If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,961 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Kia Rondo brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Kia Rondo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Kia Rondo Owner Comments

problem #8

Apr 062014

Rondo

  • 79,190 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle had the stop lamp switch replaced under NHTSA campaign 09V130000 (Kia recall SC077) in June 2009. On 4/6/14 the replacement stop lamp switch failed causing the esc malfunction light to illuminate, the brake lights to fail to illuminate, and brake-transmission interlock to prevent the transmission from being either shifted from N to R or from P to R without using the shift lock release tab. I had just backed out of a parking space at one store with no problems, crossed the street, and attempted to park at another store when the transmission would not shift out of drive. Had to use shift lock release to get vehicle home and to dealer on 4/7/14. Dealer confirmed failure of the replacement switch, charged me $69.02 in parts and labor to replace it. Since Kia expanded the recall in April 2013 to cover all remaining Rondo's, I feel that Kia should have replaced the switch under warranty as this indicates a lingering problem with the switches across various model years and other Kia and Hyundai models. I also feel that NHTSA should investigate failure rates of the switches replaced under NHTSA campaign 09V130000 (Kia recall SC077) because Kia apparently has not made satisfactory progress in resolving this safety issue given the failure of the unit placed in my vehicle.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #7

Feb 172014

Rondo

  • 100,000 miles
During state of NY vehicle inspection it was noted that the electronic stability and ABS systems were non functional. Amber symbols were on at time of inspection. Dealer reports electronic stability control and ABS features are no longer functioning. Reason given: Computer controlled sending unit located in wheel well and its wires are corroded. Corrosion is per dealer common with this unit and model. Parts have been ordered. However at present ABS/esc no longer work. The car is now less safe without these functional devices. Your input is needed in this. Thank you

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #6

Mar 242013

Rondo 4-cyl

  • 16,500 miles
Our engine blew up- specifically, the crankshaft broke through the 3rd cylinder. Vehicle was serviced by our Kia dealership in the middle of March - oil/filter change and inspection. The next week we left on vacation to Florida for a cruise. Vehicle was stored at a long term storage facility for the week. About 10 hours into our return road trip, we checked the oil level. Car was almost 2 quarts low. We added an additional quart. There is no indication on the dash that anything is wrong with the engine or the oil. We continued on our way. Another 5 hours into our trip, we are driving along with the cruise control set. The engine starts making loud knocking noises, I am unable to disengage the cruise control even though I am frantically pressing the brake. The engine is revving louder and louder until we hear a loud bang and the entire car looses power. We are past our 100,000 mile warranty with Kia. However, there are two factors at play here that can be contributed to the car damage: 1.) the oil was low after only 2-3 weeks after an oil/filter change. I believe the service technician may have some culpability here by not adding enough oil or not tightening a cap, etc. It doesn't make sense that the oil was low. 2.) I recently found out that there was a recall on the brake light for our 2007 Kia Rondo. That it may cause an inability to disengage the cruise control. In addition to my husband, we had another couple in the car with us who can attest to my frantic actions to disengage the cruise control. My online research has shown that Kia had a major problem with blown motors. They no longer make the engine for our vehicle. To fix this vehicle, it would have to be retrofitted with a current motor. This is very expensive. Obviously there is a reason why those motors aren't in production anymore. Why haven't they recalled these engines?

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #5

Jan 012012

Rondo 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started car, ABS light and esc light stay illuminated. Both lights will inttermittenly come on. They will stay on for random amounts of time.

- Port Haywood, VA, USA

problem #4

Mar 082013

Rondo 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Kia Rondo at highway speed with the cruise control on when the engine speed revved up dramatically-as if the transmission had disengaged. Stepped on the brakes, cruise disengaged and engine slowed. Around the same time, noticed the ABS and esc off lights would come on intermittently, stay on, then not come on. At slow speed turns after the car set for a while, the ABS would engage on dry pavement (without light) and car did not slow normally. Went to dealer, who said the issue was a brake light switch, which was replaced and vehicle taken for a test drive. When I picked the car up, both the ABS and esc off lights were off, but came on within minutes of leaving the lot. Later that night, ABS started acting up again-once without even stepping on the brake pedal. Taking the car back to dealer tomorrow to see what is going on. Only learned of stop light switch recall by web search.

- Taylorville, IL, USA

problem #3

Dec 282012

Rondo 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
I have a 2007 Kia Rondo with a defective stop lamp switch which causes the electronic stability control malfunction light to illuminate and the brake pedal does not consistently deactivate cruise control when it is depressed. There was a safety recall done on this part, however my vehicle was manufactured less than one month after date range of the recalled vehicles and the Kia dealership says my VIN wasn't affected. I believe that to be incorrect and that I have a defective stop lamp switch that should be included in this recall. Recall campaign id#12V014000.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #2

Aug 012012

Rondo

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Kia Rondo. The contact stated that the rear and front brakes failed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the brakes seized and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Cowpens, SC, USA

problem #1

May 092012

Rondo 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
On 5-9-2012, it was raining heavily. My Rondo, which drove fine the day before and the day after, started making a loud screeching noise and the steering became very "tight" feeling. I pulled off road into a parking lot, and when I did experienced total loss of steering control. I came very close to crashing into the parked car beside me as a result. I waited a few minutes, restarted the car. Pulling out of the parking space, my vehicle brakes engaged suddenly without notice, and my son and I were grabbed by our seat belts as our bodies were thrown forward so hard. I was blocking traffic so I restarted the car, and it drove ok on a straight road, but when I turned, again lost steering. When I say loss of power steering, I mean with all my might I couldn't get the car to go where I wanted. The rain stopped and I had no further problems until yesterday, 6-13-12, when it had been raining again. This time, pulling onto a busy road, moving quickly due to the approaching traffic, and again lost all ability to steer. Fortunately I was able to slam on my brakes and go in reverse to get out of the path of oncoming traffic, but had the circumstances been different, my young children and I could have suffered a catastrophe. NHTSA had two similar reports with the 2007 Rondo: Internal sequence number #736xxx dated 8-23-09 and #749xxx dated 12/2/2009. I hope NHTSA and/or Kia addresses this problem before someone is injured or killed. "parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information (FOIA), 5 U.S.C.552 (B)(6).

- Monroe, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?