Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,457 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Land Rover LR3 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Land Rover LR3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Land Rover LR3 Owner Comments

problem #12

Feb 132013

LR3 8-cyl

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air suspension fault cant go over 35 miles per hour bad compressor dealer says. Now I'm hearing this the number 1 problem and complaint of my model.

- Des Moines, WA, USA

problem #11

Aug 242013

LR3 8-cyl

  • 90,355 miles
This vehicle has had numerous problems from excessive tire wear to cruise control not shutting off when depressing the control button on the steering wheel. Now there is a excessive water leak that has caused electrical problems such as parking brake malfunction, windshield washer to fail, numerous warning lights coming on. This all causes me to not use the vehicle, until it dries out, for fear that the leak from the sunroof will cause electrical failure while driving. Also the wiring is probably becoming very corroded and could short out causing the vehicle to catch fire. During the warranty period of this vehicle it was extremely difficult to get Land Rover North America to acknowledge any of these problems other than they were unique to this vehicle.

- Anthem, AZ, USA

problem #10

Nov 162005

LR3

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Land Rover LR3. The contact stated that air compressors that raised the vehicle up and down were defective. The air suspension light illuminated which indicated a problem with the suspension. The compressors were first replaced in 2005. The contact noticed that the air compressors related to the air suspension failed again October 2010. The contact scheduled an appointment with the dealer for mid October 2010. The vehicle had not been repaired again. The manufacturer had not been notified. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was approximately 80,000. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000. Updated 2/28/11 updated 04/25/11

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #9

Jan 302010

LR3

  • 79,645 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Land Rover LR3 has several warning lights, varies from brake to suspension which usually clears itself after restarting the engine. Last week the amber light on the suspension heights is on again with chimes each time the engine starts. 3 days ago, I was driving to a supermarket when the amber light turned red, the suspension system failed, the vehicle dropped to a low stance and very bouncy. It made strange noise from the left rear side, I can't even drive more than 25 miles per hour, as it will bounce wildly. The car is now still stuck in a low level suspension, parked in the a parking space near my house. Lucky it happens not more than 10 miles away from my house, so I drove it very slowly. If this problem happens in a freeway, this is a very dangerous situation.

- Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #8

Jan 102008

LR3 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Land Rover LR3. While driving less than 60 mph, the vehicle veered to the right. The dealer made the necessary repairs, but the failure occurred three additional times. The vehicle was returned to the dealer and a four wheel alignment was performed. After the fourth failure, the contact became suspicious that the repairs would only provide a temporary remedy indefinitely. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 26,000 and current mileage was 44,000. Updated 10/16/08 updated 10/17/08.

- Irvine, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Jun 172008

LR3 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Land Rover LR3. After placing 8,000 miles on the vehicle, the inside of the tires have become worn to the cord. The Goodyear tires have been replaced by the dealer on three different occasions. Each time the tires were replaced, they were replaced with the same Goodyear tires. The current mileage was 39,000. Updated 07/15/08. The dealer informed the consumer the suspension was designed incorrectly on the vehicle. Particularly the control arm and bushings. The dealer has tried to correct the problem with different alignment procedures, but with no success. Updated 07/15/08.

- Mequon, WI, USA

problem #6

Jan 102008

LR3 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Comments: We currently own a 2005 landrover LR3, in 2006 the company issued a technical service bulletin regarding their suspension which causes dangerous uneven tire wear. The company acknowledged the issue and at the factory changed the suspension of subsequent models, however they allowed current owner such as ourselves and our three children to drive unsafe vehicle without notification. We have had severely uneven and potentially deadly tire wear twice with this SUV. I don't know how many other vehicles are being driven with this unsafe issue. Landrover North America refuses to take responsibility. Someone is going to rollover these SUV's or have a high speed blow out. Does someone have to die before landrover takes notice? we thought you should know to try and save some lives.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #5

Oct 112007

LR3 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,718 miles
The tires are wearing excessively. The problem was corrected at 18,000 miles service interval with an alignment and reappeared at 30,000 service. The dealer suggest changing the tires more often. They can not explain the cause.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #4

Sep 252005

LR3

  • 3,441 miles
2005 Land Rover LR3 with broken wiper blades and suspension problem** 07/19/07 dup letter send in** the consumer stated he purchased the vehicle new on Sept 1, 2005 upon possessing the vehicle for 24 days the windshield wiper blades broke and 19 days after that the plastic molding from the driver's door fell off and not 13 days later the car was towed. The consumer was informed that there was a problem with the rear suspension/differential, the consumer also heard noise while the car was in reverse and was informed that there was damage to the rear suspension compressor. The consumer stated that the tires were worn not 11 months after he purchased the vehicle, the power windows were in operable, steering wheel is prematurely worn and a recall was issued for the vehicle pertaining to the fuel tank. The consumer stated would like a new vehicle or cancel the contract to obtain a refund for the vehicle. Updated 07/24/07

- Ponce, PR, USA

problem #3

May 142007

LR3 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,555 miles
Tires on the LR3 2005 Land Rover had excessive wear & tear, I.e. premature and uneven tire wear that could potentially lead to failure, accident, injury, fire, property damage, crash as a result of tire failure. Ar has been maintained per warranty. Em tires were pretty much no good after 13,555 miles on the car on a personal level. Service bulletin swa06-10 revision 2, was out there for this alignment issue back in October 23, 2006 timeline that was causing the tires to wear out excessively. Subject title: LR3 and range rover sport premature/uneven tire wear guidance manufacturerwas simply not taking any proactive steps to correct the situation. If this issue was discovered in 2006 or earlier why wasn't the manufacturer taking immediate actions on the issue " where was the accountability from managment from Land Rover " riskwas simply not acceptable to the passengers in the car.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 032006

LR3 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
All four tires had to be replaced because of excessive wearing and cupping on the inside of the tires. All four tires were worn to the wear bars, with less than 16,000 miles on the vehicle. If this was not personally noticed, a failure of a tire could have lead to a roll over of the vehicle. The tires were replaced by the dealer with myself paying for them, and to pay for a wheel alignment. The wheels are always in a negative camber, by design, which causes the tires to wear on the inside. I have heard of others having this problem, while in for service I looked at other vehicles in for service, and they all had tire wear on the inside. Please investigate this before some soccer mom rolls over and children are injured.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #1

Sep 142005

LR3 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,774 miles
1). disconnected plug to generator which resulted in electric failure in navigation system and stereo - fixed. 2). vehicle continues to veer to the right while driving, however after each complaint and servicing to Land Rover we are told there is no alignment problem when they drive the car. 3). repeat of the same problem, approximately three weeks later - dealer stated there was a recall on the stereo/navigation system, which is what initially caused the problem - fixed 3). 9-14-2005 vehicle stalled while driving downhill in heavy traffic in a canyon, leaving me with no brakes or power steering, almost veering off the mountain. Started engine again and it stalled again only 30 feet further - called Land Rover and was informed there is a recall that is supposed to start October 14 - it is a fuel ignition problem - very dangerous - and needs a new fuel tank. Recall # 05V37600.

- Studio City, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?