If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,067 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Jeep Wrangler suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Sep 302014

Wrangler

  • 21,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that after inspecting the vehicle, it was discovered that the exhaust system and all the shocks were rusted and corroded. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the exhaust system and all the shocks needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 21,400.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #22

Apr 212014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Vehicle was parked in front of a house. I left the vehicle in 1st gear then set the parking brake and turned the wheels into the curb to prevent roll back and I got out of the vehicle. I went inside and the vehicle rolled down a hill and into a house. When the police came they found it still in gear and the emergency brake was still on.

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #21

Apr 242014

Wrangler

  • 55,000 miles
Driving on road when Jeep violently shakes. Lose control over steering and entire front end shakes. This is known as the death wobble. Had to immediately pull over and try not to crash. Got control over vehicle, picked up speed again and the violent shake happened again. Driving with children in the car on a busy road this is very frightening!

- Havelock, NC, USA

problem #20

Sep 192012

Wrangler

  • 12,216 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When hitting bumps the front end of the vehicle shakes. "death wobble" lose control until I can stop Jeep.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #19

Jan 032014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
I have a 2010 Jeep jk unlimited 4X4. I bought the vehicle used from a local dealer in July of 2013, with approx. 10K miles on it. At about 18K miles, I began experiencing the common dreaded "death wobble". I was driving down a country road with my children in the back seats. All of a sudden, while hitting a small bump in the road, the steering wheel began rapidly moving back and forth and the frontend of the vehicle was shaking violently. I quickly stopped the vehicle, checked on my now frightened children, then go out to examine my vehicle. I couldn't find anything obvious, like tie rods or ball joints. So, I slowly drove home. I went over the entire front end. Couldn't find anything. After reading a lot of forums on the matter, I found I am one of many Jeep owners that have/are fighting this same issue. I went ahead and put on a new steering stabilizer, and trackbars, as these are claimed to be the most common issues (even though mine looked fine and had no play). I continually have had the problem and have had it to shop for an alignment, tire rotations, and checking the balancing on the tires. The shop said tires and alignment were fine. We found that there was some play in the sector shaft where the pitman arm connects to the steering gearbox. Some guys are saying they have replaced theirs 3 times in 30K miles. I don't offroad, my vehicle isn't exposed to harsh conditions, where one could expect mechanical failures. I currently have 26K miles on mine, and have been trying to find out the cause, meanwhile throwing $$ and parts on it to try and find the issue. After researching and seeing the large amount of owners fighting death wobble and the component failures which cause it, I feel Chrysler should be held accountable to some level. I think they should be recognizing the problem and the large scale of it, and offering some type of solution to fix the issue.

- Taylorville, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Mar 162014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
This has happened multiple times, while driving at a higher rater of speed (anything above 45mph) and going around a curve, the front end begins to violently shake to the point that it is difficult/impossible to control and you must pull off to the side of the road. Aka the death wobble. There was not a pot hole, or anything in the way, just a regular road. I have had to do this on several occasions and on busy highways, nearly causing an accident and being rear ended since I had to stop suddenly and pull off the road. I have take it in a number of times with this problem and no solution is found, they just keep wanting to rotate my tires.

- Ronks , PA, USA

problem #17

Sep 022013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While exiting a 55 mph speed zone onto a 65mph interstate highway I experienced extreme shaking in the front end. The Jeep actually hopped on the road forcing me to pull over. This has happened 4 more times in the course of 1 month. I took it to the shop at my dealer. My vehicle was in the shop for 1 week in which the transmission was replaced. The same issue began happening 3 days after I got it back. I returned it to the dealer explaining the issue and began researching on my own. I came across many instances of the same thing- death wobble. It happens when my Jeep hits 60-70 mph causing me to have to immediately stop the vehicle, usually in high speed interstate traffic causing danger to myself and other motorists. My Jeep is stock, so the excuse about being lifted does not apply to me. It seems Chrysler knows about the issue and does nothing to recall the vehicles. I'm being told the parts/repairs are not covered under warranty. This is unacceptable.

- Millstadt, IL, USA

problem #16

Oct 042013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
While driving on the interstate, my Jeep steering wheel and front of Jeep will intermittently start shaking violently, causing me to have to slow down suddenly and pull over to the side of the road. It's very scary and I am afraid it may cause an accident because it happens so suddenly at a high speed. I purchased my Jeep about a year ago from a Chrysler dealer and within a week noticed it had a "popping" noise when backing up and then going forward. I have taken my Jeep to this Chrysler dealer 3 times to have this checked out. The first time, they told me I needed new brakes, so I had new brakes installed, but my Jeep continues to make this "popping" noise. The last 2 times I took my Jeep to this Chrysler dealer, they insist there is nothing wrong with my Jeep and they do not hear this noise. Now my Jeep has had these episodes of violent shaking and I wonder if the two problems are connected. I have seen reports of a "Jeep death wobble" and feel this is the same thing that I have had occur with my Jeep. Is there any kind of recall for this problem?

- Candler, NC, USA

problem #15

Aug 102013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 62,092 miles
This car has had 11 serious incidents of what is called the "death wobble". the car hits a bump or rough edge on the freeway or highway and immediately goes into an uncontrolled wobble of the steering wheel and the wheels wiggle back and forth. This can only be stopped by slowing down or stopping. The incident described above 1st occurred on August 10, 2013 at 2:00 pm on highway 101 in newport, Oregon after I hit a bump. It occurred on August 25, 2013 5 times at about 10:00 am on interstate 3 in Oregon after hitting a bump or rough section in the road. It occurred 3 times on highway 99 in California after it hit a bump in the road. Finally, it occurred 4 times on August 25th. This car is unreliable and unsafe to drive on any freeway. This car has never been driven off road or mistreated and has only 62,000 miles, mostly miles are freeway miles. The car will be evaluated by an independent auto repair shop and then by a Jeep dealership. As stated, the incidents described above are serious and can cause the car to out of control. The car was purchased new in July 2010. There are a number of reports on this car that describe the death wobble. They are: (1) the congressional letter of March 19, 2012 from congressman henry waxman and congresswoman anna eschoo to NHTSA's administrator stickland asking for data on the "death wobble" as well as Chrysler's response to the incidents. (2) abc's san francisco affiliates April 12, 2012 report on tv about the death wobble-both reporters also personally experienced the same incident. (3) a follow- up report on July 5, 2012 by abc in san francisco that states that there are over 600 reports on this incident. (4) Chrysler's issuance of a technical service bulletin 19-002-12 to help dealers work on the steering/wobble problem. This is a manufacturing defect that relates to the suspension.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #14

Dec 102012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 33,500 miles
I was going 45 or so on a curve and hit a small pothole. All of the sudden my Jeep shook almost uncontrollably and it was very difficult to hold the wheel tight till I could slow down and get off the road. I took it in to the Jeep dealership and they told me it was due to bad tires. I purchased new 2 new tires as mine were in ok shape as it was. A month or so later it happened again on a straight away when hit a bump. I was close to losing control both times.

- Madison, SD, USA

problem #13

May 162013

Wrangler

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently purchased a 2010 Jeep Wrangler unlimited. While driving the pedal was shaking and the steering was shaking. Also the soft top would not reach far enough to close. Have not driven the vehicle since. I'm currently using a rental.

- Wilton Manors , FM, USA

problem #12

May 052013

Wrangler

  • miles
2010 Jeep Wrangler death wobble. Started at 20K miles. Jeep wobbles at speeds above 45. Wobbles so bad you have to stop on a freeway and hold on tight to the steering wheel. Very dangerous. Dealer tried to fix with steering damper...no fix. Then changed shocks and tires. Worked for 30K. Came back even worse. Now they say they have no idea. Its all over the internet why doesn't Chrysler recall these? it is very dangerous. I am afraid to drive it. Whole front end shakes especially when going over a bump, even a small bump. Frightening.

- Louisa, VA, USA

problem #11

Feb 022013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
When I hit a bump in the road going 45 mph the Jeep started shaking uncontrollably and now continues to do so when I hit bumps on the passenger side.

- Alma, WV, USA

problem #10

Apr 102012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Death wobble. Car shakes violenmtly when hitting bump on interstate at 50-70 mph. Have to slow down drastically to stop it. Afraid someone willl hit me from behind.

- Oakdale, NY, USA

problem #9

Oct 132011

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 13,411 miles
I purchased my new 2010 Jeep Wrangler sport unlimited on March 02, 2011 with 4,839 miles on it. The vehicles manufacturer warranty became effective on March 02, 2011 and extended to 40,839 miles. I returned the vehicle for service for the same front end problems (vibration, play in front end, etc - though described slightly different on some work orders) eight (8) times from October 13, 2011 through June 13, 2012. During that time there were four (4) service attempts to repair the problem 10/13/11 mileage 13,411 - 6/13/12 mileage 23,352 - services recommended and performed range from tire rotation, tie rods and damper replaced, toe adjustment, and lower shearing shaft replacement. 3/07/13 mileage 34,829 - I brought the vehicle in for routine nc inspection. Inspection passed. 3/09/13 as I traveled out of town with my children we experienced a frightening and stressful time. When driving at highway, or near highway speeds, and going over a bump the front end would begin, at random times, to have so much play and the steering would shake violently making it difficult to control the vehicle. This caused me to have to slow to the side and pull off the road. This repair issue has now escalated to the point that it is a dangerous safety hazard to my children and myself. Since this incident I have discovered this a known problem with the year, make, and model of my vehicle. Below you will find two links to videos demonstrating the violent shaking which occurs due to this problem. One is a perspective from outside the vehicle. The other is from inside the vehicle. Though the gentleman in the video seems to enjoy the violent shaking I assure you it was simply a terrifying experience for a mother traveling out of town alone with her children. www.youtube.com/watch"V=vwiv23dlhmy www.youtube.com/watch"V=gupyhm1pccy.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #8

Dec 292012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 27,443 miles
October 2009 I purchased a 2010 Jeep Wrangler unlimited from southern hospitality in chesapeake, Virginia. This was my dream Jeep- lift kit, side bars, supreme stereo system, and the works. This dream Jeep has turned into a nightmare with a death wobble that keeps coming back. I share this Jeep with my 17 year old daughter who herself has experienced the death wobble, a phone call from the side of the highway that scared me to death. Below is the list of dates and mileage in which I have returned this Jeep to the dealership for them to fix, but each time they return it to me the wobble returns. I feel as if I am continually putting myself and my daughter at risk but due to a divorce my finances do not allow me to purchase a new Jeep? even though every payment has been made on this Jeep. Datemileagetheir "fix" 12/29/1227,443new steering dampener 1/6/1227,792new steering dampener 1/10/1228,045torqued bolts 1/16/1228,311torqued suspension parts 7/12/1235,767new steering dampener 7/25/1236,887new steering dampener, alignment 9/13/1238,967re-secured front suspension, bolts, rotated tires 9/26/1239,361re-placed drag link-tie rod 1/3/1342,629re-placed drag link-tie rod-gears-power steering bushing 3/13/1344,389new trac bar, new tires this last time I called Chrysler and I have a case number, but their response has been to extend the warranty on the Jeep and to tell me it is the dealers problem. The dealership put new tires on it and told me it is Chrysler's problem. I am sorry but their warranty and tires cannot replace myself or my daughter if because of their negligence and ignorance we are in a car accident.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #7

Jul 012011

Wrangler

  • 25,000 miles
When you hit speeds of 55 mph or above and hit a small bump, my Jeep starts to shake. Took it in to Jeep and they stated that is is called the "death wobble." Correct term in the winter, in snow and in a Jeep. Third time in the Jeep dealership and the only change has been the steering stabilizer without success.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #6

Feb 162013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,490 miles
While driving at 65 mph, my Jeep started shaking uncontrollably and violently. I had no control in the car, the only thing I could do was push the brakes. I pulled my 6 speed Jeep into neutral and started slowing down and letting it glide to the side of the road. Still shaking as I am slowing down, the Jeep feels like the whole front end is going to shake apart. All cars behind me slammed on their brakes because they saw I had no control of my Jeep. A state police trooper followed me to the dealership. There is no broken axles, loose tires, tire pressure is good. They said they could not find anything in the "express service center". this is a 2010 Wrangler with 75,000 miles that is driven on the highway daily for educational purposes. There must be something done about this "death wobble".

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #5

Nov 032012

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler 4X4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 to 55 mph the front end of the vehicle would shake violently. The contact merged to the side of the road in order to regain control of the vehicle. The contact stated that when she began driving again at approximately 35 mph the power steering failed. The vehicle was unable to be driven and as a result the vehicle was towed to a dealer. The vehicle has not been diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted but they offered no assistance. The failure and current mileage was approximately 11,000. Updated 01/09/13

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #4

Dec 172010

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
Main issue - driving down the road hit a bump/uneven patch of road and the car shimmers/jerks/wobbles back and forth providing a feeling of losing control of the vehicle. Honestly, I have noticed the shimmering/wobbling/jerking since the first bump I went over with the Jeep Wrangler. I thought this was normal for Jeep as this is my first Jeep Wrangler I have owned. I even went as far as to remove the original tires (more off road) and get all around tires recommended by the Jeep dealer per my private car maintenance specialist. This still did not help. I have this uneasiness when driving the Jeep. I have learned to brace myself when I notice rough/uneven road ahead. While traveling northern Michigan (I-75) I hit a bump in the road (the road was partially covered with snow), the Jeep jerked/shimmered - I spun out of control said a few prayers and was able to bring the Jeep back under control without flipping. I sat on the side of the freeway for almost a half hour before I had the courage to continue my journey. My younger adult children and husband do not like to drive my Jeep because of this wobble/jerky experience after a bump/even road. They don't feel safe. Something needs to be done to correct this problem, before someone is injured or killed.

- Brighton, MI, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?