Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,479 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Kia Sorento lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Kia Sorento Owner Comments

problem #12

Mar 142012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at night when all of a sudden interior lights started blinking off & on like strobe lights at a disco. I tried turning them off, nothing. It seemed related to the dimmer switch because if I kept pressure on it to the lowest degree, the flashing stopped. For awhile I wedged a pin in the switch & that worked. Eventually, though that stopped working & the light show would begin. It happened day & night, just more noticeable at night. I finally removed the fuse for the cabin lights & as a result, have no dash lights either while driving in the dark. I've not gone to Kia as I am sure it will cost way more than I can afford. I'm reduced to using a flashlight when on long road trips to check gas gauge & speedometer.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #11

Oct 282010

Sorento

  • 36,000 miles
I have had my 2003 Kia Sorento since March 2010. It was purchased with 32,000 miles on it, and as of the end of October 2010, it had 36,000 miles. So far, I have had to replace the coolant reservoir, because it was cracked. I was driving, and it overheated out of nowhere. It was in the shop for four days, because they could not find the problem even after doing several pressurized systems tests. At the end of October 2010, I had to replace the oil pump, because it had a crack in it. No one anywhere I called could believe I had to replace an oil pump. All the mechanics stated that's one of the few things they never have to replace on any vehicle, and certainly not at 36,000 miles. Anyway, due to oil leaking onto the timing belt, that had to be replaced also. The timing belt was in fine condition otherwise. Consequently, I now have engine problems. I'm sure the engine will have to be replaced from overheating and then having no oil. At high rpms, you can hear a slight tick, which I'm pretty sure is a lifter issue. Headlights burn out quickly. I was driving one day, and both burnt out at the same time. I had to drive on high beams in the city. Constant electrical problems with the dash. Dash lights rarely work, and then all of a sudden all the lights will start flashing here and there - dash lights flash on/off, ceiling light flashes on/off, all back and forth while I'm driving in the dark. Very distracting, especially in traffic. The truck itself (seats, comfort, etc.) is awesome, but it was definitely manufactured poorly. Worst purchase ever. Glad I bought the 5 star warranty or I'd be paying for a truck I can't drive.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #10

Jan 152009

Sorento

  • 105,000 miles
The check engine light keeps coming on and it has been checked by a dealership and they don't know the problem, the front headlamps keep burning out.

- Wahoo, NE, USA

problem #9

Sep 152003

Sorento

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Headlights/fog lights need to be replaced every 3-4 months. I bought my car new so I know it is not the fault of anyone else, other than the manufacturer. Each bulb costs approximately $19 [depending on brand and type of bulb}. I know I have spent hundreds of dollars on bulbs since 2003; it is now 2009.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #8

Dec 102008

Sorento

  • miles
The headlights and brakelights on my vehicle (2003 Kia Sorento ex) go out approximately every 3-4 months. I have had to replace them at least 12 times since I got the vehicle in 2005. I have had the bulbs replaced by the dealer 3 times just to make sure that it was done correctly and with the Kia parts and they still blew out. I have reported this problem to Kia 4 times. This is a dangerous situation to be put in and I am required to drive quite often at night. Several times I was driving and suddenly my headlights or brakelights went out while I was on the highway which is also dangerous and inconvenient. I feel that something should be done about this problem, based on my research and taking to the Kia dealer it is a common and well known problem with 2003 Kia Sorentos that the headlights and brakelights go out all the time.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Mar 162007

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,247 miles
I own a 2003 Kia Sorento LX. I used it mainly to go from home to work. This happened 2 days ago, March 16, 2006, at 32247 miles. While making a right turn from a stoplight, I had complete loss of vehicle control, it would not let me stop it and I could not control the steering wheel, it kept turning sharply to the right, and I landed on the sidewalk. Luckily, it happened when I was just entering my neighborhood, going at moderate speed, and there were no cars besides or behind me. To think if I were driving 65-70 mph on the highway and have this happened and lose control, I would have been dead. But it is the second time it happens in 3 1/2 years. The first time was about 1 1/2 year ago, but I did not pay attention to it since I thought it was due to wet conditions. I was entering the multi-level parking lot where I work. I was going up to the 4th floor where I park, and when I turned left on the 3rd floor, the car went out of control, kept going round, and I could not stop. Luckily again, it was so early in the morning that there were no cars in that floor. Surely, a safety-related defect exists. What happened Friday almost got me killed. It has happened only twice in all these years, but, no matter what happens, I will never feel safe on this car again. I cannot take any other chance of being killed because of a car's defect. I will be now using my husband's car to travel back and forth to work. Besides that big problem, I have encountered other problem with my Sorento. The front and back bulbs blow quite often. I have taken the car to the dealership every time it has needed replacement, and I have all the invoice sheets. I would prefer to have someone contact me in spanish. Thank you kindly.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #6

Apr 012003

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle is a 2003 Kia Sorento with 70,000 miles, purchased new. Vehicle appears to have serious electrical issues. I have, to date, replaced light bulbs approximately 38 times. This includes head light bulbs (high and low), fog light bulbs, tail light bulbs and brake light bulbs. Also the clock only works intermittently and the power sun roof has ceased working. Dealer offers no solution. This has been ongoing since the first month of ownership.

- Midwest City, OK, USA

problem #5

Jul 202006

Sorento

  • miles
I have had my Kia Sorento for almost a year and I have repeatedly had to change the headlights and tail lights. At least 8 times for the headlights and 4 for the tail.

- Beulaville, NC, USA

problem #4

Mar 012006

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
Headlights and tail light keep going out and fog lights also has happened 8 times now.

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #3

Feb 212006

Sorento

  • 5,000 miles
I have a 2003 Kia Sorento that keeps buring bulbs, I have had my car for 3 years now and have to replace bulbs every other month in my car, this is just the headlights, I have replaced the tail lights twice since having my car, but the headlights last only 1 month to 6 weeks.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #2

Nov 072005

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Electrical failure, cooling system failure, rough running-engine misfire purchased car 2-22-2003 brand new this car has spent a lot of time on the dealers lift. Also has seen its share of tow trucks. In the past 1 1/2 years I have replaced 18 left side headlights,23 right side head light,16 fog lights,8 license plate lights and 6 tail lights the truck has been to 3 dealers and they all say its either normal or it's only because I did not buy the bulbs from Kia well some I did and they do not last either. The last time it was in they had the truck for 9 1/2 minutes and told us there is nothing wrong and for $149 they will put in a new bulb. No warranty on how long it will last..... the truck also misfires and the dealer also cannot fix it they say the computer says its good so it must be good. Well you can feel the misfire even the dealers mechanic stated it is misfiring but he cannot fix it maybe after the warranty is over we will be able to find the problem..... another problem is the cooling system in the past 3 years it has had the recovery tank replaced 2 times the radiator replaced the connecting Y behind the motor replaced... I have spent over $200 on rent a cars with no help from Kia each time my car is towed in this car is still under warranty so why cant they fix it O yeah the last thing is the fog lights are melting or shall I say its the inside chrome coating is burning and I was told its not warranty and there about $85 each why wont Kia meet with me "????????????" can anyone please help me.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

Dec 262005

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Electrical failure, cooling system failure, rough running-engine misfire purchased car 2-22-2003 brand new this car has spent a lot of time on the dealers lift. Also has seen its share of tow trucks. In the past 1 1/2 years I have replaced 18 left side headlights,23 right side headlights,16 fog lights,8 license plate lights and 6 tail lights the truck has been to 3 dealers and they all say its either normal or it's only because I did not buy the bulbs from Kia well some I did and they do not last either. The last time it was in they had the truck for 9 1/2 minutes and told us there is nothing wrong and for $149 they will put in a new bulb. No warranty on how long it will last..... the truck also misfires and the dealer also cannot fix it they say the computer says its good so it must be good. Well you can feel the misfire even the dealers mechanic stated it is misfiring but he cannot fix it maybe after the warranty is over we will be able to find the problem..... another problem is the cooling system in the past 3 years it has had the recovery tank replaced 2 times the radiator replaced the connecting Y behind the motor replaced... I have spent over $200 on rent a cars with no help from Kia each time my car is towed in this car is still under warranty so why cant they fix it O yeah the last thing is the fog lights are melting or shall I say its the inside chrome coating is burning and I was told its not warranty and there about $85 each why wont Kia meet with me "????????????" can anyone please help me.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?