Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,923 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Kia Sedona electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Kia Sedona:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Kia Sedona Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #5

Sep 282010

Sedona

  • 36,452 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In 18 months my 2008 Kia Sedona has continuous electrical problems, with this complaint focusing on the fact my vehicle has blown the 200 amp main fuse 4 times in 18 months, including while driving the vehicle 2 of the 4 times, causing complete loss of power and a safety issue as both times it happen while highway driving, with the dealer not being to determine the cause of the problem each and every time. They replace the fuse, run tests, and give the car back, at which point anywhere from 10 days to 6 months the fuse blows again. Note this same vehicle was in and out of the dealer repair for a check engine light they were unable to turn off for more than 48 hours at a time (computer reset) for 9 months which I sued under lemon law for.

- Shirley, NY, USA

problem #4

Jun 272010

Sedona 6-cyl

  • 18,700 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Kia Sedona. While traveling 55 mph the contact noticed that the vehicle had suddenly accelerated without warning causing the contact to apply the brakes in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle has not been diagnosed and there were no prior warnings. The current mileage is 18000 and the failure mileage was 17000. Updated 01/11/2011 updated 12/22/10 the consumer stated the vehicle suddenly began to accelerate and the vehicle would not stop until the brakes were forcefully applied. The cruise control was not activated. Also, the power doors stopped working. Updated 04/12/11

- Springfield, OR, USA

problem #3

Sep 142009

Sedona

  • 15,200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Kia Sedona. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph she lost power steering. She restarted the vehicle and resumed normal operation. The inability to steer the vehicle increased the risk of a vehicle crash. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for inspection and the technician replaced the throttle position sensor. The failure mileage was 15,200 and the current mileage was 15,900.

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #2

Jul 122009

Sedona

  • 31,000 miles
It all started when my wife picked up the vehicle in question from a rental salesman, he told her that she should not plug our gps unit into the cigarette lighter or it would cost $90 for us to repair the light that would come on for the air bags. We did not plug the unit into the cigarette lighter but plugged it into the accessory power outlet. On Sunday 07/12/09 I encountered a problem. The air bag light came on, the air conditioner only came on high, and the interior lights went out. It's an electrical problem in the outlets.

- Buena Vista, VA, USA

problem #1

Nov 202008

Sedona

  • 13,000 miles
Initial occurrence was on November 20, 2008 when our 2008 Sedona was less than seven months old and with only 13000 kilometers on it. Vehicle stalled when trying to start up after a four way stop. Thought some type of fluke? no further occurrences for two to three hundred kilometers until November 23, 2008 when stalled while turning at a busy intersection. Stalled again after put in park and restarted. Took to dealership where serviced on November 24, 2008 -correction: "scan code P2106/P1295/P0638 and PO236 reset and re-program - road test all ok" less than 24 hours later, during evening rush hour the Sedona stalled again both starting up after having been stopped and then a short time later in the midst of driving at the posted speed limit. Kia of newmarket service was immediately contacted and we were advised to drive the vehicle over, if possible. The Sedona was returned to the dealership on Tuesday November 25, 2008. On Wednesday, November 26, 2008 Kia was asked for and was granted permission to drive our Sedona home that evening in an effort to experience the stalling problem firsthand. We were subsequently advised that the vehicle stalled for the advisor five different times. On or about December 4, 2008 the main computer was reportedly replaced with a brand new main computer taken from a 2009 Sedona on the lot in an effort to resolve the problem. The service advisor once again took our Sedona home and back and it was reportedly running "beautifully" following the replacement of the main computer. On Friday, December 5, 2008 the Sedona was picked up - the paperwork was not signed as they wanted to leave it open until follow up was made. Again less than 24 hours later after picking up the Sedona the Sedona stalled while we were driving on a busy street with six people in the van. Apparently they have at the direction of Kia Canada tried several codes since then. Problem has still not been diagnosed and van still at Kia over one month later!

- Newmarket, 00, USA

Not what you are looking for?