Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,770 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Land Rover Freelander transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Land Rover Freelander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Land Rover Freelander Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Sep 012008


  • 48,000 miles


Mechanical problems immediately after purchase required 4-5 trips to dealership before they fixed it. I don't' recall the exact problem. Sunroof motor died & had to be replaced. Left rear window regulator died and had to be replaced. Right rear window regulator died and had to be replaced. Broken latch on hood had to be replaced. Check engine light and excessive cranking 6/1/02 and 8/17/02 dealership cleared codes no repairs. Service engine soon light and excessive cranking 9/17/02, dealership replaced leaking fuel pump. Service engine soon light and shifting problems 3/2006, dealership sent me home no repairs. Service engine soon light and car lost power while driving, throttle body had a short and dealership replaced. Service engine soon light and delay in shifting from 2nd to 3rd 9/1/08. Have not had this diagnosed yet. Suspect bad solenoids or transmission failure.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #51

Dec 072007


  • 58,000 miles
I have a 2002 landrover Freelander. Ran great at first. About 2 weeks later, the check engine lights came on, the downhill decent warning light, and the odometer display was flashing F and 4. upon driving in this condition, we found that the gears were slipping and made a loud clunking sound.

- Sunbury, PA, USA

problem #50

Oct 152007


  • 79,000 miles
2002 Land Rover Freelander S, engine and transmission failure, ,,,,,,,,,,

- Loms, CO, USA

problem #49

Jun 242008


  • 55,000 miles


I have had numerous problems with my 2002 landrover Freelander. Last month the gasoline broke while driving, spewing out a full tank of gas. This month, on my way for routine service, almost 200 miles away, the transmission went. I had it towed (for the fourth time) to landrover spokane who quoted me a price of 7100 dollars to fix my transmission. This car is just coming up to 55,000 miles.

- Richland, WA, USA

problem #48

Jul 212008


  • 93,000 miles
I have only had my 02 landrover Freelander for 3 months it has 90,000 miles and the transmission has gone and needs repaired. Of course the dealership doesn't care cause there was no warranty but I see this is common in these vehicles and something should be done.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #47

May 192008


  • 29,000 miles
Service history at plaza motors overview date issuerepairs date returned 6/7/06vehicle stalled, won't startbattery replaced6/8/2006 6/16/2006vehicle stalled, won't startreplaced ignition switch, key reader7/17/2006 8/15/2006vehicle stalled, won't start, intermittent startreplaced fuel pump8/18/2006 6/5/2007vehicle stalled, won't startsecured started wire6/6/2007 6/7/2007vehicle stalled, won't start, intermittent startreplaced immobilizer 2 times8/20/2007 11/16/2007vehicle won't acceleratereplaced intake manifold, engine, heater core3/5/2008 5/16/2008vehicle won't acceleratewant to replace entire transmission5/19/2008 notes: Freelander was purchased on June 3, 2006. Freelander broke down 3 days after purchased.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #46

Jul 162008


  • 62,000 miles


Land Rover Freelander 2002. 62 thousand miles and the transmission went out. This is going to cost me around $4,000 to fix. Apparently this vehicle is known to be a complete piece of crap.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #45

Jul 012008


  • 65,032 miles
I have a 2002 Land Rover Freelander SE with 65,032 miles, and I was told the transmission now has to be replaced or rebuilt at a cost between $3500, to $4500. I bought the SUV in 2004 with 6,300 miles, and sins then at about 12,000 to 13,000 miles the water pump went out and had to be replaced. Also the on-board computer had to be replaced as will at about 33,000 miles. I called costumer service at Land Rover and they tolled me they would not do anything for me. I asked them if it was normal for this SUV?S transmission to go out at 65,000 miles, they would not answer my question.

- Las Vegas`, NV, USA

problem #44

Jun 282007


  • 50,000 miles
Land Rover Freelander 2002 transmission issues, traction control light stays on and check engine light. Transmission and engine issues galore, currently only have 54,000 miles on the vehicle.

- Cambridge, MA, USA

problem #43

Apr 152008


  • 60,000 miles
I bought an 02 Land Rover Freelander from a used car dealer and after about a year and a half, at only 60,000 miles, the transmission went out. The car no longer drives. No one will work on it and my only option is to replace the whole tranny for about 4 grand. I still owe a bunch and I just keep shelling out the towing costs to have it looked at. I'm going sell the stupid car and cut my losses. It sounds like there are a bunch of similar cases out there from what I've read online.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #42

Jun 132006


  • 85,000 miles


I bought this vehicle used (landrover Freelander) just over a year ago in early 2007. At the time it had just under 40,000 miles on it and within the first week of having it the sunroof malfunctioned and broke. I contacted the dealer and they referred me to my extended warranty that I had purchased. After going round and round with the dealership and the folks at the lr dealership we got it resolved to the tune of $1,200. Since then the vehicle has had numerous visits to the lr dealership to be repaired (fuel pump, front end, transmission, etc...). at this point I am considering driving the vehicle until it can run no more and then just letting the bank take it back. I have no choice because he lr dealership basically said the vehicle is junk, even though it looks great and is in great condition for a 2002. What's going on with the sale of these Freelanders is nothing less than fraud by landrover and the car dealerships that choose to sell these models used. Even if you buy a extended warranty as I did, no one told me I should have had it at the dealership every day and pushing the lr dealership to go through the car with a fine tooth comb to make sure every item is in working order, before the extended warranty runs out. I believe that Land Rover knows that the Freelander has serious issues & at this point they are merely using it as a means to drive revenue sales at their service departments throughout the world. Please help, this problem has reached epidemic proportions. Will it take a death(s) due to a malfunctioning part(s) on these vehicles before someone takes Land Rover to task on this lemon of a vehicle. I have three small children and I am scared to death for them to ride with me in this vehicle, but it is our only vehicle and we have no choice. Please someone hold Land Rover accountable for duping the american public. This is similar to the adjustable rate mortgage scam that has put a strangle hold on customers throughout the country.

- Lansing , MI, USA

problem #41

May 122008

Freelander 6-cyl

  • 66,938 miles
Transmission failed causing loss of power and movement. Towed to transmission repair shop and had to have the transmission re-built. Hill decent light would come on and stay on while driving until engine was turned off for no reason before the failure of the transmission occurred.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #40

May 212008


  • 65,000 miles
2002 Freelander with 65,000 miles - rear window regulator replaced at 55K; now the entire transmission needs replaced. Land Rover can no longer get the parts, so looking at a re-manufactured one at about $4,000. Dealership closed down and there has been no help!

- Urbandale, IA, USA

problem #39

May 162008


  • 29,717 miles
Date issuerepairs date returned 6/7/06vehicle stalled, won't startbattery replaced6/8/2006 6/16/2006vehicle stalled, won't startreplaced ignition switch, key reader7/17/2006 8/15/2006vehicle stalled, won't start, intermittent startreplaced fuel pump8/18/2006 6/5/2007vehicle stalled, won't startsecured started wire6/6/2007 6/7/2007vehicle stalled, won't start, intermittent startreplaced immobolizer 2 times8/20/2007 11/16/2007vehicle won't acceleratereplaced intake manifold, engine, heater core3/5/2008 5/16/2008vehicle won't acceleratewant to replace entire transmission.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #38

Dec 202007


  • miles
Less than 50,000 miles landrover Freelander gives F4 fault, will not shift out of 2nd gear. Has overheating problem, sunroof died, dealer said needs new transmission, completely new wiring harness, new ECU, new door to fix window failure, and!!!!!!!!!!!! a new engine to fix the overheating problem that they tell me is a common thing, and they haven't seen any Freelander's get over 65,000 miles without an engine and transmission replacement. Luxury vehicle my ass. Dealership gave me an 18,000 dollar repair estimate. I guess luxury means it costs a lot to drive not you have the luxury of driving without worrying about sitting on the side of the road in a 30,000 dollar piece of crap. Read some forums online. All of these problems are happening everyday, and nothing is being done to make this luxury vehicle company make a better vehicle. I mean damn I should have bought a Honda...... at least they have heated seats to keep my ass warm when I wait on the side of the road.

- Key West, FL, USA

problem #37

Dec 092007

Freelander 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The engine/head gasket issue is the repair that is the most critical and terminal condition for the vehicle. The dealers mechanics will never fix the gasket, so they will only offer the engine replacement, but either repair will cost you more than the SUV is worth. And yes, the brake pads and then rotors wear out very quickly, because of the weight of the vehicle (the dealer says). I personally think it has more to do with the fact that there are 2 disc front brakes and 2 drum rear brakes on the vehicle, hence the wear and weight all goes to the front of the vehicle. Another poor design flaw issue, and I was told the drum brakes were there to better allow the off-roading. Yeah, who ever could off road these things, they fall apart on the driveway!

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #36

Aug 232006

Freelander 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I have 2002 landrover Freelander 4X4 V6. The transmission has went out on it. It has 50,000 miles on it. I took it to the landrover dealership and they said I needed a new transmission and new rails and tracks on the sunroof. The powerlocks are also messed up.

- Statesville, NC, USA

problem #35

Apr 022007

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,300 miles
Our well-maintained 2002 Freelander had engine and transmission failure within 6 months of reaching 50,000 miles. In both cases the failures occurred during highway driving with no warning lights or indications of problems. In both cases the loss of power/control posed a serious health hazard to everyone in the car. One of these events occurred immediately following service and safety check by the dealer. This care is so badly designed that is a driving hazard and should be recalled in its entirety. The very extensive information on major failures without warning attest to the dangers that this vehicle is imposing on the public on a daily basis.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #34

Feb 012008

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Land Rover Freelander. While driving 5 mph, the transmission gears failed to shift. The dealer stated that nothing could be done and advised the contact to keep driving until the failure recurred. The failure and current mileages were 44,000.

- Sevenhills, OH, USA

problem #33

Nov 302006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,050 miles
Transmission broke at 50,050 miles. Needed full replacement.

- Renton, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?