Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,305 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Kia Sedona engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Kia Sedona Owner Comments

problem #9

Dec 122011

Sedona 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have owned my 2006 Kia Sedona since Jan 2008 and have had a persistent problem of oil leaking from the valve covers and the oil pan gasket. This oil leak issue has been ¿fixed 5 times till now, on warranty coverage at the following Kia dealerships (in descending order of dates)¿ - 1) fullerton Kia on 10/29/2010 2) fullerton Kia on 08/21/2010 3) glendale Kia on 06/08/2009 4) glendale Kia on 12/24/2008 5) fullerton Kia on 01/30/2008 due to the design and placement of the engine parts on the 2006 Sedona, oil leaking from the valve cover on the top, falls directly on the alternator located just below it. With time, the oil leak residue clogs up the alternator itself, thereby leading to failure of the battery charging system (which has been replaced three times already on warranty coverage) and also the alternator breaking down itself. There have been 2 occasions where my vehicle has gone completely dead and stalled in the middle of the highway when I was driving, leading to a dangerous safety issue for my family. On both occasions the vehicle had to be towed in to a dealership and the alternator was replaced on warranty coverage. Following are the dealerships and dates when the battery/alternator was replaced (in descending order of dates) - 1) fullerton Kia on 05/10/2011 (alternator) 2) fullerton Kia on 10/29/2010 (battery) 3) glendale Kia on 08/22/2009 (alternator) 4) glendale Kia on 08/22/2009 (battery) 5) glendale Kia on 06/08/2009 (battery) I now have the same oil leak problem once again and the oil has already started seeping from the valve covers into the alternator. I am dreading the day in the near future when the alternator will stop working and cause my vehicle to stall again on the road when my family and kids are driving in it. There appears to be a huge quality/safety issue related to the Kia spare parts used to fix the oil leak problem.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 012011

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 61,300 miles
Kia Sedona 2006 - engine stalled on highway, no response from the accelerator - the "check engine" light came on as well as the 'ESC off' light. This can happen when driving in city or highway... extremely dangerous! pulled-over, turned off engine then restarted to correct the problem. Dealer states tps (throttle position sensor) and/or accelerator position sensor malfuctioning.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #7

Apr 142008

Sedona

  • 34,099 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact was driving approximately between 65-70 mph, the engine warning light illuminated followed by a decease of engine power. The vehicle speed rate would not exceed 20 mph. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road, and the engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted after waiting a period of twenty minutes and resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the active pixel sensor (aps) sensor was replaced. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on four separate occasions for the identical failures. The total components replaced on the vehicle consisted of the aps module poor pin connection, throttle body, and gas pedal assembly. The contact no longer owns the vehicle due to the safety hazard. The failure mileage was 34,099.

- The Villages, FL, USA

problem #6

Jul 012008

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. While driving 75 mph, the ESC indicator illuminated and the accelerator failed on the vehicle. The contact attempted to pull over and the vehicle decelerated. He turned off the vehicle and restarted it, but the failure recurred after driving one mile. The dealer stated that they would inspect the vehicle and reset the ESC computer under warranty. The vehicle was repaired twice, but the failure persists. The contact believes this is a big safety hazard. The failure mileage was 39,000 and current mileage was 48,000. Updated 4/16/09 updated 04/21/09.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #5

Aug 272008

Sedona

  • 24,734 miles
Our Sedona van intermittently looses all power. When this happens the RPM's drop to 1000rpm and nothing happens when you push down the accelerator pedal. This happened 3 times today. The first was upon initial start up. The check engine light and ESC off light came on. We turned off the car and when we restarted the check engine light stayed on, but the car had power. We drove it the dealership and they said there were 3 codes all indicating low engine voltage. They cleared the codes and said they found nothing wrong and it should not happen again. Latter in the day it happened two more times. Both time while it was being driven. Once one the highway at 65 mph and once in town at about 40mph. Each time we coasted to a stop an turned the car off and back on to get it working again. I will be taking it back to the dealer tomorrow.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #4

Mar 012008

Sedona

  • 16,483 miles
Bought 2006 Kia Sedona new in 2007. No issues until early 2008 with less than 15K miles. Engine light on and sometimes blinking. Vehicle stalls when in gear and at a stop. Vehicle hesitates when driving, often jerking violently. Have had in for warranty service at least four times. Many sensors replaced. Service provider states Kia advised vehicle is drivable even when engine light in blinking. No way for me as a consumer to tell if I am doing damage to engine or other component. Stalling and jerking is safety issue. Since I did not purchase at my nearest dealer, Liberty auto plaza (libertyville, il), they have stated they have done what the can and I should "take it up with Kia". internet research shows this is common unresolved issue and Liberty management was aware of issue. Manager plainly stated he did not have issue continuing to sell, yet had no responsibility to inform consumers. At this point, I would like Kia to provide mechanically sound car under warranty agreement, replace or refund. Can not continue to jeopardize family safety or time.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #3

Sep 252007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,765 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Heavy rattling coming from tensioners/timing chain (per dealer) when starting the vehicle. After you drive around and park for ten minutes then restart it comes back louder.the dealer says it is normal and that all Kia vehicles make this sound.they are going to put in a second set of tensioners to try to get rid of this noise..

- Discovery Bay, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 212007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,289 miles
- the contact has a 2006 Kia Sedona van. The vehicle has had a knocking sound on the driver's side, under the hood. She was told by a tire manufacturer and a mechanic that the cv joints and motor mounts were causing the knocking sound. From 0 - 5 mph, when she turns or brakes, or when the vehicle moves forward or backwards it makes the knocking sound. The weather is not a factor. The knocking was constant and got louder upon driving the vehicle. The current and failure mileage were both 14,289 miles.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #1

Dec 262006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75 miles
I bought my 2006 Kia Sedona brand new. After taking delivery of it, my family and I took the vehicle home. As we stopped in traffic, we immediately noticed a misfire of the engine. We drove it another mile or so, thinking the glitch would remedy itself. Upon stopping at another intersection, we observed the same misfire/trembling as before. Not knowing what was happening, we drove home. We took it back to the dealer that same night. The dealer was very apologetic, and offered us a used competitor's minivan as transportation until they resolved the problem. I picked up my vehicle two days later. They had a service bulletin indicating of a potential problem with the spark plugs. Knowing this information in advance, the dealership could have avoided an embarrassment by replacing the problem spark plugs on all their minivans, instead of waiting to have an upset customer walk up to them and letting them know there was a problem. Service bulletins should be addressed as soon as the dealership receives them, not when there is a problem.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?