Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Poor side crash test ratings from the IIHS are really no surprise.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 2
Average Mileage:
5,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Wrangler steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 8 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Jan 012014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall on power steering for 2012 Jeep Wrangler with automatic transmissions. I have a manual transmission and am experiencing the same issues. Below is recall information: They are excluding manual transmission Jeep, which have the same issues and same pump. This is an issue that needs to be fixed.. the same dangers are faced with this vehicles. Recall date: June 04, 2013 model affected: 2012 Jeep Wrangler summary: Chrysler group llc (Chrysler) is recalling certain model year 2012-2013 Jeep Wrangler vehicles equipped with a 3.6L engine and an automatic transmission and manufactured January 23, 2011, through February 23, 2013. The power steering line may contact and wear a hole in the transmission oil cooler line resulting in a loss of transmission fluid. Consequences: A loss of transmission fluid may result in a loss of transmission function which may increase the risk of a crash. Remedy: Chrysler will notify owners, and dealers will replace the power steering return tube assembly, free of charge. The recall is expected to begin early December 2013. Owners may contact Chrysler at 1-800-247-9753. Chrysler's recall campaign number is N28. Potential units affected: 180131 notes: Chrysler group llc read more: www.motortrend.com/cars/2012/Jeep/Wrangler/recalls/#ixzz2pm1ozn6M.

- Peyton, CO, USA

problem #41

Dec 012013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated the recall under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The dealer was contacted and stated the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #40

Jan 022014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) several months ago but was informed by the manufacturer that the part was not available and would not become available for another few months. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Fountain, CO, USA

problem #39

Oct 012013

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Unable to get safety recall N28 / NHTSA 13V-234 transmission oil cooler tube repaired. Have contacted multiple dealers and they are unable to get the part. Dealers report they are only allowed one recall part per week or two weeks, now backed up for months. They report 100's of persons waiting on their list. At this point I'm just told to call back and try again... I can't even get on a list to wait.

- Lake Lure, NC, USA

problem #38

Dec 022013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to transmission oil cooler tube recall notice. The consumer has been unable to get the recall issue resolved.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #37

Sep 192013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Olyphant, PA, USA

problem #36

Nov 262013

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) had surpassed the reasonable amount of time. The dealer was contacted and stated that the contact would be placed on a waiting list because the manufacturer was only providing one part per week. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lousa, VA, USA

problem #35

Dec 192013

Wrangler

  • miles
I took in my Jeep to motor village la (2025 S figueroa St, los angeles, ca 90007). I brought it in for a recall of the transmission oil cooler tube (N28/NHTSA 13V-234). Upon calling to determine if the work had been completed, I was told that they only inspected to see what parts would need to be replaced. They further explained that the parts requiring replacement would take a while to be received. When I pushed for more information, they told me that they are only allowed to order 1 part of this type every 14 days from the manufacturer. They said that I would be added to the waiting list for this part. When I asked how many people were on the list, he merely said that there were a lot. So I asked if it would be weeks, months, or what that means? he said he didn't have any further information for me. I believe that this situation fails to meet the requirement of replacement within a reasonable period of time. I could even live with a month or two, but an indeterminate amount of time is ridiculous.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #34

Nov 132013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V23400( power train, steering) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #33

Jun 052013

Wrangler

  • 15,000 miles
Safety recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234 - Chrysler corporation is not supplying the parts to dealers to complete the repairs necessary to prevent fires & crashes (per the recall notice). This is unacceptable. The waiting list for parts is very long and Chrysler reported to me today that each dealer gets 1 repair kit every 14 days. If someone does the math, these means that it will take over 30 months to supply the parts for the necessary repairs, given the number of recalled Wrangler (1800,000) and the number of dealers in the us. This is unacceptable and the NHTSA has a responsibility to the traveling public to ensure that recalls such as N28 are completely in a timely manner.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #32

Feb 132013

Wrangler

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving on highway at approximately 55 mph and hit a small bump in road. The front end started to shake violently and steering wheel went side to side. It felt like the vehicle was going out of control and I feared I might end up in a collision. I slowed the vehicle and applied brakes to bring the vehicle under control. Since that time, it has occurred often and it is very dangerous. To date, I have replaced the steering stabilizer and checked all other components for wear. Tires have been balanced and rotated. This alleviated the problem but the problem has since come back. According to my daughters, they have experienced the front end shake on various occasions while at school in albuquerque. I have researched on the internet and my vehicle problems has been termed "death wobble" by other Jeep Wrangler owners. I also found out there are a lot of complaints but Chrysler Jeep has not issued any recalls to fix this problem. If I can't fix the problem, then I will be getting rid of my vehicle for a safe vehicle.

- Navajo, NM, USA

problem #31

Dec 042013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 22,300 miles
Received safety recall N28 / NHTSA 13V-234 and scheduled appointment for repairs (as requested on notification) at flagship Chrysler dealership, bayamon, pr on 14nov2013. The mechanic confirmed the need for replacement of power steering return tube and the transmission oil cooler tube but the parts were not available. According to service rep the parts were ordered. On 04dec2013 called the dealership for status of order to be told that parts could arrive after 1 month but according to service rep the parts department could not tell when will they be available and I should wait until receiving communication by email. I contacted Chrysler corporation (pr office) on 05dec2013 through 1-800-853-1403 and service rep did not have information available related to the recall, took my vehicle's VIN # and agreed to call back. As of 14dec2013 neither the dealership or Chrysler corporation has contacted me with expected date for parts' availability. Since the service date above I received the second notification to take my car for repairs.

- Dorado, PR, USA

problem #30

Dec 032012

Wrangler 4WD 4-cyl

  • 15 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when the vehicle began to drift to the right without the contact moving the steering wheel. The contact stated the vehicle was diagnosed as the steering box needing to be replaced but the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 15...updated 02/11/2014

- Cedar Bluff , VA, USA

problem #29

Dec 092013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Received 1st safety recall notice, N28/NHTSA 13V-234, from Chrysler group 09/10/2013. I immediately called the local dealership (bay Dodge, panama city beach, fl) and was told to call back at a later date because the parts to repair the issue were not in stock and they were waiting for the inventory. 2nd safety recall notice received 12/07/2013. I called the same dealership on 12/09/2013 and was told I would be added to the "wait" list...that I was number 45 and could expect to wait a couple years for the parts to arrive at the dealership. The issue is that the dealership can only order one repair kit every 14 weeks from Chrysler!! what"? so, if the transmission oil cooler tube begins to leak it may cause "damage to the transmission and a loss of transmission function which may increase the risk of a crash"...and it is ok to make me wait years for the repair??"

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #28

Aug 302013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:13V234000 (power train, steering) and the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Harveys Lake, PA, USA

problem #27

Aug 012013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the required remedy part was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #26

Sep 052013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sugar Grove, OH, USA

problem #25

Jul 312012

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under recall because the dealer stated that the remedy part was only available to perform one repair per week. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Garden City , NY, USA

problem #24

Oct 022013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received the notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering). The dealer was contacted and stated that the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was also contacted and stated that they were attempting to source an additional vendor to obtain the part needed to complete the recall service. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Apoka, FL, USA

problem #23

Nov 292013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 13,500 miles
After receiving a recall notice (safety recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234 transmission oil cooler tube) in the mail, I called my local dealership (clear lake Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep, houston, tx) to schedule a service appointment to remedy the possible problem explained in the recall notice. Unfortunately, I was told that this dealership is only receiving approx. 1 - 2 of the parts needed for this problem per week and they have a list of customers for those parts already long enough that will take approx. A year to fill. I was told that I should continue to call the dealership approx. Once a week and see if they, by any chance, received enough of the parts to fix my vehicle. I find this unacceptable! I do not want to wait a year to get my vehicle fixed and feel that I (nor anyone else) should not have to wait that long to get a possible defect in my vehicle taken care of. Are there any other options for me" what can I do to get my vehicle taken care of immediately" I do not want to wait to get this problem taken care of and risk the possibility of the problem materializing and causing an accident that could result in my vehicle being destroyed or, even worse, injuring myself or others! I appreciate any help or advice you could give me in this matter! thank you.

- Deer Park, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?