Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,235 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Kia Sorento engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

May 062014


  • 41,100 miles


As I was driving at about 15-20mph the car shut off completely as I was making a left hand turn without warning. This is the third time at different speeds since we purchased the vehicle in January 2014. We have taken it to Kia dealership for repair, regular oil changes and maintenance. They were unable to find anything wrong, read any codes with computer or duplicate the problem. I am very concerned as this is our family car and it is a driving hazard not knowing when it will shut off with no warning, next time it could be in the middle of the intersection or freeway! we plan on taking back today to dealership.

- Albuquerque , NM, USA

problem #45

Apr 282014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 13,250 miles
I was driving in traffic and all of a sudden, the car dies. The lights on the dashboard illuminate. I had to put the car in park, then tried starting the car again. After 2 times, the car turned back on fine. I brought the car to the dealer and there couldn't replicate the problem and didn't find any computer codes stored. This is quite a safety hazard and now I don't feel safe driving the car, especially with my kids in the car.

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #44

Aug 062012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a technician was unable to locate a failure. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 16,000. Updated 7/25/14

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #43

Feb 102014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles


First incident : after a full stop at red light, as car took off, engine stalled out. Had to try several times to restart engine. After restarted, the car drove fine. Second incident : after slowing down the car to about 3mph and reaccelerating, engine stalled out. After a few tries to restart the engine, it restarted and drove fine.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #42

Apr 012014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
I have a 2013 Kia Sorento that has lost power numerous (10-15) times. It has occurred in multiple settings, at lights, driving down the street, but mostly while driving down a very busy interstate at 65-70 miles an hour. This car is going to get me, one of my grandbabies or someone else killed! once I turn on my hazzards and get the car over to the side of the road/median, turn it off and back on it starts and continues on down the road with the engine light on. The first time I took it in they told me the seal on the gas tank was bad and they replaced it. The second time I took it in they told me the computer couldn't find anything wrong. I'm taking it in first thing tomorrow morning as it happened on the interstate again this morning, wonder what they'll tell me this time?! I should have stuck with my 9 year old Chevrolet, never had a single problem. Please, please investigate this problem and force and find a fix" before" people are killed!

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #41

Jul 052013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 800 miles
Engine stalled a total of 8 times while in motion since 6/13/12, the date of purchase of this new car. This car had been taken into the dealer multiple times. Kia has said it cannot diagnose the problem.

- Doweny, CA, USA

problem #40

Mar 222014


  • 29,000 miles


I have owned this car for 1 week and while driving in the middle of traffic at about 35 mph it completely shut off! I almost caused a major accident!

- Jackson, MO, USA

problem #39

Mar 172014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
We have 2013 Kia Sorento, it is been few months we have this problem of shutting engine down when driving in slow speed around 35 to 40 miles sometime less and sometime stopping at traffic light or stop sign, also we noticed if we go over the street bumps or down hill like entering underground parking. Been in dealer too many times, been contact by corporate office; every time we took the car to the dealer their answer was, we drove we could not find any problem and we have to take the car back, because they are driving in hwy with 70 or higher speed. Few months back dealer called and informed us we have recall by Kia and it is related to your problem, they flush the software and load new. Car was running fine until few days ago shuts down two times in three days in malls public parking place and once at stop sign and both times cause problem for other cars. We took the car back to Kia dealer and they called us back again with no result. I left the car at dealer and not going to get it back until they resolve this issue or give us our down payment back. This is not safe for my self and my family and other drivers and their family but I guess Kia Corp doesn't care and just wants to make money.

- Gledale, CA, USA

problem #38

Mar 112014


  • 19,000 miles
Engine dies out unexpectedly. Driving at low speeds the car will shut off. This has happened at least 3 times. Once was in a parking lot. I was driving slowly and allowing pedestrians to cross in front of me. As I stopped for a person the engine completely shut off. I had to put it into neutral and restart in order to move. Seemed fine after that. Second time was in stop and go traffic. Crawling along and stopping. As I slowly moved forward car died. Again had to throw it into neutral and restart it. Third time was stopped at a stop sign. Started to turn right from stop sign and car died. Again had to restart. This is a dangerous problem. If I was stopped then pulled into fast oncoming traffic and it died I could be hit. The dealership cannot duplicate the problem therefore cannot fix it. I have seen multiple complaints online about this. Kia needs to determine the cause of the issue before someone is killed.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #37

May 012013


  • 7,903 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while decelerating to a stop, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact restarted the engine and the vehicle operated normally. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the defect could not be duplicated. No repairs were performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,903.

- Azusa, CA, USA

problem #36

Feb 152014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 29,530 miles


While driving on the freeway at about 70 mph the car's accelerator stopped working and the engine light came on. I was in the lane next to the fast lane in los angeles. I quickly turned on my hazard lights and pulled over about 5 lanes to the shoulder. Thank goodness it was late at night and I was able to pull over safely. I had four kids in the car driving home from magic mountain! I turned off the car and turned it back on and it worked fine the rest of the way home although I did stay in the slow lanes in case it happened again. This happened on a Saturday. On Sunday my husband drove the car a few miles to have lunch. The engine light was on when he left but then turned off when he was on his way home. Took the car to the dealership on Monday and they said I needed a computer update and that would fix the problem. They let me know this has happened to other cars and the computer update has worked. Very disappointed in Kia knowing this has happened and not sending a letter or letting us know about the problem to have us come in and get the update done. We could have been in a serious accident resulting in death. I hope this fixes the problem. This is the first Kia I have owned and have loved the car up until this point.

- Lakeside, CA, USA

problem #35

Jan 292014


  • 22,000 miles
I have a 2013 Kia Sorento that I bought brand new with only 8 miles on it. I was at a stop light and my car lunged forward as if someone hit us from behind but there was no one there. So when the light turned green we started to go and noticed we had no power and the check engine light was on. We were able to get to the side of the road and turn off the car and called aaa and the dealership telling them what happened. So once it got there the service tech and it probably was the computer and it needed to be updated. I stayed there for about 1 hour while they did the update and then they test drove it and the check engine light came back on. So then they said it was the throttle body so they replaced it and test drove it again and the check engine light came on again. So they found that it was the PCM. Not totally sure what that is. He says it was 1500$ part in the computer that was malfunctioning. But they had my car for a week doing the repairs and now is running good. They also have me a rental car. So in all the dealership did a good job fixing my car and wouldn't stop until it was fixed right.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #34

Jan 162014


  • 22,171 miles
Driving through neighborhood approximately 25 to 30 mph, vehicle suddenly screeched to halt (I did not depress the brakes), engine light came on. All parts of vehicle were disabled (unable to steer, start, etc.) I was thrown forward despite seat belt on due to sudden and complete stop. Thankfully, I was the only vehicle in the roadway at the moment. After several minutes of no response from vehicle with ignition issues, I was finally able to restart and continue my drive, as well as contact dealer for appointment to 'repair' this rampantly unsafe 2013 Kia sorrento engine issue. I purchased this vehicle new in February 2013 with the notion that Kia has a 5 star safety rating. After this incident and after reviewing other eerily similar complaints, I vehemently disagree with the rating. This is an extreme safety hazard. I drive to and from patient's homes for a living, often traveling freeways and in remote areas. I did not notice any issues with motor prior to 'computer upgrade' requested at last visit to dealer. I am hoping that Kia resolves this obviously rampant issue before serious injury or death results from this problem. I will no longer Transport my children in this vehicle until Kia can remedy this situation. I am taking in to the same dealer who did 'upgrade' today to 'repair' if possible. I will also be contacting Kia via phone and email contact as well as the dealer from whom I purchased my vehicle. All need to know that this engine failure issue is serious and could be fatal if not dealt with soon.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #33

Nov 272013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 17,500 miles
I was stopped in the left turn lane waiting for traffic to pass so that I could pull into a shopping center parking lot when suddenly everything shut off. I had first noticed the radio had shut off and then I realized that the entire engine had shut down as I could not move the vehicle. After putting the vehicle in park and turning the ignition off and the restarting it, I was able to resume driving. As this was the day before thanksgiving, I was not able to take the car to the dealership until the Saturday after thanksgiving. Similar to others here who have made complaints, the automotive technicians at the dealership were not able to find anything wrong with the car even after test driving it and having it connected to the computer. The problem has not occurred since taking it to the dealership. I thought that maybe this was just a fluke thing until I read all of the complaints here. Kia really needs to find out what the issue is with these vehicles before someone gets seriously injured or killed.

- Laveen, AZ, USA

problem #32

Dec 052013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
About 6 months ago when my radio turned off and wouldn't turn back on. I took it into the dealership and they said that it must have been a one time thing because they we not able to duplicate the problem again. I went with it as this is the 3rd Kia I have owned. On 12/5/13 I went to turn my car on and it didn't start, I waited a few seconds tried again and she started. The very next day 12/6/13 I drove to la with my son and on my way back down (90 miles away from home) the radio went out again and my car felt very sluggish. I couldn't call my husband as my bluetooth is connected to my radio and I was already on the road when the radio went out again. Now today 12/11/13 I was driving on the freeway to a doctors appointment. As soon as I get off the freeway I am at a stop sign, I stop. When it is my turn to go is when my car decides to completely shut down! all the lights flickered, the radio went out and my car was still stuck in drive, on a slight hill. I immediately put my hazard lights on, put the emergency break on as I didn't want my car to roll backwards. After trying to restart my car about 4 times I was finally able to put the car in park and restart the car. But she was shaking the entire time until I finally parked the car and went to my appt. I purchased this car for safety as I have never had a problem with any of my other Kia's. I will be taking it in to the dealership tomorrow and see what they say. After reading all of these complaints from people with the same exact issue I am looking at Kia to recall this car. They shouldn't wait until a fatality occurs to rectify this issue. I live the California so after 3 times for the same reason it will fall under the lemon law but my concern is the safety of everyone else especially my 3 children that I am constantly transporting, and myself on my 140 mile drive daily. Please recall this vehicle!

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #31

Nov 202013


  • 14,747 miles
While driving in parking lot and breaking the engine stopped, engine light came on. Car would not restart. Took multiple tries to get gear shift into park. Engine finally restarted. Took in to dick hannah dealer to check codes, after 2 hours they could find nothing and had not heard of the problem. Apparently they don't have internet access where this NHTSA site reports 14, now 15, of the same instances. This is a very unsafe situation & the dealers don't know about it........really. This is our first and probably last Kia. This vehicle has had the electronic throttle failure while driving, faulty back seat latch, leaky power steering fitting draining most of the fluid out.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #30

Oct 192013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 11,400 miles
2013 Kia Sorento LX - V6 AWD purchased 3/2013. On 10/19 at 11.5K miles on vehicle the transmission slipped and then lost most function at 45 mph. Car limped home with check engine light on and spewing fluid.he next morning (sat)called Kia roadside service and had car towed to nearest dealer. The dealer took vehicle and notified me later in the day transmission would be and ordered on Monday. I was notified that car would be repaired with new trans and car would be ready on wed. The dealer called me a said the water pump was corroded and was out of coolant. A water pump was replaced and trans. I picked up the car on thurs and noticed fluid under the car the next morning. Took the car back to the dealer the next morning, he stated they overfilled and now the problem solved (fri) Y confidence shaken and not feeling safe, I traded in the vehicle (got fair market value),for a leased newer model. I have lost $7,000 for owning the vehicle 7.5 months, with 11.5K miles. I am arguing with Kia motors foursome compensation, but their attitude is they will not do anything, suggested dealer discussion. I am continuing a dialoguewith Kia, they need to be responsible.

- Montville, NJ, USA

problem #29

Oct 302013


  • 11,590 miles
The vehicle lost power when driving on the highway and check engine light came on.. I was lucky to stop the car on the road side. Turned the vehicle off and restarted the car but the check engine line said not go off.drove the car for about a mile and lost power again. Repeated the same step and restarted. Reached home. This vehicle has had several problems, purchased the vehicle new with 10 miles. Last month the fan was not turning off even after turning off the vehicle. Today's incident could result in an accident if I was on the left lan.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #28

Apr 252013


  • 1,000 miles
We purchased the 2013 Kia Sorento AWD 2/2013 w/300 miles on it. At the end of April, we went to death valley (round trip was approx 350 miles.). when we returned to town, we stopped at the grocery store to pick up supper supplies. After shutting the vehicle off, being in the store for approx. 30 minutes, & then came back out, when we turned the vehicle on, it sounded as though it was only hitting on half the cylinders. We immediately cut the vehicle off, waited a couple of minutes, and then turned it back on. It seemed fine. We figured it was probably a fluke. Right after this happened though, I notice a huge decrease in my fuel mileage. Before this happened, I was getting 18/19 mpg/city and 24-34 mpg/hwy (depending on how far I went, out to death valley w/no stops, we got 34). Now I was lucky to get 13/14 mpg/city and 16-18 mpg/hwy. We took it to the Kia garage, but there wasn't much they could do because it wasn't throwing any codes. We suffered with paying more for gas for 6 months until we went for an oil change in Oct and the dealership told us there was an "ECM" update. After they shared with us that it could potentially help w/the fuel mileage, I was ecstatic! it went right back up to where it had been previously! then, the thing with the ignition happened again! only worse this time, just a few days ago! my fuel mileage went back down to what I shared above. We took it back to the dealership and after them trying all day to replicate what happened (which took months for it to happen w/us), they finally did the update, again. My fuel mileage is back up to where it should be. I want to be happy, but I am concerned this will happen yet again. There have been to other noticeable issues that I have shared in other sections. One about vibration while in neutral/park & one about the vehicle not starting after pressing the ignition button.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #27

Sep 232013


  • 22,000 miles
Driving vehicle on highway, suddenly lost power, would not accelerate. Stopped in breakdown lane, shut vehicle off and restarted. Vehicle ran ok but check engine light was on. Due to vacation took vehicle to dealer on 10/8. service manager said there was a recall for ECM and based on code from vehicle that was probably the problem. When I asked why I was not notified he said because it was not a safety issue"???" to me loss of power on the highway is a safety issue. Now, 10/16 my wife confronted the same problem and on the highway which she said caused a real safety problem, she was in the middle lane and cars were bearing down on her until she could finally move over into the breakdown lane. Again, she was able to restart the vehicle and very anxiously able to get off the highway. After stopping and restarting two more times she was able to make it home with the check engine light on again. Upon seeing other similar complaints on the web, I am going back to the Kia dealer to try and get this fixed, however, I think that the NHTSA needs to force Kia to do a recall to fix the problem before someone gets seriously hurt on the highway, the service manager at the dealer is at a loss as to what may be causing this condition but it is obviously a problem others have encounted.

- Onset, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?