NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2011 Jeep Wrangler (Page 1 of 4)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,337 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Wrangler seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #66

Jun 012016

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received 2 emails from NHTSA in May 2016 regarding the failed air bags due to failed clockspring assembly. Two (2) weeks later my indicator light came on because the airbags failed. The Jeep dealership said if I got into a crash, the airbags would not deploy. However, I was forced to pay for this manufacturer's defect. This was clearly a manufacturer's defect and a safety issue. I shouldn't have had to pay for this. The information your Agency provided is as follows: NHTSA campaign id number :16V288 manufacturer :Chrysler (fca us llc) make / model years :Jeep / 2011-2016 subject :clockspring assembly may become contaminated.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #65

Jul 012016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #64

Dec 162016

Wrangler

  • 90,000 miles
On my 2011 Jeep Wrangler unlimited dashboard, the airbag warning light flashes on every other minute with a chime while driving. This is an indication that there is something malfunctioning or interfering with the vehicle's airbags.this appears to be a recurring situation, based on research in Jeep forums, and has been shown time and time again to be caused by a faulty clockspring within the vehicle's steering wheel.

- West Frankfort, IL, USA

problem #63

Oct 282016

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag chime and light come on if I turn the wheel

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #62

May 012016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall - received a safety recall notice prior to July 2016 regarding front airbag. The notice was not dated so can not give specfic mailing date. I called the dealership July 25, 2016 concerned that we had not been called to schedule replacement, was advised they would call as soon as product was available. Called dealer again on August 16, 2016 - advised to call back at later date still did not have parts. Called dealer October 27, 2016 they advised that they still did not have parts and that they would call me when parts arrived. It is now December 13, 2016 still have not heard from dealer. The car dealer is: Auburn Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, auburn California. Phone# 530-885-2900 would appreciate any help you can provide in getting the car dealer to make the repair as soon as possible. Thank you

- Reno, NV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #61

Oct 012016

Wrangler

  • miles
Air bag light is on and steeringwheel controls for the radio and computer step do not work thus a clock spring defect

- San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

problem #60

Dec 012016

Wrangler

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Clock spring went out on my Jeep and airbag is non functional. Recall only goes to 2010 but mine is a 2011 with the same design and part so why is it not covered in recall. Airbag light is illuminated and non funtioning.

- Saint Cloud, FL, USA

problem #59

Aug 162016

Wrangler

  • 50,000 miles
The airbag warning light is on, but it appears it's actually the clockspring that is faulty. I don't actually know that it's the wiring that is faulty or the clockspring it's self, either way, a local dealership want $500 to fix it. With all the recalls on this particular part, this vehicle is not included in the recall. After market warranties won't touch it.

- Cottonwood, AZ, USA

problem #58

Nov 292016

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Howard Beach, NY, USA

problem #57

Nov 232016

Wrangler

  • 67,000 miles
Jeep does not go into reverse. When in reverse it is like park.. all the positions are off and not what they should be. Could it be shift control. Also why wasn't passenger airbag inflator problem notified to Jeep owner " will a loaner auto be giving while Jeep is being repaired "

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #56

Oct 172016

Wrangler

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2011 rubicon left hand drive has never been in an accident and has an airbag light on.... I took it to the Jeep dealer and I can have the clock spring and wiring repaired for $810... this is a common problem as I was told by the dealer.....

- Sanford, MI, USA

problem #55

Jul 012016

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Altha, FL, USA

problem #54

Oct 032016

Wrangler

  • 91,000 miles
Clock spring recall S33 does not cover Jeep Wrangler 2011 left hand drive models! warning this is unsafe and a 10 on the oem's dfmea! unfair. This 2011 clock spring failure causes airbag light and same code as the 2007 - 2010 and 2011 right drive recalls. I have dealer repair receipts to prove. Why aren't the left hand 2011 Jeep jk Wrangler included in this safety recall? keep all your documentation and report to fca and to NHTSA if you have same issue to get reimbursement when they do recall the left hand model.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #53

Sep 232016

Wrangler

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the clock spring fractured and caused the steering wheel functions to be disabled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 57,000.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #52

Sep 232016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall waiting months for the repair of something that could cause fatal injury is an abomination! and it's still not available!

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #51

Sep 072016

Wrangler

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags) however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. VIN tool confirms remedy not yet available.

- Birdsboro, PA, USA

problem #50

Aug 022016

Wrangler

  • 52,000 miles
2011 Jeep jku clockspring faulty why only 2007-2010 recall when all yrs are crap!

- Bonney Lake, WA, USA

problem #49

Jun 202016

Wrangler

  • 55,000 miles
Airbag light comes on consistently and started about 55,000 miles. Dealer tested and says it is code B1B02. After researching online I saw where this has been an known issue for some time.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #48

Aug 042016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall we feel we cannot safely use this vehicle until it is fixed. When do they anticipate having a proper fix?

- Mandeville, LA, USA

problem #47

Jul 262016

Wrangler

  • 21,000 miles
Takata inflators. After calling Jeep Chrysler regarding the recall notification I was informed that the company does not have a fix, other than not allowing passengers. As they do not have a repair I inquired about the other options (buy back and trading for a non affecting vehicle) and was informed that Jeep Chrysler would not perform either action in accordance with the NHTSA guidelines. If companies are required to comply with federal guidelines, how can they arbitrarily chose not to honor them? we are a single vehicle home and now we cannot use it to Transport our family without risk of injury or death and Jeep Chrysler has no repair in place and they will not accept a return or a swap to a safe vehicle.

- Barksdale Afb, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?