Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,833 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Wrangler steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #144

Oct 172016

Wrangler

  • 5 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at 45 mph today on route 6 in swansea MA and the entire front end of my Jeep starts shaking to the point where I can't control it. I tried to slow down but the more I did the more the front end shook back and forth from side to side. I was able to pull off into a parking lot. I checked under the Jeep and there was no damage, the tire treads are not worn. The inflation of the tires is fine. I just hit 33,000, the truck was just introspected and had an alignment in September. Death rumble as I ave read is common but there is no recall on this vehicle per your database. The truck is not safe to drive and due to the years is no longer under warranty. Recommending a recall based on the 1000S of reports of this online. Chrysler needs to make a change to make my vehicle safer.

- Swansea, MA, USA

problem #143

Oct 112016

Wrangler

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. While driving approximately 10 mph, the steering box failed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering box needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Westmoreland, TN, USA

problem #142

Apr 212016

Wrangler

  • 38,285 miles
Vehicle began to violently shake while driving - made it almost impossible to control. Upon research on the internet this is called "death wobble" by large number that this has happened to. Multiple videos exist on the internet for this. The repair was to replace stabilizer but Chrysler knows about this and recommends an additional part as well star case #S1602000001. This is a huge safety issue.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #141

Jul 272013

Wrangler

  • 28,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 28,200. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #140

Aug 012015

Wrangler

  • 59,000 miles
Jeep has been stalling for 7 months. Been in shop 9 times. Jeep stalls going at different spends, while stopped, moving at idle in forward or reverse. Jeep will not start unless terminal on battery removed or sits for awhile. Transmission fails to engage occasionally in reverse or drive after stalling. Last program download appears to be a fault with the tipm (totally intergrated power module). Ptm and tpm changed out due to different readings in downloads. Mechanic believes now, that the tipm is faulty. Jeep has stalled up to 5 & 6 times on some days.

- Midwest City, OK, USA

problem #139

Jun 102015

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) and 14V631000 (electrical system, visibility) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #138

Jul 012014

Wrangler

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car starts to shake violently around 60 mph, especially if front tires go over bump or drain in the road. Unable to drive unless slow down significantly - very dangerous on a highway. Started around July of 2014 and has been happening sporadically ever since. Last incident was 9/12/15

- Merrick, NY, USA

problem #137

Jan 262015

Wrangler

  • 16,203 miles
The car and steering wheel starts to shake violently at any speed when road bumps or irregularities are encountered. This issue has resulted in loss of control and may cause injury or death. This has been named the "death wobble" by other Jeep owners. It has happened twice after dealer has replaced the steering damper. I feel the car will return to this state after the second fix and I am not satisfied with the fix.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #136

Aug 152014

Wrangler

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated each time the steering wheel was turned to the left or right. The contact stated that the dealer provided several repairs and the failures recurred. Also, the right front ABS sensor was replaced. The dealer replaced the steering pump twice, the dynamic sensor due to the traction control sensor illuminating. In addition, the contact indicated that while traveling over 55 mph, an abnormal noise emitted from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the seals and after the repair water leaked on the front passengers side. The left side valves had to be replaced due to a ticking noise and two months later the right side valve were replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #135

Jan 092015

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
My truck has been brought in for service twice for repeatedly stalling while in motion. It has been at the dealership service department for a combined 56 days. I first brought the vehicle in for service on 1/13/2015, after the vehicle stalled on 1/9/2015 while driving 70 mph, and 1/13/2015 when accelerating to 50 mph. My vehicle was cleared to pick up on 1/24/2015 following service that included computer updates, physical inspection, and road testing. My vehicle stalled again on 2/5/2015 while driving on a highway entrance ramp. In all three cases, the vehicle started without assistance in about ten minutes. I immediately returned my vehicle to the dealership for service. I was informed that the service department would contact the manufacturer to send a technician to inspect my vehicle. They never did. On 3/6/2015, I contacted Jeep customer service requesting additional help. My case was referred to a special case manager where my concerns were rudely dismissed. I have been contacted multiple times by the dealership to pick up my truck since 3/11/2015, despite the failure of the service department to identify what is causing the vehicle to stall. I do not feel the truck is safe to drive. I have a family and will not put them at risk because the dealership and manufacturer are being negligent. I will not pick up the vehicle until the problem is identified and repaired, or the vehicle is replaced. I have seen a similar case involving a 2013 Jeep Wrangler that stalls for unidentified reasons posted on the NHTSA web site. This also sounds similar to the recent GM recall due to defective ignition systems that resulted in stalling and caused numerous fatalities. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

- Nutley, NJ, USA

problem #134

May 142013

Wrangler

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering). However, the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact has not experienced a failure.

- Ponta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #133

Feb 222014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Several miles from home I crossed a bridge doing between 45 and 50 miles per hour and the Jeep started bouncing and shaking so bad (like it had 4 square tires) and veering to the left. I had no control of the vehicle as the steering wheel was shaking so hard I had trouble holding onto it. I braked really slow and kept it on the road till it came to a stop. I had just met a vehicle on a two lane country road (which are not very wide and no shoulder) and was lucky there was no one else coming towards me, otherwise it would have been a serious/fatal accident. The dealership looked at only to tell me there was nothing wrong with the Jeep and that I must did not know how to handle the vehicle on rough roads. My husband drove the Jeep for several months and nothing every happened to him. October 26, 2014....once again I was cruising down a highway doing 71 mph and the Jeep started bouncing all over the road......I did not hit a bump or anything. Again felt like the Jeep had 4 square tires and I ended up with 3 venti coffees all over the inside of Jeep. Several miles later crossing a bridge at 35 mph the Jeep started shaking all over again. I left word with the salesmans as to what happened and once again the Jeep went in only to be told there is nothing wrong with the Jeep. Today (Jan.9, 2015) my husband was driving the Jeep and crossed the same bridge when I had the first encounter with the shaking of the Jeep........now he believes me that there is something wrong with the Jeep. He called the salesman and told him what happened.......only to be told they would look into it. We are afraid to drive the Jeep because one of these times we will not be so lucky as to walk away from an accident......we are afraid of us and another family getting killed. What does it take for this to be checked into seriously........someone or a whole family getting killed?

- Tabor, SD, USA

problem #132

Dec 302014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #131

Dec 142014

Wrangler

  • 54,000 miles
At 50 mph I crossed a transition on an overpass at a 45 degree angel. The steering wheel shook so hard I could not keep my hands on it. I have heard of this issue called the "death wobble" but never experienced it. The way to stop it is to tap the breaks but I could not because I was on the interstate and there were cars behind me. It felt like the suspension had broken and I was going to pull over there were 2 lanes to the right with cars coming at highway speed. I made an appointment with the dealer and took my Jeep in the next night. The confirmed they know all about the death wobble but refer to it as the steering damper issue. I called Jeep and they filed an expedited claim process but did not call me back when promised. When I called again, they had someone call me the next working day. He said he has never heard of the issue. I questioned him about it and explained that it has been going on for years. He did not offer to do any thing. He had called the dealership but had the facts wrong. He is supposed to call me back.

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #130

Sep 012013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Marana , AZ, USA

problem #129

Nov 142014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 78,888 miles
In several occasions the Jeep would completely turn off at red lights or after complete stops. I took the Jeep to the dealership 4 different times and was told nothing was wrong. On Friday 11/14/14 I was going 60 mph on the highway when the Jeep suddenly lost speed and immediately turned off/stalled, I lost steering power. It was very difficult to get out of the traffic. The Jeep did not turn back on until 45 minutes later as I waited for the tow truck. I was again told by the dealership that the computer diagnosis is not detecting any malfunction, really"?"

- Horizon City, TX, USA

problem #128

Sep 092013

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering). However, the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/22/14 the consumer stated the recall was completed on 11/13/14. Updated 01/07/15.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #127

Aug 082014

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 13V234000 (power train, steering) and stated that the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. There are no failures at this time.

- Buffalo , NY, USA

problem #126

Oct 102013

Wrangler

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V234000 (power train, steering). The contact stated that the vehicle was taken on three separate occasions to be repaired under the recall H oever the part was not available. The contact did experience the failure. The failure mileage was 16,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #125

Jun 042013

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V234000 (power train, steering ) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oceanside, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?