Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,463 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Wrangler steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Nov 192013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My clock spring is inop there is a recall for this on right side drive Jeep well mine is a left side drive with the same issues that the right side drive has why isn't it a recall for all clock springs they are the same part number for both side drives please fix this as it also affects my horn and airbag. Thank you

- Tomsriver, NJ, USA

problem #17

Oct 152012

Wrangler

  • 12,000 miles
I began driving down the street going about 45 mph when the steering wheel start to shake violently from left to right. Which caused the whole vehicle to shake. I applied the brakes and pulled over. I thought I blew out a tire or snapped a lug on one of the wheels. Walked around the vehicle and everything looked fine. When I came back up to 40 mph and started to happen again. It didn't happen again for a few weeks. Then it happened again with I was coming around on a ramp to enter the interstate. I was going about 60 at this time and had to slow down immediately to keep from running into the concrete barricades. Now it happens once or more a week when I turn or drive up to 40 mph and more. Have not been in accident from it yet because no one has followed me too close when I have to apply the brakes.

- Hobbs, NM, USA

problem #16

Dec 282012

Wrangler

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, the front driver and passenger side wheels began to shake on five occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure continued to occur and the manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Santana, CA, USA

problem #15

Mar 162013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that when driving 60 mph over a road bump, the front end of the vehicle would shake violently to the point that the contact would almost lose control of the vehicle. In order to correct the failure, the contact had to merge to the shoulder and stop the vehicle completely. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who performed a diagnostic and stated that he needed to replace all four tires. The tires were not replaced. The manufacturer was notified and recommended that the vehicle be taken to another dealer for a second diagnostic test. The failure was mileage was 22,000. Updated 4/11/13 the dealership and manufacturer referred to the problem as the death wobble. Many speculate it is caused by the track bar, alignment, steering and suspension components, or the tires. The consumers vehicle is currently backed by a five year power train warranty. However, the dealership believed the tires needed to be replaced, at his cost. The consumer did not believe the tires were the issue.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #14

Nov 192012

Wrangler

  • miles
While traveling on a highway or a high speed service road, my Jeep will begin to shake tremendously. I have researched and found this is known as the "death wobble." I am a younger driver and when the first incident happened, I began to freak. Although not very many accidents actually occur I am still scared that it will happen again. Sometimes I can feel it coming on but nothing ever happens. This has happened 3 times in a week and a half, once at 67mph, once at 60mph, and once at 55mph. This is a very scary event and I hope to get it fixed soon. I wish that you would take the time to look over this incident and fix it. Once again being a young driver this is very scary. I have had my Jeep for a year and 2 months and this is the first time it has happened.

- Crandall, TX, USA

problem #13

Oct 082012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The first incident occurred on 9/26. My partner was driving to work and made a right hand turn from mt. Holly huntersville rd on to harris blvd. He was traveling 45 mph and hit a small dip in the road while going around a curve. After hitting the bump the vehicle shook so violently it felt as if the tires were going to fly off the car, steering the vehicle became almost impossible. Luckily he was able to pull over near pet's mart as he slowed the shaking lessened. After putting the car in park and shutting the car off he looked to ensure there were no flat tires. All tires were good, he again started the car and arrived to work safely. I researched this type of incident and found the symptoms to be related to the "death wobble." Immediately I called lake norman Jeep dealership explained the issues and scheduled an appointment for 9/28. At the dealership they installed a steering damper and balanced the tires. We were hoping this solved the problem it didn't. tonight (10/8) my partner was exiting 277 on to highway 16 traveling 55 mph and again experienced the "death wobble." As he was merging onto highway 16 the car again shook so violently he could not control the steering, there was a car next to him and in the rear. An attempt to turn the car made the shaking worse. He quickly put on his hazards and slowed the Jeep down to 20 mph on this highway. He was only able to regain control of the steering after the car reached 20 mph. Luckily no one was hurt and he arrived home safely. I am concerned that this is a known issue for Jeep and yet there has not been a recall on this product.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #12

Dec 142011

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 23,466 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Around 12/14/2011 hit a bump in the road my Jeep started to shaking lost control was able to slow down and regain death wobble they call it brought it to the dealer they replaced stealing damper thing where good to around 09/01/2011 same thing happened brought it back to dealer he balanced front tires then around 09/26/2012 same thing brought it back ON09/29/2012 dealer checked it out said all was good and tight on 09/30/2012 on my way from NY to cape cod on 84 in hartford it happened again this time it was close drivers around saw and moved out of the way but no crash got back home ok taking it slow brought to dealer on 10/08/2012 they test drove it checked wheel alignment said all was good Chrysler Jeep of warwick NY and Chrysler Corp have a problem this death wobble is going to kill someone someday.

- Greenwood Lake, NY, USA

problem #11

Aug 222012

Wrangler

  • 23,000 miles
While traveling on the highway at approximately 55-60 mph, my 2011 4-door Jeep Wrangler hit a small bump. The Jeep's front-end/steering wheel began to shake uncontrollably. When trying to reduce the speed by braking, the violent shaking only became worse. I was unable to keep the vehicle in the lane which I was driving because of the out-of-control shaking. Had there been other vehicles in the adjacent lanes, there most definitely would have been an accident, with possible injuries, given the rate of speed that I was traveling. I had to reduce the speed of the vehicle simply by not applying the gas or brake, causing cars behind me to have to brake, which in turn could have resulted in additional accidents/injuries. This uncontrollable shaking has occurred in this vehicle approximately 5 times. I have since learned that this is the infamous "death wobble." Since this is a known occurrence, especially in Jeep, my concern is why this is not being addressed and being required to be fixed.

- Sand Springs, OK, USA

problem #10

Jul 282012

Wrangler

  • 20,105 miles
I was a passenger riding along in a 2011 Jeep Wrangler that exhibited the infamous Jeep death wobble, which is a violent shaking and shuddering of the vehicle and steering wheel on a completely stock vehicle with 20K miles. The driver of the vehicle then told me that this was the 3rd occurrence he has experienced with his vehicle. I observed how violently the vehicle shook and was very relieved that we did not roll over nor hit any other vehicles on the road. The Jeep dealership has told him repeatedly that they cannot find or replicate the problem he experienced. I am shocked that something so common and dangerous has gone unfixed all this time.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #9

Apr 042012

Wrangler

  • 14,600 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact lost control of the steering wheel on an elevated road. The vehicle went airborne and crashed into a field where the vehicle rolled over. The air bags did not deploy. The driver was transported by ambulance to the hospital. The driver of the vehicle sustained a fracture to her spinal cord and several bruises. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 14,600.

- Pacific , MO, USA

problem #8

May 282012

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 19,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After shifting from 4 wheel drive to 2 wheel drive, the vehicle remained in 4 wheel drive at all speeds. This resulted in a reduced steering range and, I believe, impaired the vehicle in an avoidance situation. This was especially noticed at slow speed. The Jeep dealer found a disconnected 4 wheel drive actuator cable to the transmission. A new replacement bushing was installed at the transmission. The dealer indicated that the replacement part may have been improved because it did not have the same part number as the original.

- Danielson, CT, USA

problem #7

Oct 052011

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 2,964 miles
My Jeep was experiencing a wobble and loose steering the first time at 2900 miles (5oct2011). After my second visit (15nov2011) to the dealer to address the continued issue, they replaced the steering dampener. The third and fourth visit (22 and 29nov2012), the service tech said he looked at the suspension and tightened up some "things". this worked for a few weeks. On the fifth visit (13mar2012), I was experiencing a more severe wobble/shake. The service tech stated that he reviewed the vehicle and that they could not duplicate the issue. As a result, it was stated all was in vehicle standards. I was advised I could purchase an after market steering dampener that was more robust that the issued dampener. To date, the vehicle still drives in a loose manner on the road. When I hit minor and major bumps on the roads, I get a severe wobble effect. This wobble/shaking reverberates throughout the steering wheel which causes to slow the vehicle down to gain control. The best way to operate it at this time is to drive at a lower speed (40-50 mph). At this point, I am merely seeking advice on how to remedy the situation to make the vehicle more stable to drive. The current mileage on the vehicle is 9500.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #6

Feb 172012

Wrangler

  • miles
The notorious Wrangler death wobble. I have a brand new 2011 Wrangler with 10,000 miles and today it started this insane wobble when going down rough roads at any speed at all. I cant believe this, it is staock and this is upsurd that Chrysler hasn't fixed this.

- Mo, MO, USA

problem #5

Apr 302010

Wrangler

  • 600 miles
1.top intermittently leaks on/near the passenger door, and when there is snow the top acts like a sponge and saturates leaking water everywhere inside the Jeep. I have driven and been in soft tops most of my life and I have never seen a soft top saturate that badly that it soaks the inside of the Jeep. Originally the top leaked terrible anytime it rained along the top of the windshield and passenger side, 4 times I called to complain 3 times they told me it was my fault for putting the top on wrong in winter the 4th time they acted surprised and said oh btw there is a service bulletin 2.the engine makes a terrible high pitch whistle/siren noise from the engine intermittently. It last anywhere from a few minutes to a few hours. I have this on video 2 times and dan's Jeep has heard it also along with many coworkers friends and family. 3.the steering wheel makes a terrible noise when cold initially and recently is making the noise in lesser severity even when warmed up. The noise is like dragging a nail across a spring. 4.twice now my Jeep has had a serious idle/RPM problem I do not know what to call the problem. Saturday the 22nd of October 2011 I started the Jeep, it idled fine. I popped the hood open with a friend to see if we could hear the squealing noise when I gave it gas. When I gave it gas the Jeep dropped in RPM and acted as if it was going to stall out. Experimenting with the amount of gas no matter how far I pressed the gas pedal it continued to sound like it was dying. Friday the 28th of October after driving for well over an hour the Jeep was making the high pitch squealing/whistle/siren noise. Again and at a stop light I went to give it gas as the light went green and the Jeep dropped in RPM and began to stall out it seemed. About 10 seconds later the Jeep started acting normal and accelerated.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #4

Nov 092011

Wrangler

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while attempting to downshift while driving 25 mph uphill, the contact lost control and crashed into a wall. The contact sustained injuries to the nose. The police were called and a police report was filed. The police officer advised that the failure seemed to have been caused by a fractured tie-rod. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was not under recall. The failure mileage was 6,000.

- Covington, VA, USA

problem #3

Nov 092011

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
Was approaching a stop sign which was on a hill when suddenly I lost total control of the vehicle which crashed into a brick wall. The vehicle did not just Venture off the side of the road it actually ended up looking as though I made a sharp right turn. A state trooper reported to me that it looked as if the tierod had broken causing the steering to go out which in turn forced the crash. My concern is, as well as other 2011 Jeep Wrangler, is whether or not my Jeep may have had the same issues as the ones which at this point have been recalled. There is no explanation for this accident whatsoever on my part. I have to go to court in January and sure would like some answers. Chrysler says the vehicle could very well be recalled at a later date however, I feel a need to protect another from a similar accident. I strongly feel this was a malfunction in the vehicle. www.autoblog.com/2011/03/07/2010-2011-Jeep-Wrangler-recalled-over-possible-drivetrain-proble/.

- Covington, VA, USA

problem #2

May 242011

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 7,268 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while driving over a bump, the vehicle jerked violently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure but decided to perform a tire rotation, which failed to remedy the problem. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer twice after that where it was diagnosed that the dampner was loose and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 7,268 and the current mileage was 9,500. Updated 08/31/11 updated 10/26/11

- Lake Luzerne , NY, USA

problem #1

Feb 022011

Wrangler

  • 43,000 miles
Death wobble occurs randomly without warning in our 2008 Jeep Wrangler unlimited X, causing us to lose control of the vehicle. To try to correct the issue, we replaced the steering stabilizer and had the tires rotated and balanced (which was unneeded). This did not correct the problem. We've taken it to a front-end specialist and found no abnormal wear. Jeep dealership provided no help or encouragement.

- Marshall, OK, USA

Not what you are looking for?