Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,996 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Kia Sedona engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Kia Sedona Owner Comments

problem #20

Apr 052016

Sedona

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that the vehicle jerked and hesitated to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The ESC warning light randomly flashed. The dealer was notified of the failure, but the vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was not available.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #19

Dec 262015

Sedona

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle continued to accelerate. The contact placed an abnormal amount of pressure on the brake pedal, but the vehicle accelerated forward before coming to an abrupt stop. The failure recurred and the vehicle began to smoke with an abnormal odor from the hood of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was inoperable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. Updated 02/23/16

- Waynesvillle, NC, USA

problem #18

Sep 022014

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I was leaving my house and had just driven a short distance when the check engine light and the ESC off came on as the car slowed to almost a stop. I pressed on the accelerator and nothing happened. I got out of the car and raised the hood and the engine was idling roughly. I turned the car off and on several times but nothing chaged; it wouldn't accelerate and the warning lights stayed on. The ESC off light eventually went out and the check engine light stayed on but I was able to drive it again. I took it to a mechanic who lubricated a throttle cable after checking the codes. It worked for a few weeks after that but the ESC off light came on again intermittently after that. I am afraid of losing power when I am in heavy traffic, at an intersection, merging, or anywhere I will be in danger if I cannot move out of the way of oncoming traffic.

- Schuyler, VA, USA

problem #17

Nov 072013

Sedona

  • 63,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle shakes badly...Kia, where I purchase my 2006 told me, it is the sub frame which causes my van to shake. The salt in Pennsylvania causes the frame of this van to rust away. I well not be able to drive it! there is no recall...this will cost me $2,000. I believe if you live... where it snows. The vehicles should be made for states which have snow.....and use salt on the roads. Why should I have to paid for this. The sub frame needs to be recall by Kia manufacturer.the mileage on my van is 63,553. Also, Kia stated that it will not pass inspection. There was a recall on lower control arms. They fixed that, but still it shakes. It's the sub frame.guest what! they inspected my van on Jan 8, 2014, . Kia, passed my van for good condition and my van was inspected after they corrected the control arms. Again, it still shakes....it is the sub frame. How did Kia pass the van for inspection. "the sub frame is still rotten". so, are they waiting for a accident to happen or someone is killed. Kia you need a recall on sub frame!

- Mckeesport, PA, USA

problem #16

Sep 102012

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Driving approx 35 mph when Kia van lost power and had to coast to side of road. No forward movement with gas pedal pressed down. Sat for 10 minutes and was able to drive at normal speed for about 30 minutes when I slowed down to turn corner, lost power again. Coasted to side of road, sat for another 10/15 minutes then drove to auto mechanic. Replaced throttle position sensor for 2nd time. Vehicle computer also reset. Serious safety risk as vehicle loses power in middle of traffic without warning and very limited time to make decision where to coast to as you do not have any driving control.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #15

Dec 122012

Sedona

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that while sitting in traffic, she depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The contact stated that the vehicle was not destroyed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was able to be driven to her house and was not taken to a dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was notified and stated that they would file a complaint on the contact's behalf. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #14

Jan 252007

Sedona

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated while the brakes were depressed the vehicle accelerated independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage was 40,720.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #13

Jul 202011

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Kia Sedona 2006 no response from the accelerator - the 'ESC off' light is on. This can happen when starting up or when driving. Extremely dangerous.

- Margate City, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jun 012009

Sedona

  • 68,000 miles
First noticeable incident while driving this vehicle in June 2009, while I was driving this vehicle, I pulled out of the driveway, the vehicle all of a sudden stalled, engine light came on and I pushed the accelerator all the way to the floor, nothing. I pulled over put the vehicle in park, killed the engine, restarted the engine, same thing. I had to coast back to my residence. I waited a few hours, went straight out to the vehicle, it started right up and I drove away. The next incident was approx. Months later, same scenario. Now the accelerator sticks, the engine light comes on and the engine revs. I contacted the Kia dealer here in tucson, AZ, they informed me of no recalls on this hazard. I am extremely concerned due for the safety of myself, my family and others this might effect on any road way, something must be done!! I have investigated this online, and apparently this same issue has occurred with several other owners! please help, I loved my Kia Sedona, and still owe a lot of money on it

- Marana, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jun 012009

Sedona

  • 68,000 miles
First noticeable incident while driving this vehicle in June 2009, while I was driving this vehicle, I pulled out of the driveway, the vehicle all of a sudden stalled, engine light came on and I pushed the accelerator all the way to the floor, nothing. I pulled over put the vehicle in park, killed the engine, restarted the engine, same thing. I had to coast back to my residence. I waited a few hours, went straight out to the vehicle, it started right up and I drove away. The next incident was approx. Months later, same scenario. Now the accelerator sticks, the engine light comes on and the engine revs. I contacted the Kia dealer here in tucson, AZ, they informed me of no recalls on this hazard. I am extremely concerned due for the safety of myself, my family and others this might effect on any road way, something must be done!! I have investigated this online, and apparently this same issue has occurred with several other owners! please help, I loved my Kia Sedona, and still owe a lot of money on it

- Marana, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jun 012009

Sedona

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First noticeable incident while driving this vehicle in June 2009, while I was driving this vehicle, I pulled out of the driveway, the vehicle all of a sudden stalled, engine light came on and I pushed the accelerator all the way to the floor, nothing. I pulled over put the vehicle in park, killed the engine, restarted the engine, same thing. I had to coast back to my residence. I waited a few hours, went straight out to the vehicle, it started right up and I drove away. The next incident was approx. Months later, same scenario. Now the accelerator sticks, the engine light comes on and the engine revs. I contacted the Kia dealer here in tucson, AZ, they informed me of no recalls on this hazard. I am extremely concerned due for the safety of myself, my family and others this might effect on any road way, something must be done!! I have investigated this online, and apparently this same issue has occurred with several other owners! please help, I loved my Kia Sedona, and still owe a lot of money on it

- Marana, AZ, USA

problem #9

Aug 052010

Sedona

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact was driving 5 mph and depressing the brakes when the contact simultaneously depressed the accelerator pedal. The vehicle began to stop but then accelerated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated there was nothing they could do to alter the pedals. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Warminster, PA, USA

problem #8

Feb 102010

Sedona

  • 35,000 miles
2006 Kia Sedona-engine accelerates when coming to a stop, or driving slowly. Have to keep the brake pedal pressed very hard to avoid the vehicle lurching and running into or over some thing, or someone. This has happened at traffic intersections while slowing for a red light, and in a parking lot at a college campus with pedestrians who could have been struck by the van. The problem occurs randomly, you never know when to expect it.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #7

Feb 032010

Sedona

  • 55,000 miles
When driving 2006 Kia Sedona van, gas pedal sticks inside the rubber mat causing the vehicle to accelerate. Rubber mats were purchased from Kia. Rubber mat comes off the floor post which causes the mat to slip forward. I am concerned for the safety of myself and family. Occurs every time adjustable pedals are positioned farthest to the floor when husband drives the vehicle because he is tall. Kia dealer offered to put a screw in the mat but that was not satisfactory to me as this vehicle was purchased new and the "screw" does not seem to be a permanent fix to this problem. This does not occur with the cloth mats because they are thinner. But the rubber mats are thicker and post is too short which caused the mat to slip off.

- Cartersville, GA, USA

problem #6

Jun 062009

Sedona

  • 73,122 miles
The vehicle struts with less then 75K miles (warranty covers only to 60K miles) have poor suspension. The cruise control will not set at desired speed. Brake lights remain on even after the vehicle ignition is turned off; pumping the brakes will not release lights and could cause the battery to drain unless fuse is removed.

- Lebanon, IN, USA

problem #5

Aug 132008

Sedona

  • miles
Minivan suddenly drops out of drive when accelerating on highway. Has happened twice, gear shift was in proper position. Had to emergency brake and pull off highway (coasting) and turn off engine and restart. Gear/pedal then reengaged and was able to resume driving. Dealer says they cannot recreate problem. Very concerning.

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #4

Sep 272007

Sedona

  • miles
2006 Kia Sedona with serious safety issues. Passenger sliding door opens while driving, opens and closes and will not close all the way. Starter was replaced. Air bag light was looked at. Consumer says there are more problems. The rotors had to be replaced due them being out of round. Several parts within the door were replaced such as the cable and door switch assembly and door latch assembly. The vehicle accelerated unexpectedly. The rear sensors and rear caliper brake hose needed to be repaired.

- Ivoryton, CT, USA

problem #3

Jun 142007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. While accelerating to merge onto a highway, the vehicle continued to accelerate on its own. The contact depressed the brake pedal completely down to the floor, but the vehicle failed to stop. The brakes began to smoke. The vehicle decelerated to 40 mph and then accelerated again to an unknown speed. The contact drove the vehicle into a grassy field and struck a sign. The vehicle drove into a ditch where it eventually stopped. There were no warning indicators. The vehicle was towed to a Kia dealer. The vehicle sustained front end damage and the passenger side tire blew out. The dealer could not diagnose the cause of failure. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 25,200. The consumer provided an Arkansas motor crash report. Updated 10/24/07

- Ozark, AR, USA

problem #2

Oct 202006

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,700 miles
On more than four occasions I have been driving this van and when pressing the gas pedal to accelerate the engine revved, but the van did not move. Two of these incidents have been while merging onto interstate 95, once on us route 1 and another merging on to route 234. On at least one occasion my one year old daughter was in the vehicle. It was an extreme safety hazard to merge on to interstate 95 in the middle of rush hour while traffic was moving at 65 mph plus and not be able to accelerate. In one instance there was a tractor trailer coming up behind me, and I had to cut off another vehicle trying to merge in order to get back off on to the ramp that I just merged off. The first time we took it to the dealer and they said is was a speed control sensor, the second time they said it was low on transmission fluid. The third time they had the vehicle for a couple of days and stated that they were unable to reproduce the issue. We have a case number with Kia motors, and have requested a buy back under the Virginia lemon laws. We picked up the vehicle from the dealer today and still have not heard back from our case worker with Kia despite a call asking if we should pick up the vehicle or not.

- Spotsylvania, VA, USA

problem #1

Feb 012007

Sedona 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. While driving 15 mph, the contact attempted to stop the vehicle and it accelerated to 30 mph without warning. He was able to stop the vehicle by continuously depressing the brake. The failure has occurred on numerous occasions and the dealer has been unable to duplicate the failure. The current mileage is 2,600 and failure mileage was 200.

- Plano, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?