Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Wrangler drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #81

Nov 152013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering ) in November 2013. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired but the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/12/2014

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #80

Oct 012013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice N28/NHTSA 13V-234 for the transmission oil cooler tube in Oct. 2013. 5 months later I'm still being told by my dealer that I'm on a waiting list to have this taken care of. I don't know what the NHTSA's definition of remedying this defect within a reasonable time is, however, 5 months definitely seems excessive to me for a recall that states "the loss of transmission function may increase the risk of a crash".

- Randolph, NJ, USA

problem #79

Oct 302013

Wrangler

  • 12,000 miles
Received notification from chryslersafety recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234 notification reports transmission oil cooler tube can can wear and leak and cause a fire-notice was October 2013-have contacted zappone Chrysler in clifton park, NY & Chrysler hot line repeatedly to have this corrected-today the dealer again told me sorry we get about one kit every 2 weeks from Chrysler. If Chrysler cannot repair immediately I would want them to take the vehicle back & refund our payment.

- Ballston Lake, NY, USA

problem #78

Mar 132014

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep wranger. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed by the manufacturer and dealer that the part was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #77

Jan 092014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering ) in January 2014. The contact stated that she contacted the dealer to have the vehicle repaired but the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Woodbridge , VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #76

Sep 012013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2013 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete transmission oil cooler tube recall notice. The consumer stated it has been over 6 months.

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #75

Oct 012013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler the contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 ( power train ) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair the contact received the notification six months prior. The manufacturer advised the contact that the tube cooler was on restriction and the dealer placed the contact on an indefinite waiting list. The vehicle did not experience a failure.

- Los Almos , CA, USA

problem #74

Sep 022013

Wrangler

  • miles
This website system does not seem particularly well-suited for this feedback. I have received repeated recall notices from Chrysler regarding the transmission cooler tube. NHTSA 13V-234. On those forms, it requests that we log onto safercar.gov if the dealer fails to repair the defect within a reasonable time. I cannot find any place to register that complaint except here. I have received a series of harcopy mailings between perhaps September 2013 and current (Mar 2014). They suggest I call a local Jeep dealer to schedule a repair. Each time I call the service department of the local Jeep dealer, I get a different response, such as "we only have enough parts to repair vehicles on the East coast first. We will eventually call you when we have parts available to repair yours in Colorado" the next time, the dealer said they still don't have parts, and that I must just keep calling back every week or so to see when they arrive. The third time I called they assured me that Jeep will call me as soon as they are available. The fourth time the local dealer said they had no mechanism to contact me when parts become available, and the burden was indeed on me to keep calling. What a stupid system. My daughter also has a Jeep (a 2003 gcherokee). She has undergone similar hassles with parts not being available for more than a year for a recall. Each time she calls it is a different story. I don't know what the NHTSA believes is a "reasonable time". but it seems stupid to keep mailing me hardcopy recall notices if Jeep doesn't have the parts or ability to make the repair. And when I call Jeep, they should have a true and consistent story about what I need to do to get the repair completed.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #73

Nov 012013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer advised that part was not available to complete the required repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable estimated date for when the contact?S vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Dyd

- York Springs, PA, USA

problem #72

Feb 032014

Wrangler

  • miles
Received safety recall notice N28 / NHTSA 13V-234 transmission oil cooler tube which affects some 2012 and 2013 Jeep Wrangler vehicles equipped with an automatic transmission. I contacted our Jeep dealer right away and the response I received from them was there is a national backorder on the part in question and they have no idea when it will be available. I had them place me on a list that extended into 2015 for replacement when and if they get the part.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #71

Feb 262014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was informed in September of a recall on the transmission oil cooler tube coming in contact with the power steering fluid return tube. Causing a loss of fluid, loss of transmission function increasing the risk of a crash. Every time I call they say they have no parts to fix the problem. It has been months and they keep saying the same thing. Safety recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #70

Nov 132013

Wrangler

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and stated that the vehicle have not been serviced under the recall because the needed part would become available until thirty eight weeks. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #69

Dec 182013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the manufacturer did not have the parts required to complete the recall repairs under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering). The dealer was initially contacted to secure an appointment for the repairs, but the dealer was unable to provide a time for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Katy , TX, USA

problem #68

Jun 012013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2013 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete transmission oil cooler tube recall notice. The consumer received the recall notice, last summer. As of February 13, 2014, the repairs still have not be completed.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #67

Dec 102013

Wrangler

  • miles
Received a notification that there was a recall lin Dec. 2013. Safety recall N28/NHTSA 12V-234 transmission oil cooler tube. Called dealer to set up appt. They put me on a waiting list telling me they only receive 1-2 parts a week. Called back Feb 24, 2014. They still have no parts. Now there's no waiting list now. Letter said to report it if it's not fixed in a reasonable amount of time, so here's the report. Dealer is clear lake Jeep just outside of houston, tx.

- Rosharon, TX, USA

problem #66

Aug 012013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer advised that the part was not available for repair and the contact was placed on a waiting list that was scheduled to exceed two years for the repair. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Hamilton , OH, USA

problem #65

Aug 012013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer advised that the part was not available for repair and they did not know when the part was going to become available. The contact was placed on a waiting list. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Roxbury , CT, USA

problem #64

Dec 182013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed by the dealer that they were only receiving one recall part every ten days. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer had not been notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09-04-14

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #63

Sep 302013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
I received a recall notification in September, 2013 warning that the transmission oil cooler tube may come into contact with the power steering fluid return tube, causing a leak and possibly a failure or crash. The vehicle has been to the autonation dealership on 116th ave. In bellevue, wa a total of three times since September 2013 to address this issue. It is now almost March 2014 and it still has not been fixed. They are placing all the blame on Chrysler for not being able to supply the parts. I called Chrysler this morning to confirm the insane waiting time for the parts to remedy the recall. The idea that it takes in excess of 5 months just to get parts for a serious recall issue is preposterous, and the lack of action negligible.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #62

Dec 132013

Wrangler

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?