Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 2
Average Mileage:
18,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Lexus ES 350 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Lexus ES 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Lexus ES 350 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Nov 092008

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from senator durbin on behalf of constituent re a problem with Toyota and his 2007 Lexus ES350 4 dr sdn sudden acceleration (dot/I#2010-1239) the consumer stated the vehicle failed to decelerate as he attempted to apply the brakes. The brake pedal went to the floor and the electronic system of the vehicle didn't register any warning lights.

- Broadview, IL, USA

problem #27

Mar 242010

ES 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Lexus ES350, while parking vehicle consumer stated for some unknown reason vehicle moved forward hitting into a block wall. According to the police report, the accelerator pedal became stuck.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #26

Sep 012006

ES 350 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Lexus ES 350. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumer stated on numerous occasions he has experienced sudden acceleration while driving between 30- 40 mph. The first experience occurred within a few weeks of owning the vehicle. The floor mats were removed, however the vehicle continued to accelerate. Each time the consumer went to the dealer to voice his concern, no repairs were made.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #25

Nov 082008

ES 350

  • 25,146 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2nd request re fax fwd on behalf of (NJ) who was involved in an auto accident on 11/18/08 in her 2007 Toyota Lexus that suddenly accelerated, would like her Toyota incident recorded. When the consumer pulled into her driveway and approached the open garage door, the vehicle suddenly accelerated at a high rate of speed. She stepped on the brake, but was unable to stop the vehicle. The vehicle struck the side of the garage door opening and sent bricks flying and continued until it rammed the rear wall of the garage with great force. On the other side of the garage, was a small hall bathroom. The force of the impact of the crash knocked tile from the stall shower off the wall and bent part of the shower door frame. There was also damage to the garage walls as well as to the door entering the house from the garage. The vehicle was repaired and the consumer has since traded the vehicle.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #24

Nov 182008

ES 350

  • 25,146 miles
Fax fwd on behalf of (NJ) who was involved in an auto accident in on 11/18/08 in her 2007 Lexus ES350 that suddenly accelerated, would like her Toyota incident recorded when the consumer pulled into her driveway and approached the open garage door, the vehicle suddenly accelerated at a high rate of speed. She stepped on the brake, but was unable to stop the vehicle. The vehicle struck the side of the garage door opening and sent bricks flying and continued until it rammed the rear wall of the garage with great force. On the other side of the garage, was a small hall bathroom. The force of the impact of the crash knocked tile from the stall shower off the wall and bent part of the shower door frame. There was also damage to the garage walls as well as to the door entering the house from the garage. The vehicle was repaired and the consumer has since traded the vehicle.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #23

Apr 272010

ES 350

  • 45,174 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact stated that the vehicle had previously been serviced for the recall remedy associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). After the recall repair was performed, the contact was driving 40 mph when the vehicle accelerated. The contact then shifted the vehicle into neutral gear and applied the brakes. He was able to move the vehicle from the road and turn the engine off. When restarting, the vehicle exhibited unusually high engine rpms and began idling. The engine was shut off a second time and resumed normal operation when it was restarted. The vehicle was not taken to an authorized dealer for further inspection of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 45,174 and the current mileage was 45,189.

- Beloit, WI, USA

problem #22

Apr 212010

ES 350

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact stated that the vehicle had been repaired previously according to recall 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) but while driving, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 80,000.

- Mill Valley, CA, USA

problem #21

Mar 112010

ES 350

  • 67,063 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. On March 11, 2010, while driving from one parking lot to another, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal and the vehicle suddenly accelerated like a rocket. The vehicle crashed into a light post and knocked it from its foundation, which then landed on the vehicle. The contact was transported to the hospital with injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was inspected by NHTSA on March 31, 2010. The vehicle was totaled. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously taken into the dealership for recall 09V388000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal) and the repairs were believed to have been performed. The current and failure mileages were 67,063.

- Paulding , OH, USA

problem #20

Apr 062010

(reported on)

ES 350 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Lexus ES350 with unintended acceleration. The consumer stated over the last year, he experienced two incidents of uncontrolled acceleration. Both incidents occurred only briefly and under similar driving conditions. In each case, the consumer accelerated rapidly to pass a slower moving vehicle. In each case, after he removed his foot from the accelerator pedal, the engine remained in a high RPM and high acceleration condition for a brief period of about 1-2 seconds prior to decelerating. In neither case, was the floor mat an issue. The consumer stated he received a recall letter in the mail, regarding the sudden acceleration problem.

- Orangevale, CA, USA

problem #19

Apr 052010

(reported on)

ES 350 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer has adhered to all the recall precautions pertaining to the ES model Lexus and the problems still persist. The consumer stated he still experienced minor sudden acceleration problems.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 032008

ES 350 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Lexus ES350. Suspected unintended acceleration causing fatal crash. The decedent was driving, when apparently his vehicle crossed the center line and crashed head-on into a van. A passenger in the van was also killed. (attorney on behalf of decedent)

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #17

Oct 012009

ES 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Ltr fwd re sudden acceleration incident involving his 2007 Lexus ES350. The consumer stated when he attempted to pass an 18-wheeler truck, the vehicle suddenly accelerated out of control. Another truck was in front of him and the truck the consumer attempted to pass was on his right. A steep cliff was on the left and when he applied the brakes there was no response. He turned off the cruise control and there was still no response. The consumer tired tapping the accelerator and fortunately that worked and the vehicle returned to normal operation. Later that day, after leaving the gas station, the accelerator became stuck again.

- Mount Gilead, NC, USA

problem #16

Oct 012009

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
2007 Lexus ES350 sudden accelerated the consumer stated while driving South on the interstate, he pulled out to pass an 18-wheeler truck, when suddenly the vehicle accelerated out of control. Another truck was in front of him and the one that he was attempting to pass was on the right. A steel cliff was on the left and as the consumer applied the brake, there was no response. He turned off the cruise control and there was still no response. He tried tapping the accelerator and fortunately that worked and the vehicle returned to normal and under control.

- Mount Gilead, NC, USA

problem #15

Feb 172010

ES 350 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. While attempting to pull out of his driveway and depressing the brake pedal, the brakes would not engage. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a foregoing vehicle. There were no injuries; however a police report was filed on scene. The dealer could not duplicate the failure. The current and failure mileages were 34,500. Updated 06/17/10. The consumer stated the incident happened right after he pulled out of the parking lot from the dealership after having the recall performed. Updated 07/14/10.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #14

Jan 012010

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact was driving 25 mph when she engaged the brake pedal, the vehicle surged and crashed into the back of a vehicle. The air bags caused mild injuries to the driver when they deployed. The police was called and a report was taken. The contacts insurance company paid for the vehicle to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired and it is in the contacts possession but she doesn't feel safe driving it. The contact did receive a recall notice in October concerning the floor mats. The contact informed the dealer that she did not have any floor mats in her vehicle and he stated that her vehicle was not on the recall list. The failure mileage was 33,000. The current mileage was 33,010. Updated 3/30/2010 updated 05/04/10. Updated 09/07/10 updated 10/08/10

- Glen Rock, NJ, USA

problem #13

Aug 092009

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Lexus ES350 unintended acceleration. The consumer was backing out of the garage, when the accelerator became stuck. He applied the brakes numerous times, but the vehicle would not stop. Consequently, the consumer hit a bush and a tree. The consumer then put the vehicle in drive and again, it accelerated out of control and went straight into the garage and stopped after it hit a chest. The consumer experienced unwanted acceleration for the second time one November 14, 2009 when the vehicle accelerated out of control and crashed into his house. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and they stated nothing was wrong. The same day, after the consumer left the dealer, he once again experienced unwanted acceleration causing more damage to the vehicle.

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #12

May 042008

ES 350

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. While driving 40 mph she engaged the accelerator pedal and noticed that the pedal was stuck which caused the vehicle to accelerate uncontrollably. The brakes briefly failed to stop the vehicle. The dealer stated that the failure was caused by the floor mats. There were no prior warnings. The current mileage was 28,000 and the failure mileage was 15,000.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 052009

ES 350

  • 12,000 miles
I was driving a 07 Lexus 350 when the gas pedal got stuck under the floor mat. I am sorry that I did not report this prior to the deadly crash in san diego. I first thought that I possibly did not put the mat back correctly after vacuuming the car. I remember securing the tabs when I replaced the mat. I was merging onto interstate 480W at the time. Fortunately there was not a lot of traffic. I was talking on the cell phone at the time to my husband on the way to work. I realized that I was going faster and faster and started to panic. I yelled "the car is out of control I am going faster I cant stop, ryan, ryan oh my god". I threw the phone down and I could hear him yelling put it in neutral so I did. The car was revving so fast that it would not stop. I got off to the side and was rolling slowly. I pushed the button but it would not shut off. I then thought to jam it into park however reverse comes first ! the car then shot backwards and I put it into neutral again. Finally I started reaching down to see what was wrong and pulled on the mat. The tabs made it difficult to remove. Once the mat was folded back the peddle let loose. I was horrified and sat on the side of the road for at least ten minutes. I was late for work and upset all day. I thought that it was my fault. The car company needs to make the public aware of this! invoice received. Updated 11/13/09

- Walton Hills, OH, USA

problem #10

Jan 202009

ES 350

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle's speed suddenly increased to 70 mph. The contact quickly pulled over to inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the computer did not show any failures. The failure would have to recur in order for a repair to be performed. The failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 03/23/09. Updated 03/23/09. The consumer stated she could see how the floor map could catch the edge of the pedal, but doesn't believe that was the case for her. Updated 11/17/09

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #9

Mar 102008

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,900 miles
While coming out of a parking lot, accelerator petal got stuck, car accelerated from 0-70 in seconds and could not slow the vehicle down, Lexus recently serviced car for mat recall and did not install clips on all weather floor mat, my insurance is investigating both accelerator throttle and also the reason wy mat did not have clips installed after Lexus stated they corrected the mat recall, I am also hiring a independent auto forensic specialist, I could of killed myself and others too, T his so called mysterious acceleration must be corrected.

- Bayside, NY, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?