Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,770 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Land Rover Freelander transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Land Rover Freelander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Land Rover Freelander Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

May 122006

Freelander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is about transmission failure for 2002 landrover/Freelander. Keeping the car in best shape and maintaining on schedule, still the transmission went bad with less than 40,000 mileage. Car warranty is for 50K or 4 years. Unfortunately, the warranty was up in January 2006. Engine has special noise and car is coming apart. Window does not roll up and down, rear seat got stuck and wouldn't get its position. One problem after another, but the main one is the transmission.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 252005

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,439 miles
: the contact stated while driving 65 mph the vehicle shifted from fifth gear to neutral without warning and the reverse failed when attempting to park. The vehicle was towed to a local independent repair shop. They replaced the automatic transmission. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Cobleskill, NY, USA

problem #10

Jan 102006

Freelander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,548 miles
Engine coolant, transmission failure overheated, leaking fluids. Dealership replaced transmission when vehicle overheated. Paid 2500 for a new transmission then dealer indicated that this vehicle needed more servicing unrelated to the transmission for another $3000. Dealer was negligent when fixing transmission and caused further damage.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #9

Oct 192005

Freelander

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,504 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a new 2002 Land Rover Freelander from Land Rover new orleans (paretti) on August 19, 2002. Since that time, the vehicle has had continuous problems. The power steering, transmission, transfer case (2), ird unit (2), front drive shaft, manifold chamber and other items have been replaced and the brake pads (2) have had to be changed. The vehicle only has 35,498 miles. After reviewing edmunds.com and other consumer resource sites, it appears that the problems that I encountered have also been encountered by others purchasing this vehicle. I have had 23 warranty claims on this vehicle and Land Rover North America, Inc., as of January 2005, has paid in excess of $11,994.55 for repairs on a vehicle that had a purchase price of $30,603.77. The aforementioned amount does not include the costs of replacing the transfer case, ird unit, front drive shaft and manifold chamber in April 2005 or the replacement of the sun roof assembly in June 2005. Neither the local Land Rover dealer nor Land Rover North America, Inc. Have been cooperative in dealing with me on this issue.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #8

Jul 102004

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
2002 Land Rover Freelander has problems with faulty cam sensor, faulty sunroof, transmission and battery. The battery and struts were replaced. The driver's side window would not close or open easily, so the dealer replaced the regulator. The vehicle overheated. The engine light illuminated and different componets were replaced to try and rectify the problem.

- Locust Valley, NY, USA

problem #7

Jan 172005

Freelander 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer was traveling 20 miles per hour when all of a sudden without warning the vehicle stalled. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer for an inspection and after 3 times of testing, results showed that the transmission needed to be replaced.

- Ladera Ranch, CA, USA

problem #6

Sep 182004

Freelander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,656 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Land Rover Freelander left my family and I stranded on the highway twice and both events were very costly. I own the vehicle 16 months. The first break down occurred in hartford, al when the vehicle was towed back to the nearest dealer jax, fl 300 plus miles. A battery cable was replaced. The vehicle reached 48,000 miles when I made a formal complaint of engine noise and requested the dealership (mantheny Jaguar and Land Rover) perform the appropriate services to include noting any problems considering the warranty expired at 50000 mil. After 50000 the vehicle literally began to break down mechanically. One noted cost of several was the replacement of the transmission at a cost of $4800 to repair. I believe any vehicle that has a major break down of this nature, the amercian consumers have a right to know. The free lander is costly and performs poorly stacked up against american made products.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #5

Mar 182004

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
2002 landrover Freelander tranmission failure.

- Coos Bay, OR, USA

problem #4

Jun 122003

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,151 miles
The car was purchased new in 2002. With only 23,000 miles, the vehicle has been out of service for 43 days with catastrophic mechanical failures, including: 21 days for a new wiring harness; 3 days for a new gearshift assembly and 8 days for a new transmission and ECU and front brakes. Additionally, the vehicle has been in the shop 8 times for warranty repairs; and brakes. The vehicle is currently in the shop where it was been for the last 11 days with the dealer once again trying to resolve warning light and transmission issue. I have had problems with the vehicle shifting to lower gears by itself at freeway speeds. In addition all of the on-board failure lights coming on and stay on routinely. The car continues to be plagued by electrical/mechanical problems. After every visit the dealer I am assured the problem has been fixed by both the dealer and Land Rover customer service; only to find myself bringing the vehicle back literally days later with the exact same problem. Within 8 months of purchasing the new vehicle, it required three separate visits to the dealer for a total of 15 maintenance problems, but the purchasing dealer could not fix any of these problems. In June 2002, I brought the vehicle to another dealer with identical maintenance problems. Though the car continues to have hard shifting and failure lights. In October 2003, I started caring a digital camera in the vehicle so that I could document the problems.

- Benicia, CA, USA

problem #3

Oct 032003

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
We own a 2002 Land Rover Freelander. It has been in the repair shop numerous times. While on a trip all of the warning lights on the dashboard lite up and the transmission became stuck in 4th gear. Because road side assistance could not direct us to an open dealership, we had to drive from buffalo NY to Chicago il. Once back in the city, the dealership took the car and replaced the computer, which took more than two weeks. On the way home, the same problem occurred. We brought the car back and the dealership has had the vehicle for the past 26 days to replace the transmission. We went in to try and trade it in for a discovery and they only offered 14,000. We have tried to get corporate to buy back the car at our pay off amount and they have refused. We are currently exploring our options under the ucc and the magnuson-moss act for breach of warranty.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #2

Oct 202003

Freelander

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,600 miles
When applying brakes at normal conditions ABS light came on intermittently, and there was extended stopping distance. Dealer stated braking system was defective but they could do nothing about it. Also, automatic transmission failed.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #1

Mar 222002

(reported on)

Freelander 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Defect in automatic transmission: Hard shift between 2nd and 3rd gear. Dealer and manufacturer have yet to recognize and acknowledge said defect. Land Rover Freelander owners have all experienced this problem and are beginning to complain and it was recommended to notify the NHTSA of same.

- Irvine, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?