If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,739 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Kia Optima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Kia Optima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Kia Optima Owner Comments

problem #13

Dec 212011

Optima

  • 67,078 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Needed to replace door latch on driver's side. Door would not open from the inside. Air bag on passenger side will not deploy.

- Elk River, MN, USA

problem #12

Aug 102007

Optima 6-cyl

  • miles
I noticed that my airbag light would go off and on from time to time, then it would just stay on. I took it in to the shop, they told me it was a problem with the sensor, they repaired it and the problem came back. The airbag light is always on.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #11

Mar 102010

Optima

  • 28,000 miles
2005 Kia Optima air bag lights keep coming on.

- Magna, UT, USA

problem #10

Jul 152009

Optima

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Approximately 30 days ago my air bag light came back on. I've left messages with the Kia Consumer Affairs office at least 7 times since this problem recurred, with no reply from Kia. Last year I filed a complaint with this office and Kia fixed the air bag problem. This has been a recurring problem ever since I bought the car. The problem has returned and I believe the air bags in this car are defective and should be recalled. Again, I have no confidence that the air bags will deploy and my family is in danger in the event of an accident. Please investigate.

- Dalzell, SC, USA

problem #9

Mar 152008

Optima

  • 37,000 miles
Right after my warranty expired my airbag light started flickering when I went over a minor bump. It is now constantly on. I have seen others post the same issue with my vehicle.

- Peabody, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

May 132006

Optima

  • miles
I have a lot of complaints. I have a 2005 Kia Optima. My air bag light has been on and the dealership told me "anytime anyone with any weight sits down on the seat it will come disconnected". I had it fixed once and now it is on again. Ever since I have bought this car I have had nothing but problems. The only dealership I can go to is 2 hours away by freeway. I am afraid for my family to be in this car because I do not know if we will be protected as we should be. The first time that it broke down was a week after we bought it and the mechanics told me that there was nothing wrong with the car. The drivers side door will not unlock, and when I had the throttle replaced the mechanics at the dealership did not even do the repair correctly causing the car to rev up when stopped. Please help me resolve the issues I have.

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #7

Jul 012008

Optima 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Kia Optima. The air bag indicator illuminates intermittently. It has been an ongoing issue for months. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer approximately eight times; however, the diagnostic fails to produce an error code each time. The failure always recurs after a few weeks. The contact believes that the part is defective and the manufacturer should develop a proper remedy. The failure mileage was 50,000 and current mileage was 55,000. Updated 02/10/09. Updated 02/10/09.

- Selbyville, DE, USA

problem #6

Mar 252008

Optima

  • 49 miles
Continuing problem with air bag light on vehicle. Reported to dealer 9-25-06, 1-4-07, 8-7-07, 3-25-08. Air bag light remains on.

- Gloversville, NY, USA

problem #5

Jul 102007

Optima

  • miles
Purchased 2005 Kia Optima in 7/06. Air bag light came on in Sept 06. Dealer notified and fixed. Air bag light came on again a short time later and sent to dealer again, 1-4-07, fixed. Air bag light came on again sent to dealer on 8-7-07, fixed. Air bag light came on again sent to dealer 3-25-08 and fixed. Air bag light came on again in 6/08 and light remains on at this time. Air bag is not working at this time. We had an accident with the vehicle on 7/07. It was a front end collision and air bags did not deploy.

- Gloversville, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 012008

Optima

  • 28,476 miles
Eight (8) times since I bought the car the air bag warning light has come on; each time I've taken it to the dealership to have repaired as my families safety is of great concern to me. On two of those occasions the dealership replaced a seat back parts that worked temporarily. The other occasions I was mostly given a bunch of nonsense about computer codes and that they cleared the code (I assume I have air bag protection). All of this occurred while the car was still under it's 60,000 mile warranty. A couple of weeks ago, I called the manufacture to let them know that the recurring problem I've had with the seat belt light had occurred again and that my mileage was 58,880 and that I was bringing into dealership asap. Today when I went into the dealership for the same problem I was told that the defective air bag was no longer covered under the warranty and that I would have to pay a $155 to have the "pin tension reset". I argued with dealership and manufacturer about coverage under warranty and refused to pay the $155 and had to agree to pay a $53 diagnostic fee, which I did. I was then told that they had "cleared the air bag light for now". so, I asked if they had indeed done this suggested repair of having the pin tension reset and the he replied no, but the airbag light is cleared for now. I have absolutely no confidence that my air bags will deploy and 100% certainty that the air bag warning light will turn back on. My family is in grave danger in the event of an accident and I would like this investigated further.

- Dalzell, SC, USA

problem #3

Mar 112008

Optima

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was involved in an accident on 3/11/08. A woman caused me to rear end her going about 40-45mph. My car was basically totaled. I had my 2 month old twins in the car and my 3yr old son. Luckily we were all buckled in. I didn't sustain any serious injuries. I have few pains but due to work I have not seen a doctor as of yet. My children are to young to communicate if and when they are having pain related to the accident, but physically they look fine. The airbags in the vehicle did not deploy at all. I feel that if we were not buckled in and would have relied soley on the airbag system we could have incurred serious bodily injuries. My concern is the airbags not deploying.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #2

Mar 102008

Optima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Six times since January 07 I've been back to the dealership to fix a air bag light issue. They say that are doing what the computer tells them to do and the problem keeps returning. I believe Kia is not accepting responsibility for a bigger problem with the air and does not know if it is fixed or not. Since the air bag light can not be predictable the car is unsafe and should be recalled.

- Dalzell, SC, USA

problem #1

Aug 272005

Optima 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
On 8/27/05, about 1:30 P.M. roberta seals was involved in a semi-head-on collision with an 85 Chevy Blazer traveling approximatley 35-40mph. Roberta was at an almost complete stop, attempting to make a left-hand turn. The other driver has admitted to not paying attention to his speed or the road, having reached down for his cell phone. The impact was great enough to throw roberta's 2005 Kia Optima approximatley 150 ft. Into the front yard, on the left side of the street. The impact occured on the right-side front bumper, resulting in the front being shoved, accordian style, towards the drivers window. This impact was hard enough to throw roberta into the windshield causing a minor bump to appear in the middle of her head, because the airbag in the vehicle did not deploy. Roberta was wearing her seatbelt at the time of the accident. She suffers from contusions and sprains on both of her knees, her glutos maximus and right arm. Her right arm is still swollen and in a splint and sling at this time. No repairs have been completed at this time to the vehicle. Our main issue is with the airbag not having deployed on impact.

- Bentonville, AR, USA

Not what you are looking for?