Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,004 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Wrangler seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #54

Oct 032016


  • 91,000 miles


Clock spring recall S33 does not cover Jeep Wrangler 2011 left hand drive models! warning this is unsafe and a 10 on the oem's dfmea! unfair. This 2011 clock spring failure causes airbag light and same code as the 2007 - 2010 and 2011 right drive recalls. I have dealer repair receipts to prove. Why aren't the left hand 2011 Jeep jk Wrangler included in this safety recall? keep all your documentation and report to fca and to NHTSA if you have same issue to get reimbursement when they do recall the left hand model.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #53

Sep 232016


  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the clock spring fractured and caused the steering wheel functions to be disabled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 57,000.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #52

Sep 232016


  • miles
Takata recall waiting months for the repair of something that could cause fatal injury is an abomination! and it's still not available!

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #51

Sep 072016


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags) however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. VIN tool confirms remedy not yet available.

- Birdsboro, PA, USA

problem #50

Aug 022016


  • 52,000 miles
2011 Jeep jku clockspring faulty why only 2007-2010 recall when all yrs are crap!

- Bonney Lake, WA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #49

Jun 202016


  • 55,000 miles
Airbag light comes on consistently and started about 55,000 miles. Dealer tested and says it is code B1B02. After researching online I saw where this has been an known issue for some time.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #48

Aug 042016


  • miles


Takata recall we feel we cannot safely use this vehicle until it is fixed. When do they anticipate having a proper fix?

- Mandeville, LA, USA

problem #47

Jul 262016


  • 21,000 miles
Takata inflators. After calling Jeep Chrysler regarding the recall notification I was informed that the company does not have a fix, other than not allowing passengers. As they do not have a repair I inquired about the other options (buy back and trading for a non affecting vehicle) and was informed that Jeep Chrysler would not perform either action in accordance with the NHTSA guidelines. If companies are required to comply with federal guidelines, how can they arbitrarily chose not to honor them? we are a single vehicle home and now we cannot use it to Transport our family without risk of injury or death and Jeep Chrysler has no repair in place and they will not accept a return or a swap to a safe vehicle.

- Barksdale Afb, LA, USA

problem #46

Nov 232015


  • 80,997 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. While driving approximately 35 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated and the horn failed. The dealer diagnosed that the clockspring malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure; however, the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V288000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 80,997.

- Washougal, WA, USA

problem #45

May 012016


  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated and the horn functioned sporadically. The dealer diagnosed that the clockspring malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 16V288000 (air bags); however, the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 79,000.

- Clayton, NJ, USA

problem #44

Jun 182016


  • 67,000 miles


Airbag light came on today 4:10pm 06/18/16 while driving at approx 55mph in traffic, straight interstate in Chicago, il and has stayed on. Stopped by a Jeep dealership to check codes (I was away from home dealership), service dept was closing but svc mgr scanned for diagnostic code - said it was an airbag code/ airbag malfunction. My dealership was closed. He turned off Jeep and turned it on again while stationary in Jeep dealership service dept, warning light came on again and stayed on all the way home, approximately 2 1/2 hrs or 150 miles. I received 2 emails on May 27, 2016 from NHTSA re: Airbag recalls on Jeep Wrangler but my VIN/model wasn't listed.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #43

Sep 132014


  • 55,000 miles
For the past 2 years the passenger airbag light has been illuminate on my dash. I do not know why this is. It turns on/off randomly wether someone is sitting in the passenger seat or not. Additionally for the past 3 years or so the functions/buttons on the left side of the steering wheel go in/out of function. For the most part they don't work 99% of the time. It doesn't affect the driving or anything dangerous but it is annoying that these buttons don't work most of the time. As far as the passenger airbag light, this concerns me should there be some sort of accident. I have looked into this and people have spent a good amount of money and the light still is on. I saw that in June, 2015 and investigation was started regarding this and wanted to put in my two cents. I hope that a solution is found for this.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #42

May 162016


  • 160 miles
Clock spring failed causing the airbag to stop functioning. This has already been recalled in the 2011 right hand steer vehicles and in the 2008-2010 model year left and right hand steer Wrangler apparently it is still a problem

- Acton, ME, USA

problem #41

May 232016


  • 81,000 miles
My airbag light came on in my 2011 Jeep rubicon. A recall was issued two days after I called both Chrysler and by dealership complaining about my issue. I was told that I was basically on my own to cover the cost of the replacement clockspring. Recall information "(fca us llc) is recalling 394,258 model year 2007-2010 Jeep Wrangler jk vehicles manufactured March 2, 2006, to August 13, 2010." This does not cover my 2011 Jeep which was manufactured September 2010. A month from the cut off date. My Jeep has the same engine as the the 2010S unlike the later build 2011 Jeep. It also has the same exact clockspring as well.

- Lehi, UT, USA

problem #40

May 042016


  • 83,454 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated sporadically and chimed. The chime indicated that the air bag needed to be deployed; however, the air bag never deployed. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bags clock spring failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The manufacturer stated that the failure was related to NHTSA campaign number: 13V176000 (air bags). The manufacturer stated that because the recall indicated a right-hand drive and the contact had a left-hand drive, the repair was not covered under the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 83,454.

- Essex, MD, USA

problem #39

Apr 292016


  • 90,000 miles
Air bag light going on and off ever 2-4 minutes with a chime each time. Light goes on and of weather in motion or at a standstill. Had mechanic scan for obd codes. Code came back as B1B02 clock spring failure. RHD Jeep have been recalled for this exact issue but not lhd. This is a safety issue that needs to be addressed to all Wrangler of these years and not just the RHD.

- Sutton, MA, USA

problem #38

Mar 012016


  • 67,500 miles
The clockspring on my 2011 Jeep Wrangler (left handed drive) has failed causing the airbags to become dysfunctional and airbag light to engage. Fca has recalled right handed drive Jeep Wrangler 2007-2012 under the attached recall notification. Fca has also recalled 2007 lhd Jeep Wrangler for this same issue. The root cause of these recalls was determined to be dust accumulation in the grease of the clockspring as seen in the attached recall notification. The clockspring part in both lhd and RHD variations of this model Jeep Wrangler include a similar, if not the same, clockspring part. The amount of dust that a Jeep Wrangler is subject to does not correlate to the position of the steering wheel and clockspring. I would suspect that a vehicle with less that 70,000 miles and 5 years of use should not have airbag failure. I have contacted my local Jeep dealership which then instructed me to contact the fca Jeep warranty/recall 800 number in addition to the fca headquarter's 800 number. After speaking with a representative at the fca headquarters hotline I was told that the recall does not apply to my lhd 2011 Jeep Wrangler and the repair was to be made from out of my pocket. As of June 2015 there has been an open investigation into this issue for lhd Jeep Wrangler as seen in the link below.

- Southbury, CT, USA

problem #37

Apr 012016


  • 40,000 miles
The vehicle displays an airbag warning light and chime that may indicate a failure of the clockspring wiring in the drivers side air bag circuit. ODI investigated the RHD (right hand drive) Wrangler for a clockspring issue under PE11-019 which led to NHTSA recall 11V258 on model year (my) 2008-2012 RHD Wrangler as well as an extended warranty campaign on my 2007 lhd Wrangler vehicles. Current investigation: PE 15-025 has the same symptom as my lhd Wrangler.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #36

Feb 012016


  • 60,000 miles
On my 2011 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) dashboard, the airbag warning light flashes on every other minute with a chime, an indication that there is something malfunctioning or interfering with the vehicle's airbags.this has been a recurring issue and concern for many 2007-2012 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) owners, including myself, and has been shown time and time again to be caused by a faulty clockspring within the vehicle's steering wheel. This faulty clockspring is the culprit for potential airbag failure in the 2008-2012 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) during an accident or premature deployment when simply driving around. Daimler Chrysler has refused to address the safety concern of their faulty clockspring that can cause failure of the vehicle's airbags from properly deploying."

- Cleburne, TX, USA

problem #35

Apr 212016


  • 81,000 miles
"takata recall" recently, on a dry, sunny, moderately warm day I was driving a normal speed on a normal road, downward sloping, at a low speed and the airbag warning light chimed and illuminated. It's been four days and the light remains on, and continues to chime. I have owned this Jeep for two years and have not had any collisions and the Jeep has not been offroad, nor did I have a child in the passenger seat, where an airbag may sense a small passenger. This is a very expensive repair from what I'm finding on forums but also a safety device in a vehicle that should be covered under a warranty beyond a standard 3yr/36K warranty. Seatbelts don't expire nor should an airbag in a vehicle.

- Essex Jct, VT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?