If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

NHTSA — Service Brakes, Hydraulic: Foundation Components: Disc Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
0 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Kia Sportage brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Kia Sportage:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Kia Sportage Owner Comments

problem #15

Aug 162002

Sportage 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had numerous problems with the Kia when reporting problems stated they said contact dealer but never assist me with working with dealer. Once they sell me the vehicle its my problem and work it out with dealer. I feel when the axle cracks almost causing a accident and brakes fail. Also sensors fail causing lost of power would this not be a safety issues and be of a big concern to Kia.

- Palos Hills, IL, USA

problem #14

Dec 272001

Sportage 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Oxygen sensor has been replaced three times after routine service was performed. Consumer also stated the wipers were not clearing windshield, windows go up slowly, 4-wheel drive was inoperative, vehicle was loosing power steering, dealer replaced the fan belt, air condition was inoperative, wheel bearing were loose, weatherstrip was replaced, the engine boggs down while driving, front brakes were noisy.

- Berkley, MA, USA

problem #13

Dec 012001

Sportage

  • miles
Anti-lock brake system rotors and pads have been replaced three times since date of purchase. Rotors and pads last from ten to twelve thousand miles.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #12

Aug 102000

Sportage 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front brakes chripping while driving- replaced rotors and pads on 8/10/00 from prior appt. On 7/26/00 when parts were ordered.(was 2nd replacement of rotors)

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #11

Jan 042000

Sportage 4WD

  • miles
Front brakes sqeaking- dealer scrapped off glazing build up.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 022001

(reported on)

Sportage 4WD

  • miles
Took the car in for the first time on 2/4/99. 2nd time 6/10/99. 3rd time 8/19/99. 4th time 11/18/99. 5th time 5/26/00. 6th time 7/25/00. 7th time 10/4/00. 8th time 1/17/01. Each time the rotors have been warped. They are replaced with the pads. Kia said they would not buy my car back. My car needs to be taken in for the same problem again. When I said I was going to file lemon law in December 2000 they promised to replaced my car. I've missed the filing window and now they are trying to basically sell me a new car. I just want my breaks fixed. I have a 9 year old daughter and I'm very upset about my car.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #9

Apr 122001

Sportage 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both front rotors wore out below recomended specifications without any type of warning. Consumer took vehicle to dealer based on squeak noises made from brakes pads only.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 011998

Sportage

  • miles
Anti -lock brake system was inoperable. Consumer replaced rotor/ pads and calipers three times already. When this work has been done there was 1300 miles on vehicle.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 092001

Sportage 4WD

  • miles
I was forced to slam on my brakes to avoid an accident. When I did the right front brake locked up and the car made a violent skid and turn to the right. I let off of the brakes and let the car correct it's slide. When I did it made several very noticable thumps in the right front tire. When I stepped on the brake again there was no brake and the peadal went all the way to the floor. I went and bought a new set of front disk brake pads today and started to do a brake job. When I removed the right front tire there was no pad on the outside of the rotor. The caliper assembly had been riding on the rotor causing extensive wear in only a very few short miles. I had a friend come and examine the brakes to verify what I was seeing. He confirmed also. There was no pad on the outside. It was either manufactured with this pad missing or it fell out when I slammed on the brakes. Please feel free to contact me if this doesn't make sense or you think I could be mistaken.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 151998

Sportage

  • miles
No summary

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #5

Jun 151999

Sportage

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Whenever consumer steps on brakes the whole front end starts to vibrate.

- Streamwood, IL, USA

problem #4

Sep 091999

Sportage

  • miles
When applying the brakes hard vibration was coming from the front end. Rotors and brake pads were replaced. At 16,000 miles the rotors and brakes pads needed replacing again. Vehcle was taken to the dealership. Dealer stated that the problem was due to driver's error.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #3

Jan 301999

Sportage 4WD

  • miles
I purchased this vehicle Jan of 1999, it had 18,000 miles. Aprroximately two months after purchase of this vehicle I noticed the front hubs and rims lined with grease and oil. I informed both the dealer I purchased it from, and the Kia service department there was a problem with the vehical. They said they would not take care of it. From that point on I have been having serious problems with this Kia. I took the vehical in and the service department told me that the calipers, rotors, and drums needed to be replaced. The problem started to wear out the pads of all these parts, and now is grinding them away. This problem is a defect in the parts used by the manufacture and they should buy my Kia back from me, and or repair it to new condition. This is just the major issue I have with Kia there are many other various problems with it such as the window motor keeps going out(I think there is a short in the electrical system), the rear tire carrier keeps getting stuck, etc etc etc. Please help me I am at a lose as to what I should do. I can't afford $2500 to fix the brakes, that should have never gone bad, not to mention all the other problems with this vehical (1998 Kia Sportage).

- Merritt Island, FL, USA

problem #2

Apr 031999

(reported on)

Sportage

  • miles
I purchased my Kia Sportage on 7/14/98. On 11/20/98, my battery was dead. I took my Sportage to the dealer for the recall for the steering intermediate shaft coupling as soon as I received the recall notice. My brakes made a "squealing" sound since purchase, but I was informed by the dealership that this is normal for disc brakes. The brake light began flickering, then staying lit so I made an appointment with the dealership service dept. But was unable to keep it due to illness. The brakes now have a "grinding" sound and I am concerned about their safety factor. In August of 1998 I was stuck in traffic for over 2 hours due to a bad highway accident and the radiator overheated so I had to turn off, and keep off, the A/C. recently, the engine is overheating and fluid drains when the car is parked. I feel that this is a lot of problems for a new car less than 9 months "old". could these problems be defects" could the brake problem be associated with the recall problem" thank you for this opportunity to report my problems and concerns.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #1

Oct 281998

Sportage 4WD

  • miles
I feel that the Kia Sportage is a poorly made vehcle and should be bought back from all owners.

- Houston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?