Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,032 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Kia Sedona brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Kia Sedona Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Aug 242005

Sedona

  • 9,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that the brake rotors on the vehicle were warped within two thousand miles. The contact has taken the vehicle back to the dealer repeatedly for the failure. The contact stated that after the vehicle was no longer under warranty, they purchased after market rotors that warped as well. The manufacturer also redesigned a rotor that warped as well. The contact stated that every rotor placed on the vehicle warped within ten thousand miles. When the rotor warped, it made the vehicle extremely hard to handle. This problem had also caused the vehicle to need to new tires and an alignment. The contact was concerned since the vehicle became extremely difficult to control when the failure occurred. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 9500. The current mileage was 100,000.

- Fletcher , NC, USA

problem #28

Jul 072006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 6,395 miles
Every 2-5 thousand miles the rotors become warped "excessive lateral run out" per Kia the front tires wear excessively, and the vehicle does not stay aligned. All that Kia will do is replace the front rotors and pads until the warranty is out then the consumer pays. After hours of research on line the front breaks are undersized, causing the rotors to over heat and warp. The struts seem to have a wrong type of mount system and have to be replaced. Kia is doing nothing about this they state that it is driving habits. Thousands of people have complained about this, most do not know how to follow through to get anything done. Kia's final stand is that it is my driving habits. They are not taking responsibility for the safety flaw in their engineering of the front end being in adequate for the weight of the vehicle.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #27

Nov 112005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,982 miles
Brake rotors warping. Been in the shop 4 times and doing it again. First time was at 1,982 miles then again at 3,895 miles again at 8,190 mile again at 14,285 miles and now again at 18,000 miles. They have resurfaced(X2) replaced the rotors (X1) the rotors and replaced the pads all 4 times.

- Whitmore Lake, MI, USA

problem #26

Oct 012006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sedona. The brakes and rotors were replaced at 8,700 miles. At 16,400 miles, the vehicle needs new rotors and readjusting of the rear brakes. As a result, the brakes pulsate and cause the vehicle to shake and make it difficult to brake. When she took the vehicle to the dealer, they stated that the failure was due to her riding the brakes while driving. The current mileage was 16,400 and failure mileage was 8,700.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #25

Feb 012007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that the rotors and brakes constantly overheat and cause the vehicle to vibrate and shift out of alignment when he depresses the brake pedal. The failure was noticed while driving 20 mph. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they continuously inform him to replace the brakes. However, the vibration always recurs within two weeks of having the brakes and rotors replaced. The current mileage was 52,000 and failure mileage was 41,000.

- Union City, GA, USA

problem #24

Aug 012007

Sedona

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Continual problem with rotors warping. Causes vehicle to be difficult to stop or slow down.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #23

Jul 022007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front brakes and rotors on the 2005 Kia Sedona. The rotors are overheating with normal driving and had to be resurfaced at 15000 miles. The brake pads had to be replaced at 23000. The rotor had to be replaced at 34000. Kia manager told me there is a problem with the 2005 Kia Sedona brake system and suggested that I make a complaint to NHTSA.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #22

Jul 022007

Sedona

  • miles
In Jan 2006, after only 12,000 miles on my 2005 Kia Sedona, we took our car in for front brake work. The front wheels vibrated when coming to a stop. The Kia dealer re-turned the rotors and it fixed the problem temporarily. The problem returned but we have ignored it until now (July 2007) when at 40,000 miles the Kia dealer says this is a maintenance issue, not a warranty issue. They said they would fix the problem for $450.

- Enumclaw, WA, USA

problem #21

Dec 012005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sedona. While driving between 55-65 mph, the brakes pulse whenever the contact is driving downhill. She has taken the vehicle to the shop for the failure. The mechanic repeatedly states that the squeaking is normal and a part of normal wear and tear. The contact believes that the failure is a manufacturer defect because the vehicle only has 17,000 miles. The current mileage is 17,000 and failure mileage was 3,000.

- Parkville , MD, USA

problem #20

Jun 292006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,612 miles
Owner of a Kia Sedona 2005 with problems with brakes since 3,612 miles, and other problems from first day of the buy. There is a noise when braking, taken to the dealer for repair 16 times and still with the same problem.

- San Lorenzo, PR, USA

problem #19

Nov 152006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sedona. In November 2006 the wheels began to vibrate, and made a loud noise when attempting to stop from 20 mph. The mehanic resurfaced the rotors, and cleaned and readjusted the rear drums. In February of 2007 the failure recurred. The same mechanic replaced the front brake pads and front rotors and readjusted and cleaned the rear drums again. On March 1, 2007, the noise returned and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer. On March 7, 2007, the failure returned and the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The front rotors were resurfaced and the rear drum was readjusted. Currently, the failure is occurring again and the contact is not pleased that it happens very two months. The brakes have not failed again yet, but the vehicle feels as if it may shut off. The current mileage is 47,700 and failure mileage was 38,000.

- Birchwood , TN, USA

problem #18

May 012005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Bought van new. At 9K started vibrating. Took to dealer and they replaced rotors. Again at 20K. Then they replaced the rear drums for vibrating. Then they turned rotors and drums to correct vibration. Mechanics and service managers all tell me it's a known problem because vans weight was increase to get better safety rating, but they used light weight brakes and they can't handle the heavier van and overheat and warp. After all this, they tell me know that they won't cover to fix issue any more, saying it isn't a safety issue. If they rotors/drums aren't sufficient to stop vehicle correctly, seems to be a safety issue to me. Need to have this investigated and action taken. I have opened a case w/ Kia Corp. To review and make a decision. Please contact me for further details or more info. Thanks.

- Charles Town, WV, USA

problem #17

Apr 072007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,944 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that the brake rotors had to be turned twice at 14,944 miles and 19,076 miles. The contact stated that in December 2006 a large amount of pressure was felt when depressing the brake. The dealer stated that both rotors were corroded. On April 7, 2007, the contact was driving 25 mph in wet and icy conditions, while approaching a traffic light, the contact depressed the brake pedal half a block in advance, and the vehicle did not decrease in speed and the contact had to apply significant pressure to the brake pedal. A loud thump was heard from the front left tire brake while coming to a complete stop. The contact brought the vehicle to the dealer, and was told that both front brakes were glazed and the rotors were corroded. The dealer applied an anti glaze chemical and turned the rotors. The current mileage was 19,076, and failure mileage was 14,944. The consumer stated that the dealer informed him that Kia is aware of the problem and results from the fact that the rotor is under size for the weight of the Sedona. Updated 05/04/07

- Parkersburg , WV, USA

problem #16

Mar 312007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,934 miles
At 10,616 miles I had to have my brake rotors and pads fixed due to squealing; the dealers mechanic turned the rotors and replaced the pads. Now at 20934 miles the same repair has to be done again. When I questioned the mechanics about this I was told they are having a problem with the 2005 Kia Sedona due to the brakes not being sufficient for the weight of the vehicle. I was also told never to tow a trailer even though my van is rated to tow because the brakes may fail. When I contacted Kia complaints they said they would not do anything to help me, and denied there was a problem with the brakes on the 2005 Sedona. After searching the internet I have found this is a huge problem for many other 2005 Sedona owners. There is even a discussion about it on www.edmunds.com in the forums section. I am pleading with the NHTSA to intervene regarding this matter before there is a loss of life!

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #15

Jan 112007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
Rotors warped at 20,000 miles. Way too soon for this kind of wear.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #14

Jan 022006

Sedona 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I own an 05 Kia Sedona, bought new, has had brake problems from the beginning. The dealer, that services - not the one I bought from, has serviced the vehicle from the first, told me that the manufacturer was working on getting replacement parts and that as soon as they came out I would be one of the first to receive the part. Now, my warranty has expired and I am having to cover the cost of replacing the parts every 3-4000 miles when I get oil changes and the dealer says they cannot cover it any longer because the warranty has expired. I am concerned because I have had transmission issues (that the dealer cannot "find the problem") they say that if a problem occurs they will cover fixing it because it's been ongoing but that's what I was told about the brake problem. The brakes are so bad that the whole van shakes and doesn't feel like the brakes are grabbing or are going to stop the vehicle and my children are learning to drive in the van.

- Candler, NC, USA

problem #13

May 112006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Kia Sedona. When he attempted to stop the vehicle it shook. This generally happened during clear road conditions, and while driving at 45 mph. The dealership informed the contact that the rotors should be replaced due to overheating and warping. The dealership was unable to determine the reason for the overheating and warping. The brakes, rotors, brake pads and brake shoes have been replaced four times. The vehicle continued to have the same problems approximately every 3 months. The vehicle currently has 30,000 miles. Update 4/25/07

- Whittier, NC, USA

problem #12

Aug 012005

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,882 miles
- the contact called regarding a 2005 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that a pulsating noise was heard when braking. The failure mileage was 8,882. There were no warning indicators. The dealer diagnosed the failure as warped rotors. The rotors were resurfaced, but the noise returned at 12,782 miles. The dealer replaced the front rotors. The contact stated that at 25,000 the problem returned and the rotors were resurfaced. The contact believed that there was a defect that was making the rotors wear out prematurely. The current mileage was 35000. Consumer states wheels torque 100 ft ltrs when applying brakes at 40 mph. The consumer states that service dept. Informed her if pads are put on rotors are automatically resurfaced, service dept can only resurface rotors twice then they have to be replaced and customer informed afterward thats why rotors had to be replaced on 3/5. update/16tr

- Kernersville, NC, USA

problem #11

Oct 062006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Kia Sedona LX purchased new from dealer on 3-10-05. On 3/24/05, took van in for initial oil change and asked them to check brakes as well because of excessive noise, grinding, and a pulsating when using brakes. Mileage was 2890. When technician checked brakes, the rotors were found to be warped, so they were resurfaced. On 9/17/05, took van back in for grinding noises as well as transmission slippage. Mileage was 7781. According to the technician, no fault was found with braking system and noised was blamed on high humidity. No fault found on transmission either. Throttle upgrade recall performed at this time. On 12/27/05, took van back in for shaking and vibrating when braking. Mileage was 10664. Technician found that the rotors were again warped. Tried to resurface again, but found flaw in material, so new front disc plates were replaced. On 3/20/06, van once again taken in for popping and noises made when braking. Mileage was 15325. Technicians found no issues and said that they would need more time to diagnose issue. 15,000 mile service performed in lieu of checking brakes. On 10/6/06, took van in for issues relating to brakes again. Technicians found that the brake pads were in need of repair on front, and rear drums needed resurfacing. Engine mount was also worn and replaced.

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #10

Sep 112006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,398 miles
2005 Kia Sedona bought van brand new 9/11/2004 on 10/3/05 took van in for service and check up vibration in front end when applying brakes, was told by dealership rotors needed to replaced and work was completed, mileage at time 11,706. In March of 06 took van in for service and had same complaint of vibration in front end when applying brakes, was told it would need the rear brakes cleaned and adjusted not covered under warranty mileage approx. 15, 000 miles. Front end still vibrated when applying brakes took vehicle in for 20,000 mile check and service and dealer advises rotors and brakes are worn out mileage is 20,398. Dealer will not take care of problem under warranty, talked to Kia customer service and they advised for discussion with field rep, he advised customer service he will not cover under warranty. At this time I will not let Kia dealership repair brake problem, I have ordered high performance brake rotors and pads to replace oem equipment. Talked with other consumers who own same year and model of van this seems to be a common problem.

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?