Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,414 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Kia Sorento steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #3

Mar 162007

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,247 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2003 Kia Sorento LX. I used it mainly to go from home to work. This happened 2 days ago, March 16, 2006, at 32247 miles. While making a right turn from a stoplight, I had complete loss of vehicle control, it would not let me stop it and I could not control the steering wheel, it kept turning sharply to the right, and I landed on the sidewalk. Luckily, it happened when I was just entering my neighborhood, going at moderate speed, and there were no cars besides or behind me. To think if I were driving 65-70 mph on the highway and have this happened and lose control, I would have been dead. But it is the second time it happens in 3 1/2 years. The first time was about 1 1/2 year ago, but I did not pay attention to it since I thought it was due to wet conditions. I was entering the multi-level parking lot where I work. I was going up to the 4th floor where I park, and when I turned left on the 3rd floor, the car went out of control, kept going round, and I could not stop. Luckily again, it was so early in the morning that there were no cars in that floor. Surely, a safety-related defect exists. What happened Friday almost got me killed. It has happened only twice in all these years, but, no matter what happens, I will never feel safe on this car again. I cannot take any other chance of being killed because of a car's defect. I will be now using my husband's car to travel back and forth to work. Besides that big problem, I have encountered other problem with my Sorento. The front and back bulbs blow quite often. I have taken the car to the dealership every time it has needed replacement, and I have all the invoice sheets. I would prefer to have someone contact me in spanish. Thank you kindly.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #2

Jul 152006

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving on Saturday, 7/15/06, I noticed a high pitched noise while steering. I was under the impression that the power steering fluid was low. After having an oil change and capping off my fluids, the noise continues and remains while driving. It is loud enough to hear over the radio and the air conditioner at the same time. I have placed this car in the shop for numerous repairs since its purchase in 2003 and have spent countless amounts of money on various problems, including replacing the bulbs, repairing the braks, the check engine light coming on immediately after purchase, the air bag sensor remains on and the list goes on and on. I have placed numerous complains to Kia directly as well as filed a compliant with the better business bureau to no avail. It would be my assumption that Kia will only be concerned about fixing these issues or recalling these vehicles only after some serious incidents have occurred.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #1

May 152003

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 600 miles
I purchased the Sorento 5/31/03, while making a right hand turn the power steering completely went out; I almost hit another vehicle regaining control. Contacted Kia Consumer Affairs immediately, they have complete logs on file. 6/2/03 dealer replaced power steering rack. 6/10/03 830 miles, power steering failed again;had to fight with the steering to control vehile in parking garage.6/12/03 power steering pump was replaced. Picked up vehicle that evening and pulling out from the restaurant the power steering went out again. 6/13/03 850 miles, computer malfunction; new downloads had to be downloaded to vehicles computer. 6/18/03 electronic power steering module had to be replaced. Now 6/20/03 dealer said they wont help me, Kia Consumer Affairs said they wont replace the vehicle nor buy back the vehicle. I'm terrified to pick up the vehicle tonight. Kia wanted me to drive the vehicle 30 days more then call back and they will re-imburse me 2 months payments for all the trouble. I replied I wont drive it, I'll have it flat bedded to my house and seek legal council.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?