Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,869 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Lexus ES 350 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Lexus ES 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Lexus ES 350 Owner Comments

problem #11

Jun 022016

ES 350

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle independently decelerated and the exterior lighting dimmed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was serviced; however, the details of the diagnostic and service could not be provided. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 022015

ES 350

  • 37,000 miles
While driving, sometimes, 'door open' icon shows right front door open and all doors unlock, even though the doors are properly locked. I stop the car, re-close the right front door and move on. It happens often. First I noticed in June 2015. Took the car for repair at Lexus. Problem persists.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 032015

ES 350

  • 78,000 miles
Exterior lights on low beam intermittently go off, first one side then sometimes the other, I was once traveling on the interstate at night 70 mph and they both went out. Once I pulled over and turned them on and off several times they came back on and about 10 miles down the road the right one went out again. This has been going on for about 6 months. My mechanic replaced the bulbs and checked fuses. It's still happening. Oddly, when the headlight goes out the indicator light on the dash doesn't light up either. Sometimes I'd drove the car into work and someone would say I have a headlight out and I'd take it to my mechanic (which happened more than I can say) and they would be fine, until the next time. This is a serious safety issue and I'm not sure if my car will pass the annual inspection. There's only 81,000 miles.

- Charles Town, WV, USA

problem #8

Nov 022015

ES 350

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When turning, the 'door open' light comes on and all four doors unlock. This has been happening for about 2 weeks. Before this, only light will come.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #7

Apr 232015

ES 350

  • 67,000 miles
I was driving and pulled up next to another car as I pulled off the highway, when the driver motioned to me for directions I immediately tried to rolled the window down to speak to rge person. The passenger side window makes a popping sound and sounds like it jumps out of the track. This prevent opening and closing the window. I just purchased the car from jm Lexus and now told. Have to pay over $800 to repair it. I had a bad experience with the salesman when we made the purchase which made me swear off purchasing another vehicle through them or even recommendibg them. This is my third purchase through them I should have listened to my instinct.. I parked my car in parking garage or on the street. When I return I noticed the interior dash melts and peels when the temperature raises.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #6

May 122014

ES 350 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Oil dumped out crossing a very long bridge & engine froze up/steering hard to control...due to a defective vvti_oil hose rupturing..both Lexus & Toyota were aware of this problem & had issued a "limited service campaign" that ended on March 31, 2013..both refused to fix my car that with rental cars, cost me aprox. $7,000..this was a rubber hose, that both mfgs. Knew about and both co.continued to replace these faulty hoses, with another "rubber hose", even tho' there was & still is a metal hose that is recommended!! I had posted this problem with ya'll, shortly after, but, do not find records of.. but, approx. 2 weeks ago, I received a notification from Lexus stating, " they had decided to re-open this "limited service campaign" to extend to Dec. 31, 2021..a day too late & alot of $$$$& time spent..even tho' Lexus said they would consider reimbursement on cars, like mine that already had been repaired. Lexus is only doing this, again, because I am 100% sure that all the many many Lexus & Toyota car owners that had their hoses replaced back in 2013 and prior are now experiencing what I had to go thru: Engine died, almost ran off the bridge and spent weeks without a car..had to rent. I ask for you to please go back and research this faulty vvti_oil hose on both Lexus & toyata cars..there are thousands, especially with Toyota!!! all you have to do is google vvti-oil hose and you will see.. thank you in advance!!

- Santa Rosa Beach, FL, USA

problem #5

Dec 212011

ES 350

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the road at varying speeds I have noticed that the outside mirrors on my car change position without any input on the switch. During the week or so prior to the first time that this occurred, I had noticed that when returning to the car after leaving it parked overnight that the mirrors, selecting the memory switch would return the seat and mirrors to their preset position. However this has now progressed to where the mirrors will change position while the vehicle is in motion. The driver's mirror will not change position dramatically, however the passenger side mirror will frequently tilt up to nearly the full extent of its' travel and without any warning or input from the driver. This has led to several occasions where a quick glance, especially at night, did not show an obstruction on the passenger side of the car and nearly led to an accident. Pressing the memory recall button numerous times will eventually bring the mirror back to the set memory position. This is a safety hazard and I would like my vehicle to be repaired.

- Springboro, OH, USA

problem #4

Dec 102010

ES 350

  • 52,490 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. While driving approximately 25 mph, the malfunction indicator lamp light and charging system warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that there was oil leaking from the vehicle beginning December 2010. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage was 52,490 and the current mileage was 52,494.

- Apt 309, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 162010

ES 350

  • 50 miles
In 2007, I purchased a new 2007 model Lexus ES 350 4 door sedan. Shortly after I purchased the vehicle, I noticed that when the accelerator was lifted and the car was downshifting and braking by the engine (the brake not being depressed), at one point the car continued forward for a time rather than continue to being braked by the engine. This condition has continued in spite my calling it to the attention of the Lexus dealer in new orleans on several occasions, the first being shortly after I purchased the car, and the latest being on June 16th of this year. In each instance, I was told by the dealer that the car had no problems. The problem is not a rapid surge, but rather a sudden and unexpected moving forward in gear instead of a continuous downshifting and resulting braking when the car has been driven at about 30 to 40 mph and the accelerator is lifted. This problem does not occur in every instance when the accelerator is lifted, but in traffic when the driver expects the car to slow itself the sudden forward movement, instead of a continuous slowing, is dangerous. The acceleration problem appears to be a fault of the car's electronic control system. I also called to the attention of the dealer the fact that when the car is braked, the car does stop but if pressure is continued to be placed on the brake pedal, the pedal goes all the way to the floor. This has not caused an accident to date, but it does require the driver to pump the brake pedal to make certain that the car will stop. Each time this is done, the brake pedal catches midway to the floor. Again, I was told that this was not a problem. I register these two issues as potential causes of accidents and as complaints on my part.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #2

Jul 092008

ES 350

  • 14 miles
Unintended acceleration on my 2007 ES350 Lexus. Damage to my entire right side of car, wheels. Happened on 7/09/08, no winter mats in car. It was towed to the dealer, where they kept it for 5 months, & refused to talk to me, because it was a legal matter. They found no problem. Tw*

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #1

Dec 312008

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. While driving approximately 25 mph on normal road conditions, the contact depressed the brake pedal and the engine began to rev, followed by unintended acceleration. The brake pedal required greater force to stop the vehicle. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel at the time of the failure. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the failure was contributed to the computerized system in the transmission. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle is in the process of being repaired. The failure mileage was 18,000 and current mileage was 25,200. Updated 05/26/09 updated 05/28/09.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?