Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,195 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Kia Sedona electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Kia Sedona Owner Comments

problem #15

Sep 032007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

4 months ago my alternator went, taking with it my entire electrical system. After everything was fixed by the repair shop of my choice, the airbag light was still on and could not be reset because Kia will not release the codes to do so. I took it to the dealer who inspected the vehicle and $90 later simply reset the codes to clear the light. Now I find myself with the light on again, and my 2002 Kia Sedona at the dealership to find out why. Of course, it cannot be as simple as the code needing to be reset, and I have been informed that there is a faulty sensor in the seatbelt mechanism that will need to be replaced. This will cost $200 + to have done. It is my understanding that this is a recurrent problem with Kia Sedonas and I cannot understand why it is not a recall item. My sister-in-law has had to replace theirs two times now, my father-in-law has had to replace his at least one time, and my sister-in-laws mother-in-law has had to replace hers at least twice. These are just family members, and I can only imagine how many other people are having this problem. On this site alone I have found several, not to mention other message boards showing the same complaints. At what point does a complaint like this get investigated to be recalled? this is a serious safety issue that needs to be taken care of and I implore you to investigate into this malfunction. Thank you. Updated 09/19/07

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #14

Jul 082007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 96,059 miles
2002 Kia Sedona with electrical problems customer states that the car went dead while driving on the interstate* it was determined that the alternator was the cause of the problem, which also damaged other componets.

- Bella Vista, AR, USA

problem #13

Aug 172005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact stated that this vehicle has experienced several problems. The first incident was in August 2005 when the alternator, alternator belt, and a sensor were replaced. A sensor was replaced twice in October 2005. Then, on October 28, 2005 there a control valve was replaced. The check engine light was on each time before the vehicle was repaired. The check engine light normally remained off for about three days. However, when the last repair was made the check engine light remained off for only about 50 miles. The vehicle has not been back to the dealer since then.

- Dawsonville, GA, USA

problem #12

Aug 262005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1) battery discharge occured during slow speed driving and hot conditions. Vehicle stalled at intersection and was almost hit several times. 2) service bulletin put out by Kia calls for new alternator, with smaller pulley and ECM battery compensation 3) Kia technical service bulletin calls for a new alternator with smaller pulley (65mm ->55mm) and ECM battery compensation revised.

- Manito, IL, USA

problem #11

Aug 232005

Sedona

  • miles
I had my battery replaced in March 2003 because the car would not start. August 22nd my check engine light and brake light came on. I called the service department and they said could be the alternator. I made an appointment for the next day at 9:00A.M. when I was driving home from school I noticed my ABS light was on. I parked it in drive way. It would not start the next morning so my husband jumped started it. I drove my daughter to school and my car starting beeping, hesitating, airbag light came on plus all the other ones from the day before. I dropped my daughter at school and about a block down the road in just died with my son and I in the car. I noticed a vapor fume coming out of the vents by the windshield when it died. I got my son and I out of the car and called roadside assistance. The service department said I need a new alternator and battery. I got the alternator covered and they put a new battery in.

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #10

Aug 132005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Battery dies every summer during hot weather. Three batteries in 3 years. The alternator does not supply battery with enough current when the air conditioning, radio, and lights are on causing the battery to drain.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 112005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 210 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Sedona was repaired 2 times with less then 200 miles on it for battery draining- claim was it was the radio didn't shut off with the car. Then last month with 59.000 miles on it I complained of the car hesitating and lights flickering, airbag light came on for no reason, claim to repair was tune-up- $1700 and two months later my battery went on fire with 5 people in it, 3 children and one is carried out handicapped. Lights flickered, odometer went nuts without the engine racing, door locks locked and unlocked, battery light, break light, and airbag light came back on. Wipers went on without turning them on with the switch and the hazards went on without pushing the button. I am more then happy to file a consumer complaint and a lawsuit. My dealer went out of business I was told when my car went on fire two weeks ago. So now it is at another dealer and at 65,000 not covered, it will be covered. I am actually compiling a class action lawsuit on the safety of these batteries. I want my car fixed and all these vans recalled to find out the reason, I would not want one of my families killed and don't want to wait till it happens to someone else's. all of us can't be wrong and as a safety problem and a possible means of killing people when the doors lock and won't let you out when the car is on fire - ?? get with it people. Recall these cars before someone gets killed. Use my car as your test subject, I offer it. Now my daughters lungs hurt from the smell of the sulfur hurrying to get the kids out.

- Brentwood, NY, USA

problem #8

Jul 012003

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Charging system under engineered. Battery fails to charge in hot weather, say 90 F or above. Amperage too low for use in hot weather with ac at full power, especialy when idling. I have tried a lager battery 1,000 cca, but its only a temporary fix. As the hot days go by the battery starts to lose its power and then I need to drive the vehicle for a long time before the battery is fully charged and I mean 3hr or more of a drive! I have had to jump start 2002 Kia Sedona 6 times in hot weather. Talked to dealer about it. They said it was a very common complait with the Kia Sedona in hot weater cities and that Kia is not goint to change the wimpy altermator with a more beefy one. As a former technician I know that this is a fire hazard, radios and other electronics will short out if not remedied. Cortrary to main belief that only high voltage can cause a short I have found that low valtage can cause a short then when you increase your voltage by jump starting you can cause a fire. So heads up (tick, tock, tick, tock)

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 052005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,250 miles
Re:Kia Sedona minivan [xxx] with about 58,300 miles. No prior problems of any kind. St complaint: On evening of Friday, 12/31/04, a clunking/grinding sound from right side of my Kia Sedona at about 58,000 miles grabbed and seized the right axle. On 1/1/05 [sat] I drove car to local srvce cntr. On 1/3/05 [Monday] srvc cntr diagnosed burnt/broken right axle wheel bearings. Altho I told srvce cntr to do brake service on all 4 wheels but not wheel bearings, as I wanted that work to be done by my Kia dealership - my local station replaced brake pads & rims and honed rotors and replaced front right axle wheel bearings. Tow service to Kia dealership was cancelled by me as a result. 2nd complaint: On wed, 1/5/05, I drove daughter at 6:45 a.M. from bronx to her laguardia hs in manhattan. Noticed that car radio and head lights flicked on & off while driving for minutes at a time. Later in day, I drove to brooklyn's 99 street cleaners to pick up my military field coat at 3:20 P.M. minivan parked but engine would not turn over & start. Used auxiliary battery pack [abp] to start engine and entered bqexpressway. Crossing brooklyn bridge to manhattan, engine died. Used abp to start engine and entered fdr drive up manhattan to home. Car engine died 3 more times. After 4 stalls and re-starts with abp, I kept abp connected to vehicle battery and, with all lights off in darkness from 4:30 P.M.-5:45 P.M., in slow rush hour traffic, the abp kept car alive till arrival at local srvce cntr. All fuses checked okay while car battery recharged. Diagnosis made that alternator and/or regulator not working. Have phoned Kia tow service for pick up to dealership. Vehicle has about 58,300 miles on it. Nb: I am very satisifed with Kia customer service and Kia tow service, whom I telephoned on 1/3/05 [and then cancelled tow] and today on 1/6/05. Updated 07/24/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Riverdale, NY, USA

problem #6

Jan 072002

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We have a 2002 Kia Sedona; we bought in Dec of 2001. Within the first 6 months, the alternator, battery, ignition switch, had to be replaced, along with sliding doors falling off the hinge. I complained of a wind noise for the first year no one knew what it was. It went unfixed. Within a year the shocks, the struts and sliding doors had to be replaced. My air-condition went out completely guess what no more wind noise. And no longer under warranty. My rear wiper control went out. Recently, while on thanksgiving vacation to Ohio we had to have roadside pick up our van as the transmission totally went out without warning. While in the shop we were advised our brakes were not safe to drive. We had never had a problem with the brakes. And the motor mounts were also in need of replacement. Was in the shop 14 days, we had to drive back to Ohio to when ready. The brakes went to the floor had never ever done that before. When we were on our way out of town, the transmission was acting up. We made it home on Dec 7th and no one at Kia could take the vehicle in until the service manager returned my call he was off for doctor visit. On Dec 13, I took my van in to be repaired, they called me and told me it would need a new transmission, and guess what they are also repairing the sliding doors 5th time I think. They have to also fix the dent in the hood that was not there, before the Ohio Kia took it in to be fixed. Today it has been 15 days. I still do not have my van. I would not recommend Kia to my worst enemy. Please allow others to know that Kia is a lemon if ever there were one.

- Oxford, MS, USA

problem #5

Jul 132004

Sedona

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Kia sodona van at 63,000 miles began to stall after initial start. Engine has to be revved repeatedly to get it to go. Took it in and was told the alternator needed replacing, 400+ dollars and a whole day of waiting it is still not running right, in fact it is worse than before. Was told to bring it back in, may have a fuel problem. Was the alternator even bad?!! other things continue to break or fall apart on the van. Head supports are broken on two seats, will not stay up. If in a crash would not have the support these are supposed to give! one of the side doors will not close properly. Was told it would be around 100 dollars to change out a ball bearing in the door! these are not covered under the wonderful bogus 100,000 mile warranty.

- Parsons, KS, USA

problem #4

Dec 292002

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Vehicle stalled due to an electrical component shorting out the battery. The battery was replaced 4 times and alternator was replaced once. Also, the engine light came on while driving. Dealership replaced the entire motor. Vehicle burned excessive fuel under normal driving condition. The above repairs only provided a temporary solution for the problems.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #3

May 302003

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,800 miles
From 2nd week we complained of engine noise. Each time no problem was found. Few months later ck engine came on. A spark plug was replaced. 1 month later ck engine light on again. New fuel injector. 2 days later ck engine light again. Needed new motor at 3800 miles. 1 week later caught on fire in our garage. Kia regional management chris butler said they would repair damages from fire but had no concern that our 6 month old van with only 3800 miles already had the motor replace and caught on fire. His advise don't park in the garage anymore so we won't have to worry about it burning down our house. Ironic that we choose this van because we thought it would be easier and safer for our kids. Now I fear our families safety everyday because we have it.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #2

May 292003

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,600 miles
Battery keeps on dying, needing boost. Received ruary January 2003. That one died in Feb. They replaced radio, saying it had a short. But battery died again. Then they said an alternator wire was loose. They reconnected it. But battery died again, the following month. Back for service on 6/2/03. Afraid electrical system may fail while vehicle is being operated. Know of 2 other individuals with same Kia Sedona ex that this has happened to (battery failure).

- Queens Village, NY, USA

problem #1

Aug 112002

Sedona

  • miles
Consumer states that the vehicle have stalled on three occasions. Vehicle taken to the dealer. Dealer informed that the alternator was overheating and causing the vehicle to stall. Feel free to provide any further information.

- Covington, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?