Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,880 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Wrangler engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments

problem #8

Aug 102016


  • 51,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that the cruise control failed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the clock spring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure was 51,000. The VIN was not available.

- Gregory, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 232016


  • 16,200 miles
On 6/23/16, I was driving my 2014 Jeep Wrangler unlimited sahara on a highway at approximately 65 mph. I accelerated to merge into the left lane and then, after letting up on the gas pedal, the vehicle continued to accelerate at the same rate of speed. I pressed the brake pedal and the vehicle slowed as expected but I heard a distinct "popping" noise, seemingly as if the gas pedal had popped back into place. Just a few miles later, while driving in the left lane, I accelerated a bit to keep up with traffic. The accelerator "stuck" a second time, and so I pressed the brake pedal again and the vehicle responded again by slowing but this time, when I went to accelerate again to keep pace with traffic, the gas pedal was completely non-responsive (I.e., the pedal had seemed to fall to the floor and pressing it did not result in any further acceleration). I pulled onto the left shoulder of the highway and called roadside assistance to have it towed to the Jeep dealership. Dealership verbally told me computer fault code read as "accelerator pedal in correlation" and said the gas pedal module was reading incorrectly. Service advisor admitted to having seen this problem before. When picking up vehicle, service advisor told me that problem was due to excessive dirt on/behind the gas pedal. There is no way it was caused by this, as Jeep has not been taken off-road, no one drives it with muddy shoes, etc. Accelerator pedal assembly was replaced and PCM was updated to the most current software level. Previously on this vehicle, the sentry key was replaced as was the entire instrument cluster, as was the front stabilizer/sway bar. Not sure if the stuck accelerator is due to a computer/software glitch or a mechanical failure. A quick google search revealed that issues with "stuck" accelerators on this make/model/year vehicle are not uncommon. Invoice attached. Please investigate.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #6

Aug 172015


  • 10,317 miles
Incident 1.) on August 17th, 2015 around 8:00 pm I was driving in the left lane of the gsp traveling at approximately 70 mph when my vehicle erroneously accelerated to 80 mph while simultaneously pulling slightly to the left. At first, I thought my carpet had been stuck but I quickly realized that this was not the case. Being I had a manual shift, I immediately was able to shift into neutral. In doing so, the engine was still revving high thus making a loud engine sound (I did not get to see the actual RPM.) I began kicking the side of the gas pedal while trying to pull slightly to the right to keep the vehicle on the road. Eventually the car just went back to normal. This whole process may have been about twenty to thirty seconds long. Incident 2.) on August 18th, 2015 around 6:20 am (not even 12 hours from the first incident above) I was driving in the left lane of the gsp traveling at approximately 70- 75 mph when my vehicle erroneously braked hard as if it was a ┐┐brake check┐Ł and the ABS traction control light lit at the same time. It was like I slammed on my brakes only this happened while my foot was on the accelerator. I quickly looked in my rear view mirror and saw the car behind me shoot into the adjacent lane to my right in avoidance of a collision with my rear of the vehicle. This happened quickly and harshly and then it was over. I moved into the right lane and continued to work with caution. I called my local Jeep service center and explained my situation. They were going to schedule me for the earliest appointment of August 31st 2015 but I stressed that this was not good enough as it was a potential serious safety issue to myself and others. I was directed to bring it in tomorrow 8-19-15 in the morning.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jul 142015


  • 20,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Wrangler. While at a stop light, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle jerked forward. As a result, the contact's vehicle crashed into the rear of another vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Toms River , NJ, USA

problem #4

Feb 042014


  • 120 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Wrangler. While driving at approximately 5 mph and depressing the brake pedal at a red light, the vehicle accelerated without warning. The contact's vehicle crashed into the preceding vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. On another occasion, while depressing the brake pedal and attempting to park, the vehicle accelerated causing the contact to crash into another vehicle. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. There were no injuries in either crash. The approximate failure mileage was 120.

- Woonsocket, RI, USA

problem #3

Jul 302014

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Incident: While stopping in traffic with the foot firmly on the brake my Jeep had an unintended acceleration causing a rear in crash. This unintended acceleration happen before on a trip to Tennessee in June but was thought to be the floor mat which now is known not to be the case. ( both were witnessed by the passenger) these incidents and complaint were given to Chrysler regarding the experience with the vehicle accelerating and surging. However, Chrysler denied any responsibility regarding the malfunction which resulted in the accident. Because I realized the Jeep was unsafe to drive. I had it towed to the local Chrysler Jeep dealer. Due to safety concerns and to protect life and property. I refuse to drive the vehicle again and bought another car. The dealership where I purchased my new vehicle was told not to sell it until the timp is replaced in the Jeep. This mishap has cost me several thousand dollars which should had been paid for by Chrysler.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 242014


  • 1,249 miles
Was traveling in our 3 week old 2014 Jeep Wrangler 2 door automatic in central California. Heading West on a remote two lane highway in approx. 84 degree dry conditions. Speed limit in this area is 55. I came upon a farm truck who was traveling at approx. 45-50 mph. When conditions were safe, I pulled into the oncoming lane and proceeded to accelerate very hard to pass the farm vehicle in a safe distance. The cruise control was on but was currently not in use. As I was almost around the farm vehicle I took my foot off the gas but the vehicle continued to accelerate at full throttle. I first viewed the road ahead of me to see if it was clear while at the same time I stomped on the brake. I also turned the cruise control completely off. An error message flashed on the dash however due to the circumstances I did not see what it indicated. The braking helped but as soon as I took the foot off the brake it continued to accelerate at full throttle. I would estimate that the Jeep reached a speed of 100 when this happened. I then prepared to place the vehicle in neutral but first reached and grabbed the floor mat and yanked it as hard as I could to pull it away from the gas pedal as I was still unsure of what was happening. The issue felt more like an electronic issue then a gas pedal caught on a floor mat. However this did seem to stop the sudden acceleration. Once home I verified that I could not see in any way how the floor mat would hold down the gas pedal as the gas pedal snaps back with quite a bit of force when pushing the floor mat in front of the pedal. This very well may have been caused by the floor mat however I would like to document what happened.

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 032014


  • 4,150 miles
On July 3, 2014, the vehicle lost engine power while I was driving during a 150-mile road trip. Upon coasting for a short distance, engine power restored, and I was able to accelerate and continue driving without further trouble that day. I did not take the vehicle to the dealer for repair because I assumed it was an isolated episode. However, on July 22, 2014, I again had trouble while on another 300-mile round-trip road trip. During the return drive, the vehicle lost engine power at least six times both on the interstate and on local roads. Each time, I had to coast to the side of the road so as to not block the flow of traffic. After a short time, about 30 seconds, engine power restored, and I was again able to accelerate and continue on with my trip. I took the vehicle in to the dealer on July 23, 2014, where it was kept until July 28, 2014. The technicians were unable to reproduce the issue, and the problem could not be identified. Software updates were run in an attempt to correct the problem. I again had trouble with the vehicle on August 18, 2014, when driving a 400-mile round-trip road trip. During the drive, the vehicle lost engine power five times on the interstate, at speeds up to 70 miles per hour. Upon the fifth episode that day, I took the vehicle to the closest dealer for immediate attention, as I feared I would cause an accident by losing engine power while driving on a busy interstate. The service department was unable to reproduce the issue, but the technician stated that he saw signs of the problem I described during his evaluative drive. The vehicle was released to me and I was told to take it back to the usual dealer the following day for a more comprehensive evaluation. Upon driving it for over 100 miles, the service department has been unable to replicate the problem and, thus, again has been unable to identify and repair the issue.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?