Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,210 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Wrangler engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Aug 042014


  • 10,385 miles


Observed oil under the vehicle. Suspected that the oil cooler was leaking based upon others with the same problem. Observed a large puddle of oil in the valley of engine at the oil cooler. All this was observed after the second oil change (dealer). Parts manager at dealer stated this is a big problem on the 2014 models with the 3.2 and 3.6 engine. Depending how large the crack is on the cooler this could cause all the oil to be evacuated from the engine causing a fire with the hot exhaust or seizing the engine causing a crash. The oil filter/cooler was redesigned for the 2014 model year. At this point it seems to be affecting the 2014 model year.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 122014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 15,550 miles
I took it to big O tire to have the ball joints replaced as I knew that since I have over size tires and a lift kit that they would not be covered under warranty. I have been smelling oil for a couple of days, and checked it when I left winslow AZ. To go home to kingman AZ. And it was just a bit low. So when I picked it up from big O tire for the ball joint replacement they told me it was 3 quarts low on oil (that's a 186 mile trip) and they filled it, I took it straight to martin swanty Chrysler Jeep in kingman AZ. Which is where I live. They looked it over and told me it was a spill from when I had the oil changed at oil can henry's. they cleaned it up a bit and charged me $72 and told me I was good to go. I took it to the car wash and flushed the engine valley out really good and drove it home. I looked in the engine valley and verified that there was only water in the valley around the oil filter, but when I got home it was full of oil again, so I goggled the problem and found this on Wrangler forum and searched for 2014 jku oil leak and found it to be a oil cooler leak that looks like it is common on the 2014 models and most dealers don't know about it "??" this is Friday 09-12-2014, this is my work vehicle as I work pipeline. I will take it back to the dealer Monday.

- Kingman, AZ, USA

problem #10

Aug 242014


  • 1,249 miles
Was traveling in our 3 week old 2014 Jeep Wrangler 2 door automatic in central California. Heading West on a remote two lane highway in approx. 84 degree dry conditions. Speed limit in this area is 55. I came upon a farm truck who was traveling at approx. 45-50 mph. When conditions were safe, I pulled into the oncoming lane and proceeded to accelerate very hard to pass the farm vehicle in a safe distance. The cruise control was on but was currently not in use. As I was almost around the farm vehicle I took my foot off the gas but the vehicle continued to accelerate at full throttle. I first viewed the road ahead of me to see if it was clear while at the same time I stomped on the brake. I also turned the cruise control completely off. An error message flashed on the dash however due to the circumstances I did not see what it indicated. The braking helped but as soon as I took the foot off the brake it continued to accelerate at full throttle. I would estimate that the Jeep reached a speed of 100 when this happened. I then prepared to place the vehicle in neutral but first reached and grabbed the floor mat and yanked it as hard as I could to pull it away from the gas pedal as I was still unsure of what was happening. The issue felt more like an electronic issue then a gas pedal caught on a floor mat. However this did seem to stop the sudden acceleration. Once home I verified that I could not see in any way how the floor mat would hold down the gas pedal as the gas pedal snaps back with quite a bit of force when pushing the floor mat in front of the pedal. This very well may have been caused by the floor mat however I would like to document what happened.

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 032014


  • 4,150 miles


On July 3, 2014, the vehicle lost engine power while I was driving during a 150-mile road trip. Upon coasting for a short distance, engine power restored, and I was able to accelerate and continue driving without further trouble that day. I did not take the vehicle to the dealer for repair because I assumed it was an isolated episode. However, on July 22, 2014, I again had trouble while on another 300-mile round-trip road trip. During the return drive, the vehicle lost engine power at least six times both on the interstate and on local roads. Each time, I had to coast to the side of the road so as to not block the flow of traffic. After a short time, about 30 seconds, engine power restored, and I was again able to accelerate and continue on with my trip. I took the vehicle in to the dealer on July 23, 2014, where it was kept until July 28, 2014. The technicians were unable to reproduce the issue, and the problem could not be identified. Software updates were run in an attempt to correct the problem. I again had trouble with the vehicle on August 18, 2014, when driving a 400-mile round-trip road trip. During the drive, the vehicle lost engine power five times on the interstate, at speeds up to 70 miles per hour. Upon the fifth episode that day, I took the vehicle to the closest dealer for immediate attention, as I feared I would cause an accident by losing engine power while driving on a busy interstate. The service department was unable to reproduce the issue, but the technician stated that he saw signs of the problem I described during his evaluative drive. The vehicle was released to me and I was told to take it back to the usual dealer the following day for a more comprehensive evaluation. Upon driving it for over 100 miles, the service department has been unable to replicate the problem and, thus, again has been unable to identify and repair the issue.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #8

Jul 022014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,850 miles
I took my Jeep in for an oil change and tire rotation. They found massive amounts of oil leaking, but not from the oil pan. My car was bought in October/November 2013 new. They have had my car for 5 days. It appears from reading the other postings this seems to be happening with 2014 Jeep Wrangler.

- Vinton, VA, USA

problem #7

May 012014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
Had oil changed by dealership and began to smell a burned oil smell. Thought maybe oil dripped on engine during oil change. Then noticed small oil puddle under Jeep in parking spot and oil on underside of Jeep. Took in for service and dealer stated saw oil but no idea where it's coming from, washed down engine told to watch for oil. Oil leak continues to worsen and call for appointment which is 2 weeks out because loaner is needed. Oil down 1/2 quart from leaking. Come home tonight and large oil puddle under Jeep. Lift hood and take off engine cover and a large pool of oil on top of engine right next to oil filter housing. Do some research on web and it appears that cracked oil filter housings are an issue on the 2014 Wrangler. Call dealership and they are unable to move up appointment because no loaners are available. Tell me to keep driving and just topping off oil every day even tho my new Wrangler is now covered in motor oil on the whole underside. Here are pics of the issue and information on the problem.

- Corning, NY, USA

problem #6

Feb 012014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 6,390 miles


Oil noted dripping from the transmission case seam onto the exhaust crossover pipe. Probably did not catch fire due to the cold (11F) winter temperatures. Oil leak was found to be caused by defective rear main seal. Previous oil change (the first one for this vehicle) performed professionally. Oil replenished was "5.90 quarts" in a nominal 6 quart system. Vehicle: 2014 Jeep Wrangler unlimited jku, 3.6L "pentastar" engine, 6 speed manual transmission.

- Warwick, NY, USA

problem #5

May 102014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
Stopped at a traffic light when noticing a light gray smoke around the vehicle. Continued from the stop light when the smoke started to get more darker and black. Realized the smoke was coming from the vehicle and I drove to side of the road. Open the driver side of the vehicle and smoke were coming from the front of the vehicle and from under the vehicle. I then turned the ignition key off and exit the vehicle. When getting across the road from the vehicle I turned and saw fire coming from the vehicle. This statement was made by the driver of the vehicle (the wife of the owner of the vehicle).

- Greenwood, DE, USA

problem #4

May 122014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
2014 Jeep Wrangler 3.6L engine. Major oil leak from cracked oil cooler housing, which is on top of the engine. If not noticed, this could result in the engine seizing, or catching on fire.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #3

Apr 272014

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 2,900 miles
Transition & engine coolant temp immediately rose to alarm status (300 degrees) in first ever light duty 4 wd application. Off road 4WD conditions and terrain consisted of a 5% grade in low cut hay field. Alarm indicated immediate corrective action was necessary. Vehicle temperature gauges were rising from normal tolerances to alarm status in two minutes. Corrective action included cutting engine to cool. Corrective action also required blower and heater on highest settings to cool block and maintain operable driving condition temperatures. Engaging in the slightest load while 4 wheel drive train was engaged (off road) immediately replicated severe overheating condition of both tranny and block coolant. Vehicle was operable at normal operating temperatures at high speeds in two wheel drive while on pavement only. Vehicle is a 2014 Jeep sahara unlimited Wrangler with "V" 6 cyl motor automatic transmission with 2,900 miles on odometer (vehicle is brand new purchased in March 2014 - date of this report is April 2014).

- Southport, CT, USA

problem #2

Mar 012014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,800 miles
In January 2014 I purchased a brand new 2014 Jeep Wrangler at river oaks Chrysler Jeep in houston, tx and around March 1st I noticed oil leaking from my vehicle. I was unsure it was my vehicle because I assumed it was a new vehicle that there is not way it could be my Jeep. On March 5th 2014 I had a lot of oil spill out of my vehicle. I took the Jeep into the dealership on March 6th and they noticed the spilling of oil. I dropped of my Jeep with them and they said they fixed it. They said that my oil cooler was leaking. And they replaced the oil cooler. Come to find out this is a major fire hazard. A brand new car and the oil cooler fails. They were really vague as to why this happened and brushed me off telling me "its fixed, don't worry about it". I don't feel comfortable now driving my Jeep and I am concerned if this is a lemon car. I spoke to several managers over at river oaks Chrysler Jeep and they seemed to brush me off and would tell me "you are getting mad over a car; one of our sales just found out he has cancer". this was very unfair and I am not happy with what I purchased. Please help.....updated 08/20/15

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #1

Jan 182014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 727 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the malfunction engine light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, who performed a diagnostic test that determined that the star case software was defective. The star case software was not available to remedy the vehicle. The dealer stated that the software would not become available until June 2014. The failure mileage was 727....updated 03-12-14 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 03/20/14

- Cedar Crest, NM, USA

Not what you are looking for?