Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Kia Sedona suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Kia Sedona Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Oct 172013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Leaving parking garage turning one of the corners a violent vibration started with a grinding type of noise and was unable to turn the vehicle. Upon inspection the lower right controller arm showed significant signs of rust and had completely broken in two pieces. Looking at the lower left controller arm, significant signs of rust can be seen also. This vehicle has never been in a high salt environment. These are the only 2 pieces on the vehicle with such a high amount of rust.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #16

Sep 292013

Sedona

  • 111,000 miles
As my wife was making a right-hand turn into a parking lot at approximately 5-10 mph, the van lurched left and shook violently. After checking for flat tires and finding none, she attempted to continue driving but the steering wheel was shaking to much to drive any further. After having the van towed to the service center and checked out, we were told that the left front control arm had rusted through and failed. I cringe at the thought of what could have happened at highway speed, as we were supposed to has been on the interstate at that time, but changed our plans at the last minute. This van had its annual nh state safety inspection at the beginning of August and was given a clean bill of health. The shop that did the inspection and the shop that is doing the repair both told us that unless they actually see a crack, there is no way for them to tell if the part is compromised or not. As someone who has been working with metal for 30 years, I find this hard to believe. Lastly, I have noted six complaints reported here for the same problem in just the last seven months. It is my opinion that it is time for a thorough investigation and recall before there is a serious or (heaven forbid) fatal accident resulting from a control arm failure.

- Meredith, NH, USA

problem #15

Aug 122013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Pulling out of a parking lot, a loud bang/thud noise was heard followed by car nose diving to left and stopped. Repair shop indicated the lower left control arm had 'snapped in half' due to being fully rotted via rust. This event also pulled out the left drive shaft. Further inspection indicated right lower control arm was in same condition (rusted through) and needed to be replaced for safety reasons. This is a major safety issue as this event happening at highway speeds may likely result in a roll over!

- Saugus, MA, USA

problem #14

Aug 082013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 103,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During routine oil change at a local shop, major cracks were found in right front lower control arm. Went immediately to Kia dealer for further inspection and was told that cracks were so bad and remaining metal so thin "avoid driving, any potholes or bumps". no Kia warranty at all, took 5 days for parts and $500 for repair. Note: Vehicle had a front end alignment at a Kia dealer ship 5 months previous and there were no defects listed. There were no warning signs that this failure was occurring and should be considered for immediate recall to avoid failure at highway speeds. All parts in question have been retained for review. Updated 09/10/13

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #13

Aug 152012

Sedona

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that during routine maintenance on the vehicle, the mechanic stated the rear toll adjustor and pin nut needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Brookyln, WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Jul 242013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 76,450 miles
Date 7/24/20013 total failure of lower control arm, front wheel left side. Mileage: 76,450 part #54500-4D101 purchased new February 19, 2007 car garaged since new, dry semi-heated attached to house. Failure: Due to extensive corrosion through out. Possibly because of a sub-standard anti-corrosion manufacturing process. The right side lower control arm shows standard ware and little rust for the same time in service. Massachusetts state annual safety inspection: Dated 7-12-2013 did not find the defect, but the vehicle failed due to cracks in tail light lens even thou a frame and suspension check is part of the inspection? this is very much a high end safety concern. At highway speeds roll-over can and do cause death. Pictures are available: Showing left and right control arms. My search of 2006 Kia Sedona's found three failures this makes four. No deaths yet, that's a good thing! thankyou and please feel free to contact me.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #11

Jul 012007

Sedona

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When hitting bumps vehicle is making a squeaking / creaking sound fire light front every 3 mon seat belts every time hard to used and now finally broke.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #10

Aug 142009

Sedona 6-cyl

  • miles
Haven't had any accident. But have had problems with headlights keep burning out. I have spent so much money buying bulbs. Problems with one of seat belts keeps locking up, and have a scrunching noise for years now the dealership say might be suspension.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #9

May 312013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 85,764 miles
The driver side control arm broke in half as the vehicle was slowing to a stop (10-20 mph) at a traffic light. Vehicle could not be driven after the incident. After inspection, it was determined that the control arm had rusted through and failed. All remaining control arms were inspected. It was found that the passenger side front control arm was also in need of repair before an eventual failure would occur. Updated 10/22/13 updated 10/25/2013

- Henrietta, NY, USA

problem #8

May 282013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 75,523 miles
The left front coil spring broke after I had parked the van at work. Later when I went out to go somewhere, I found a piece of metal about 8" long lying on the ground behind the left front tire. I thought that I sure hoped it had not come off of my car! when I got in and put the car in reverse, it would not move. I shifted to drive and it went forward, so I shifted back into reverse and tried to back up. There was a loud bang and the front end on the car dropped hard to the left. When I got out of the car, the tire was completely flat and I could actually see a flap sticking up from the inside wall of the tire. I later discovered that the coil spring had broken - that was the piece of metal I had found on the ground - and had stabbed the tire. It was corroded. After checking online I learned that there had been an issue with the front coil springs on 2006 Kia Sedonas, that the finish would get corroded by road salt and water and the springs would break. A recall had been issued in 21 states, including Michigan. When I contacted the dealer, I was told that the recall covered vehicles made from December 2005 to March 20, 2012. My van was made on April 18, 2012, and therefore was not covered by the recall because the 'issue had been resolved.' Why then did the spring break?

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #7

Mar 192013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I notice noise and a shake in the steering wheel like I had a flat tire. I pulled over checked for a flat tire or loose wheel. Tires and wheels checked ok. As I continued the noise became worse and the car started weaving side to side and I started hearing a rubbing noise when I stopped. Pulled into the dealership for evaluation. The manager notice the left front wheel go back against the wheel well. Checked under the car and notice the left lower control arm broke in half. The control arm had rusted to the point that it just fell apart. Working for General Motors for 37 years has a problem solver and quality engineer I have never seem a control arm rust and break. I do believe as time goes on there will be many more failures and fatalities. This problem needs to be address before we get to the point of people dyeing. Kia is aware of this problem hopefully I will here some corrective action on this problem soon. I have the old parts.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #6

Mar 082013

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, she heard a loud noise. The contact mentioned that the tire had pushed into the fender. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. An insurance adjuster inspected the vehicle and stated that the control arm was corroded and caused the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 105, 000.

- Dalton , NH, USA

problem #5

Aug 012011

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Over the past year, I have replaced struts, bushings, cv boots, & countless other items on suspension. I have had Sedona looked @ by multiple mechanics. Have driven around w/ me on both occasions. Had three ase certified guys at one time checking everywhere for lose or broken parts. We even checked spare tire & the pressure in it. When I go over any uneven surface, something rattles or clunks under the van. Not a little, a lot! everyone can actually feel it, not just hear it. Cannot pin point location.it seems mostly around spare tire area, but I feel it under driver & passenger area too. Middle & back can feel & hear it. You cannot make it happen over things like speed bumps. Just uneven surfaces. Random.. so embarrassing & making me crazy! I also have had on 5 or 6 occasions when driving, I will take foot off gas as cars slow or exiting up a hwy ramp. When I push to excel, it wont catch but the engine rpms go crazy & engine races. I have to try to let off & reapply foot to gas to get it to grab. I almost got rearended twice! it happens fast, suddenly & far in between. Scares me to death. It is like the transmission is slipping, but had at dealership long ago for this & just like the other stuff, if they cannot make it happen... sorry, out of luck! I now am just under the 100K mark & still cannot get resolve. Cannot sell a clunking car!

- Imperial, MO, USA

problem #4

Dec 032010

Sedona

  • 24,400 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona LX. While driving in the driveway 5 mph, the contact stated that the front passenger side bushings began to exhibit and abnormal squealing. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact that they could not replace the bushings until they had fractured and could not press out from the sub frame without causing damaging. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was called who contacted the dealer to determine the failure and what could be done to repair the vehicle. The dealer informed the manufacturer that they would not repair the failure until it was fractured. The failure mileage was 24,400.

- Goose Creek, NC, USA

problem #3

Apr 102008

Sedona

  • 25,318 miles
Front end failure of sway bar links on my 2006 Kia Sedona mini van. We bought the van in Sept of 2007 as a used van with about 20,000 miles on it. At 25,138 miles the sway bar links were replaced. I just had my own garage do them again with 41,971 miles on it. These should last longer than 17,000 miles. I also had it at the dealer for a shimmy in the front end and they replaced both front axles. We are still experiencing a shimmy at times. The right side sub frame bushings were replaced at 32,268 miles. Then at 33,367 miles it was back into the shop for the left rear subframe bushings. The date of that repair was 11/23/09. They informed me that the rear brakes were not working and all rusted up. I advised them not to do the work because I could do it myself and that it was not covered under warranty. I replaced both rear rotors, pads, and both calipers because they were all rusted. Our factory warranty ends at the end of the year and I have great concerns that I will be putting alot of money into a junk front end. We did have it at the shop for one recall notice for a possible faulty brake switch that could not shut off the cruise control. On 8/14/09 with 34,324.

- Great Barrington, MA, USA

problem #2

Jun 172010

Sedona

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sedona. The contact stated she had her vehicle serviced for the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V130000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights: Switch). After receiving the vehicle back from the dealer, she was driving at approximately 15 mph when the cruise control involuntarily engaged. There was an unusually loud buzz coming from the dash area. The contact shut off the engine and when restarting, the cruise control was deactivated but the noise continued momentarily. The contact also stated that she has been experiencing a recurring failure in which she hears a loud "clunking" noise coming from the front end of the vehicle while driving over bumps. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on many occasions where the right and left sway bar links were replaced. The failure continued to recur whenever driving over a bumpy road surface. The vehicle was not repaired for the cruise control failure. The failure and current mileage was 89,000.

- Norwood, NJ, USA

problem #1

Nov 162007

Sedona

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I purchased a 2006 Kia Sedona October 21st of 2006 and ever since then I have had it in for service about 8-9 times. First few times were for the engine light going on all the time. Then it was shaking of the vehicle and they did a wheel alignment about two times. Took it in again for same shaking problem so they replaced the struts on it. Than the horn went out and the under carriage of the vehicle started shaking while trying to accelerate to 50 miles an hour. They replaced some part on the under carriage but the vehicle is still shaking and is still in the shop waiting to hear from Kia in the next part to replace or fix. I have had a rental each time which is fine and dandy, they have picked up the cost but it is just getting frustrating to have a brand new vehicle with only 20 miles on it when purchased to be serviced as many times as it has in the past year. Somehow I do now know if this vehicle is even road safe anymore!!

- West Allis, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?