Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,833 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Wrangler steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Apr 032014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was notified of a safety recall (N28/ NHTSA 13V-234) over three months ago. I have called the dealership several times and they keep stating that the parts are not available. What kind of recourse do I have?

- Murray, UT, USA

problem #63

Mar 182014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and attempted to have the vehicle repaired but the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #62

Feb 012014

Wrangler

  • 60 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair because the part was not available. The manufacturer was also made aware of the problem however, declined to provide part availability information to the contact. The contact was concerned because the vehicle was exhibiting an abnormal reduction in transmission power. The failure mileage was 60.

- Salmon, ID, USA

problem #61

Mar 282014

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering ) but was informed that the parts were not available and that the dealers were only receiving two recall repair kits per month. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been an adequate remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fullerton , CA, USA

problem #60

Oct 012013

Wrangler

  • miles
2013 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to transmission oil cooler tube recall. The consumer stated she received the recall letter in October 2013. To date, the parts are still not available.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #59

Nov 152013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering ) in November 2013. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired but the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/12/2014

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #58

Mar 122014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Went to dealership to have this issue fixed and was told they did not have the part to fix the problem. Not only did they not have the part but Chrysler allowed them to order one part every 14 days! this means they are fixing 2 Jeep a month! I live in va beach where there is an abundance of Jeep vehicles and several large Jeep dealerships. How on earth can you expect to have the issue corrected when there are only 2 vehicles being repaired monthly! I couldn't believe this foolishness and had to contact Chrysler myself. Bill confirmed they are only allowing dealerships 1 part every 14 days. Why you ask" because they do not want to run out of stock! they are failing to make the parts available because they do not want to run out of stock! really? we are driving these vehicles that cost nearly $40,000! and endangering our lives because they don't want to deplete their stock. Are they making the parts in somebody's basement"! if I get in an accident as a result of this complete incompetence Chrysler will be held responsible. Fyi! ridiculous!!!!!

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #57

Mar 132014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep wranger. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed by the manufacturer and dealer that the part was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #56

Jan 092014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering ) in January 2014. The contact stated that she contacted the dealer to have the vehicle repaired but the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Woodbridge , VA, USA

problem #55

Sep 012013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2013 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete transmission oil cooler tube recall notice. The consumer stated it has been over 6 months.

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #54

Mar 112014

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received safety recall notice N28 / NHTSA 13V-234 transmission oil cooler tube which affects some 2012 and 2013 Jeep Wrangler vehicles equipped with an automatic transmission. I contacted our Jeep dealer right away and the response I received from them was there is a national backorder on the part in question and get 1 part every 2 weeks. They have fixed 14 vehicles! we are number 45 on the list. 2015 for replacement when and if they get the part - this is not acceptable. How can they do a recall without sufficient parts available?

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #53

Sep 022013

Wrangler

  • miles
This website system does not seem particularly well-suited for this feedback. I have received repeated recall notices from Chrysler regarding the transmission cooler tube. NHTSA 13V-234. On those forms, it requests that we log onto safercar.gov if the dealer fails to repair the defect within a reasonable time. I cannot find any place to register that complaint except here. I have received a series of harcopy mailings between perhaps September 2013 and current (Mar 2014). They suggest I call a local Jeep dealer to schedule a repair. Each time I call the service department of the local Jeep dealer, I get a different response, such as "we only have enough parts to repair vehicles on the East coast first. We will eventually call you when we have parts available to repair yours in Colorado" the next time, the dealer said they still don't have parts, and that I must just keep calling back every week or so to see when they arrive. The third time I called they assured me that Jeep will call me as soon as they are available. The fourth time the local dealer said they had no mechanism to contact me when parts become available, and the burden was indeed on me to keep calling. What a stupid system. My daughter also has a Jeep (a 2003 gcherokee). She has undergone similar hassles with parts not being available for more than a year for a recall. Each time she calls it is a different story. I don't know what the NHTSA believes is a "reasonable time". but it seems stupid to keep mailing me hardcopy recall notices if Jeep doesn't have the parts or ability to make the repair. And when I call Jeep, they should have a true and consistent story about what I need to do to get the repair completed.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #52

Nov 012013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer advised that part was not available to complete the required repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable estimated date for when the contact?S vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Dyd

- York Springs, PA, USA

problem #51

Nov 132013

Wrangler

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and stated that the vehicle have not been serviced under the recall because the needed part would become available until thirty eight weeks. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #50

Jun 012013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2013 Jeep Wrangler. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete transmission oil cooler tube recall notice. The consumer received the recall notice, last summer. As of February 13, 2014, the repairs still have not be completed.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #49

Dec 182013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed by the dealer that they were only receiving one recall part every ten days. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer had not been notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09-04-14

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #48

Sep 302013

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
I received a recall notification in September, 2013 warning that the transmission oil cooler tube may come into contact with the power steering fluid return tube, causing a leak and possibly a failure or crash. The vehicle has been to the autonation dealership on 116th ave. In bellevue, wa a total of three times since September 2013 to address this issue. It is now almost March 2014 and it still has not been fixed. They are placing all the blame on Chrysler for not being able to supply the parts. I called Chrysler this morning to confirm the insane waiting time for the parts to remedy the recall. The idea that it takes in excess of 5 months just to get parts for a serious recall issue is preposterous, and the lack of action negligible.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #47

Dec 132013

Wrangler

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #46

Feb 182014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before February of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Nowata, OK, USA

problem #45

Oct 112013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and was informed by the dealer that they only received the remedy kit once every fourteen days. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available for the contact to have the defect corrected. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Winnetka, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?