Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,220 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Lexus IS 250 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Lexus IS 250:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Lexus IS 250 Owner Comments

problem #17

Dec 262012

IS 250

  • 60,000 miles


Upon starting the car the car shook and got a vsc and engine check light. Called the dealer right away and they said they would have to charge 100 to see what happened. Come to find. Out after the fact there was a voluntary notice put out by Lexus on this issue which they have extended warranties for. This has already happened twice to me while driving and both times Lexus will not fix it under warranty claiming it does not happen when they take it in. They will not fix the problem unless it occurs while their testing even though the notification indicating the issue is coming up. They have also claimed it is safe to drive although it does not seem safe to have a car randomly stall at any point of time. My research has shown that this is a common problem for consumers with this car. It is also understood that the fix would require a considerable amount of time to fix by Lexus ( they would need to keep the car for a month). The cost associated with this is likely why they are hesitant to fix.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #16

Dec 162009

IS 250

  • 40,000 miles
At approximately 40,000 mi. My 2007 Lexus is 250 developed a problem of stalling, shaking, misfiring and the vsc light, traction skid light and check engine lights all come on. The dealership initially tried to tell me that the gas cap was not on tight (not true) and then they tried to tell me that just turning the lights off would fix the problem (also not true). After I insisted that the problem was serious and dangerous, the technician drove the car home and had the same problem that I had been experiencing. Finally, the dealership decided that carbon had built up on the valves and that was causing the engine to misfire and all the lights to come on. The dealership sent the valves to a shop and had them cleaned and ground down. The service manager told me that there was a design flaw and this is what Lexus told them to do to fix it. Now, here I am at 81,000 miles and the same thing happened again yesterday with the car shaking, stalling, misfiring and the vsc light, traction skid light and check engine lights coming on. It has been another 40,000 miles and the carbon has built up again. I have read on the internet that many other people have had the same problem.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #15

Apr 102010

IS 250 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
I was driving on a local country road at about 15-20 mph (having just come out of a sharp turn). When I stepped on the accelerator after the turn, it suddenly began to "gun", at which point I stepped on the brake and to my horror got no response. I kept my foot on the brake, but the accelerator continued to rev or gun horrifyingly and the car continued to speed up. At another sharp turn I went off the road and sideswiped a tree, drove through the bedroom of a house (in one wall and out the other) and finally stopped in another tree. After an hour of police, fire, and other emergency personnel attempting to extricate me from the car, they had to remove the roof of the car to get me out of the vehicle. I was airlifted to the nearest hospital with a trauma center, where I was diagnosed with a fractured sternum, three broken ribs, two fractured vertebrae, and a lacerated liver. I was in the hospital for three days, after which I was released with a custom-fitted back brace that I was required to wear for the next six weeks. Fortunately, I was not permanently injured, but I suffer back pain regularly as a result of the fractured vertebrae.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 052011

IS 250

  • 36,000 miles


On 3/5/11 at approximately 8:30 am, I was in a parking lot traveling at about 5 mph in drive with my right foot lightly applying the brake when the brakes seemed not to hold as they should and the engine suddenly increased to 4500 - 5500 RPM. I applied increased force to the brake pedal, placed the gear shift into park, and noted the rpms climbing above 5500. I then pressed the start/stop button and the engine stopped. This episode occurred on dry, smooth asphalt on a clear, cold (30 degree) day. The engine was at normal operating temperature, initially running at near idle (in the parking lot), with the gear shift in drive, cruise control off, radio, cd, A/C, defroster were all off. Heat and fan were on with interior temp set at 74 degrees. This episode has not repeated as of the filing of this report (4 days post-event). Note: I was wearing "sneakers", not any type of oversized winter boots. The car mats had been previously replaced by the dealer as a result of an earlier recall; no additional mats were in place. All required maintenance, up to and including 36,000 miles, has been performed by the dealer.

- Ashland, MA, USA

problem #13

Jul 222010

IS 250

  • 41,000 miles
I have an is 250 Lexus, 2007. I purchased the car on October of 2006. Since my purchase, the car jumped back and forwards when the air conditioner was started and sometimes it shake when I stopped on a red light or a stop signal. I have complained about this issue many times but the dealer said that the computer do not detects the problem. Last month (July 22, 2010), I was driving my car on the highway and it unexpectedly decelerates and began to shake. I was unable to drive faster than certain miles. Also, the vsc light came on. My car has been in the dealer for a month right now and they do not have a final and conclusive diagnosis of what caused the incident and how to fix it. Further, I know other persons who this problem was occurred twice, so I expect it to occur again. Momentarily, they indicated that the problem was caused because of an accumulation of coal in the valves but they are still making tests to the car. The people from Toyota have not been available to speak with me although I have requested so, and I have met in many occasions with dealer's representatives (they have indicated that they do not have to speak with me). I understand that the fact that the vehicle unexpectedly decelerates while in the highway is a major safety problem that should be taken care of by Toyota. I may have caused an accident because of the unexpected speed problem. This car is not safety and something must be done. Moreover, when Toyota is hiding it's responsibility.

- Aguas Buenas, PR, USA

problem #12

Jul 032008

IS 250

  • 11,373 miles
I was driving to the gym at 5:30 am on July 3, 2008 in my Lexus is 250. I pressed on the accelerator after a light turned green and the car took off, speeding faster and faster. I tried using the brakes and that didn't help. I engaged the emergency brake and that didn't work. My car continued to go faster and faster. I was scared to death and didn't know what else to do. Thankfully there was very little traffic due to the time of day. I pressed the electronic ignition button and that didn't work. I was preparing jump out of the car that was now speeding at about 60mph or so when I thought to put the car in park. That finally stopped the car. I jumped out of the car and a pedestrian lent me his cell phone to call my husband. The car was in the middle of the street "bucking" ( the engine was still revving and the car was in park - still running) for about 10 minutes until my husband arrived. He opened the door, checked the mat - it was not on the accelerator pedal. He turned off the car and we called Lexus to have them come tow the car to the dealership. The dealership (Lexus of watertown, MA) checked the car and told me there was nothing the matter with it. That I was the problem, that the mat was on the accelerator. This was not true. Both my husband and I saw the mat was not on the accelerator. They completely dismissed the entire event. I almost died driving their car and they blamed me (all the time knowing about the problem).

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #11

Apr 032010

IS 250

  • 43,342 miles


I have a Lexus is 250 which experienced unintended acceleration. I have brought it to my dealer who found no defects and had no repairs for the known problem.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #10

Mar 142010

IS 250

  • 28,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Lexus IS250 about a month ago from carmax. I was driving at approx 30mph when a cat entered the roadway. I tried to slam on the brakes but the car accelerated instead and quickly gained speed. I don't know how fast I was going when I was able to step on the brake enough for it to stop. Carmax tells me its not their problem, even though they sold me a car that was already recalled. And Lexus says that they don't have the part for it but will put me on a waiting list. So, I either gamble with my life and drive the car anyway, or I'm stuck without a vehicle at all. I'm furious!

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #9

Feb 192010

IS 250 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
I own a Lexus IS250, I pushed down on the gas pedal and it got stuck. I rammed into a car and hit it twice before the car would stop. I hit the car on the sensory going 35 miles per hour and my air bags didn't deploy. Updated 01/08/15 updated 01/14/15.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #8

Aug 042008

IS 250

  • 16,727 miles
Accelerator on 2007 Lexus is 250 stuck while driving on the highway at 85 mph. I had accelerated hard to come up to highway speed. Brakes would not slow vehicle down. Wove in and out of highway traffic and called 911. Frantically moved shift lever and moved paddles on steering column. Car eventually seemed to downshift and slowed. Happened once. Took vehicle to Lexus dealer that day. New floor mat and clips were installed that day.

- Holt, MI, USA

problem #7

Jan 232010

IS 250

  • 25,000 miles


Accelerator recall on Lexus and Toyota. I received a notice undated last year on both of my vehicles 2007 Lexus is-250 and 2007 Toyota Camry and we haven't received to the recall letter to have it repaired. This letter states that they don't have a remedy for it yet.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #6

Aug 302009

IS 250

  • 34,500 miles
I was normally driving on the road and on good weather conditions. My car accelerator pedal got stuck. The car accelerated very fast and was rapidly approaching a red light. I quickly reacted and was able to pull back the accelerator with my shoes and hand.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #5

Aug 072009

IS 250

  • 26,000 miles
Wife's 2007 Lexus is 250 experienced sudden acceleration on the northbound 405 freeway in long beach California. After she accelerated onto the freeway she entered the fast lane and eased up on the gas pedal but the car continued to accelerate out of control with her foot completely off the gas pedal. She began pressing on the brake pedal in an effort to stop the vehicle, all the while the car was trying to accelerate. Luckily she was able to maintain control and moved over to the right lane, then onto the shoulder of the highway. She threw the auto transmission lever into neutral. She was then able to bring the car to a stop, even while the engine was racing at high RPM. She turned off the ignition and the engine stopped. We had the car flat-bedded to South bay Lexus in torrance, California where they gave her a loaner for the weekend and promised to have one of their mechanics drive the car over the weekend to see if they could ┐repeat┐ the problem. On Monday they called me and told me that they could not find anything wrong with it, telling me that more than likely the floor mat had gotten pushed up into the gas pedal mechanism. This is impossible if you look at the angle of the floor above the mats where the gas pedal is. My wife insists the mat was nowhere near the gas pedal. The dealer put a grand total of only 24 miles on the vehicle in the three days that they had it. Over the weekend my wife and I did some online research and surprisingly found a number of other people who have experienced the same problem. We traded the vehicle in on Monday, the same day we got it back from Lexus. My wife refused to drive it again. Now, we just found out that on August 28th, three weeks after our experience, California highway patrol officer mark saylor and three of his family members were killed when the Lexus ES 350 they were driving suddenly accelerated. Lexus is again blaming it on the floor mat.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 052009

IS 250

  • miles
2007 Lexus IS250. Traveling at 55 mph on hwy, hit cruise, car suddenly accelerated to nearly 105 mph by itself. Brakes unresponsive. Did not respond to putting in neutral. Had to place in park. Lexus blames on floormat interference. Driver disagrees. Cruise would not turn off. 911 called, advised to drive into field. 2nd time this happened since purchasing car in Mar 2009. Although car under warranty, Lexus refuses to pay. Insurance adjuster sent to dealership to inspect. Waiting on results. Consumer is adding photos. 7/29/09 received phote. Updated 08/05/09.

- North Judson, IN, USA

problem #3

May 042009

IS 250

  • 47,000 miles
"check vsc" engine light come on. Car decelerates while driving on highway. It started to shake when I stopped. Unable to drive faster than 40mph on highway. Lexus unable to fixed it. This is a velocity hazard on the road.

- Ponce, PR, USA

problem #2

Feb 062009

IS 250

  • 42,556 miles
On 02/06/09 the car engine malfunction light turned on as well as the other one's on the dash. The car reduced the velocity while driving on the highway and did not accelerate any faster the 40 mph. I took the car to the Lexus dealership service department. They stated it was a misfire in some cylinder and also some problem with the gasoline. They fixed it. On May 4, 2009 I had the same problem with the car. The car malfunctioning lights turned on and the car loses velocity while driving on the highway. So far the car has been at the Lexus service department waiting to be repaired. Lexus stated it is the vehicle motor pipes that need be changed and they have not arrived at the dealership up until today May 26, 2009. They have told me the vehicle motor pipes are on back ordered until June 2009. What can I do"?" the consumer was informed the engine escape valves were broken. Updated 05/27/09.

- Ponce, PR, USA

problem #1

Mar 312008

IS 250 6-cyl

  • 23,243 miles
Car unexpectedly decelerates, engine shakes and "check engine and vsc lights" come on. After a short rest the car would start and the problem would repeatedly re-occur until I arrived home. Lexus service has not been able to fix the problem and I do not feel safe driving the car.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?