Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,482 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Kia Sorento engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Aug 092013

Sorento

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased our Sorento used (approx 65K miles)about 3 years ago. Since then, we've had to replace the gas tank ($1500) among other things. This year has been absurd: Had to replace the radiator, water pump, computer system (2 months, $4700), brakes ($750) and 2 batteries. 2-3 months ago, we noticed a clunking/chunking sound that grew steadily worse. It sounded as if the 4WD was engaging and disengaging every 3 seconds and felt very unsafe at high speeds. I took it to Kia of cobb county and was just given a quote Friday for a new transfer case, drive shaft, "rear end chunk" (all the service rep could tell me) and 4 new tires. Quote for this work ($9767). The transfer case alone was around $5700. This vehicle now has 112K miles and is less than 10 years old. The blue book value is (was) around $5-6000 and we're told it'll take $10,000 to fix it? I called Kia's corporate office to ask if this was to be expected at Kia. I was told that our vehicle was not under warranty. I said, " I'm just asking if there's anyone at Kia headquarters who believes in their product and wants to protect the Kia name and you just keep apologizing." The rep responded, "I'm sorry, sir." We've found multiple complaints online from Kia owners reporting similar issues (chunking, transfer case, etc). When does this become.a recall issue" a safety issue"

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #24

Dec 072012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 138,057 miles
Picked up vehicle after having rear support bearings repaired driving back home at 65mph on I-35/Texas 410 East started to experience strong smell of exhaust fumes in passenger compartment. During drive home started to rain, activated wipers, drivers side wiper blade fell off during rainstorm had to open driver side window to navigate! upon arrival at home noticed, smoke coming from engine compartment (passengers side) and smoke underneath vehicle from catalytic converter. Looked underneath vehicle and catalytic converter, was smoking, inside engine compartment a hose at the rear of the engine compartment (sorry not a mechanic) had a hole in it and was smoking also? vehicle has not been driven since 12/7/12, vehicle was purchased 10/4/12, has limited warranty.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #23

Mar 302012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Summary: I was driving along the interstate at aprox. 65 mph. I heard a ticking noise and looked at the dash. No warning lights my friend asked if the car felt like it was losing speed and it was I immediatly pulled over. Moving to the emergency lane the engine stalled. None of the guages indicated anything wrong, and even after the engine failed the engine check light does not light up, none of the safety indicators light up. The vehicle has 75,000 miles only 13,000 of which I am responsible for. I am not covered under the warranty because I am not the original owner which is ridicualous in itself because the warranty should cover mileage as it states not owners. However, this problem occurred because of the fluid leaking out of the water reservoir/or possibly a failed water pump that Kia knows will fail. If Kia was aware of this problem and did not issue a recall, knowing that this could cause serious engine problems or death, why are they not responsible for this motor? the repairs are going to cost more than 5000 dollars this should not be tolerated. If you spend any money on a vehicle, change the oil every 3 to 5 thousand miles follow all safety recalls, you should expect more than 75,000 miles out of it. Kia should be held accountable! I have contacted a lawyer in this matter I believe that Kia knows its vehicles are faulty and are waiting for the cost of lawsuits against them to increase to be more than the cost of a recall for this problem, before they do anything to rectify the issues.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #22

Mar 102012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Summary: Update to below problem I bought my Sorento in 2004, new. I replaced the coolant reservoir at 61000 miles due to overheating, replaced the low beam headlight bulbs on 4 occasions, tail lights on 2 occasions. My vehicle, 5 speed manual transmission, started to have a roaring noise approx. 6 months ago and the U-joints were replaced. It still roars. It quit running on 2-16-12 while I was driving, but restarted. It finally quit again and would not restart on 2-17-12. Check engine light indicate a fuel pressure sensor problem, but mechanic says this should not cause the problem I presently have. It has been in the shop since 2-18-12. The mechanic said it started for him. I insisted he let it run for a while and see what happens. Sure enough, it quit. Kia mechanic told me it may be a crank or cam sensor issue. Other problems--front dome light off and on at will, rear one works, clock on and off at will, vehicle hums loudly when driving for a while. It has been a reliable vehicle for the most part, but when there is an issue, it is hard to detect. Above work was completed at a cost of 1126,00. But now crankshaft bolt broke while driving costing damage to engine heads. Vehicle went back into shop and is still waiting repairs. Kia owes it customers better service and must pay repair cost and take responsibility for the faulty crankshaft bolts they provide to the mechanics.

- Fort Walton Bch, FL, USA

problem #21

Feb 162012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 120,200 miles
I bought my sarento in 2004, new. I replaced the coolant reservor at 61000 miles due to overheating, replaced the low beam headlight bulbs on 4 ocasions, tail lights on 2 ocasions. My vehicle, 5 speed manual transmission, started to have a roaring noise approx. 6 months ago and the U-joints were replaced. It still roars. It quit running on 2-16-12 while I was driving, but restarted. It finally quit again and would not restart on 2-17-12. Check engine light indicate a fuel pressure sensor problem, but mechanic says this should not cause the problem I presently have. It has been in the shop since 2-18-12. The mechanic said it started for him. I insisted he let it run for a while and see what happens. Sure enough, it quit. Kia mechanic told me it may be a crank or cam sensor issue. Other problems--front dome light off and on at will, rear one works, clock on and off at will, vehicle hums loudly when driving for a while. It has been a reliable vehicle for the most part, but when there is an issue, it is hard to detect.

- Fort Walton Beach , FL, USA

problem #20

Dec 202011

Sorento

  • miles
While driving I suddenly heard a sound coming from my engine and several dashboard lights illuminated. I was able to drive the car to the auto mechanic that works on my car who informed me that it was a crank pulley bolt that had sheared off. The mechanic also informed me this is a very common problem with Kia. After doing a lot of internet research I found out that this is true. The car has 135,000 on it. I have spent over $4,000 on repairs on this car in the last year. It seems that everything decided to go this year. I only do highway driving and I am the only owner. I am very careful with my car. Any chance Kia will reimburse?

- North Babylon, NY, USA

problem #19

Apr 012009

Sorento

  • 47,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Kia Sorento. While driving approximately 35 mph the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the crank shaft pulley had to be replaced. After the vehicle was repaired the failure continued to occur. The failure occurred three different times. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 47,500.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #18

Jun 012011

Sorento

  • 99,648 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that a loose induct control valve fell into the engine, causing the engine to become defective. The dealer and manufacturer were notified, but denied any assistance with repairs to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 99,648. Updated 11/08/11

- Chateaugay, NY, USA

problem #17

Jun 242011

Sorento

  • 70,000 miles
Crankshaft pulley bolt - this is a recalled part that was replaced in 2008. Snapped off while driving. Thankfully not on the freeway when it happened. Replacement is just as faulty as original. Many multiple Kia owners have reported this problem some have had this same occurrence happen a third time. Obviously, replacement bolt is not working either and cannot survive the stress that is needed to operate safely. This is a costly and timely repair to replace a bolt that should last more than 2 1/2 years. Needs to be recalled and replaced with a better quality bolt. Called Kia and they will not repair, state out of 1 1/2 year warranty. 1st year of car ownership, car stalled while turning left with oncoming traffic approaching due to three faulty starter coils. Kia needs to be held responsible for their less than reliable vehicles. Poor quality parts. Electrical system also faulty, headlights and brake lights consistently go out.

- La Habra, CA, USA

problem #16

Apr 112011

Sorento

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Kia sorrento. The contact was traveling 15 mph when the crankshaft bolt fractured and caused damage to the crank position sensor, timing belt, damper pulley, and the crankshaft sprocket. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was advised that the crankshaft would need to be replaced. The dealer also advised replacing the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage and current mileages were 76,000.

- Rancho Cordova , CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 172010

Sorento

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my children in the summer and my engine began squealing very loudly, the A/C stopped working, and the steering locked up. We took the car to get it fixed and they said the crank shaft bolt in the engine had broken completely. They said the only thing we could do is replace the entire engine, which is $4000. We found someone who replaced the bolt, because we couldn't afford a new engine, and now the heat doesn't work, it still squeals, and our radio completely stopped working as well. We have had nothing but problems with this vehicle, and we are only at 65000 miles.

- Greenville, MI, USA

problem #14

May 142008

Sorento

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Kia Sorento. The contact lost control of the vehicle and it spun out of control. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer who stated that the crankshaft bolt broke off in the engine, the pulleys fell off and the two belts broke. The dealer repaired the vehicle but the failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that the vehicle had been repaired already. The check engine light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle had not been repaired again. The contact referenced a manufacturer's recall for the crank shaft bolt. The vehicle was inspected and the diagnosis was a defective crankshaft sensor. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000 and the current mileage was 108,850.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #13

Nov 072009

Sorento

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Kia Sorento. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when the engine completely stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the crank bolt was sheared and the engine hermetic balancer completely detached from the vehicle. The technician advised that the failure was very unusual. The dealer replaced the crank bolt and the owner was responsible for the additional repair expenses. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, there were certain areas the vehicle exterior paint sustained excessive chipping after the defective surface was touched up with paint. Also, the engine overheated and the temperature gauge failed to function correctly, even though the thermostat was replaced. The failure mileage was approximately 66,000.

- Unionville, TN, USA

problem #12

Aug 172010

Sorento

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that the vibration damper on the front of the crank shaft failed. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that there had been a recall, but his VIN was not included, even though his vehicle was experiencing the same failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was approximately 71,000.

- Placerville , CA, USA

problem #11

May 082010

Sorento

  • 80,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) we have a 2004 Kia Sorento automobile that had an issue with the crankshaft bolt in Sept. 2009. The repair cost over $1000. We later found out that there was some kind of "repair campaign" (SC072) for the same issue. When we contacted Kia customer service for repair reimbursement we were told our vehicle was manufactured 11 days after the vehicles involved in the recall. Kia offered no grace period and told us there was nothing they could do. On Saturday, 5/8/10, the same bolt broke again which renders the vehicle undriveable. If this bolt were to break while the vehicle was operating at highway speed the consequences would be catastrophic. The vehicle has been towed back to bill Dodge Kia in westbrook, me. Again for repair, and has been documented as Kia case # [xxx]. the case was opened by contacting Kia customer service (albert) at 800-333-4542, ext. 45060. The Kia regional manager for this part of the U.S. is gary airoldi and Kia would not provide any additional contact information for Mr. Airoldi. I can¿T help but wonder if the state of Maine shouldn't lead the way in forcing Kia motors into a national recall and repair effort for all of their vehicles impacted by this defect and reimburse those who have incurred out of pocket expenses and/or injuries as a result. Our desire is to have the vehicle repaired at no cost (considering the previous repair campaign) and to recoup the $1030.30 spent on the previous repair. Thank you very much for reviewing our inquiry and we appreciate any assistance you can offer. Please don't hesitate to also contact me at work at [xxx]. [xxx]

- South Portland, ME, USA

problem #10

May 152009

Sorento

  • 103,000 miles
Cooling system failure cause blown engine without any warning.

- Ft.Worth, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 042008

Sorento

  • 34,000 miles
I purchased my car threw a local dealership aap. 8 mo. Ago it had 27,000 at the time of purchase. On 8-4-08 the vehicle had 34,000 miles. I was driving at a speed of app.40 mi. An hour when the car started smoking from the engine the smoke got thicker. I quickly pulled over into a small parking lot shut off the car + jumped out of the car with my son. In a matter of seconds the car was in flames. After that there was a hose that fell down under the car + was shooting flames from that too. The fire department came + put it out. The dash was caved in.the car was totaled. I reported this to the dealership + Kia corporation. They listened to my complaint with no result and would not take any responsibility for. It. buyers beware.

- Homosassa, FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 062008

Sorento

  • miles
My sister purchased this vehicle new and has had nothing but problems with it and problems with dealership/Kia honoring their 10 year/100,000 mile warranty. She purchased this vehicle believing she would be driving a quality vehicle (advertising 10 year/100,000 mile warranty she assumed it must be of high quality because who would offer that kind of warranty if it was junk....wrong!) she has had nothing but stress, financial expense, lost work time, and a battle of her life trying to seek consumer justice...dealership, Kia motors, lemon law requires a part to fail four times, attorney generals office, conciliation court, writing to ruukivina, oberstar, and most recently amy klobuchar...all failed. No one has said that they will investigate Kia and protect the consumers from this fraudulent automobile manufacturer. Why? the problems she has had with her vehicle consist of rust on the tailgate and rear doors just a few months after purchasing, all kinds of electrical problems from headlights and tail lights burning out numerous times, the digital dash for radio and heater going black, the heater not work, a relay switch for fan failed, foam between windshield and frame coming out tapping on the window, a problem with the coolant reservoir, the rear driveshaft failed, the transmission had to be replaced and most recently the transfer case. Safety issues and concerns would be with tail lights and headlights burning out prematurely and frequently and the crankshaft bolt broke causing to loose all ability to steer the vehicle. There are probably other problems she has had with the vehicle but I do not recall at this time.

- Eveleth, MN, USA

problem #7

Aug 092008

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,600 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Kia Sorento. While the vehicle was stationary, the contact noticed that antifreeze was leaking from the tank assembly reservoir. There were no warning indicators prior to the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they replaced the tank assembly. The failure and current mileages were 77,600. Updated 09/15/08 the consumer stated the engine coolant storage tank was made out of plastic. Updated 09/17/08.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #6

Jul 022008

Sorento

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Kia Sorento. While driving 65 mph, the power steering failed and the vehicle shut down. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they diagnosed that the radiator water overflow container cracked. As a result, fluid leaked and overheated the engine, which caused it to fail. The engine will need to be replaced at the cost of $11,000. The vehicle has over 60,000 miles; therefore, the manufacturer will not assist. The current and failure mileages were 62,000.

- Austing , TX, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?