Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Wrangler drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 9 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #41

Jan 142014

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while attempting to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering), he was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported June 2013, there should have been a remedy available before January 2014. The failure was not experienced.

- Shoreline, WA, USA

problem #40

Sep 112013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and the dealer failed to do the repairs in a timely matter. The contact did not feel safe driving the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Warren , VT, USA

problem #39

Jan 132014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
Safety recal N28 / NHTSA 13V-234 - transmission oil cooler tube, dealer cannot remedy this defect in a timely manner (may take 1 to 2 years) due to Jeep corporate requirements of only one part can be ordered by each dealer every 2 weeks. I am on a waiting list, but they cannot tell me when my problem will be fixed.

- Redond, WA, USA

problem #38

Jan 132014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I keep taking my vehicle in for safety recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234 transmission oil cooler tube, but the dealer says they don't have the part, and to come back later. It has been three and a half months since I received the notice for the recall, and they have failed to inform me when they have the part, and to fix it. The dealer is: Farrish dealership in fairfax Virginia.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #37

Jan 092014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
We received the recall notice on 1/9/14 (N28) that our transmission oil cooler tube needed to be replaced. I called our dealer to make an appointment and be sure that the part was available. I heard back from the dealer that the replacement tube was on back order, that Chrysler was sending the parts to dealers in batches every three weeks, that I was now on a waiting list, and it could take months before I was able to have the recall repair completed, as Chrysler was not providing the part to its dealers fast enough. I was told to call back every three weeks to find out my wait list status. When I asked what would happen if my transmission went out before the repair, the gentleman on the phone said that I could sue Chrysler! if the NHTSA has required a recall by Chrysler, Chrysler needs to make these parts available quickly and, if I just received the recall notice, how can there be a waiting list for the part at my dealer?

- Fairfax, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #36

Jan 102014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that she received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed that the parts were not available and it would be approximately four years before her vehicle could be repaired with the current distribution schedule. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. There are no failures at this time. Updated 2/11/14

- Fernley, NV, USA

problem #35

Jan 092014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/11/2014

- Harrisburg, NC, USA

problem #34

Jan 082014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notofication of NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) several months ago and was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #33

Jan 082014

Wrangler

  • 4,500 miles
I received a recall on the transmission oil cooler tube for the above vehicle. The parts are on restriction and as a result can only be ordered every 16 days. They typical waiting list is 10 to 15 people which means I will be waiting at least 160 days for this repair. The recall acknowledgement began in June 2013. The company has had 6 months to stockpile the parts necessary to make repair rather than send out the notice and then force customers to wait 6 months, possibly with a faulty vehicle, for the repair. This is unacceptable.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #32

Jan 082014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 13V234000 (power train, steering ) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notification June 2013. The contact stated that the dealer stated that they were not repairing more than one vehicle per week. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #31

Sep 152013

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) had surpassed the reasonable time for repair. The dealer was contacted and stated the part was not available. The manufacturer was contacted and stated the dealers were provided one repair kit a week. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that she had not experienced a failure.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #30

Oct 012013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notice three months ago and the manufacturer stated the part was not available for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lovettsville, VA, USA

problem #29

Jan 072014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) several months ago and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The VIN was not available. There are no failures at this time.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #28

Oct 042013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and the part needed to repair the vehicle was available. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #27

Nov 222013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and called the dealer several times. The dealer was unavailable to provide an expected date for when the part needed to complete the recall repair would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/16/14

- Jupitar, FL, USA

problem #26

Dec 022013

Wrangler

  • miles
2013 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to transmission oil cooler tube recall notice. The dealer informed the consumer, it would be a minimum of 40 weeks before they would have the part in, because they could only order one every two weeks.

- Chandler, TX, USA

problem #25

Aug 222013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
In August 2013 I received safety recall N28 / NHTSA / 13C-234 transmission oil cooler tub for my 2013 Jeep Wrangler rubicon, I received a second notification in October 2013. After receiving the second notification I contacted the dealership where I purchased my Jeep and was told I was third on their list to have the safety recall completed. My sales rep. Explained the reason for the delay was Chrysler requires the dealership send back the faulty transmission oil cooler tube they replaced before Chrysler would send out a new one. He informed me I was third on the list for Jeep effected by the recall and once they reached my name and receive a new transmission oil cooler tube they would contact me. In early December 2013, I contacted them again and I'm still third on the list for replacement. I asked why I was still third, he could not provide me an answer, but informed me he would look into it, over two weeks later still no answer or notification. I don't understand the procedure Chrysler is following, however waiting 4 months for the replacement of a faulty piece of equipment seems ridiculous, especially when the public's safety is in jeopardy.

- Eastlake, OH, USA

problem #24

Aug 142013

Wrangler

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the engine warning indicator illuminated intermittently upon starting the ignition. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) however, the contact was not able to have the vehicle repaired under the recall because the required part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000.

- Oakhurt, NJ, USA

problem #23

Aug 052013

Wrangler

  • 4,300 miles
I have been trying since 8/13 to have the transmission oil cooler tube replaced under safety recall N28/NHTSA 13V-234. Local dealership in manahawkin keeps telling me no parts are available. Chrysler group recall assistance center has been telling me the same. I understand my transmission is at risk which may increase my risk of a crash. I think 4 months wait time is extremely excessive, with no end in sight.

- Cedar Run, NJ, USA

problem #22

Aug 152013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
This pertains to NHTSA 13V-234. I was first notified of this by Chrysler in August/2013. Finally in November, I was allowed to bring my Jeep in to the dealer for inspection. They confirmed parts must be replaced and they were ordered. Now I am informed by the dealer and a phone call to Chrysler, that they will only allow their dealers to obtain replacement parts once every 14 days. I am further informed that there are many people in front of me on the dealer's list so with only being able to order 2 replacement parts per month, it could be months before my Jeep is repaired. My wife is afraid of driving the vehicle with this issue looming. Can this safety recall really be treated this way by Chrysler" is there something NHTSA can do"

- Lake Elmo, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?