If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,925 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Kia Optima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Kia Optima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Kia Optima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jun 272015

Optima 4-cyl

  • 135,773 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received my recall letter for the clock spring replacement, mind you the illuminate light wasn't on, made the appointment to get the part replaced from my local Kia dealership they said it will take two hours so I leave the car there they call me on my cell phone ramping about other issue with the car which are not dot problems so I say no thanks I can handle them myself, go pick up the car and they tell me the air bag light is on and there's a problem and its gonna cost 110 dollars to diagnose the problem, ,, wouldn't this be covered by the recall"?" why should I pay for manufacturer defect my pregnant wife drives this car so needs to be safe, help with this issue sincerely thanks

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #24

Jun 132015

Optima

  • miles
I have my vechile for a few months I kepted up with mantaince. Never been in an accident and all of sudden the air bag light came on. I wasn't for sure which side it was for so I got it looked at and I was told that I would need to replace passenger seat back assembly

- Milwaukee , WI, USA

problem #23

Nov 072014

Optima

  • 122,000 miles
I purchased my 2006.5 Kia Optima on November 6, 2014. Before my test drive the air bag light illuminated but then turned off, I said something to the dealership (not a Kia dealer) and they diagnosed it and told me it was the airbag module and that they would order a new one and replace it free of charge. After waiting 3 months for the new module to come in, I did some research and found that the 2006-2008 Kia Optima's have an air bag recall, so I contacted a Kia dealership and was told that my car was not part of the recall and that if I wanted them to look at my car at all it would be $99 plus the hourly fee (I don't even wanna know what yhr hourly fee is). But since my car falls in that year range and is having the airbag issue, should it be Kia's responsibility to investigate and if needed, correct the problem?

- Louisville , KY, USA

problem #22

Apr 112013

Optima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Kia Optima. While driving approximately 30 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated continuously until the engine was turned off. The failure recurred on a separate occasion. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The contact was uncertain what type of repair was performed. The failure recurred and the dealer stated that the battery would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the front driver side door failed to latch properly and an independent mechanic performed the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Plainville, MI, USA

problem #21

Jun 252014

Optima

  • miles
I had a recall on my airbag had took the car twice to dealership to be fix each time they told me it was fix but the airbag light came right back on and still on. They also need to go back and do a fuel investigate on 2006 model too.

- Waterford, MS, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Nov 262014

Optima

  • 124,000 miles
Driver side air bag light on and does not turn off. Called Kia Consumer Affairs and they stated my vehicle is not covered by their current recall for this obvious on going problem with the air bags. My case number with Kia is K2842625. This seems to be a real safety problem if the air bags do not deploy in an accident.

- Pearce, AZ, USA

problem #19

Jul 122007

Optima 4-cyl

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought our Kia with less then 10 miles on it, right off the show room floor, we have had to replace passenger side headlamps (total to date 5/15/2015) 15 times, both rear turn signals bulbs and rear brake lights. The air bag light would appear on the dashboard when ever the passenger seat would be moved and now the air bag light on the dashboard flickered driving home from work last night and remands on.

- Cameron, MO, USA

problem #18

Jan 242007

Optima 6-cyl

  • 56 miles
The passenger air bag light was coming on and off from the first month of taking new car delivery. I immeditely reported to the dealership and they did not take any action, since it would happen randomly.a recall was done on the 2006.5 Optima in 2012.the check air bag light on the drivers dash that comes on ignition fail to go off for the first time on 03/30/2014.I took it my original dealer, who said the whole system would no longer work, because the passenger seat air bag was not working.the wants me to pay $1750 to repair the whole air bag system, that was defective from the fist month of taking delivery.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 172011

Optima 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Keyless entry on driverside only locked me in and out of the car. Lock will only open 1/2 of the way. Airbag light came on and will not go off. I can not get an inspection. They say the system is unstable. Transmission has slipped a couple of times.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #16

Jun 012013

Optima 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Optima. The contact stated that while parked, the air bag light illuminated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V014000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 24,000.

- Hunter, NY, USA

problem #15

Apr 042011

Optima 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I got a letter back in 2012 about a recall on my air bag light is on I took it to the dealership on covington pike in memphis tenn. And they said they replaced the part but my air bag light is back on as of 04/03/2013 being back on for 5 or 6 months. I do not think they replaced with a new part because in about 20 minutes or less they was finish with me.

- Waterford, MS, USA

problem #14

Mar 252013

Optima 4-cyl

  • miles
Called both service dealerships and main Kia offices about recalls to my car concerning airbags and transmission linkage. No help given on recalls to vehicle. Denied such a recall existed and my car wasn't covered under recall. I'm located in frederick md. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #13

Oct 102011

Optima

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Optima. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the clock spring needed to be replaced, but that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA recall campaign id number: 12V014000 (air bags; frontal). The failure mileage was unknown but the current mileage was 80,000.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #12

Sep 082012

Optima

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Optima. The contact stated that while parked the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V014000 (air bags: Frontal) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

- Lakewood, OH, USA

problem #11

Apr 012012

Optima 6-cyl

  • miles
Kia currently has a recall on 2006 Optimas for an air bag issue and warns consumers with this vehicle to contact Kia if the air bag light comes on. In my car, the light came on on 4/1/12 and is still on. I contacted Kia of columbus, ga where the car was purchased and they said to bring it in and we did to only be told the car was not covered because it was a few months old than the campaign. Kia needs to investigate and include all of 2006 Optimas, as they are having the air bag issue as well. Kia has never honored any repair on the car even when brand new and had issues with headlights which we still have to do this day.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #10

Nov 152011

Optima

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Optima. The contact stated that when the vehicle was turned on the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was contacted and confirmed that the VIN failed to qualify for the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V014000 (airbags:frontal). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 65,000.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #9

May 152006

Optima

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Optima. While driving approximately 60 mph the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The light remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer five times for the similar failure. The air bag module was replaced during the previous repairs; however, the failure continued to occur. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #8

Feb 282011

Optima

  • 50,000 miles
One day the door on the driver side of the car wouldn't open from the inside or outside. I called Kia and they informed me that there is nothing they could do because the car was out of warranty. I took the car to the dealership and they couldn't figure out what was wrong with it. After researching the problem on the internet, this seems to be a common occurrence with this particular car. I called and notified Kia consumer relations and again was given the speech of it's not covered under warranty and basically they didn't want to hear about it. I also in conjunction with the telephone call, filed a written complaint with Kia and have yet to hear anything from them about this. I have also included in this complaint the air bag light that the dealer cannot find out what's wrong with it. I did a very simple search and it was able to find many people having the same issue and maybe you can force Kia to do a recall and fix this faulty parts before someone gets killed in these vehicles. Thank you!

- Federalsburg, MD, USA

problem #7

Mar 072011

Optima 4-cyl

  • 74,600 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Optima. The contact stated that since March 2011, she noticed the air bag warning light was illuminated on the instrumental panel. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who stated that the vehicle was outside the warranty. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 74,600. Updated 5/2/11 updated 05/11/11

- Monroe, NC, USA

problem #6

Jan 112010

Optima 4-cyl

  • 80,890 miles
I own a 2006 Kia Optima and the air bag light is on and does not go off even you are in the seats this is a hazard if you have a accident you do not know if the air bag will work or not could be deadly, also doors will not unlock if you lock them will not unlock with the key or from inside vehicle, have to crawl over to passenger side to get this can be deadly if you get in a accident.

- Abita Springs, LA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?