning because of a bad clock spring. I have been reading online where this is a common problem with this vehicle.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #14

Oct 122013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 51,530 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my Jeep Saturday back home after work, a hear a ding ding same noise when seat bells is not click or when gas get low, same noise, . look at the board and I noticed a light air bag on, star looking passenger seat hit the board but nothing, pull over stop off and start engine again nothing changed still light on some time when turn around light go off just for seconds, but the ding ding still. Stop driving by warning, until got an appointment at the dealer ship.after a day the dealer ship in austin tell me the problem it"S a clockspring, and for fix need to pay $500 + taxes. I do my home work and found a two (2) investigation for the same problems by NHTSA. Call the service advisor and Chrysler and they don't know nothing yet about this problem.hope this NHTSA campaign go true and the manufacture replace this part soon. Tks.note: Same day for the diagnosis, they renew emission and safety inspection.my sticker will expire 11-14..." it's this problem air bag light on for clockspring fail safety issue? I'm at risk by driving my Jeep with this problem"

- Del Valle , TX, USA

problem #13

Jan 022012

Wrangler

  • 52,000 miles
On the 2010 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) dashboard, the airbag warning light flashes on every other minute with a chime, an indication that there is something malfunctioning or interfering with the vehicle's airbags. This has been a recurring issue and concern for many 2008, 2009 and 2010 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) owners, including myself, and has been shown time and time again to be caused by a faulty clockspring within the vehicle's steering wheel. This faulty clockspring is the culprit for potential airbag failure in the 2008, 2009 and 2010 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) during an accident or premature deployment when simply driving around. Daimler Chrysler has refused to address the safety concern of their faulty clockspring that can cause failure of the vehicle's airbags from properly deploying.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #12

Jun 012013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Broken "clock spring" in steering column making the airbag unsafe.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #11

Apr 192013

Wrangler

  • 85,000 miles
I brought my 2010 Jeep Wrangler to armory garage because my airbag light was coming on. Armory garage told me that "I had a broken electrical circuit int he airbag clockspring wiring assembly". the recall is for right hand drive - I have a left hand drive Jeep. I hope I get refunded the $600 in repairs. [xxx] this is what I read on your website: Report receipt date: Nov 02, 2011 NHTSA campaign number: 11V528000 component(s): Air bags all products associated with this recall details 10 associated documents manufacturer: Chrysler group llc summary: Chrysler is recalling certain model year 2008-2012 right hand drive (RHD) Jeep Wrangler vehicles manufactured from February 1, 2007, through October 10, 2011. Some vehicles may be equipped with driver's airbag clockspring assemblies that could experience a compromised airbag circuit resulting in an airbag lamp illumination, which indicates that the airbag may not deploy. Consequence: A broken electrical circuit in the airbag clockspring wiring assembly can lead to non-deployment of the driver frontal airbag and will not be able to properly protect the driver in the event of a crash, increasing the risk of injuries. Remedy: Chrysler will notify owners and remedy the vehicles as necessary free of charge. Chrysler will mail to owners an interim notification during March 2012. Owners may contact Chrysler at 1-800-853-1403. Notes: Chrysler's recall number is L37. Owners may also contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to www.safercar.gov.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #10

Apr 102013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 40,802 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recently purchased a preowned 2010 Jeep Wrangler, that had almost 38000 miles on it, now has almost 41000 miles. Last week airbag light started intermittently coming on going off.I scheduled an appointment with the local dealer for a diagnosis and before the scheduled appointment called to filed a complaint. They said take to dealer let them scan for trouble codes. I did this the dealer scanned it and said it did show a code. However the code was inconclusive and to further diagnose would have take steering wheel off airbag out and clockspring out to diagnose properly (about 2.5 hours to be exact worth of labor I had to pay for.) I told them not to take it apart that I would call Jeep first and plead my case. Jeep told me that's what had to be done for them to determine if they would do anything about it. Now for good part, the suspect failed part is the clockspring under the steering wheel that makes an electrical connection between the wheel and the dash, also the airbag. The part is on a national backorder. Hmmm. I've owned many other cars with airbags and never have had one fail period. This car is 4000 miles out of warranty and does not have a functioning safety system. Kind of important in a car with a soft top don't you think? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #9

Apr 082013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 47,180 miles
Warning light came on, telling me that there was a problem with the air bags. This was caused by thing called a "clock spring" in the steering wheel. This in a known problem by Jeep as they extended a warranty on clock springs to 2007 Jeep Wrangler (right hand drive). On line I have found that clock springs have been a problem to left hand drive also. I believe this has continued on into the present Jeep. I would like this safety issue to be taken care of. I would like my money back for this repair, but this is probably not in your area.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #8

Apr 012013

Wrangler

  • 60,000 miles
I have a 2010 Jeep Wrangler rubicon unlimited and the air bag warning light keeps going on and off. After reading on the web seems a lot of people are having this problem on all makes of Jeep Wrangler jk models.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #7

Mar 192013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 32,500 miles
When performing a left hand turn while accelerating away from a stop my air bag warning light and associated chime came on. While driving in a straight line with the wheel centered the light stayed locked in, during a sweeping right hand turn the air bag warning light extinguished. This pattern continued until I returned home and checked that the steering wheel position was in fact the cause of the air bag warning light and associated chime. Any steering wheel position left of center would immediately cause the light and chime and any position right of center of would extinguish the light within 10 seconds. I knew at this point that the steering wheel clock spring wiring assembly was faulty and scheduled a dealership appointment for verification and repair. Dealership performed a troublecode check and received dtc: B1B02-driver airbag squib 1 circuit open. Dealership further confirmed by cycling the steering wheel and code went from active to stored. The clock spring was replaced and retested similarly to my above steering wheel position check and no more lights, chimes, or trouble codes were expressed. Faulty clockspring ribbon wire assemblies are a recurring quality and safety issue with Chrysler vehicles and Jeep Wrangler jk's specifically. Per this website, actions have been taken to recall 2008-2012 RHD jk's and a customer satisfaction warranty extension has been issued for 2007 lhd jk's of 10 years, 150000 miles. This is most certainly a safety issue as a faulty clock spring can result in the driver side airbag not deploying in an accident if the proper conditions are met, and depending upon the nature of the fault in the clockspring the ESC system can also malfunction due to the lack of steering input signal to the system. Further investigation for all affected makes, models, and model years, must be completed in the interest of public safety.

- Snohomish, WA, USA

problem #6

Dec 242012

Wrangler

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that he did not take the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that there was no recall on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 80,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- South Hamptom, PA, USA

problem #5

Nov 012012

Wrangler

  • 48,000 miles
Got into my Jeep and all of a sudden ding ding air bag light I looked for loose wires but I have the internet its about time Chrysler does something.

- Tunkhannock, PA, USA

problem #4

Oct 302012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
On the 2010 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) dashboard, the airbag warning light flashes and chimes while turning the steering wheel while in a forward driving motion. It is an indication that there is something malfunctioning or interfering with the vehicle's airbags. This has been a recurring issue and concern for many Jeep Wrangler (lhd) owners, including myself, and has been shown time and time again to be caused by a faulty clockspring within the vehicle's steering wheel. Owners from all Wrangler models from 2007 - 2010 have reported this issue. Many of the 2007 models have received recall notices from the dealer, as well as right hand drive models. This faulty clockspring is the culprit for potential airbag failure in the 2007 - 2010 Jeep Wrangler's (lhd) during an accident or premature deployment when simply driving around. Daimler Chrysler has refused to address the safety concern of their faulty clockspring for the 2010 model, that can cause failure of the vehicle's airbags from properly deploying.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #3

Jun 012012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Intermittent lighting of ABS/airbag. Horn no longer works.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #2

Jan 022012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Air bag light stays on! gas cap light stays on!

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #1

Feb 202011

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 22,143 miles
I was driving and ask of a sudden my airbag light came on. I could hear a clank/clunk in steering column. Also horn nor cruise control would work. Dealership replaced the clockspring the next day. No reason why. Just stated they go out. Mine went out at 20xxx miles!!! no recall!!

- Richmond, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?