Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,516 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Kia Forte seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Kia Forte:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Kia Forte Owner Comments

problem #13

Jun 082016


  • miles


This morning while driving, the airbag light illuminated for no apparent reason. The airbags have never been deployed. I was in a residential area with decent roads. I am concerned that the airbags will malfunction and deploy while I am driving and possibly cause an accident. Please investigate. I should not have to spend money on this repair as there is no reason this should have occurred but it is a safety issue. Again, the symbol remains lit. 6/8/16. Site won't accept date.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #12

Jan 202016


  • 85,616 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Kia Forte. While driving 40 mph, the contact crashed into an unknown object. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained an injury to the head that did not require medical attention. The vehicle was taken to the contact's residence. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,616.

- Trinity, AL, USA

problem #11

Aug 102009


  • 450 miles
Just a few days after purchasing this vehicle new from the back in Aug 2009, the drivers air bag light came on while driving. There was no accident involved. I returned it to the dealer and was told the problem was fixed. Since that first visit, I continued to return to the dealership with the same problem at least 5 times within the year. I was told parts were replaced, but the problem kept returning. When I sent a letter to the headquarters, I was contacted and told I would just have to keep returning the car to the dealer for testing and repairs, but I wasn't guaranteed a loaner during the repair. I figured at some point they would just start charging me for every visit, without completely fixing the problem. Up to that point it wasn't costing me for the diagnosis, but it was costing me in time away from work, and rental fees. Since I lived in Texas at the time the safety inspection did not include the air bag light. However, I just moved to Virginia and theirs does, so now I have a car I can't register, hence can't drive. I made an appt with a local dealer to see if they can resolve this (pending). However, I don't know if I will be charged for the repairs, or if they will be able to fix this since others have failed in the past. I wasn't aware of this site or I would have filed this complaint way back then. But from reading other complaints, I see now I'm not the only one having this problem. With the recent recall of malfunctioning/defective airbags by thousands of manufacturers, I'm surprised this model is not on the list. I think a review is necessary.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #10

May 292015


  • 96,272 miles


I have a 2010 Kia Forte ex. I am the only owner as I purchased this vehicle brand new. On 5/29/2015 I was driving approximately 20 mph and the airbag light came on. I was not involved in any crash. There is no reason for the light to be on. I contacted my local Kia service department and was told the following: "you need to bring it in and we will hook it up to our computer and see what code it displays to see what the problem is.". then he ask the mileage. I told him and he stated it would cost me "$110 for the diagnosis.". I ask what was there a recall on the airbags or the airbag indicator light and he stated #not on the year your car was made.". I am not going to pay them over $100 for this. This is supposed to be a safety features on my car. I believe should be free for them to test a safety feature of such importance. Not to mention it would be good customer service. But they do not think so. I told him I have heard of several Kia's that have had recalls for airbag issues and he said yes but not the 2010's. I believe this should be investigated. I just believe it is another way to punish the working class of society. Needless to say I will not be paying them to diagnose this issue. This should be a courtesy. Yours truly extremely disappointed customer in Texas M. alderman

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #9

Jan 182015

Forte 4-cyl

  • 80,702 miles
I was sitting at a stop sign waiting to make a left hand turn when an SUV heading North made a left hand turn onto the street I was on in front of another SUV, the SUV making the left turn was broadsided by the other SUV and then thrown into the front of my car, my car was then thrown into the SUV behind me. None of the airbags in my car deployed at the time of the accident. I injured my left shoulder, my car was considered a total loss because the front rails where not repairable and I have learned that I tore the rotator cuff in my left shoulder and required surgery to fix it. I don't understand how a hit this hard that would cause this type of damage to my vehicle would not cause the airbags to deploy....updated 03-11-15....updated 12/30/15

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Feb 032015

Forte 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
2010 Kia Forte rear ended a 2012 Toyota venza while traveling at approximately 40 mph on wet asphalt pavement. Upon collision, the air bag failed to deploy and seal belt restraint failed to hold back driver of the Kia. Drivers forehead hit and bent steering wheel and caused major front end damage to the Kia and considerably less damage to the Toyota venza. Kia was not drivable, so it was taken to a salvage yard of a flat bed truck. Driver of Kia was taken to hospital for X-rays and evaluation. Driver of Kia suffer neck\back pain, bruised forehead and head ache and was prescribed pain pills & anti inflammatory medication. My greatest concern is that I own two Kia's, one for each of my collage age kids and fear that the same outcome may occur again with dire consequences. Failure of the air bag deployment and seat belt restraint must be addressed and corrected by Kia before more injuries occur... updated 02/19/15 updated 3/30/2016

- Saint John, IN, USA

problem #7

Jan 112015

Forte 4-cyl

  • 44,210 miles


This is the 2nd head on collision I've had with the Kia Forte and on both incidents my airbags did not deploy. This concerns me. Also the car jumps into shift and the brake lights don't always work.

- Streamwood , IL, USA

problem #6

Dec 112013


  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Kia Forte ex. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, she attempted to avoid crashing into an animal and crashed into a tree. The contact sustained a head trauma and injuries to the knee. A police report was filed of the incident. The seat belt retractor failed to secure and the air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis but had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000. The VIN was not available.

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #5

Jun 202013


  • 98,454 miles
Vehicle has intermittent air bag indicator light. It has come on repeatedly over the past year. No codes have ever been found. Now that the vehicle is out of warranty the airbag light is on solid and will not go off. Kia needs to be investigated, there has been countless models of Kia vehicles that have had airbag problems. Most are loose connections that vibrate loose. This is unacceptable for a safety feature. Kia dealers are charging excessive fees to clear codes and wiggle wires. $110 diagnostic fees. Only to have the lights pop up again. There should be a mandatory 5 year unlimited miles warranty on safety features on vehicles. I am now driving my car without airbags and refuse to pay Kia to fix them temporarily. Something needs to be done. Do some research you will see how many people have had loose connections on air bag sensors in the past 5 years.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #4

Jun 042013


  • miles
Was pulling out of a parking lot, when I crashed into a car that was going about 50. My front drivers side headlight was smashed in, radiator was pushed into the engine block, the frame was bent, tore off my bummer, folded my hood and broke my windshield..the airbags never deployed..

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #3

Mar 102013


  • 32,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Kia Forte. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the driver of the vehicle crashed into a guard rail. The air bags did not deploy upon impact. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard. The driver and passenger were transported to the hospital by ambulance. The driver sustained head injuries and the passenger sustained bruising to her left foot. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.

- Lily Lake, IL, USA

problem #2

Mar 312013


  • 30,000 miles
I was on the interstate passing an 18 wheeler. My rear passenger side tire blew. The tire caused me to make a sharp right hand turn which threw me under the 18 wheeler. The truck went over the passenger side. I was then thrown into oncoming traffic then into the median. The vehicle is totaled - the air bags did not deploy.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #1

Mar 162013

Forte 4-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Was rear ended by another car traveling 60 mph, passenger side seatbelt did not lock and air bags did not deploy. Driver hit head on drivers side window and passenger suffered whiplash, concussion and back pain from impact and seatbelt not locking to hold them in place. Car was totaled by insurance company.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?