Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,284 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Wrangler engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Wrangler Owner Comments

problem #11

Aug 012016


  • 10,000 miles


I keep getting a stability control light and that causes the ecb light too pop and then I have no steering wheel controls. This all started after I tried to superchip my 2015 Jeep Wrangler. Sense then my Jeep has been in a local shop for about a month and they have had the brain reflashed and have changed gears for the 4inch lift and much much more. I was driving 65mph when the stability control first tries to take control of the vehicle, talk about scary...anyone out there have this or similar issues, please help.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #10

Jan 012016


  • 10,500 miles
Wake up in middle of the night and the Jeep was already in fire. Parked for 7-8 hrs lonely in driveway. Ps: I'm come from Ontario Canada... 5 mccarthy St po box 207 chalk river Ontario Canada K0J 1J0 idk why U don't have Canada in ur choice of state. Thx for any more information about the fire let me know cheers matt

- Chalk River, NY, USA

problem #9

May 182015


  • 13,000 miles
Engine light comes on and remains on until dealer resets it. Code indicates that cylinder #6 misfire. Since Jun 20 2015 and up to 4 Jan 2016 the vehicle has been in the shop 7 times. Town time has already reached 24 days. So far they have replaced the cylinder head, removed the head a second time, updated software, and replaced the cam shafts, plus a number of other things. The star team at Chrysler/jepp has been involved with no success. First time the light came on and remained on was 18 May 15.

- Deming, NM, USA

problem #8

Dec 092015


  • miles


My wife arrive at work at 2 pm parked the Jeep Wrangler 2015 around 8 pm the engine caught fire security guards tried to turn off the fire but could not later arrived fire deparment and they extinguished

- Patillas, PR, USA

problem #7

Sep 302015


  • 36,000 miles
Engine problems: Starting summer 2015 engine shuts off while driving, accelerating, slowing down, stopped engine will not go back into gear engine loses power when accelerating or cruising brought into dealership (purchase location) approximately August 19th 2015 released September 2nd 2015 problems persisted brought into different dealership approximately September 14th 2015 released approximately September 26th problems persisted brought into dealership September 30th 2015 still in custody as of October 8th on September 29th, I was taking an on ramp for an interstate. The ramp is an uphill, hair pin turn that then turns into an off-ramp for oncoming traffic. I have never experienced an issue accelerating and merging into the interstate traffic here. However, this afternoon I was not able to get the acceleration that I expected. When I ran out of ramp room, I would have needed to slow down significantly in order to allow the side by side tractor trailers to go by. However, because of other cars that were behind me on the on-ramp, that was not an option without possibly causing an accident. So I merged with as much power as I could get, which was not enough. The closest tractor trailing came barreling down upon me quickly with horn blaring. On September 30th, just a couple miles away from the dealership, I was the first in line at a red light. The Jeep shut off. I could not get it back into gear. It just remained in neutral no matter which gear I tried to put it in. I shifted in and out of park and other gears turned the vehicle off and back on many times. A few times drive would engage but then the engine would shut off again after a few feet. I finally got it into gear and accelerated quickly hoping to cover a greater distance and it worked. I was able to finish my trip to the dealership.

- Pisgah Forest, NC, USA

problem #6

Sep 092015


  • 7,800 miles
I was driving at highway speed when the check engine light was activated. The automatic transmission was not shifting properly, and did not seem to downshift after slowing down to proceed through toll booth. When I attempted to accelerate after paying the toll, the engine began to slowly accelerate as if it was in fourth or fifth gear. Shortly thereafter, the oil light began to turn on and off intermittently. I made it to a Chrysler/Jeep dealer and found a puddle of oil under my car and there was no oil registering on the dipstick. After the Jeep service department eventually looked at my car, I found out there was a cracked oil filter adapter that had to be replaced. After doing some research, I learned that this was not an uncommon problem in Jeep. I imagine that I was fortunate that the engine did not seize or catch fire, which obviously has the potential to cause serious harm.

- Jamison, PA, USA

problem #5

Aug 012015


  • 8,900 miles


Between the dates of 3/20 and 8/1 my 2015 Jeep Wrangler unlimited (4dr, 4X4) has been experiencing intermittent cel P0340 while pulling a grade. When the cel occur the vehicle loses significant power and is unable to maintain speed. The traction control system lights come on indicating an error. During this time the vehicle will not accelerate to a safe speed and the traction control systems are not functioning. The vehicle will return to normal operation after turning the key to off then back on. If this is done while moving intermittently the car's security system will engage and the vehicle will not start back up. I have had the vehicle for warranty repair 5 times with this issue. Each time the problem is said to be resolved, but occurs almost immediately.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #4

Jul 192015


  • 7,415 miles
I bought the Jeep April 4, 2015. On July 19, 2015 I parked my car in the driveway and 3 hours later at 5:30 my dog work me up and I look outside and the whole front end of the Jeep was in flames. We were able to get the fire out but it was a total loss.

- Henderson , NV, USA

problem #3

Jun 292015


  • 7,960 miles
6-speed manual: While stopped at lights, crossing intersections, and normal driving on roads, day/night and warm/cold, engine stops for 2-10 seconds. It has stopped when passing other vehicles requiring full break application to avoid oncoming traffic. In intersections and when the clutch was pushed in to help coast through intersection, there was no power steering to help turn the wheels! the dealerships insist that there is no problem and engine could not cut out while driving? this engine problem has occurred at least 30-40 times.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #2

Apr 222015

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 250 miles
Vehicle was purchased new on April 16, 2015. My wife drove 8 miles to school and then 6 miles to her aunt's house. When she parked she noticed car was smoking and the car caught fire seconds later. Fire consumed the front end of Jeep before fire department could get here. The fire started under the hood on the right side.

- Eatonton, GA, USA

problem #1

Feb 072015

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
Check engine light flashes when going uphill. Dealer claims to be unable to read the code if engine light does not stay on. Has been in for service 4 times for same issue. Once, dealer replaced a single engine coil after reading a P300 misfire code. Engine loses power and freeway speed becomes impossible to maintain for several minutes even after cresting hill and driving on level surface.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?