Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,185 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Wrangler seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments

problem #19

Jun 292016

Wrangler

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag signal failure (clock spring dust issue) 2013 Jeep Wrangler jku left-hand drive, experiencing driver side airbag signal failure. A recall for the same symptoms (recall #16V288000) applies only to right-hand vehicles only. Mileage approximately 45,000.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #18

May 142016

Wrangler

  • 51,000 miles
I own a 2013 Jeep Wrangler, I take my Jeep off-road every weekend. Living in las vegas, nv, I can keep the top off 10 months out of the year. Living in the desert, it's also very dusty here. In may of 2016, I was on an off-roading trip, when the airbag light came on. I took it to the dealer, and they told me it was the clockspring. They quoted me $700 to fix it...I didn't have the money, so I paid them the $150 diagnostic fee... two days later, the first recall for clockspring came out. I called the dealer back, they looked up my VIN #, and said my vehicle was not included in the recall. Since then several more recalls have been issued, but my vehicle is still not listed. I did research on clocksprings, and found out the reason they go out is due to dust, frequent off-road, and removing the top. All of which describes my Jeep. In addition to the airbag not deploying, the clockspring effects the horn, as well as other controls on the steering wheel. I have written several emails to Jeep, Chrysler, and mopar. I have discussed this issue on several Jeep forums sites, asking for help. If the recall covers only some 2013 models, but my model matches the circumstances surrounding the recall issue, then I believe mine should be included in the recall.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #17

Aug 232016

Wrangler

  • 52,000 miles
On my 2013 Jeep Wrangler sahara unlimited (lhd), the airbag light is on and chimes every few minutes. The airbag light comes on after I start the engine. The light stays on and dashboard chimes while driving. This indicates that something is wrong with the airbag system. Mechanics have told me this is a faulty "clockspring". this raises concerns that my airbag will not deploy during an accident or will deploy prematurely. Daimler Chrysler has refused to replace this part under the current recall. When calling Chrysler, I was told the current recall is for 2007 and up right hand drive models only even though they use the same part number. I had a 2007 Wrangler (lhd) years ago that was included in a recall for the clockspring. The recall work was completed on my previous 2007 Wrangler for the same part number. I would like an answer as to why my 2013 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) is not included in the recall if the same part number is the problem. It is my understanding that the repair will cost $520 which I do not believe I should pay if other Jeep Wrangler are having this job completed for free. If my safety is not a concern, please consider the safety of my wife and daughters, and move to include all Jeep Wrangler models with clockspring part number 68339336aa.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #16

Jul 152016

Wrangler

  • 37,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light displayed and will not turn off, along with intermittent chime. Failure occurred on 7/15/2016 at about 37400 miles. Jeep dealer service dept (autonation Chrysler Jeep arapahoe, centennial, co) confirmed that the clockspring had failed. Not repaired due to part unavailability. Vehicle is a 2013 Jeep Wrangler rubicon.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #15

Jun 202016

Wrangler

  • 45,000 miles
Airbag signal failure (clock spring dust issue) 2013 Jeep Wrangler jku left-hand drive experiencing driver side airbag signal failure. A recall for the same symptoms (recall #16V288000) applies only to right-hand vehicles, which use the same part. Mileage approximately 45,000.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

May 182016

Wrangler

  • 20,000 miles
Airbag warning light came on. Read about the safety recall in the news. Called the dealer. Dealer said my vehicle is not covered and a fix would be about $90. Light is on when stationary or moving on street, highway. Recall information indicates that when the warning light comes on it is indicative that the airbag may not inflate in an accident.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #13

Apr 012016

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician entered a code, indicating that the clock spring that was attached to the air bags failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 44,000. Updated 06/14/16 updated 06/28/16.8jb

- Eccles, WV, USA

problem #12

Apr 062016

Wrangler

  • 51,000 miles
Vehicle upon leaving a store, (just began to rain hard), the lights, wipers, cruise control, horn, and all functions on the steering wheel and left and right stalk stopped working. I assume the airbag is also not functional. No codes were registered in the vehicle for malfunction either. It has been a week and it is still not functioning. Possibly the clock spring which was recalled for 2007-2012, but 2013+ vehicles were excluded even though it is the same part used in the later model vehicles. Huge safety hazard!

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #11

Mar 092016

Wrangler

  • 58,306 miles
With only 58,306 miles on my 2013 Jeep Wrangler, the clock spring has failed and air bag system will not deploy. In addition, this poses abandonment concerns as many users with similar problems find their vehicle will not start. I contacted my dealership today (northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge) and was dismayed at an almost $700 repair bill to regain airbag protection, even though fca has issued a recall for this same part number, but only in 2007 RHD vehicles. This is the same part!

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #10

Feb 012016

Wrangler

  • 48,922 miles
Airbag warning light remains on and will sometimes go off on a left hand turn. I understand this is a safety issue. On the 20013 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) dashboard, the airbag warning light flashes on every other minute with a chime, an indication that there is something malfunctioning or interfering with the vehicle's airbags.this has been a recurring issue and concern for many 2013 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) owners, including myself, and has been shown time and time again to be caused by a faulty clockspring within the vehicle's steering wheel. This faulty clockspring is the culprit for potential airbag failure in the 2013 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) during an accident or premature deployment when simply driving around. Daimler Chrysler has refused to address the safety concern of their faulty clockspring that can cause failure of the vehicle's airbags from properly deploying. I belong to a Jeep club and several members have the same issue. The warning light stays on now, all the time.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 202015

Wrangler

  • 68,293 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A week ago I noticed when I started the Jeep in the morning the air bag and the traction control lights on the dash came on. The cruise control quit working along with the radio controls on the steering wheel. The Jeep is parked on the street. I disconnected the battery for about 30 min. I reconnected the battery and started it up. The air bags and traction control lights were still on in the dash. The steering controls do not work. The Jeep was parked in front of my house on the street.

- Holtville, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 192015

Wrangler

  • 21,000 miles
Air bag light came on Saturday, September 19,2015 and Sunday September 20, 2015. I did not know what the light meant. My husband, leonard heimgartner looked in the manuel and saw it was the airbag light. We need to know if this is under warranty or since Jeep has had a lot of recalls on their airbags can we get this replace for free. Please R.S.V.P. as soon as possible. I use this car to go to work and shopping.

- Key West , FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 152014

Wrangler

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated each time the steering wheel was turned to the left or right. The contact stated that the dealer provided several repairs and the failures recurred. Also, the right front ABS sensor was replaced. The dealer replaced the steering pump twice, the dynamic sensor due to the traction control sensor illuminating. In addition, the contact indicated that while traveling over 55 mph, an abnormal noise emitted from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the seals and after the repair water leaked on the front passengers side. The left side valves had to be replaced due to a ticking noise and two months later the right side valve were replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #6

Dec 172014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
A few days before the light for airbags came on the cruise would only work periodically then stopped. Then while going mail box to mailbox. Turning steering to left to pull away from box the airbag light would come on and a warning sound. I called dealer they said it sounded like a clockspring issue. But while they light is on they said the airbags won't deploy.

- Smithville, MO, USA

problem #5

Oct 012014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 46,802 miles
Vehicle has compromised airbag circuit resulting in an airbag lamp illumination, which indicates that the airbag may not deploy in the event of a frontal crash. Clockspring (08015001) fp number 68193280-ab has open circuit B1B02 as diagnosed by service tech believe clockspring (08015001) fp number 68193280-ab that was previously recalled is still being used after recall expired previous recalls: L37 NHTSA campaign number: 11V528000 M31 NHTSA campaign number: 13V176000

- Laotto, IN, USA

problem #4

Nov 012014

Wrangler

  • 37,000 miles
The air bag light should go off after 5 sec after starting my 2013 Jeep Wrangler, the light now has been staying on and doesn't go off, and if it does go off, it has been coming back on all the time on a regular bases, and will not go off.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #3

May 282014

Wrangler

  • 40,500 miles
"on the 2011 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) dashboard, the airbag warning light flashes on every other minute with a chime, an indication that there is something malfunctioning or interfering with the vehicle's airbags.this has been a recurring issue and concern for many 2011 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) owners, including myself, and has been shown time and time again to be caused by a faulty clockspring within the vehicle's steering wheel. This faulty clockspring is the culprit for potential airbag failure in the 2011 Jeep Wrangler (lhd) during an accident or premature deployment when simply driving around. Daimler Chrysler has refused to address the safety concern of their faulty clockspring that can cause failure of the vehicle's airbags from properly deploying."

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 162013

Wrangler

  • 6,300 miles
I was all most injured/killed by 2013 Jeep Wrangler with 6300 miles on it when the airbag deployed on its own and caught on fire. On Sep 16 2013 at 2100 my Jeep was caught in a rain shower with the top and doors off for about 15 minutes before I got off work, I drove it home in the rain and put it in the garage to dry off, it was not that wet so I thought I would just let it air dry, my drive home was a little over four miles. Around 2200 I was in bed on the phone when I loud bag (gun shot I thought) went off in my garage and I jumped to clear my home, as I got to the garage I seen that my airbag went off and the garage ceiling was full of smoke. The steering column was also smoking (I thought it was on fire) I got it out of my garage asp, so it did burn down my home and called 911. The fire dept came and said it was out and I left it out side I covered it up with a car cover for the night. I the morning I called the 800 # to Jeep and get it towed to Jeep dealership. After a week Jeep hired inspector to read the computer. Jeep notified me that they will not say why it went off and it not there problem. Please help me with this to keep others from getting injured or killed by a faulty components note this is a Jeep Wrangler the is trail rated.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #1

Jul 192013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
On July 19th 2013 I was waiting for the light big garbage container truck hit my back and the force I hit infront of my vehicle injuring a passenger. This was a multi vehicle accident, I was in the middle hit from my back and my front hit infront of my vehicle. During this impact my vehicle's airbag did not deploy it. I complained to Chrysler, they issue a case#[xxx] and investigate the accident. According to Chrysler they send to technician to take a sensor data from my vehicle and send to detroit for further analysis. Couple of weeks ago I received letter from Chrysler group llc. The letter contents are the purpose of the airbag is to deploy in those impacts where the accident severity is great enough and the front-end crush cannot manage all of the energy of the impact and lower the longitudinal (front to back) deceleration in the occupant compartment to the desired levels. My case I have front and back impact, my vehicle alone $17000+ damage. Chrysler refused to release the report to me unless I have a legal representative. How can I find that airbag wasn't malfunctioning and what G-force that truck hit me. If you need any information regarding these accident I will assist you with best of my knowledge.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?