Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
0 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Lexus GS 300 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Lexus GS 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Lexus GS 300 Owner Comments

problem #3

Jul 092006

GS 300

  • miles


I was recently in a car accident on July 9, 2006 at 3:30 am. The car went out of control. All four tires were flat, my ABS system didn't work and my airbags didn't deploy. Myself and another passenger was hurt very badly.

- Va. Beach, VA, USA

problem #2

Jun 051999

GS 300

  • miles
5/13/1999:took car in for 10K check-up. Advised dealer that I was experiencing a frontend shudder at higher speeds or upon acceleration. Dealer rotated tires and found no shudder. 5/14/99:after getting on freeway, experienced a loud humming and thumping noise from fron-end and a vibration in the steering wheel. Braking increased vibration. My husband thought the lug nuts were loose on the tires and got off freeway and checked tires (no problem found). The vibration and noise did not abate even while slowing down to get off freeway. Noise and vibration disappeared after getting back on freeway. 5/15/1999:while driving through a residential area, experienced vibration from frontend again while braking. After stopping at a stop sign, the sound/vibration went away. 5/17/1999:returned car to dealer-asked them to check the brakes and tires again. I informed them of the problems, but dealer could not duplicate. Tires were balanced. 6/5/1999:I got off 605 freeway at Firestone exit and proceeded East. I was going to make a right turn on hoxie and was in the right hand lane. The truck in front of me stopped suddenly. I stepped on the brakes but my car did not stop and continued to roll (I was rolling forward at approxmately 5mph at the time). I stopped after hitting the trailer hitch of the truck in front of me. The time was 11:45 am and the road was dry. It felt like the brakes never engaged. The driver of the truck checked his vehicle, but found no damage. He did not speak english and shook his head when I showed him my license and insurance card. 6/7/1999: Reported accident to my insurance agent. I told her that I would be taking the car to a body shop for estimates and also to the dealer to find out what was wrong with the brakes. 6/10/1999: Took car to Lexus dealer. Dealer found loose connection at hydraulic electrical connector at brake booster valve body. Dealer stated that mfg. Declined to warranty bumper damage. Steering wheel still vibrates.

- Bellflower, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 011998

GS 300

  • miles
While braking in a parking lot, it seemed that the ABS braking system was activated. When braking vehicle lurched forward uncontrollably for a couple of feet, then vehicle would stop. Dealer cannot determine the problem.

- Malboro, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?