Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Fuel System, Gasoline: Delivery: Fuel Pump Problems

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,480 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Land Rover Freelander fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Land Rover Freelander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Land Rover Freelander Owner Comments

problem #9

May 312008

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Land Rover Freelander had fuel pump failure. Consumer states that the problem caused the engine to die while driving at highway speed.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #8

Oct 262006

Freelander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,612 miles
Vehicle shuts down while driving, dies when slowing down 1. 10/26/06-reset throttle 2. 10/29/06-replace wiring assembly, replace throttle body electrical connector. 3. 10/26/07-replace fuel pump gasket, replaced LH/front bank ignition coil, replaced spark plug.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 072006

Freelander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,245 miles
Service engine soon light illuminated 1. 08/07/06-internal failure of intake chamber, linkage motor no good replaced upper intake chamber 2. 10/26/07-fuel pump leaking from gasket, cylinder 3 misfires replaced gasket, replaced cylinder 3 coil and spark plug 3. 02/29/08-topped off coolant.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 172007

Freelander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,788 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

(1) 2003 Land Rover Freelander was running rough suddenly. It then stalled while in traffic and would not restart. After 3 hours of waiting for flatbed truck from aaa road service, vehicle was transported to local Land Rover dealer. (2) a failed fuel pump was discovered. (3) it was replaced with a new one. Vehicle was out of warranty and therefore very costly for original owner.

- Port Washington, NY, USA

problem #5

Dec 152007

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,500 miles
I was driving at approx 55 mph when the engine suddenly stalled without warning while driving. Managed to pull off the road and the engine would not start. Had my 2003 Freelander towed to the local garage where I was informed that the fuel pump had failed and had to be replaced. The warranty is no longer in effect (48 month / 50,000 mile).

- Coatesville, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Nov 192007

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
2003 Land Rover Freelander car was running but sputtered then engine stopped. Fuel pump failed. 43,000 total miles. 3 months past warranty period end. Exhibited impending failure signs (hard starting) but had not quit and was not diagnosed as a fuel pump problem on previous dealership visits. Car would not start afterwards. Fuel pump replaced by lr dealer. Car runs normally now.

- Hurst, TX, USA

problem #3

Oct 292007

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Numerous large repairs needed for a 2003 Land Rover Freelander, current mileage approx 79,000 including: New engine Oct 2007, new radiator June 2007, new fuel pump May 2007, new thermostat April 2007, internal electrical fault September 2006, cooling system September 2006, broken sway bar April 2006, right rear window replaced February 2006, child safety lock recall November 2005, brake switch failure November 2005, heater core leaking coolant November 2005, coolant bottle replaced November 2005, driver door replaced December 2004, windshield washer broken December 2004.

- Los Gatos, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 082007

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Fuel pump died at 56000 miles on a landrover Freelander 2003 without any warning. Had to have car towed 28 miles to nearest dealer to have pump replaced.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 232006

Freelander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,178 miles
While driving the 2003 Land Rover Freelander on the freeway and getting ready to exit when the car suddenly turned off by itself, but the wheels were still moving. It was not the battery because I still had the radio on and the lights were working. It felt like it had run out of gas, but I had a full tank! thank god I was making an exit at the time, and it the exit was sloping downhill and with momentum I made it to the first light. But the war would not turn on. The lights would turn on, but the engine would not. I put my emergency lights on and a police car pushed the car to the nearest safe block to park my car. The police vehicle damaged the car from the back bumper because of the push, but at that time I was just happy I was out of an intersection. When I took the car to get it checked out it was the fuel pump. It ended up costing me $500. Land Rover did not want to reimburse me the $ at least for the part because they said that I did not use a certified Land Rover dealer.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?